Full Version: Rangers Top Spl Arrest League
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
SirRogerCasement
Earlier this month figures were released detailing arrests and anti-social behaviour incidents carried out by spectators travelling to and from football matches in England, Wales and Scotland.

Celtic Quick News contacted the British Transport Police for a breakdown for arrests in Scotland which was illuminating. For season 2007/8, arrests were down from 73 to 61, but the total number of incidents involving football fans, including those which did not result in an arrest, rose from 86 to 99.

Fans from seven SPL clubs were arrested: Rangers, Dundee United, Motherwell, Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen and Hibernian, as well as fans from Cowdenbeath, Hamilton Academicals, Dundee, the Highland League's, Clachnacuddin, and supporters of Chelsea, Manchester United, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Two Chelsea fans were arrested for possession of drugs, Manchester United appear on the list as one of their fans was arrested for Breach of the Peace at Motherwell Railway Station. The Cowdenbeath fan was arrested for Indecent Assault, perhaps the most serious incident during the season.

Celtic, Motherwell, and Hearts each had four fans arrested during the season, Aberdeen and Hibs had three. Dundee United were the second highest offenders with six arrests, while an incredible 30 Rangers fans were arrested, almost half of the season's total for all clubs. These figures do not include those arrested at the Manchester riot in May, which British Transport Police refer to in their press release.

Including those which did not result in arrest, there were six incidents involving Celtic fans, six for Dundee United, seven for Motherwell, four for Hibernian and five each for Aberdeen and Hearts. Rangers fans were involved in a total of 48 incidents, again just less than half the total.

One striking aspect of the list is that very few fans are arrested at the station nearest their home ground, which suggests police take a hands-off approach when large numbers of fans are congregated together, most incidents occur when fans travel to away games.

One of the most pleasing aspects of the information is the complete eradication of sectarian offences from all but one Scottish club. 11 arrests were made for sectarian offences in total, 10 Rangers fans and one Northern Ireland fan; news that is bound to resonate at the SFA and Uefa, both of whom warned the Ibrox club two years ago that punitive penalties would follow unless such behaviour was eradicated.

The figures are a ringing endorsement of most Scottish football fans, although clearly Rangers have a significant problem they have failed to address; Manchester, it appears, was merely the tail-end of a trouble filled season.

You can read an account of dates, venues and nature of offences here.
Miles Brookeson
why have you posted this again?
StandFree03
Christ, that was boring.
Bloobell
QUOTE (SirRogerCasement @ Aug 27 2008, 13:00) *
Earlier this month figures were released detailing arrests and anti-social behaviour incidents carried out by spectators travelling to and from football matches in England, Wales and Scotland.

Celtic Quick News contacted the British Transport Police for a breakdown for arrests in Scotland which was illuminating. For season 2007/8, arrests were down from 73 to 61, but the total number of incidents involving football fans, including those which did not result in an arrest, rose from 86 to 99.

Fans from seven SPL clubs were arrested: Rangers, Dundee United, Motherwell, Celtic, Hearts, Aberdeen and Hibernian, as well as fans from Cowdenbeath, Hamilton Academicals, Dundee, the Highland League's, Clachnacuddin, and supporters of Chelsea, Manchester United, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

Two Chelsea fans were arrested for possession of drugs, Manchester United appear on the list as one of their fans was arrested for Breach of the Peace at Motherwell Railway Station. The Cowdenbeath fan was arrested for Indecent Assault, perhaps the most serious incident during the season.

Celtic, Motherwell, and Hearts each had four fans arrested during the season, Aberdeen and Hibs had three. Dundee United were the second highest offenders with six arrests, while an incredible 30 Rangers fans were arrested, almost half of the season's total for all clubs. These figures do not include those arrested at the Manchester riot in May, which British Transport Police refer to in their press release.

Including those which did not result in arrest, there were six incidents involving Celtic fans, six for Dundee United, seven for Motherwell, four for Hibernian and five each for Aberdeen and Hearts. Rangers fans were involved in a total of 48 incidents, again just less than half the total.

One striking aspect of the list is that very few fans are arrested at the station nearest their home ground, which suggests police take a hands-off approach when large numbers of fans are congregated together, most incidents occur when fans travel to away games.

One of the most pleasing aspects of the information is the complete eradication of sectarian offences from all but one Scottish club. 11 arrests were made for sectarian offences in total, 10 Rangers fans and one Northern Ireland fan; news that is bound to resonate at the SFA and Uefa, both of whom warned the Ibrox club two years ago that punitive penalties would follow unless such behaviour was eradicated.

The figures are a ringing endorsement of most Scottish football fans, although clearly Rangers have a significant problem they have failed to address; Manchester, it appears, was merely the tail-end of a trouble filled season.

I REALLY do hope you typed that you boring FUD
sev
Still proves the fact that huns are moronic cavemen
SirRogerCasement
QUOTE (sev @ Aug 27 2008, 13:19) *
Still proves the fact that huns are moronic cavemen

They are still in denial
SmellTheGlove
It's the only league they have won in recent times. laugh.gif
Andreas Kelevra
Celtic lead the Scottish clubs in banning orders.
Click

The Old Firm are Scotland's shame.
Disraeli

"news that is bound to resonate at the SFA and Uefa" - laugh.gif .
John Barleycorn
Yet again it's "you lot are worse than us" from one side of the OF against the other.

Click to view attachment
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Andreas Kelevra @ Aug 27 2008, 13:39) *
Celtic lead the Scottish clubs in banning orders.
Click

The Old Firm are Scotland's shame.

There was only three Scottish clubs in the banning orders huh.gif While the rest of it is not about Scottish football, it's pretty interesting reading nerd.gif
badger_whacker
Just gloss over it bhoys, you're all good as gold. rolleyes.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Aug 27 2008, 14:17) *

Eh? oh aye the polis are just like the ref giving Celtic everything smile.gif
dee4life2137
whistling.gif

Wow, intriguing....

Sectarian arrests are down due to Celtic and Rangers fans getting away with murder(not literally,that i know of).

All hail Celtic though, they deserve an extra 3 points and a couple of dodgy penalties for that improvement.
john3574
GOOD TO SEE THE GOOD BHOYS CAN READ,,GOES TO SHOW ALL MY DAD SAID ABOUT CATHOLIC SCHOOLING WAS WRONG tongue.gif
HOWEVER WHAT YOU GONNA DO ABOUT THE PARANOIA THATS SURROUNDED THE CELLIC FOR YEARS THAT RANGERS GET AWAY WITH EVERYTHING BECAUSE OF THERE MASONIC BR'ERS IN THE POLICE LAW AND REFEREEING WORLDS.............I AWAIT ANSWERS WI BAITED BREATH rolleyes.gif WEARRAPEOPLE
Diamonds R 4 EVA
QUOTE (john3574 @ Aug 27 2008, 14:57) *
GOOD TO SEE THE GOOD BHOYS CAN READ,,GOES TO SHOW ALL MY DAD SAID ABOUT CATHOLIC SCHOOLING WAS WRONG tongue.gif
HOWEVER WHAT YOU GONNA DO ABOUT THE PARANOIA THATS SURROUNDED THE CELLIC FOR YEARS THAT RANGERS GET AWAY WITH EVERYTHING BECAUSE OF THERE MASONIC BR'ERS IN THE POLICE LAW AND REFEREEING WORLDS.............I AWAIT ANSWERS WI BAITED BREATH rolleyes.gif WEARRAPEOPLE

CAPS LOCK!!!!!! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
John Barleycorn

QUOTE (Diamonds R 4 EVA @ Aug 27 2008, 15:06) *
CAPS LOCK!!!!!! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

Brain Dead!
sev
QUOTE (badger_whacker @ Aug 27 2008, 14:17) *

You lot are just as bad. I am friendly with a few accies fans and remember the Laudrap, Laudrup Die chants when Rangers pumped yous in the scottish cup years ago at Firhill.
thenorthlondonblue
Obviously not including mhanks fans arrested at Fulham and Tottenham 'friendlies' in last few years!
Centre Stand Hero

FFS you really should be arrested for being a complete and utter cock! wacko.gif

QUOTE (thenorthlondonblue @ Aug 27 2008, 18:32) *
Obviously not including mhanks fans arrested at Fulham and Tottenham 'friendlies' in last few years!

huh.gif
LordHawHaw
Used to be that we had arguments, and that's why this forum was created supposedly, it's just a lot of filth now and there is absolutly no moderation at all in here.
Betterthanfifers
Yeah well perhaps if you debated points with a more balanced view rather than a-lets make they huns look like c*nts-type of argument you would get the argument that you deserve!!!
john3574
QUOTE (Centre Stand Hero @ Aug 27 2008, 18:40) *
FFS you really should be arrested for being a complete and utter cock! wacko.gif

huh.gif

i was only winding him up man, c'mon. we bit o truth in the masonic paranoia bit though.you gotta agree.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Betterthanfifers @ Aug 27 2008, 20:29) *
Yeah well perhaps if you debated points with a more balanced view rather than a-lets make they huns look like c*nts-type of argument you would get the argument that you deserve!!!

Eh? you need to expand on that I'm afraid huh.gif
djn
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 27 2008, 20:09) *
Used to be that we had arguments, and that's why this forum was created supposedly, it's just a lot of filth now and there is absolutly no moderation at all in here.

Not sure what's come over me, but I have to agree with you hear. The past siz months or so have seen a new breed of Old Firm fan on the forum, and a decline in the banter/ debate. At least Daddy Bear isn't around these days though, eh?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Aug 27 2008, 21:36) *
Not sure what's come over me, but I have to agree with you hear. The past siz months or so have seen a new breed of Old Firm fan on the forum, and a decline in the banter/ debate. At least Daddy Bear isn't around these days though, eh?

It's plummeted, it used to be funny/controversial , bit thought provoking , but we get disgusting sectarian and child abuse posts and betterthanfifers wants us to engage these poeple in sensible conversation biggrin.gif
djn
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 27 2008, 21:48) *
It's plummeted, it used to be funny/controversial , bit thought provoking , but we get disgusting sectarian and child abuse posts and betterthanfifers wants us to engage these poeple in sensible conversation biggrin.gif

It's a shame, as it was one of the few decent places to have a debate about some of these issues in the Scottish media without the knuckledragging nonsense that you get elsewhere. Obviously we disagree on a couple of things, but I like a good debate with you.

Sadly, you can't have anything like an intellegent discussion with many on here now, because it swiftly turns into a game of "Old Firm Bingo" where posters are seemingly awarded a point for randomly using phrases like "bjk" / "hun" / "taig" etc, like they've got Tourettes or something.

Maybe we need a Platinum Old Firm section biggrin.gif

(edited because I spelt "bjk" wrong - which makes me a bit of a fuckwit!)
Frank Booth
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 27 2008, 14:21) *
Eh? oh aye the polis are just like the ref giving Celtic everything smile.gif

Well in the case of Eddie "burn in hell you cunt" Smith they are the one and the same...
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Frank Booth @ Aug 27 2008, 22:40) *
Well in the case of Eddie "burn in hell you c**t" Smith they are the one and the same...

Eddie is a

St Mirren fan wink.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Aug 27 2008, 22:30) *
It's a shame, as it was one of the few decent places to have a debate about some of these issues in the Scottish media without the knuckledragging nonsense that you get elsewhere. Obviously we disagree on a couple of things, but I like a good debate with you.

Sadly, you can't have anything like an intellegent discussion with many on here now, because it swiftly turns into a game of "Old Firm Bingo" where posters are seemingly awarded a point for randomly using phrases like "bjk" / "hun" / "taig" etc, like they've got Tourettes or something.

Even a light moderation would get rid of the really offensive stuff
Frank Booth
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 27 2008, 22:44) *
Eddie is a
a St Mirren fan wink.gif

Don't give up the day job.
dee4life2137
QUOTE (My Garden Shed @ Aug 27 2008, 22:30) *

What's even worse is when it turns into an arse licking contest. Grow a dick lads. ph34r.gif
ayrshirebud
QUOTE (Betterthanfifers @ Aug 27 2008, 20:29) *

to be fair, most huns (and tims) are c*nts
Future-SM-Keeper-Ere

WeAreThePeople
QUOTE (ayrshirebud @ Aug 30 2008, 10:54) *
to be fair, most huns (and tims) are c*nts

To be fair, so are most St Mirren fans. wink.gif