Full Version: End Of League Predicitons.
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Squiggles92
After browsing at some results tonight, i think its a 3 horse race for the title.

Dundee, Livi, Thistle- all gunning for promotion.
Queens and St Johnstone fighting hard to keep up with the 3 metioned above.

Dumferline, Morton, Clyde, County, Airdrie all in the bottom 5.

I would love to think that Clyde would finish top of that 5 pack.
But its not potentially realistic is it?

We havn't picked up 3 points yet, but heres hoping McDiarmid is where it will start biggrin.gif

I know, i know, only 4 games played. But after seeing Thistle winning 2-1 at Dens that might tell a wee story about how it may finish.

I wasn't at the Dundee game tonight, were Thistle excellent? and Dundee terrible?, or did Thistle deserve it in a fast pacey exciting match?

Hmmm... personally i feel robbed about tonight, but thats football.
LiviLion1974
Its too early to say but i think Dunfermline will do better than what you have said.

Queens also shouldn't be underestimated and StJohnstone always start bad.

I think the league will finish:

1. Dundee
2. StJohnstone
3. Dunfermline
4. Partick
5. Queens
6. Livi
7. Morton
8. Clyde
9. Airdrie
10. Ross County
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Squiggles92 @ Aug 26 2008, 22:52) *
After browsing at some results tonight, i think its a 3 horse race for the title.

Nothing quite like basing predictions on last weeks form table.

You are making an arse of yourself.

Another one bookmarked though so cheers for the material.

SavotheGreat
QUOTE (LiviLion1974 @ Aug 26 2008, 23:10) *
Its too early to say but i think Dunfermline will do better than what you have said.

1. Dundee
2. StJohnstone

What?! Don't be daft man! The league is decided on the outcome of the last three competitive league matches. f**k the fact that there is like a gazillion games left!

On that basis I recommend you re-think your league table or risk making yourself look like a total and utter arse. St Johnstone, 2nd place? You are havin' a laugh my son!

Whatever next? laugh.gif
Squiggles92
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Aug 26 2008, 23:15) *
Nothing quite like basing predictions on last weeks form table.

You are making an arse of yourself.

Another one bookmarked though so cheers for the material.

Savo fcuk off. Ya smelly bawbag. smile.gif

Everyones oppinion has a value, i said- 'i know i know only 4 games played.'
I'd be more than happy for someone to bookmark this.

The early games are where alot of teams pick up a league position

Hamilton were far to on-front by mid september for most to catch, you trying to say if someone said Hamilton will win the 1st Div this year, at this time last season, it'd make it a wrong oppinion cause some 'Fermer' thinks its wrong, and thinks i've made an arse of myself.

Can repeat thiss from many peoples previous comments?
Fcuk it i'll do it anyway...

f**k OFF SAVO, YOU TEDIOUS c**t! biggrin.gif
LiviLion1974
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Aug 26 2008, 23:17) *
What?! Don't be daft man! The league is decided on the outcome of the last three competitive league matches. f**k the fact that there is like a gazillion games left!

On that basis I recommend you re-think your league table or risk making yourself look like a total and utter arse. St Johnstone, 2nd place? You are havin' a laugh my son!

Whatever next? laugh.gif

I said in my post that StJohnstone always start bad. The first 3 games show nothing of what the end table will be like.

The table i have said is what i think the final table will be.
Squiggles92
QUOTE (LiviLion1974 @ Aug 27 2008, 00:08) *
I said in my post that StJohnstone always start bad. The first 3 games show nothing of what the end table will be like.

Yeah correct, theres no such thing as a wrong oppinion, thats kinda what a prediction is...

Sure the first 3 games aren't a crystal ball to show the sasons end. It just my oppinion that early on the structure of the league can tell what it may look like.

I.e Dundee sitting topish, County the newly promoted sitting bottomish.
sainteesean
QUOTE (Squiggles92 @ Aug 27 2008, 00:03) *
'Fermer'

it turns yer mum on.

but then again, so does herion.
Diamonds 666

1. Dundee
2. StJohnstone
3. Dunfermline
4. Partick
5. Queens
6. Livi
7. Morton
8. Clyde
9. Airdrie
10. Ross County

Having played 4 out of your top 5 already I would say Dundee were the most impressive considering the players missing and Dunfermline a close second. Thistles results have been impressive including last nights cup result.

As we now go into 4 matches against your bottom half of the table I think we will cope quite well. Crucial that we take all 3 points at home against Morton this Saturday. I would be happy if Airdrie can stay in 7th or 8th position. Predictions will be much clearer after the first quarter.
Skyline Drifter

That's right. Personally I feel that single loss we've had in non-European games this season to date is a fair indication that we can be counted out for any serious challenge. We have provided Thistle's only defeat of the season but that was a clear fluke.

huh.gif
QosLoyal
still think that qos dundee dunfermline will be up there, but thistle look good at the moment and so do livi. But lets get things into perspective there is still lots of football to be played although i thnik a clearer indication of how the season is panning out will be after the first 10 games.
vikingTON
Surely if last night's results were that important, we'd be among the title contenders?
Or is it just a selective procss of convenience?
yangus

1. Dundee
2. StJohnstone
3. Dunfermline
4. Partick
5. Queens
6. Livi
7. Morton
8. Clyde
9. Airdrie
10. Ross County

HA even i dont think that we will finish as high as that we will come good but it will be to late as per usual maybe 3rd for us.
Steve McQueen
TBH I'm surprised that Dundee haven't been better even though they've got 10 out of 12. They've had a fairly easy start & thought they would have racked up a few goals also.

Our own results have been poor & we'll need to improve a lot to challenge.

Queens could challenge, Thistle will fall away like they did a couple of years ago.

Livvy & Dunfermline could compete if the league is tight & loads of points are dropped.

Clyde will easily avoid relegation with the other 3 in a relegation battle.
The Arch
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 27 2008, 12:14) *
That's right. Personally I feel that single loss we've had in non-European games this season to date is a fair indication that we can be counted out for any serious challenge. We have provided Thistle's only defeat of the season but that was a clear fluke.
huh.gif

You always seem disappointed with people that don't back QOTS for promotion, and then you're shocked when someone(ie Me) predicts you for promotion. I don't get it.

Also, I think how we do at the more difficult away grounds will decide our fate. If we go to places like St Johnstone and Dunfermline, and come back with nothing, then I'd suggest it shows we're not good enough to challenge.
silvery tay
QUOTE (LiviLion1974 @ Aug 27 2008, 00:08) *

I predict the team with most points at the end of the season will top the league and be promoted to SPL status........i also predict that the team with least points will be bottom of the league and will duly be relegated to Div 2
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 27 2008, 17:42) *
You always seem disappointed with people that don't back QOTS for promotion, and then you're shocked when someone(ie Me) predicts you for promotion. I don't get it.

I'm not shocked when people back us for promotion especially, not this season anyway. What did I say and when? unsure.gif I recall pointing out in the past that the only people generally tipping us to win it were non-Queens fans but I don't think that equates to "shock". I didn't tip us (but wouldn't because it haunts you if it's wrong as it usually is) but I've said all along we'd be top three this season at least. We certainly can make a challenge to the teams at the top if we get it right and don't get some bad luck with injuries to key players.

I'm not especially disappointed if we're not backed for promotion either. I am annoyed when we're summarily dismissed though, particularly with the nonsense logic used above. After three games apparently we're "fighting hard to stay in touch" with the big three, the only one of whom we've actually played we beat. blink.gif I don't see how a 2-1 loss at East End Park that would almost certainly have been a draw but for a dreadful penalty call by the referee knocks us back to a second tier side, particularly when Thistle's loss at Palmerston and Livi's at Perth apparently don't handicap their chances. blink.gif blink.gif Also we're grouped with a St Johnstone side that have lost their last two matches heavily if it's only based on results to date.
Firhill_Basin
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Aug 27 2008, 17:36) *
TBH I'm surprised that Dundee haven't been better even though they've got 10 out of 12. They've had a fairly easy start & thought they would have racked up a few goals also.

Our own results have been poor & we'll need to improve a lot to challenge.

Queens could challenge, Thistle will fall away like they did a couple of years ago.

Livvy & Dunfermline could compete if the league is tight & loads of points are dropped.

Our current team is ten times better than the side we had that year and weve still got some big players to comeback.
The Arch
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 27 2008, 18:07) *
I'm not shocked when people back us for promotion especially, not this season anyway. What did I say and when? unsure.gif I recall pointing out in the past that the only people generally tipping us to win it were non-Queens fans but I don't think that equates to "shock". I didn't tip us (but wouldn't because it haunts you if it's wrong as it usually is) but I've said all along we'd be top three this season at least. We certainly can make a challenge to the teams at the top if we get it right and don't get some bad luck with injuries to key players.

I'm not especially disappointed if we're not backed for promotion either. I am annoyed when we're summarily dismissed though, particularly with the nonsense logic used above. After three games apparently we're "fighting hard to stay in touch" with the big three, the only one of whom we've actually played we beat. I don't see how a 2-1 loss at East End Park that would almost certainly have been a draw but for a dreadful penalty call by the referee knocks us back to a second tier side, particularly when Thistle's loss at Palmerston and Livi's at Perth apparently don't handicap their chances. blink.gif blink.gif Also we're grouped with a St Johnstone side that have lost their last two matches heavily if it's only based on results to date.

In the yearly prediction thread I put down QOTS as league winners and you quoted it with a ohmy.gif or a blink.gif . I can't remember.

I said before the season that there would be one position between us and Queens, and I'd say that's still likely, as we're similar quality.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Squiggles92 @ Aug 27 2008, 00:03) *
Everyones oppinion has a value

"Everyone has the right to an opinion".

Final place of refuge for the man who knows he's talking shite.

So basically, despite the fact your are talking bollocks we have to sit here and take it without calling you up on it? Aye, don't think so. I don't mind you expressing your opinion, I have no problem with ANYONE expressing an opinion. But this isn't so much an opinion, it's hypothetical bull.
Parscelona

Dumferline, Morton, Clyde, County, Airdrie all in the bottom 5.

You're speaking rubbish if you think last nights cup results will affect how teams will do this season. So far Dundee, Partick, Livingston and Dunfermline have started the season well but it's far too early to say who will finish where. You will only be able to make a prediction after everyone has faced each other but thats just my view. I'm pleased with how Dunfermline have started the season...excluding the poor game vs Airdrie but a win against Livi on Saturday will get us back into the top three. smile.gif
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 27 2008, 18:16) *
In the yearly prediction thread I put down QOTS as league winners and you quoted it with a ohmy.gif or a blink.gif . I can't remember.

I said before the season that there would be one position between us and Queens, and I'd say that's still likely, as we're similar quality.

Queens might have the better of Partick this season, IMO. Weatherson and Parrat are just two in a long line of excellent signings by Queens. I reckon they could be up there ahead of us this season.

I also believe Livi could prove the dark-horses of this seasons championship campaign.

Exuberant
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Aug 27 2008, 18:27) *
Queens might have the better of Partick this season, IMO. Weatherson and Parrat are just two in a long line of excellent signings by Queens. I reckon they could be up there ahead of us this season.

I also believe Livi could prove the dark-horses of this seasons championship campaign.

I reckon that our signings could well be as good.

Maxwell looks like a cracking player, and most St Mirren fans seem confused as to why they let him go.

Paton's young, and extremely one footed, but has an eye for a cross and sets up quite a few goals.

Gray (albeit a loan) showed his worth last time around, and although none of our strikers have scored in the last few games, the strikers have done a lot of good work in creating chances. Same applies to the wee guy Lennon from Rangers.

We could well, and probably will fall away, but I don't expect it to be anything like the manner in which we fell away 2 seasons ago, or even last season.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 27 2008, 18:16) *

I do recall the ohmy.gif now you mention it. It was meant as a mock shock thing as I think you were the first to say so. Don't read a reasoned argument into a smiley! wink.gif

As for Thistle, as I've already said on this forum I was surprised at how decent Thistle were at Palmerston even in defeat. I'm not convinced about the solidity of your defence (the same accusation could be levelled at us though) but the major concern remains the lack of goalscoring strikers at the club, particularly non-loan ones. Your midfield can only keep up the goalscoring for so long. I was quite comfortable coming into the season that we'd finish well above Thistle (in points if not in positions) but I'll concede I'm not so sure now. Thistle are much better than I gave them credit for but it remains to be seen just how good.
QosLoyal
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Aug 27 2008, 18:37) *
I reckon that our signings could well be as good.

Maxwell looks like a cracking player, and most St Mirren fans seem confused as to why they let him go.

Paton's young, and extremely one footed, but has an eye for a cross and sets up quite a few goals.

Gray (albeit a loan) showed his worth last time around, and although none of our strikers have scored in the last few games, the strikers have done a lot of good work in creating chances. Same applies to the wee guy Lennon from Rangers.

We could well, and probably will fall away, but I don't expect it to be anything like the manner in which we fell away 2 seasons ago, or even last season.

Mcall is certainly doing a decent job for you lot now and this is without buchanan back from injury and i think is rowson injured?? Mind you qos i think with these two signings have now got a little bit of strenght in depth which is what we needed, and certainly is what most teams in this league need to have to cope with a sustained title challenge!
The Arch
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 27 2008, 18:51) *
I do recall the ohmy.gif now you mention it. It was meant as a mock shock thing as I think you were the first to say so. Don't read a reasoned argument into a smiley! wink.gif

As for Thistle, as I've already said on this forum I was surprised at how decent Thistle were at Palmerston even in defeat. I'm not convinced about the solidity of your defence (the same accusation could be levelled at us though) but the major concern remains the lack of goalscoring strikers at the club, particularly non-loan ones. Your midfield can only keep up the goalscoring for so long. I was quite comfortable coming into the season that we'd finish well above Thistle (in points if not in positions) but I'll concede I'm not so sure now. Thistle are much better than I gave them credit for but it remains to be seen just how good.

That's why I avoid smiley's and also because people use them to pretend they have a personality.

Our defence was poor because 4 at the back doesn't suit us. Storey's a poor right back but a very adept sweeper, and McCall shouldn't have swapped it around to accomodate Lennon. A back 5 at all times please.

If we take Dobbie and Buchanan both out the picture, I think we have more goals in our side, until January at least. If we're top 2/3 in January I can see Gray and/or Lennon wanting to stay. Supposedly McCall wants a targetman so lets see how it pans out.

I think we'll both have good seasons anyway.
vikingTON
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Aug 27 2008, 17:36) *

On what basis?
Let's see, they've played two of the cliched "6-pointers" at home and have collected two points, not even taking into account their performances.
BishyTON
I think that, despite last nights great result, we will be involved in a relegation dogfight with Clyde, Ross County and Airdrie. I am fairly confident that we will survive the dogfight quite comfortably in the end, but that it will be close for most of the season.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 27 2008, 18:59) *
If we take Dobbie and Buchanan both out the picture, I think we have more goals in our side, until January at least.

Have to say I find that a fairly bizarre assertion and it's also irrelevant since, for the time being Buchanan IS out of the picture (with no imminent sign of a return) whilst Dobbie isn't. That's like me saying if you take Vennegoor, Samaras, McDonald and Robson out of the picture we have more goals in our side than Celtic. huh.gif

In any event since O'Connor is a double figure goalscorer at this level last year and Kean already has 7 in 9 for us (yes including friendlies but 4 competitive goals) I don't think it's true. Even if Arbuckle and Weatherston aren't big goalscoring contributors, which remains to be seen, Tosh, Burns and probably Adams will contribute too.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 27 2008, 20:46) *
Have to say I find that a fairly bizarre assertion and it's also irrelevant since, for the time being Buchanan IS out of the picture (with no imminent sign of a return) whilst Dobbie isn't. That's like me saying if you take Vennegoor, Samaras, McDonald and Robson out of the picture we have more goals in our side than Celtic. huh.gif

Well no, it's not really. Subtracting Dobbie from the equation is different from subtracting what amounts almost to half a starting line up from the equation. I think there is sufficient room to speak hypothetically here as should Dobbie suffer from a loss of form or injury then it would have a sizable impact (no pun intended, honestly wink.gif) on Queens, IMO.

Celtic losing one of a number of quality players wouldn't make all that much difference to the outcome of their next match vs. *insert fodder here*.

I think the point that he was trying to make relates to the extent of Dobbie's influence on the team.
The Arch
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 27 2008, 20:46) *

In any event since O'Connor is a double figure goalscorer at this level last year and Kean already has 7 in 9 for us (yes including friendlies but 4 competitive goals) I don't think it's true. Even if Arbuckle and Weatherston aren't big goalscoring contributors, which remains to be seen, Tosh, Burns and probably Adams will contribute too.

You mention a lack of goals, so I referred to our main striker who is missing. I took Dobbie out the side, as he's your main striker, to show that outside of that you might lack goals if in our situation. I find it perfectly logical, and not deserving of that odd Celtic comparison.

In your argument you quote figures of how many goals you've scored, to suggest you will score more. We've scored more than Queens this season, so my opinion is correct at this point in time. If you're using pre-season logic Darren Bent is the top striker in England. Edit: Savo's opinion probably makes more sense than mine. I'm tired.

Our argument's generally go round in circles, and I'm just heading out to fives, so I'll leave this for just now.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Aug 27 2008, 20:54) *
Well no, it's not really. Subtracting Dobbie from the equation is different from subtracting what amounts almost to half a starting line up from the equation. I think there is sufficient room to speak hypothetically here as should Dobbie suffer from a loss of form or injury then it would have a sizable impact (no pun intended, honestly wink.gif) on Queens, IMO.

Celtic losing one of a number of quality players wouldn't make all that much difference to the outcome of their next match vs. *insert fodder here*.

I think the point that he was trying to make relates to the extent of Dobbie's influence on the team.

But we haven't lost Dobbie. That's entirely the point I'm making. I'm trying to be ridiculous because it's a ridiculous comment.

It's a bit like saying "if it wasn't for the fact you're better than us there wouldn't be much between us".
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 27 2008, 21:01) *
You mention a lack of goals, so I referred to our main striker who is missing. I took Dobbie out the side, as he's your main striker, to show that outside of that you might lack goals if in our situation. I find it perfectly logical, and not deserving of that odd Celtic comparison.

But I know he's missing, you know he's missing and the original comment was in context of complete awareness that he's missing. It's not getting any less irrelevant every time you repeat it. Dobbie isn't missing. Yes if he, or Tosh, or O'Connor, or one or two others who are central to our play, get a long term injury then we may well struggle but the same is true of anybody, including Thistle in terms of further injuries. We can only deal with what we know to be the case now.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 27 2008, 21:02) *
But we haven't lost Dobbie. That's entirely the point I'm making. I'm trying to be ridiculous because it's a ridiculous comment.

It's a bit like saying "if it wasn't for the fact you're better than us there wouldn't be much between us".

Yeh, and I understand that.

I think the previous poster was just trying to emphasise the importance of Dobbie to QotS' campaign this season, that's all.
EdinburghLivi
I'm going to go out on a limb and say we will be in the top 3 if we beat Dunfermline on Saturday. I don't think we will but I seriously believe we will challenge if we do happen to get that result.

As I said pre-season, anything above 5th would delight me.
Tonsilitis
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 27 2008, 22:17) *
I'm going to go out on a limb and say we will be in the top 3 if we beat Dunfermline on Saturday. I don't think we will but I seriously believe we will challenge if we do happen to get that result.

As I said pre-season, anything above 5th would delight me.

Livi for me have been the best team we have played so far, by a distance. For reference, we have played Clyde, St Johnstone, Livi and Dundee.