Full Version: Queen Of The South V Dundee
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
EastFootball
Now that we've made sure of no silly midweek distractions, time to turn our attention to what really matters this season.

It'll be interesting to see how both teams (and managers) react to the defeats tonight. Seemingly, Queens lost despite playing very well, with Dundee being pretty poor.

So that could either give Queens a lift, or make them ponder what might have been; for Dundee, they'll either respond to a rocket from Rae, or just pick up where they left off.

On the plus side for us, we did go on to win a tricky away league game after going out of the other diddy cup...yes, I would like some more straws please.

Anyway, enough rambling from me. I just hope for a good game and a good performance. (And the latter is very much hope...)

Deestruction
Well, hopefully we can sort our midfield by the weekend. Thats all im gonna say.
EastFootball
100 lines: I must post threads quicker.

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=90512

wink.gif
Deestruction
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 26 2008, 22:33) *
100 lines: I must post threads quicker.

http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=90512

wink.gif

Indeed, 10 bleeding seconds quicker. That and the fact Im a lazy git. Delete this thread then moddos.
Stainrod's Fedora
I prefer Deestruction's thread. Bye.
EastFootball
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Aug 26 2008, 22:41) *
I prefer Deestruction's thread. Bye.

They'll be merged soon anyway, I would imagine (such an action has been requested)  smile.gif
Web
All of the people from Dumfires are in Denmark.
Web
Deestruction
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 26 2008, 22:43) *

Thats why I was trying to get an official topic for a match for once, lol.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 26 2008, 22:42) *

Some of us are back. wink.gif

This game however, I'll worry about in the morning.
EastFootball
It is the morning.

/completely un-necessary pedantry
Ludo *1
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 26 2008, 22:42) *

So wise and informative you had to tell us twice? tongue.gif
Web
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Aug 27 2008, 09:07) *
So wise and informative you had to tell us twice? tongue.gif

It's a merged thread clever clogs, I posted the same thing in both original threads. cuntybaws
QosLoyal
really excited it should be an absolute cracker, cue a 0-0 draw now that i have said that laugh.gif . anyways i read on your mach thread with morton that yous were bringing around 700? hope you do as it should be a great atmosphere! Lets hope dundee are still our bitches after saturday! tongue.gif
Derry_boy
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Aug 27 2008, 19:05) *
really excited it should be an absolute cracker, cue a 0-0 draw now that i have said that laugh.gif . anyways i read on your mach thread with morton that yous were bringing around 700? hope you do as it should be a great atmosphere! Lets hope dundee are still our bitches after saturday! tongue.gif

well it certainly wont be the 2000 odd that were there for the Scottish Cup Quatre-final but around 500-800 is a good guess
QosLoyal
anyways as for the line up i would go with

Gk Bell
RB Parrat
CB Barr
CB Thomson
LB Harris
RM Burns
CM Macfarlane
CM Tosh
LM Weatherston
CF Dobbie
CF O Connor

SUBS
Adams
Mcgowan
Reid
Kean
Haliwell

I would give a debut to weaherston at left mid and i hope parrat plays instead of reid. Cant remember if aitken is back so thats why he's not on the bench. I would also like to start adams in place of tosher but dont think chis will do that. Im basing this line up using a 4-4-2 formation
19QOS19
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Aug 27 2008, 20:05) *
anyways as for the line up i would go with

Gk Bell
RB Parrat
CB Barr
CB Thomson
LB Harris
RM Burns
CM Macfarlane
CM Tosh
LM Weatherston
CF Dobbie
CF O Connor

SUBS
Adams
Mcgowan
Reid
Kean
Haliwell

I would give a debut to weaherston at left mid and i hope parrat plays instead of reid. Cant remember if aitken is back so thats why he's not on the bench. I would also like to start adams in place of tosher but dont think chis will do that. Im basing this line up using a 4-4-2 formation

I think Barr should be put to where he belongs and Reid back to where he belongs! RB + CB!

If Weatherston plays left mid I would like him out there. Hopefully Dobbie and O'Connor start! I like Kean but prefer Dobbie. 3 points would be great please.

EDITED to add, Pool on how many times the allBUTmighty Curier ends up on his erse complaing this time, I'll say 5.
Mr X
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 27 2008, 20:24) *
I think Barr should be put to where he belongs and Reid back to where he belongs! RB + CB!

If Weatherston plays left mid I would like him out there. Hopefully Dobbie and O'Connor start! I like Kean but prefer Dobbie. 3 points would be great please.

EDITED to add, Pool on how many times the allBUTmighty Curier ends up on his erse complaing this time, I'll say 5.

Reid belongs on the bench.

Parrot RB and Barr CB for me too
19QOS19
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 27 2008, 20:36) *
Reid belongs on the bench.

Parrot RB and Barr CB for me too

Totally disagree, if a player "belongs on the bench" then is not good enough for your club therefore shouldn't be with you. Reid is good enough for us. Reid is a better CB than Barr and Barr is by far a better RB than Reid!

I wouldn't like to give Parrot his debut against the best team in the league, maybe wait until next week?
Web
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 27 2008, 20:41) *
Totally disagree, if a player "belongs on the bench" then is not good enough for your club therefore shouldn't be with you. Reid is good enough for us. Reid is a better CB than Barr and Barr is by far a better RB than Reid!

I wouldn't like to give Parrot his debut against the best team in the league, maybe wait until next week?

Trying to drum up some activity in this thread are you?? That will definitely put the cat amongst the pigeons laugh.gif
Skyline Drifter
Hard to say what will happen here. Both teams had a disappointing result in midweek though I'd suspect Dundee's will be viewed as a much bigger let down than us in some respects. They were expected to win, we weren't. However, we put a hell of a lot of physical and emotional effort into our game and some players will cope with returning to league duty in three days better than others. We've made a couple of signings to freshen up the squad and I'd be surprised if they don't feature, at least from the bench, though I'm guessing at least one will start.

It's a big game in league terms. Dundee are six points ahead of us though we have a game in hand. A home loss will make that a big gap already. A home win puts us right up there and with Thistle and Livi also starting well we can't afford to lose too much ground if we want to be involved at the right end of the table. We had a wonderful record against Dundee last season and have a long unbeaten record at Palmerston to defend. Both are likely to be broken sooner or later though. I don't think I'd be too upset with a draw all things considered though a win would be a brilliant result for us and set us up nicely for the midwekk game with County.
FreddieDaquin.
I'd have:

Douglas
Paton McKenzie Williams Malone
O'Brien McHale Pozniak Gilhaney
Curier McMenamin

Hoping for a good game and 3 points rolleyes.gif
QosLoyal
hope paton gets a warm reception on saturday.
Juan Sara
2-0 Queens I'd put money on it.
Stainrod's Fedora
Starting to sound like a broken record, but surely this week Rae will have the bottle to freshen things up a little. Although I thought we played reasonably well in the second half last night, it's time to try other options, namely down the right hand side. Freddie was first to be hooked last night so I hope he's on the bench this Saturday. I actually think his directness and physical presence could make a (wee) difference in the last 15-20 minutes of games. O'Brien is a possible replacement - with Gilhaney starting on the left - but I'd recall Cowan at RB and give the nod to Paton, who has been our best player so far this season. Last night Cowan came on for Pozniak allowing Eric to slot in beside McHale in CM, and looked comfortable.

Web
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Aug 27 2008, 21:13) *
Starting to sound like a broken record, but surely this week Rae will have the bottle to freshen things up a little. Although I thought we played reasonably well in the second half last night, it's time to try other options, namely down the right hand side. Freddie was first to be hooked last night so I hope he's on the bench this Saturday. I actually think his directness and physical presence could make a (wee) difference in the last 15-20 minutes of games. O'Brien is a possible replacement - with Gilhaney starting on the left - but I'd recall Cowan at RB and give the nod to Paton, who has been our best player so far this season. Last night Cowan came on for Pozniak allowing Eric to slot in beside McHale in CM, and looked comfortable.

I think a 3-5-2 might suit our playing staff a bit better with Paton and Malone playing as wing-backs with Williams, MacKenzie and McKeown or Cowan at the back with 3 out of Cameron, Young, Pozniak, Mearns and Mchale with the usual strikeforce.
Mr X
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 27 2008, 20:41) *

Im not convinced Reid is good enough for us. I dont see what he brings that Aitken doesnt.

You were almost right - Barr is a better CB than Reid and Barr is a better RB than Reid. If Reid was good enough then we wouldnt have signed Parrot.
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 27 2008, 21:18) *
I think a 3-5-2 might suit our playing staff a bit better with Paton and Malone playing as wing-backs with Williams, MacKenzie and McKeown or Cowan at the back with 3 out of Cameron, Young, Pozniak, Mearns and Mchale with the usual strikeforce.

That's a decent shout, but I have question marks over Rae and Farrell's tactical nous.
Web
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Aug 27 2008, 21:49) *
That's a decent shout, but I have question marks over Rae and Farrell's tactical nous.

If they were going to have a tinker they'd be better served doing it now rather than later.
MB
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 27 2008, 21:20) *
Im not convinced Reid is good enough for us. I dont see what he brings that Aitken doesnt.

You were almost right - Barr is a better CB than Reid and Barr is a better RB than Reid. If Reid was good enough then we wouldnt have signed Parrot.

I couldn't agree more. Reid's best position is centre back but in my opinion we have at least four players ahead of him for that slot(JT, Barr, Aitken and Adams). Reid is by no means a poor player; I just think some of the others are better.
19QOS19
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 27 2008, 20:58) *
Trying to drum up some activity in this thread are you?? That will definitely put the cat amongst the pigeons laugh.gif

The team top of the league is the best team in the league at the time, simple!

QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 27 2008, 21:20) *

I agree that Aitken is better, but it's obvious Chis has gone back to his old ways of not showing an interest in him! By your logic then we can expect to see Reid departing very shortly?
veteran
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 27 2008, 21:18) *

I would love to see Paton playing wingback again.
Make sure Rae acts on your advice.
G_Man1985
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Aug 27 2008, 21:13) *
2-0 Queens I'd put money on it.

wink.gif
FC_1919
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 27 2008, 23:08) *
The team top of the league is the best team in the league at the time, simple!

I agree that Aitken is better, but it's obvious Chis has gone back to his old ways of not showing an interest in him! By your logic then we can expect to see Reid departing very shortly?

Parrat is better than Reid IMO, looks like Barr will be at centre half for the forseeible future.
G_Man1985
Anyway ill be at this game smile.gif First time for me also. Lets hope Dundee do win against the mighty team queen of the south. A good show on tv by them during the week but we will bring them back down to earth by a win.

0-1 to Dundee
Ludo *1
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 27 2008, 18:23) *
It's a merged thread clever clogs, I posted the same thing in both original threads. cuntybaws

I don't see your point you still did post the same thing twice wink.gif
RoryN
I think Queens will be buoyed by their excellent performance inDenmark, but Dundee are always difficult and will be out to prove a point, I think.

It'll be a hard game, with a few yellows shown, i expect...

I reckon a 2-2 draw.
DeeJay35
Not really sure how this one will go.

We havent really got going yet in midfield this season although we have got a great defense. Therefore, If we score first I think we will win. The two Mac's have to start scoring soon could it be this weekend? If it depends on the midfield supply, then we could be waiting another week! We are are still unbeaten in the league and I think (and hope) the players will be doing everything to preserve that stat.

Queens have been doing really well since the turn of the year. A very creditable performance in europe the other night scoring a cracking goal along the way and unfortunate to lose the game imo. If there not a team thats going to challenge for the league, then they will definately have a say on whos going to win it.

I think I will sit on the fence on this one and not try and predict a score. This one is to close to call (but then who would have thought Jags would give saintees 4!), but should be a cracking game.

Unfortunately, I cant make it to the game, but I should be on this site looking for the updates.
MONKMAN
Hopefully queens coming off the back of an excellent performance in farum on tuesday nite will keep up their excellent record against dundee at palmy.

Wonder if chis will rest a few players. I would like to see adams starting in midfield ahead of tosher, dont think many fans will agree. Think parratt should go straight in at right back with weatherston possibly featuring at some point

Score prediction 3-1 Dobbie O'connor and burnsy, Mcmennamin getting one for them

Matty_True_Dee
I think we're underdogs for this one.

My hopes are based on Queens having an off day. If they do, we might just sneak it.

Cameron playing really would help though.
DeeJay35
QUOTE (Matty_True_Dee @ Aug 28 2008, 12:18) *
I think we're underdogs for this one.

My hopes are based on Queens having an off day. If they do, we might just sneak it.

Cameron playing really would help though.

As far as I know hes still about 2 weeks away from 1st team action...
HulltoonPehShop
Winning league run to continue. 2-0. cool.gif
Flash
QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Aug 28 2008, 13:46) *
Winning league run to continue. 2-0. cool.gif

Who for? tongue.gif
erik the red and yellow
Didn't Queen of the South pick up nine points against Dundee last season?

HulltoonPehShop
QUOTE (Flash @ Aug 28 2008, 14:00) *
Who for? tongue.gif
The team at the top. cool.gif
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (erik the red and yellow @ Aug 28 2008, 14:06) *
Didn't Queen of the South pick up nine points against Dundee last season?

Yes, and a Scottish Cup quarter-final victory. But as you said, that was last season. If anything, that excellent sequence of results for Queens should make Dundee all the more determined.
Mr X
QUOTE (MB @ Aug 27 2008, 21:51) *
I couldn't agree more. Reid's best position is centre back but in my opinion we have at least four players ahead of him for that slot(JT, Barr, Aitken and Adams). Reid is by no means a poor player; I just think some of the others are better.

Thats what I was trying to say too.
19QOS19
QUOTE (FC_1919 @ Aug 28 2008, 01:07) *
Parrat is better than Reid IMO, looks like Barr will be at centre half for the forseeible future.

How can you come to that conclusion if you've barely seen Parrott play? huh.gif
Web
QUOTE (Ludo *1 @ Aug 28 2008, 02:06) *
I don't see your point you still did post the same thing twice wink.gif

And?? Is it against the law, am I going to get banned? I don't see YOUR point.
veteran
A game I'm looking forward to.
My head says a Queens win but this is Queens we're talking about.
The big disappointment for me irrespective of the result will be if the crowd doesn't get near the 4000 mark.
Queens are due that much from Dumfries surely.