Full Version: Fao Partick Fans
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
DAFC
How come you're second top of the league?

Last year you were pretty average, how come that even without Buchanan and Archibald you are top?

I think it's either drugs or the pink strip.

wink.gif
Dr. Name
Because we're just f*cking amazing
Virtual Insanity
Ian McCall, Simon Storey, Ian Maxwell, John Robertson, Gary Harkins and Simon Donnelly.
DAFC
Sorry for a moment there I thought you typed Simon Donnelly.

Virtual Insanity
Jealous much? wink.gif
DAFC
Nah, only kidding.
Simon was okay for us, he never really got a run in the team though.
Composed on the ball.

Nizzy
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 15:41) *
Simon was okay for us, he never really got a run in the team though.

And that's why he's doing so well. I could be wrong, but I'm pretty sure this is the longest run he's had since joining Thistle.

He's fit, he's enjoying his football and he's winning over the fans. Let's hope he stays injury free because he could be the difference between mid-table obscurity and a strong finish.

The phrase 'indian summer' doesn't begin to describe the form Sid's enjoying at the moment.
jagtastic
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 15:33) *
How come you're second top of the league?

Last year you were pretty average, how come that even without Buchanan and Archibald you are top?

I think it's either drugs or the pink strip.

wink.gif

No idea, but long may it continue! smile.gif
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
Simple really...

DAFC
A magic scarf?

Lambie's Pigeon Feed
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 16:00) *
A magic scarf?

No, a magic man biggrin.gif
Nizzy
Ian McCall wears Crocs. That's plain wrong.
Exuberant
The team is a unit, and they're led by a man who does everything right at the Club, both on and off the pitch.
Glesga Frm
Ian McCall is a legend!! biggrin.gif
FTOF_PTFC_1
because there are diddies like Dunfermline in the league cool.gif
palmy_cammy
When did the SPL announce that there would be a second promotion spot up for grabs this season or is this thread full of Partick fans getting excited over nothing?
veteran
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Aug 25 2008, 16:20) *
Ian McCall is a legend!! biggrin.gif

Hyphen missing in there somewhere.Or a space.
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (palmy_cammy @ Aug 25 2008, 16:37) *
When did the SPL announce that there would be a second promotion spot up for grabs this season or is this thread full of Partick fans getting excited over nothing?

Yesterday, did you not hear ?
Virtual Insanity

f**k, I didn't realise you had to be top of the league to be excited about how your season is going so far.
jagtastic

Excited about our team playing far better than last season even though we are minus 3 of our most important players at the moment.... why not?
Nizzy

Some of the boys are on a bit of a high after pumping the team that many tipped to win the league. No harm in that. I'm sure they'll be brought down to earth with a bump sooner rather than later, but they might as well enjoy it while they can.
Exuberant
The thread was started by a Dunfermline Fan wink.gif

The atmosphere at Firhill is the best in years. We're on a high. Let us enjoy it.
Glesga Frm
QUOTE (veteran @ Aug 25 2008, 16:38) *
Hyphen missing in there somewhere.Or a space.

dry.gif
Glesga Frm
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Aug 25 2008, 16:42) *
f**k, I didn't realise you had to be top of the league to be excited about how your season is going so far.

Thats because your never near the top to know how it feels.....laugh.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Aug 25 2008, 16:49) *
Thats because your never near the top to know how it feels.....laugh.gif

'you're'? huh.gif
Glesga Frm
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 25 2008, 16:51) *
'you're'? huh.gif

Do you get a thrill out of that? laugh.gif
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Aug 25 2008, 16:53) *
Do you get a thrill out of that? laugh.gif

laugh.gif whoooosh.
Glesga Frm
So am not the sharpest knife in the drawer....laugh.gif
Nizzy
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Aug 25 2008, 16:55) *
So am not the sharpest knife in the drawer....laugh.gif

That much is true.
DAFC
Yes!
First stage internet forum turmoil, now for stage two (aka jobby in shoe).

palmy_cammy
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 25 2008, 16:44) *
Some of the boys are on a bit of a high after pumping the team that many tipped to win the league. No harm in that. I'm sure they'll be brought down to earth with a bump sooner rather than later, but they might as well enjoy it while they can.

Fair play.

It's always amusing looking in on the views of other fans, especially the less grounded ones. I fully expect to see a few of the posters in here, who are at present creaming themselves over Ian McCall, calling for his head and the board to be sacked if/when you succumb to a four nil defeat yourselves this season!

Still it's a refreshing change to hearing how fandabbytastic Alex Rae is and how superior Dundee are to us mere mortals. laugh.gif
Exuberant
QUOTE (palmy_cammy @ Aug 25 2008, 17:04) *
Fair play.

It's always amusing looking in on the views of other fans, especially the less grounded ones. I fully expect to see a few of the posters in here, who are at present creaming themselves over Ian McCall, calling for his head and the board to be sacked if/when you succumb to a four nil defeat yourselves this season!

Still it's a refreshing change to hearing how fandabbytastic Alex Rae is and how superior Dundee are to us mere mortals. laugh.gif

The thing is, I really don't see that happening. He's the best thing to happen to the Club since John Lambie, and is arguably doing more than the legend himself off the field to help set up a sustainable future for the Club.

I'd be surprised, and disappointed if we lost a game by a margin of 4 goals this season, but I honestly don't see it happening, young as the season is.
Mr X
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Aug 25 2008, 16:05) *
The team is a unit, and they're led by a man who does everything right at the Club, both on and off the pitch.

ohmy.gif huh.gif unsure.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Virtual Insanity
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 17:23) *
ohmy.gif huh.gif unsure.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Do you disagree?
Mr X
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Aug 25 2008, 17:25) *
Do you disagree?

You know, I think I do.
Virtual Insanity
What's McCall doing wrong at Firhill at the moment then?
PTFC27
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 17:26) *
You know, I think I do.

Jealousy is a horrible thing.
Lambie's Pigeon Feed
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 25 2008, 16:44) *

That post implies you are not on a bit of a high after pumping the team that many tipped to win the league. Not even a miserable git like you could have failed to reach Cloud 9 after Saturdays game surely?
erik the red and yellow
The fact that we have a small and settled squad, most of who were here last season is a big part of Partick Thistle's great start to the season.

Not even an eighth of the way through the league campaign but with arguably our best striker, our key midfielder and our captain (and finest defender) returning to fitness in the near future there are reasons to be cheerful.

Oh aye and Ian McCall is still trying to add to the squad before the window shuts. smile.gif
vikingTON
We'll see if you can beat us before you get your hopes too high. tongue.gif
Enjoy the moment of being up there, I for one doubt it will last that long.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 25 2008, 18:43) *
We'll see if you can beat us before you get your hopes too high. tongue.gif
Enjoy the moment of being up there, I for one doubt it will last that long.

Let's face it, if they can't beat us, they can't be that good.
erik the red and yellow
I'll make a £20 bet with either one of you that Thistle will end up higher in the league table than Morton at the end of the season.
vikingTON
QUOTE (erik the red and yellow @ Aug 25 2008, 19:00) *
I'll make a £20 bet with either one of you that Thistle will end up higher in the league table than Morton at the end of the season.

Feck off:
a - At no point did I say Morton will do so or are in any way competent.
b - I already owe Muggy (the Hepatitis C Trust) £40 for when we are automatically relegated.
erik the red and yellow
Shitebag. biggrin.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (erik the red and yellow @ Aug 25 2008, 19:06) *
Shitebag. biggrin.gif

I think you'll find at no point did I say Thistle would finish below us - beating us may well be another issue entirely.
I think the word for you is moron.
Juninho

Yeah, and he likes assaulting the odd ballboy. ph34r.gif
FTOF_PTFC_1

No offence but for a Thistle fan, why do you have to look at it and say ohhhh anyone but us will win the league, you need to wait and see..
Nizzy
There are some teams in this league who are incapable of taking the title. I wouldn't class us as one of them, but I think it's unlikely. It's far too early in the season to be getting carried away.
Exuberant
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Aug 25 2008, 20:25) *
No offence but for a Thistle fan, why do you have to look at it and say ohhhh anyone but us will win the league, you need to wait and see..

Even with our start, we'd still need a major effort. I don't think we're ready yet.

It's a win win situation for Nizzy. If we do finish 7th, he was right not to get carried away. If we win the title, who gives a fuck! We're in the SPL!
FTOF_PTFC_1
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 25 2008, 20:40) *
There are some teams in this league who are incapable of taking the title. I wouldn't class us as one of them, but I think it's unlikely. It's far too early in the season to be getting carried away.

ano am no gettin carried away either am just sayin you always seem to put Yourself/Thistle down.