Full Version: Fifa 09
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
danelder89
Can't wait for this game to come out, it's looking even better than last year. If you haven't seen it already, watch the first trailer here. I'm sure you'll agree it looks amazing. The Game comes out on the 3rd of October.

Here are some of the new features from the game:

Polished, refined gameplay - Featuring 250 additions and enhancements to core gameplay, including new animation technology that creates more responsive first-time shooting and passing, faster and more controlled dribbling, and improved trapping, and new player momentum physics that delivers realistic player collisions, authentic jostling for the ball, and more variation in tackling.

Custom Team Tactics — Become a first-team coach with the power to tune and balance 11 tactical sliders for 140 attacking and 40 defending options (more than 50,000 combinations) so CPU players and your team perform just like the real-world team or how you think the real team should play. Save your tactics to make strategic decisions to exploit your opponent's weaknesses during the game. Plus, share your strategies with friends online.

Be A Pro: Seasons — Pick or create a professional player and test your football ability over a four season campaign. Master a single position and develop your skills (passing, shooting, positioning, marking) to ultimately become a national legend.

Be A Pro: 10 vs 10 Online Team Play
— Create your own team of up to 10 friends, all playing fixed outfield positions, to challenge rival teams of up to 10 players. Instead of thinking as an individual player now you have to think and play as a team.

Improved Goalkeeper Intelligence
– Goalkeepers position themselves more intelligently, react to shots more realistically and recover from saves faster.

Customized Controllers
– Create your own bespoke controller configuration, save it and even take it online effortlessly. Assign actions to the buttons exactly how you like them for complete control.

The FIFA 09 demo will be available for download on September 11 worldwide on the PLAYSTATION®Network and Xbox LIVE™.

Xbox 360 and PS3 Demos will include the following:

Full exhibition match with the following 6 teams available. If the match ends in a draw, it will go directly to penalties.

1. Marseille
2. Schalke
3. Real Madrid
4. Chelsea
5. AC Milan
6. Toronto FC

Both versions unveil the new Team Management feature: Custom Tactics, giving the player a chance to sample tactical options in each of the key categories (Build Up, Chance Creation, and Defence).

The Playstation 3 demo features the FIWC Stadium, while 360 features New Wembley.

Can't wait! thumbup2.gif

Ric
The problem is it's still FIFA. Until they sort out the physics of their game then it's always going to be poorer, imo.

In contrast to the stuff mentioned above, here are some complimentary PES2009 links..

http://www.winningelevenblog.com/news/huge...k-hits-the-net/

http://www.computerandvideogames.com/article.php?id=191463

And an interview with Seabass himself..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oVIG97XtQ7U
Lang Toun Lad
The one thing really lacking is more contol of the players.
Through balls (you can't turn move your player as freely), offside passes (you can't avoid running to the ball) and first-time shots (sometimes take a touch first even though you didn't want the player to) can all be a real pain in the arse.
As always, a bit more Scottish content in the game would be great!! biggrin.gif
Mr X
QUOTE (Lang Toun Lad @ Aug 25 2008, 16:09) *
The one thing really lacking is more contol of the players.
Through balls (you can't turn move your player as freely), offside passes (you can't avoid running to the ball) and first-time shots (sometimes take a touch first even though you didn't want the player to) can all be a real pain in the arse.
As always, a bit more Scottish content in the game would be great!! biggrin.gif

What you need is a Wii and PES biggrin.gif
Ric
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 16:25) *

Half right.. wink.gif
Mr X
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 16:32) *
Half right.. wink.gif

A Wi and PE ... doesnt make any sense huh.gif
Ron Aldo
Anyone know of any new leagues. The Russian and Argentine leagues would be a good addition.
stpatty
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 16:25) *

That's quite possibly the most annoyed i've ever been whilst playing a game.
StewartyMac
Ric, the ultimate FIFA hater, yet still the first person to post a response to the OP.

Methinks he doth protest too much. laugh.gif
marty the bullwee man
Looks good this new fifa. Added bonus would be Andy gray no longer commenting.
The guy total arsehole 1 daft shot and u get slated by him
Ric
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 18:14) *
Ric, the ultimate FIFA hater, yet still the first person to post a response to the OP.

Methinks he doth protest too much. laugh.gif

Two things..

1) I don't hate FIFA, I dislike it. I don't dislike it simply because it's FIFA, I dislike it because the game's core engine is flawed.

2) I never said anything about FIFA09, I simply posted the equivalent information for PES.

wink.gif
FilthyMack
Euro 08 is the best football game on the market and sorted out pretty much everything I disliked about FIFA08 (although introduced a couple of niggly wee bugs) so I've got high hopes for 09.

If nothing else the bar has been raised for Konami to pull out the stops with Pro Evo this year.
Mr X
QUOTE (stpatty @ Aug 25 2008, 18:13) *
That's quite possibly the most annoyed i've ever been whilst playing a game.

CODE
I couldnt do it
DAFC
I hope Fifa lose the license when it comes up for auction.
PES would wipe the floor with them if it had full teams and stadiums, it is already better in terms of gameplay.
Stuboy
any new stadiums? some scottish ones would be nice
Cabbage
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 26 2008, 09:42) *
PES would wipe the floor with them if it had full teams and stadiums, it is already better in terms of gameplay.

Negative. For the first time ever, FIFA 08 pisses all over PES. Konami have a right job on for the next installment.
Ric
QUOTE (Cabbage @ Aug 26 2008, 13:52) *
Negative. For the first time ever, FIFA 08 pisses all over PES. Konami have a right job on for the next installment.

Got to say, I can't agree. My points about their physical game engine have been trotted out numerous times (really, just search this forum for "FIFA" and "Ric" and you'll find them). FIFA has many flaws in that part of the game, from the way the physics react with the ball to the simple fact of not being able to make a first time shot without controlling it. The way they turn also annoys me.

Got no problem admitting in terms of licences and the size of the leagues and their structure FIFA wins hands down but that's always been the case. And if you look at my long post in the PES 2009 thread you'll see there are still several areas of the game that both PES and FIFA need to look at.
saintslad
Im buying FIFA 09 instead of PES this year.

The last PES was a huge disappointment for me so im putting my faith in FIFA this time round.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (jack_bauer @ Aug 25 2008, 13:28) *
Polished, refined gameplay - Featuring 250 additions and enhancements to core gameplay, including new animation technology that creates more responsive first-time shooting and passing, faster and more controlled dribbling, and improved trapping, and new player momentum physics that delivers realistic player collisions, authentic jostling for the ball, and more variation in tackling.

Custom Team Tactics — Become a first-team coach with the power to tune and balance 11 tactical sliders for 140 attacking and 40 defending options (more than 50,000 combinations) so CPU players and your team perform just like the real-world team or how you think the real team should play. Save your tactics to make strategic decisions to exploit your opponent's weaknesses during the game. Plus, share your strategies with friends online.

It could hardly be less responsive - it would be impossible to make it worse.

And as for the tactics, it's about fucking time.
Ric
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Aug 27 2008, 15:16) *
And as for the tactics, it's about fucking time.

Weren't custom tactics introduced in FIFA08?

It used to be a real bug bear of mine about FIFA although I would still say PES has a far better tactical/strategy/formation facility.
stpatty
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 26 2008, 09:19) *
CODE
I couldnt do it

Indeed. Hence why it was so annoying wink.gif
sainteesean
is there any scottish leagues then?
Dunning1874
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 27 2008, 16:02) *
Weren't custom tactics introduced in FIFA08?

It used to be a real bug bear of mine about FIFA although I would still say PES has a far better tactical/strategy/formation facility.

Well, they tried to introduce them, but they were just plain shite. You would go to the tactics, move a slider to move a central midfielders position because they sit so fucking ridiculously deep, and they'd still not bloody well go in the position you'd put them in. However, PES has always been good for changing the tactics since the first one on the Playstation. It's lightyears ahead of FIFA in tactical terms.
port-ton
http://www.fifasoccerblog.com/

check out the leipzig conference video on there.

I've not bought a fifa game since about 99, but i am sooo excited about FIFA 09 its unreal, far more than im excited about PES which along with FM is the only two games i usually buy.

Get the feeling Fifa is going to be miles ahead of PES this year as Konami have just gotten lazy after being the No. 1 game for years. Fifa are already a year ahead of PES in terms of next gen games because PES fucked up so badly last year.
Ric
Funny how people have been saying PES is the best game for years, and after one incarnation where they are at their closest since the brands began and suddenly PES has lost it and FIFA are obviously going to bring out the best game.

Ask yourselves why PES has been heralded the best football game for the last decade?
cityfan
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 29 2008, 14:53) *
http://www.fifasoccerblog.com/

check out the leipzig conference video on there.

Wow. That video has got me quite excited about this. The improved passing, dribbling and first touch stuff looks fantastic and so much more natural. The problem of the ball being stuck to players feet that Ric always talks about looks like it'll be a thing of the past.

10 vs 10 will be mayhem laugh.gif
Ric
QUOTE (cityfan @ Aug 29 2008, 15:23) *
The problem of the ball being stuck to players feet that Ric always talks about looks like it'll be a thing of the past.

That will be decided when it's actually released.

I was playing EURO 2008 the other day and for some reason my second controller was causing it to slow down really badly (not in frame rates as I was still getting a high FPS, but as if the game was being played in slow motion). I should have videoed it as it was funny watching in slo-mo how the players take a touch and move the ball forward, all wrong, badly wrong.

Obviously if they can fix it, it would certainly be a step forward for EA's behemoth.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 26 2008, 09:42) *

Away and behave.

I got as far as that post before throwing in the towel with this thread. Whe is the demo out for the 360 ?
port-ton
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 29 2008, 15:05) *
Funny how people have been saying PES is the best game for years, and after one incarnation where they are at their closest since the brands began and suddenly PES has lost it and FIFA are obviously going to bring out the best game.

Ask yourselves why PES has been heralded the best football game for the last decade?

i think most people see it that way because we're not fanboys who will defend a game to the hilt. If FIFA is better than so be it, i'll buy FIFA. PES has been far superior for years but they knew it and rested on their laurels and its now going to come back and bite them on the arse.

People always said if PES had all the leagues etc like Fifa does then it would be the best game ever because it already had the gameplay , well it seems that Fifa has caught up on the gameplay aswell as having all the leagues etc.

Konami have no one to blame but themselves really, but reading about both games and watching videos of both (espescially the one i posted not that long ago of Fifa) its an almost certainty that FIFA will be better than PES again this year, even widening the gap maybe.
port-ton
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Aug 29 2008, 15:36) *
Away and behave.

I got as far as that post before throwing in the towel with this thread. Whe is the demo out for the 360 ?

September the 11th.
Ric
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 29 2008, 15:41) *
i think most people see it that way because we're not fanboys who will defend a game to the hilt.

I hope you aren't accusing me of that. I have given in complete and utter depth, almost ad nausea, the reasons why PES is the better game. It's not about being a fanboy, it's about understanding EA want to sell merchandising and branding, which is why their games are filled to the brim with licensing (from music, to teams, to players, to the advertising round the pitch). Konami on the other hand have been producing a good game for years now.

QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 29 2008, 15:41) *
People always said if PES had all the leagues etc like Fifa does then it would be the best game ever because it already had the gameplay , well it seems that Fifa has caught up on the gameplay aswell as having all the leagues etc.

Thing is, it hasn't. Obviously we will need to see with FIFA09, but as I said above, I have posted many times on the minutia of the actual game physics engine and why it is the poorer cousin of the Konami game.

I just get tired of those who think that because PES2008 wasn't to their liking (and granted it was released too early) that suddenly FIFA has "stolen" that crown. It's peverse thinking if you look at their separate track records.
port-ton
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 29 2008, 15:55) *
I hope you aren't accusing me of that. I have given in complete and utter depth, almost ad nausea, the reasons why PES is the better game. It's not about being a fanboy, it's about understanding EA want to sell merchandising and branding, which is why their games are filled to the brim with licensing (from music, to teams, to players, to the advertising round the pitch). Konami on the other hand have been producing a good game for years now.

Thing is, it hasn't. Obviously we will need to see with FIFA09, but as I said above, I have posted many times on the minutia of the actual game physics engine and why it is the poorer cousin of the Konami game.

I just get tired of those who think that because PES2008 wasn't to their liking (and granted it was released too early) that suddenly FIFA has "stolen" that crown. It's peverse thinking if you look at their separate track records.

Fifa completely overhauled their game physics engine last year though, and as they've admitted to that was what last year was about, this year is all about refining them and having seen gameplay videos it really looks like it has done that.

Fifa08 was by no means an excellent game, it was only better than PES because PES was so bad. But this year it has the makings of the most complete football video game there has ever been.

Track records really mean nothing to me, I don't care if PES5 was better than the FIFA that year. All i care about is the latest game and judging it on their own merits rather than any kind of brand loyalty.

I've spent the last 10 years or so arguing with people that ISS/PES was better than FIFA, i didn't buy FIFA 08 or Euro 2008 but i will most definetely be buying FIFA 09, as its the only two of the series' that are actually looking to progress and look like the can actually handle making Next-Gen football games and all thats expected to come with it.
finnersaintee
To be fair its always been quite close between Fifa and PES but i think this FIFA 09 is going to be the first year where people will be seeing why it is going to win the football battle, quite simply PES is fighting a losing battle. Konami couldn't compete with EA in this market even if all the licensing laws were still up for grabs. Konami - time to go put ur effort into something else.

FilthyMack
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 29 2008, 15:55) *

Indeed, it was actually Euro 08 which stole it's crown. wink.gif laugh.gif

As you got at earlier there's some weird bugs in Euro 08 which do hamper it. when the game works though it is for me a massive improvement on FIFA08. I was undecided about which was the better of FIFA08 and Pro Evo (both had major faults but different attractions) but Euro 08 made both games obsolete for me.
Ric
I find the "bouncy" players and the lack of control just too frustrating.
berwick-the-unbeatable
f**k off into a Pro Evo topic then, away and spout you pish in there. tongue.gif laugh.gif
Scotty Tunbridge
We should make a ten man Pie and Bovril Be a Pro team. (No Man Utd/Barca) Mwuhaa.
Dunning1874
I never understood the fuss about Euro 2008 - I was just perplexed that they managed to make a game that could be more frustrating to play than FIFA. It was even worse for teams sitting deep even when you changed the tactics so you would bloody well attack, for players making runs, and for a player's first touch.
danelder89
Demo out tomorrow! Can't wait biggrin.gif

I'll have to wait till I get in from work at 8pm to play it though sad.gif
cityfan
What time tomorrow is the demo available?
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (cityfan @ Sep 10 2008, 23:54) *
What time tomorrow is the demo available?

I'm sad and I went on the search for the answer.

Seems like its 10am.
interthenet jnr
My PS3 is packed away for going to uni sad.gif I want to play the demo!
StandFree03
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 29 2008, 15:05) *

I really want you to play both games on a console without the numerous patches you have applied to them.

PES2008 is an appalling game by Pro Evo standards.
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Sep 11 2008, 12:32) *
I really want you to play both games on a console without the numerous patches you have applied to them.

PES2008 is an appalling game by Pro Evo standards.

PES has been going slowly downhill since PES 4 and 5. The games on the 360 have been pretty poor in comparison. The online aspect being almost unplayable the last I checked. I've never been a FIFA player, but the latest incarnations have been the closest I've come to buying one.

If PES 2009 isn't a marked improvement then Konami may have lost another customer.
StandFree03
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Sep 11 2008, 12:49) *
PES has been going slowly downhill since PES 4 and 5. The games on the 360 have been pretty poor in comparison. The online aspect being almost unplayable the last I checked. I've never been a FIFA player, but the latest incarnations have been the closest I've come to buying one.

If PES 2009 isn't a marked improvement then Konami may have lost another customer.

The last time I played PES2008 online it was unplayable. Since I got Fifa I've not had one problem when playing online games. I don't really understand why Konami haven't sorted this out.
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (StandFree03 @ Sep 11 2008, 13:15) *
The last time I played PES2008 online it was unplayable. Since I got Fifa I've not had one problem when playing online games. I don't really understand why Konami haven't sorted this out.

The strange thing being, that originally PES 6 was pretty poor online, but they patched it quickly and it was pretty good. As far as I can tell 2008 has been shite from the word go. I remember that we managed to have a pretty much uninterupted tourney using 6 on here.

I will however forget that you skelped me at it. wink.gif
Dee4Life1893
So, anyone played it yet??

Can't wait to get home from work and get it downloaded.
garymcc1874
It's absolutely fantastic. PES09 will need to be extra special this year if they want to top this game.

The movement is better, the passing is better, you can actually pass/shoot/cross first time, the heading and general aerial movements are fantastic, the gameplay is a good bit quicker which is great. I think it's a massive improvement on 08 as well as a huge improvement on Euro08.

It's pretty cool that you see players sticking their arm up looking for a through ball, or looking for the ref to give a foul and stuff.
interthenet jnr
QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Sep 11 2008, 13:40) *
It's absolutely fantastic. PES09 will need to be extra special this year if they want to top this game.

The movement is better, the passing is better, you can actually pass/shoot/cross first time, the heading and general aerial movements are fantastic, the gameplay is a good bit quicker which is great. I think it's a massive improvement on 08 as well as a huge improvement on Euro08.

It's pretty cool that you see players sticking their arm up looking for a through ball, or looking for the ref to give a foul and stuff.

Have they sorted the problem with headers? They were almost impossible to keep down in 08. You could cross a nice ball over the goalies head to an unmarked player at the back stick and he'd 9 times out of 10 beable to miss the open net and stick the ball into row Z with a header inside the 6 yard box.
StandFree03
QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Sep 11 2008, 13:40) *

Agreed. The only thing I'm not sure about is the power of the shots.

It's bloody good though.