Full Version: Computer & Console Wars
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The e-chat forum
Pages: 1, 2
DAFC
biggrin.gif

NB:N64 should be classed as 64bit but ran out of question options.
MattBairn
Couldnt pick between the ZX Spectrum and NES in the first column as theyre totally different and equally important.

Same with Amiga and SNES in the second column.

Id have to with Playstation in the last column even though I prefered my N64.
Playstation introduced gaming to a previously untapped audience whilst the top games on the N64 were way out of anything in Playstations league.
But Id have to reluctantly choose Playstation in the last one.

Edit- Oh, and wrong forum wink.gif tongue.gif
DAFC
Not really fair to place N64 in the 32 bit but it was its main competitor.

I chose the NES, Amiga and N64.

Mr X
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 12:47) *
biggrin.gif

So should the Jaguar wink.gif

Oh, and wrong forum laugh.gif
DAFC
Ah well might as well delete the jaguar as it was shite anyway.

Ric
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 12:55) *

Indeed.

As for the best console or computer, technically, socially, and evolutionary it is the Commodore 64. If anyone wishes to argue the case feel free but you better come well armed with facts.. wink.gif
Ric
Can I ask, why limit the Amiga to 500/1000. For a start an Amiga 1000 is older than the hills (1985), and was obsolete within 6 months.

Either just put Amiga and leave it at that, or separate out the different streams of development (ie: 1000,2000,3000,4000 and the 500/500+/600 then finally the 1200).
Ric
Can't believe the N64 is getting votes. Shockingly poor piece of kit.

And how on Earth is the Megadrive winning in the battle against the Amigas? While the MD was a nice little console, how can anyone claim that it was a better machine or that the games were better on the Sega system? Every single game converted between the platforms ended up with a superior Amiga version.
DAFC
Good point about the Amiga, updated.

Serious business this computer wars.

Ric
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 13:09) *
Serious business this computer wars.

Er, yes, well you have sort of walked into geeksand. One wrong move and you'll start sinking.. wink.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 13:08) *
And how on Earth is the Megadrive winning in the battle against the Amigas?

Because people who didn't have an Amiga, but had a Megadrive will have voted, I suspect.

The thread should really be renamed as 'favourite' rather than 'best'. It's clear the C64 was a technically better machine than the Speccy, but give me Sir Clive's rubber keyboard any day of the week.

Hey ho.
Mr X
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 13:08) *
Can't believe the N64 is getting votes. Shockingly poor piece of kit.

And how on Earth is the Megadrive winning in the battle against the Amigas? While the MD was a nice little console, how can anyone claim that it was a better machine or that the games were better on the Sega system? Every single game converted between the platforms ended up with a superior Amiga version.

I liked the N64.

Your anti-nintendo agenda has been clear for all to see for some time .... oooo, if I was a real mod *shakes fist*

tongue.gif
MattBairn
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 13:27) *
It's clear the C64 was a technically better machine than the Speccy, but give me Sir Clive's rubber keyboard any day of the week.

Hey ho.

I completely agree.
Mr X
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 13:27) *
Because people who didn't have an Amiga, but had a Megadrive will have voted, I suspect.

The thread should really be renamed as 'favourite' rather than 'best'. It's clear the C64 was a technically better machine than the Speccy, but give me Sir Clive's rubber keyboard any day of the week.

Hey ho.

QUOTE (MattBairn @ Aug 25 2008, 13:37) *
I completely agree.

ohmy.gif

Youre both mad!
Ric
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 13:39) *
ohmy.gif

Youre both mad!

Just stupid, but then you look at who made the comments and it all makes sense.. wink.gif

Technically the Spectrum ran at a faster speed, mainly because it's Z80 chip was not so prone to overheating and could take being clocked an extra Mhz higher. This allowed direct computation to be done relatively (for the time) fast on Clive's wee black box, which explains why so many of these machines ended up in science labs. It also meant that things like Elite, with it's numerous mathematical calculations per second, ran better on the Spectrum. However on the flip side, the C64 was packed with custom chips which while being less powerful were dedicated to their task. Which is why the C64 trounced the Spectrum in graphics and sound performance.
MattBairn
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 13:54) *
Just stupid, but then you look at who made the comments and it all makes sense.. wink.gif

QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 13:54) *
Technically the Spectrum ran at a faster speed, mainly because it's Z80 chip was not so prone to overheating and could take being clocked an extra Mhz higher. This allowed direct computation to be done relatively (for the time) fast on Clive's wee black box, which explains why so many of these machines ended up in science labs. It also meant that things like Elite, with it's numerous mathematical calculations per second, ran better on the Spectrum. However on the flip side, the C64 was packed with custom chips which while being less powerful were dedicated to their task. Which is why the C64 trounced the Spectrum in graphics and sound performance.

But the spectrum beat the 64 hands down with the games. Which is all that matters tongue.gif
All the technical mumbo jumbo means nothing when it gets trounced in the playability stakes smile.gif
DAFC

Not really, the SID sound chip was superior until the 128K got the 3 channel yamaha chip (later used in the Ataria ST).
Problem with the speccy was the colour clash with overlapping colours.
I think the C64 used sprites and a scrolling method.
Some of the SID music on the C64 still sounds good today.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=bf62lbxVnQY

But the spectrum beat the 64 hands down with the games. Which is all that matters

Did it?
Ric
QUOTE (MattBairn @ Aug 25 2008, 13:56) *
But the spectrum beat the 64 hands down with the games. Which is all that matters tongue.gif
All the technical mumbo jumbo means nothing when it gets trounced in the playability stakes smile.gif

No it didn't. With colour clashing you were reduced to monochrome in a lot of games (or just sheer gaudiness) and the sound was next to non-existant. If you are talking playability wise, things like collision detection were often flawed on the Spectrum due to it's lack of hardware sprites.

If you played things like Mayhem in Monsterland or Wizball, you will see the Spectrum couldn't and really didn't compete. The Speccie's were only liked by those who were too poor to afford a "proper" computer.

QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 13:57) *
Not really, the SID sound chip was superior until the 128K got the 3 channel yamaha chip (later used in the Ataria ST).

Even then the Motorola 6581 was superior in many ways, least of all because of the other hardware that supported it. However when CBM came to create the C64c they redesigned the motherboard which left power at a premium. As the 6581 sits on a 12v rail, the C64c couldn't power it (as it has been amended down to a 9v rail) so the 8580 was used for it and future C64's as well. This resulted in a degradation of the quality produced.

QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 13:57) *
Some of the SID music on the C64 still sounds good today.

Some of it still sounds "excellent" today, not just "good".

C64 Remixes:
http://www.slayradio.org/home.php
http://remix.kwed.org/

C64 Original:
http://sid.oth4.com/ (mp3 format)
http://www.hvsc.c64.org/ (sid format)
Ric
Oh, and if you want a laugh...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=CaXVdwWuU-A

PPOT (press play on tape) are a band that does C64 remixes live. The one above is a remix of Comic Bakery (by Martin Galway) the original can be heard here.

That's obviously a piss take, but they do "proper" live music with things like Commando (original)

However one of my favourites is this school band doing a mash up of Bubble Bobble and New Zealand Story.
MarreZ
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 12:47) *
biggrin.gif

Jaguar should have been classed as 64bit as well tongue.gif
Bryan
mon the atari st
DAFC
Jaguar should have been classed as 64bit as well

Only two out of its five processors were 64bit.

ph34r.gif
Exuberant
I reckon Nintendo ought to clean sweep here.
Mr X
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 12:55) *
So should the Jaguar wink.gif

QUOTE (MarreZ @ Aug 25 2008, 15:23) *
Jaguar should have been classed as 64bit as well tongue.gif

whistling.gif

QUOTE (MattBairn @ Aug 25 2008, 13:56) *

Take those monchrome tinted glassess off laugh.gif I had a C64, my mate had a spectrum, we never chose to play a game on the speccie if I had the C64 version ... with maybe the odd exception that I cant remember, but no doubt some smart arse will bring one up rolleyes.gif

MattBairn
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 16:23) *
Take those monchrome tinted glassess off laugh.gif I had a C64, my mate had a spectrum, we never chose to play a game on the speccie if I had the C64 version ... with maybe the odd exception that I cant remember, but no doubt some smart arse will bring one up rolleyes.gif

I had both. I preferred the Spectrum by quite a distance.

In fact I got rid of my C64 after about 6 months as it was hardly used in the end.
DAFC
Did you have a 128K?

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=vXizZ7kx_VE - c64

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=8G4Q0Byqx1g - spectrum

How can you say c64 isnt better?

Speccy sounds like someone has had a bad curry.
Mr X
QUOTE (MattBairn @ Aug 25 2008, 16:38) *
I had both. I preferred the Spectrum by quite a distance.

In fact I got rid of my C64 after about 6 months as it was hardly used in the end.

ohmy.gif

You really are mad!
MattBairn
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 25 2008, 16:54) *
ohmy.gif

You really are mad!

Ive been called worse tongue.gif wink.gif
Mr X
QUOTE (MattBairn @ Aug 25 2008, 17:17) *
Ive been called worse tongue.gif wink.gif

Not on my watch laugh.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 14:19) *
The Speccie's were only liked by those who were too poor to afford a "proper" computer.

When I was at school, every single person I knew who had a C64 as opposed to a Speccy was an utter cock.

I'm not saying it was the same at your school or anything whistling.gif

Anyway, the only games that the C64 bettered the Speccy on were the ones made specifically for that machine, eg all your US Gold pish like Beach Head and Raid Over Moscow which were rubbish games to begin with.

Off the top of my head, Atic Atac, Sabre Wulf, Jet Set Willy, Elite, Trashman, Manic Miner, Skool Daze, Match Day II, and Knight Lore were all better on the Speccy than they were on the C64...ie all the important games of the day. wink.gif
Ric
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 18:12) *
When I was at school, every single person I knew who had a C64 as opposed to a Speccy was an utter cock.

They were more expensive so they did tend to be the complete arses that had them.

Anyway, the only games that the C64 bettered the Speccy on were the ones made specifically for that machine, eg all your US Gold pish like Beach Head and Raid Over Moscow which were rubbish games to begin with.

Interesting comment, although you are talking pish. Just about every arcade conversion done was better on the C64, as for the Access/Epyx stuff (the US Gold pish as you call it), the spectrum has absolutely nothing that can compare with the Winter/Summer Games, or Impossible Mission, or numerous other titles.

Off the top of my head, Atic Atac, Sabre Wulf, Jet Set Willy, Elite, Trashman, Manic Miner, Skool Daze, Match Day II, and Knight Lore were all better on the Speccy than they were on the C64...ie all the important games of the day. wink.gif

I would only say Elite out of that list. The rest are almost identical on both platforms. The Ultimate PTG games were monochrome with few enemies on screen at once, and that isn't difficult to port to the C64.
StewartyMac
Jet Set Willy in particular was awful on the C64.

The games might have had prettier colours, no clash, and better sound on the 64, but gameplay wise, the Speccy kicked its American ass.

And Saboteur was far better than Impossible Mission. wink.gif
Ric
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 19:41) *
And Saboteur was far better than Impossible Mission. wink.gif

QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 19:41) *
Jet Set Willy in particular was awful on the C64.

To be honest, from memory I remember it being almost identical except horrendously bugged. Can't really judge the machine based on that, and there were numerous platform games out for the C64.
MarreZ
Theres no debate to be had, the c64 had better games, it was a more advanced machine, christ, they even had speech on impossible mission and stuff like Roland Rat, proper joystick support rather than flaky kempston interface plugin things.

The spectrum was great, until the the c64 came down in price, if your dad was a cheapskate, you had a spectrum, if he loved you, he bought you a c64. If he really loved you, he bought you a floppy drive for it as well.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Aug 25 2008, 20:48) *
Theres no debate to be had, the c64 had better games,

No it didn't.

It was a superior machine, there's no debate there, but most of the 'top' games which were out for both machines, the Speccy won hands down with in terms of playability. Certainly the ones I played on both anyway.

And it's not just nostalgia either. I've got both a Spectrum and a C64 emulator on my PC, and whenever I feel like a wee game of Sabre Wulf, for example, it's the Speccy one I play every single time. There just seemed to be something missing from the 64, it had all the flash graphics and sound, but it just didnae have any soul. biggrin.gif
Ric
No soul?

Wizball, Last Ninja, Paradroid, Sentinel, DropZone, etc, etc...

Steeped in soul. That's the thing about the C64, it did games well, the Spectrum just did games.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 21:02) *
Wizball, Last Ninja, Paradroid, Sentinel, DropZone, etc, etc...

Top games I said, Ric, not ones that no-one's heard of. rolleyes.gif
Ric
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 21:25) *
Top games I said, Ric, not ones that no-one's heard of. rolleyes.gif

They are some of the seminal games of the 8-bit genre.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Ric @ Aug 25 2008, 21:27) *
They are some of the seminal games for the C64, as opposed to the really big games for both machines

Fixed it for you. biggrin.gif
Ric
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 21:34) *
Fixed it for you. biggrin.gif

It's because they were so good on the C64, that they overshadowed the Spectrum versions.
Ric
Robocop has some excellent music, different from the arcade version, here's a groovy remix..

Target Renegade was a great wee game. Dave Collier (one of my favourite C64 coders - he was also responsible for a lot of other Ocean titles) created a dead clever sprite multiplexor to make the graphics look great (the characters were essentially two sprites overlaid, one a hi res, low colour to give the detail while underneath a low res, high colour to give the shading). It wasn't a new technique, but he managed to push a lot out of the beige box.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 25 2008, 21:56) *
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dErj5ERgLMQ
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnCMkpV3r8k

matchday 2

is it a ball is it a plane is it err f**k knows

Yeah, again the C64 looked better, but again it was the emperor's new clothes. In the Speccy version, the ball bounced off the players more realistically, rather than just simply stick to their feet in the C64 version, giving it a while new dimension. Also, that clip shows the game on the white pitch which was just horrible to look at.

I saw Match Point the tennis game there as well. The C64 version was all nice and colourful, but it was totally unplayable, miles too fast, and almost impossible to control. The Speccy version was the definitive tennis game of the era.
FilthyMack
I miss fast forwarding and rewinding a tape trying to find the start of the game you want to load on a compilation you got off a mate. For younger viewers, it's like scrolling through a thread with Ron Burgundy and the Gray Ghost arguing looking for something in between that's not just a load of screeching.
The Arch
I don't believe Snes isn't winning it's table. It's the best computer console that's been out in my lifetime.

It has the best platform game ever(Super Mario World), has great games like Zelda:Links Awakening, and just a wider variety of games(to a high standard) than any console since.

There were also shocking games like Plok and World Rugby, but that only added to it's charm

wub.gif
Ric
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 22:37) *
In the Speccy version, the ball bounced off the players more realistically, rather than just simply stick to their feet in the C64 version, giving it a while new dimension.

The same argument I give for PES being better than FIFA, yet I'm a hater, remember? wink.gif

QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 22:37) *
I saw Match Point the tennis game there as well. The C64 version was all nice and colourful, but it was totally unplayable, miles too fast, and almost impossible to control. The Speccy version was the definitive tennis game of the era.

I would say MP on the Speccy was a better version that the C64 one was, but it wasn't the best tennis game on the computer though.

As for it's speed, I found it a little too slow, and needed to play it on the hardest level to get it to a reasonable speed.
MarreZ
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 20:55) *
No it didn't.

It was a superior machine, there's no debate there, but most of the 'top' games which were out for both machines, the Speccy won hands down with in terms of playability. Certainly the ones I played on both anyway.

And it's not just nostalgia either. I've got both a Spectrum and a C64 emulator on my PC, and whenever I feel like a wee game of Sabre Wulf, for example, it's the Speccy one I play every single time. There just seemed to be something missing from the 64, it had all the flash graphics and sound, but it just didnae have any soul. biggrin.gif

Did you own both, or just the spectrum?

I had both machines, as soon as the c64 arrived, the spectrum very rarely got played. I would debate that most of the top games were better on the spectrum, there was absolutely tons of dual format games that the c64 creamed the speccy on, off the top of my head, renegade, emlyn hughes, way of the exploding fist, international karate, bubble bobble, outrun, match day 2, kickstart 1 & 2, Commando, Eidelon crikey, i could actually go on all day.

I still play c64 games quite often, the only spectrum game i go back to is formula 1 by CRL.
Mr X
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 25 2008, 20:55) *
No it didn't.

Thats still nostalgia wink.gif
DAFC
http://www.c64vsspectrum.com/

Games Reviewed
Verdict

AlienSyndrome
C64

Bubble Bobble
C64

California Games
C64

Dan Dare
Draw

Eduroracer
Spectrum

Exolon
C64

Fairlight
Spectrum

Flying Shark
C64

Frankie goes to Hollywood
C64

Gauntlet
Draw

Ghost 'n Goblins
C64

Head over Heels
Draw

Impossible Mission
C64

Kung-Fu Master
C64

Last Ninja 2
C64

Light Force
C64

Manic Miner
Draw

MYTH
C64

New Zealand Story
C64

Nemesis
C64

Nebulus
C64

Operation Wolf
Draw

Pacland
C64

Rainbow Islands
C64

Robocop
C64

Salamander
C64

Turrican
C64

Uridium
C64

Wizball
C64

X-Out
C64

Yie Ar Kung-Fun I&II
C64

Zoids
C64

Total Games Reviewed32
Draw 4
C64 Win 26
Spectrum Win 2
Ric
I would be a wee bit more charitable.

Dan Dare on the Speccy is a completely different game, and looks absolutely lovely for a Sinclair game. The guys at Virgin really knew how to get the most out of the box..

http://www.ysrnry.co.uk/articles/dandare.htm

Manic Miner and Head over Heels (there is a free PC remake of it available here) are both better games on the Spectrum too. You could also argue a draw with Nebulus as I remember it being a very decent game on the Speccy.

The list is a tad odd too. There are some games in there that the Spectrum had absolutely no chance in hell of matching; Wizball, Uridium, Last Ninja, etc.