Full Version: Celtic Go Top , Hun's Stay Paranoid
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
youroldda
well well, 3 games into the season it's business as usual, the champs go top of the league and the Hun's go paranoid, already (according to the Hun media machine) referee's are already trying to help Celtic win the league, and conspiring to deny the Hun's, Big fat DJ has burst into tears several times over ref's ,remember the famous Hun mantra they used to chant during the good old 9 in a row days.....THESE THINGS EVEN THEMSELVES OUT OVER THE SEASON! rolleyes.gif
rfcgav
Well done son 3 games in and you got the league wrapped up. Scraped past St mirren, should of been beat against Dundee Utd and one good game against bottom of the league FALKIRK! You must be so proud.... laugh.gif
bernie
RFCGAV- Seems you are hurting- long may it continue. How many of the last 12 league games have you won?
sev
Early days yet lads but i'm sure if we get a good result against the orcs on sunday then we can open up a wee lead. Knowing Der Hun and Wattie they will turn up and play for a draw.

I've got my ticket for the game and i think its going to be a cracker
H_B
Are Celtic getting to pick the referee again?
bernie
Short memories- We are used to the same treatment and have been for years- we get a couple of decisions and the Huns and wee diddy teams fans are on the warpath- get real.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 25 2008, 11:35) *
Short memories- We are used to the same treatment and have been for years- we get a couple of decisions and the Huns and wee diddy teams fans are on the warpath- get real.

The Huns know that they'll get a few against the diddy teams as well.
H_B
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 25 2008, 11:35) *
Short memories- We are used to the same treatment

No you aren't.

It was always a total myth that Celtic were hard done to by referees in Scotland, a myth that was allowed to fester due mainly to the lack of TV evidence and the availability of the internet.

It is no surprise that now we have extended highlights of all SPL games available, it is clear for all to see that Celtic are the beneficiaries not victims of bad refereeing.

This would have become obvious in the 80s as well if a Setanta and P&B equivalent existed then.
bernie
Eh yes we are.

Being a fan who goes to all games, I think I am in a better position than wee diddy teams fans to comment on what has gone on for years.

One goes against you and the world trembles.. ffs get a grip and enjoy yer relegation battle.

Here are 2 or 3 to get the ball rolling;

Lennon pulled down in box against Huns- not given.

JVOH last season up at Aberdeen when we thumped them, grabbed in the box- nothing given .

Skippy on side v Well last season chalked off when your beloved Setanta and even Hun Boy Booth agreed it was on. Have not even thought about it , but there you go for starters- look up You tube for the games and you may learn something.
H_B
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 25 2008, 11:58) *
Being a fan who goes to all games, I think I am in a better position than wee diddy teams fans to comment on what has gone on for years.

Err, no you are not. rolleyes.gif

Isn't it funny that when there are TV cameras at the games now, these "injustices" disappear, and when the only evidence is the hilarious bleating of Celtic fans they are legion. How convenient!

The paranoia of Celtic fans, that was accepted for years, is now being laughed at even more when week after week the oppostion are cheated against Celtic.

The sooner we get foreign refs, who wont be intimidated by Scotland's Establishment club, the better.
Disraeli
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 25 2008, 11:38) *

Terrible timing laugh.gif .
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Aug 25 2008, 12:04) *
Terrible timing laugh.gif .

Not at all. We'll be able to work out if things have 'evened out' as the season progresses
Millfield Marksman

How does being at the game put you in a better position?
Disraeli
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 25 2008, 12:05) *
Not at all. We'll be able to work out if things have 'evened out' as the season progresses

"Not at all" - Yes it was.You posted about Rangers (apparently) receiving decisions in their favour (this season), two days after they received a very poor decision which cost them the match.
I reiterate, bad timing.

"We'll be able to work out if things have 'evened out' as the season progresses" - That doesn't change the fact your initial post was poorly timed.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Aug 25 2008, 12:12) *
"Not at all" - Yes it was.You posted about Rangers (apparently) receiving decisions in their favour (this season), two days after they received a very poor decision which cost them the match.

Nope. I posted

Future tense. They *will* get some decisions.

I'm in the "'big teams' everywhere in the world get decisions" camp.
Disraeli
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 25 2008, 12:39) *
Nope. I posted

Future tense. They *will* get some decisions.

I'm in the "'big teams' everywhere in the world get decisions" camp.

"Nope. I posted..." - Yes, which implies Rangers will get unfair decisions in their favour this season.You posted this two days after Rangers had a perfectly good goal disallowed because of a refereeing decision going against them, this season laugh.gif ."Terrible timing".

"Future tense. They *will* get some decisions" - Presumably, all teams will receive decisions in their favour.There was no need to drag "the huns" into this, they have not benefited from poor decisions any more than anyone else this season - and I see no evidence to suggest that they will receive more "poor decisions" in their favour in the current season.
H_B
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Aug 25 2008, 12:50) *
they have not benefited from poor decisions any more than anyone else this season

I think the Hearts fans would suggest otherwise.

Also, the free kick from which Rangers scored on Saturday was not a free kick.
djn
Here are 2 or 3 to get the ball rolling;

Lennon pulled down in box against Huns- not given

The fact that one of the top three refereeing injustices you can think of features Neil Lennon would suggest to me that you're going back some time? unsure.gif
LAGer
Some absolutely astonishing decisions have went Celtic's way this season, and that one at Aberdeen on Saturday has annoyed us even more.

Hopefully the saying is true, and it will even up. If it doesn't, then we wont' win the league obviously.

I'd be happy if all things considered, we get all the decisions this Sunday though wink.gif

Really hard game to call, and can't wait for it!
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 25 2008, 12:03) *

Isn't it funny that when there are TV cameras at the games now, these "injustices" disappear, and when the only evidence is the hilarious bleating of Celtic fans they are legion. How convenient!

Oh I think we've had our fair share of "injustices" that were caught by the camera and still photographs, much more games captured nowadays (all SPL for instance), plus you could not cheat like you could do in the "old days" and it not being known beyond a wider audience than those in attendance.

Remember there was institutionalised discrimination from the very beginning ask Hibs and Dundee United, we were a vote away from being thrown out the league for flying the Irish flag. Plus I don't know any other top man sacked because of proven bias against a club.

The one that always gets me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NR-CDSTKRo

See if you can find the newspapers reports on it, listen to the commentary too wink.gif

rfcgav
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 25 2008, 09:14) *
RFCGAV- Seems you are hurting- long may it continue. How many of the last 12 league games have you won?

We are a completley different team from last year and with one more defender added to get
broadfoot out the team we will just about be there. Dont forget you only won the league because
of rangers run in europe and your start to this season is hardly impressive is it?

R.F.C This is our year..... wink.gif
Disraeli
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 25 2008, 12:52) *
I think the Hearts fans would suggest otherwise.

Also, the free kick from which Rangers scored on Saturday was not a free kick.

"I think the Hearts fans would suggest otherwise" - Do you? All right then.

"Also, the free kick from which Rangers scored on Saturday was not a free kick" - Yes it was.
sev
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 25 2008, 12:03) *

The paranoia of Celtic fans, that was accepted for years, is now being laughed at even more when week after week the oppostion are cheated against Celtic.

The sooner we get foreign refs, who wont be intimidated by Scotland's Establishment club, the better.

You have to remember though, you need to be a half decent team to win against the old firm. You guys turned to Parkhead on saturday(barring a few half chances) and offered nothing. Your fans probabky had a better day arguing with the stewards than watching the game
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 25 2008, 13:01) *
Oh I think we've had our fair share of "injustices" that were caught by the camera and still photographs, much more games captured nowadays (all SPL for instance), plus you could not cheat like you could do in the "old days" and it not being known beyond a wider audience than those in attendance.

I think many of these injustices have survived in folklore. Rangers fans didn't give a monkeys about them as they were pishing the league anyway, and Celtic were terrible.

It really is no coincidence that a combination of Celtic now being the dominant side, and TV cameras at every game, have led to this myth about Celtic being persecuted exposed for what it is, a myth.

Both of the OF get more decisions than the other clubs. This has always been true.

Objectively looking at the last season and this one so far, Celtic get more than Rangers. That is a transient thing though, which will switch between the two from time to time. Neither benefits more than the other over a longer period.

I can't view YouTube at work. What is it?
H_B
QUOTE (sev @ Aug 25 2008, 13:05) *
You have to remember though, you need to be a half decent team to win against the old firm.

You don't really. We have beaten both of the OF in the last couple of years with poor sides.

You guys turned to Parkhead on saturday(barring a few half chances) and offered nothing. Your fans probabky had a better day arguing with the stewards than watching the game

That's because we are missing 7 starting players, and don't have a £20+ million wage bill.
sev
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 25 2008, 13:08) *
You don't really. We have beaten both of the OF in the last couple of years with poor sides.

That's because we are missing 7 starting players, and don't have a £20+ million wage bill.

What kind of excuse is that? I watched Falkirk warm up just before the game and they were doing a passing exercise. They looked very sharp indeed. when it came to the game they had nothing. The 7 players that were out, how many would've started? O'Brien maybe? McCann who is past it?
H_B
QUOTE (sev @ Aug 25 2008, 13:12) *
What kind of excuse is that?

Err, a very good one. huh.gif

We are missing 7 better players than those who played on Saturday. That is very difficult to adjust to for a small club.

I watched Falkirk warm up just before the game and they were doing a passing exercise. They looked very sharp indeed. when it came to the game they had nothing.

No one takes the ball off you in the warm up.

The 7 players that were out, how many would've started? O'Brien maybe? McCann who is past it?

Scobbie, O'Brien, McCann, Lovell, Riera, Holden would all have started. So 6, not 7.

Latapy, Finnigan and Barratt would all have been in the squad.

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 25 2008, 13:06) *
I think many of these injustices have survived in folklore. Rangers fans didn't give a monkeys about them as they were pishing the league anyway, and Celtic were terrible.

It really is no coincidence that a combination of Celtic now being the dominant side, and TV cameras at every game, have led to this myth about Celtic being persecuted exposed for what it is, a myth.

A myth, what that Celtic were going to be kicked out the league? that there was endemic discrimination in the general Scottish society that luckily somehow was not carried over to football, oh except in the stands. Myth that the head of the SFA was caught discriminating against a member club and forced to resign over it?

I've only once from teh early 80's thought an official was cheating, I'm almost certain it was the case, other than that they simply cannot cheat and get away with it nowadays.

Both of the OF get more decisions than the other clubs. This has always been true.

Not sure if it's always been true, certainly for almost all my time watching Celtic

Objectively looking at the last season and this one so far, Celtic get more than Rangers. That is a transient thing though, which will switch between the two from time to time. Neither benefits more than the other over a longer period.

You I agree

I can't view YouTube at work. What is it?

Doyle getting sent off for hitting the ref with the ball one, you should look up and see what the media said about that wink.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 25 2008, 13:01) *
Remember there was institutionalised discrimination from the very beginning ask Hibs and Dundee United, we were a vote away from being thrown out the league for flying the Irish flag. Plus I don't know any other top man sacked because of proven bias against a club.

According to you though, having a vote which wasn't carried is the same as not having a vote biggrin.gif
H_B
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 25 2008, 13:18) *
A myth, what that Celtic were going to be kicked out the league? that there was endemic discrimination in the general Scottish society that luckily somehow was not carried over to football, oh except in the stands. Myth that the head of the SFA was caught discriminating against a member club and forced to resign over it?

I'm talking in my lifetime watching football, just over 25 years.

I can't comment on refereeing before that, as I was either not alive, or too little to watch football.

I've only once from teh early 80's thought an official was cheating, I'm almost certain it was the case, other than that they simply cannot cheat and get away with it nowadays.

Officials have made unjustifiable decisions in favour of Celtic this season and last, and in Eddie Smith's case, has chosen to insist he was correct even when video evidence proved otherwise.

Call that what you wish. Cheating, bias, arrogance, who knows.

Doyle getting sent off for hitting the ref with the ball one, you should look up and see what the media said about that wink.gif

When was it?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 25 2008, 13:20) *
According to you though, having a vote which wasn't carried is the same as not having a vote biggrin.gif

Nope wink.gif Both votes to which you refer were taken and much to the credit both achived a majority in the right direction, in Celtic's case overwhelmingly as opposed to one for the flag smile.gif
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 25 2008, 13:24) *
Nope wink.gif Both votes to which you refer were taken and much to the credit both achived a majority in the right direction, in Celtic's case overwhelmingly as opposed to one for the flag smile.gif

Feck me, you've changed your tune tongue.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 25 2008, 13:22) *
I'm talking in my lifetime watching football, just over 25 years.

I can't comment on refereeing before that, as I was either not alive, or too little to watch football.

Yer a kid in fitba terms

Officials have made unjustifiable decisions in favour of Celtic this season and last, and in Eddie Smith's case, has chosen to insist he was correct even when video evidence proved otherwise.

Call that what you wish. Cheating, bias, arrogance, who knows.

conviction (not that kind, which I can see where he's coming from)

When was it?

Mid 70's somerset park
LordHawHaw

QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 25 2008, 13:26) *
Feck me, you've changed your tune tongue.gif

Mr Con-sistency me
JUMPURS
QUOTE (sev @ Aug 25 2008, 10:46) *
Early days yet lads but i'm sure if we get a good result against the orcs on sunday then we can open up a wee lead. Knowing Der Hun and Wattie they will turn up and play for a draw.

I've got my ticket for the game and i think its going to be a cracker

I can see all the pressure getting to the refs and them giving Rangers an easy game of it.

As for Rangers not getting any decisions and a hard time off refs. How did Barry Ferguson manage to go the whole of last season in Scotland without a yellow card (with all the swearing and snarling at ref's he does alone) yet he got 2 yellow cards in the UEFA cup and at least one in the group stages of the champions league.

Does he only play clean in Scotland? Or do European refs have it in for him?
H_B
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Aug 25 2008, 14:18) *
I can see all the pressure getting to the refs and them giving Rangers an easy game of it.

Didn't happen at the end of last season when Celtic were similarly being favoured by referees, and Rangers got the arse end of the decisions at Celtic Park.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 25 2008, 14:21) *
Didn't happen at the end of last season when Celtic were similarly being favoured by referees, and Rangers got the arse end of the decisions at Celtic Park.

What arse end decisions did they get at celtic park??

There wasn't as much pressure back then as the press has generated now.
H_B
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Aug 25 2008, 14:31) *

Vennegoor should have been red carded for a karate leap.

McDonald was offside for the goal he scored to make it 1-0.
JUMPURS
I'll give you the red card lol biggrin.gif

I honestly can't remember about McDonald being offside, i'll need to have a look at youtube when i get home.

But what about wee Ferguson never getting a booking? Shum mishtake shurely
H_B
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Aug 25 2008, 14:46) *
about wee Ferguson never getting a booking? Shum mishtake shurely

Yes, the Huns are the beneficiaries of more than their fair share of generous refereeing decisions over a season.

Ferguson's behaviour at Aberdeen last season was an utter disgrace, and somehow he escaped a card.
rfcgav
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
zzzz...............

I think if every ref didnt support celtic falkirk would win the league and probably get to the last
eight of the champs league.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Aug 25 2008, 16:33) *
ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
zzzz...............

I think if every ref didnt support celtic falkirk would win the league and probably get to the last
eight of the champs league.

I think I'll get a job as a ref, I'd enjoy being in the middle of all this smile.gif
rfcgav
Seriously tho if you think about it non old firm team......ok ok the diddy teams shouldnt be that
upset. Say there right and the refs always give the old firm the decisions then that surely cancels
out any points for all the diddy teams therefore none of them being better off? None of them would win the league even if they bet the old firm cause they would win against the old firm then the next week get humped by falkirk/hamilton etc.. So who gives a f**k?

ps. To all diddy teams fans.....If one team (i.e old firm) is in the opposite box during the match say 25 times and the other team (i.e diddy team) is in the box say 5 times given laws of reason WHO do you think would have more chance of decisions going there way????

doh.
djn
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Aug 25 2008, 17:21) *
ps. To all diddy teams fans.....If one team (i.e old firm) is in the opposite box during the match say 25 times and the other team (i.e diddy team) is in the box say 5 times given laws of reason WHO do you think would have more chance of decisions going there way????

doh.

unsure.gif
rfcgav
I have that garden shed in your picture ohmy.gif
mapleleafbhoys
Huns cant win at Pittodrie anymore...........time to hit the panic stations, bring in Mo Edu!!! laugh.gif tongue.gif
rfcgav
Pity, that would of worked if we bought him AFTER the aberdeen game ye genius.
No8.
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Aug 25 2008, 14:31) *

There wasn't as much pressure back then as the press has generated now.

You can add Hartleys Lunge which put McCulloch out for the rest of the season...McDonald fouling Whittaker to set up JVOHs winner in the 2-1 game...McDonald diving OUTSIDE the box and still getting a penalty in the same game where he scored the Off-Side goal..The list is endless from those 2 games but it is too painful remembering them!! sad.gif
djn
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Aug 25 2008, 19:38) *
I have that garden shed in your picture ohmy.gif

Damnit, you've rumbled my stalking! ph34r.gif
Kincardine
QUOTE (mapleleafbhoys @ Aug 25 2008, 20:03) *
Huns cant win at Pittodrie anymore...........time to hit the panic stations, bring in Mo Edu!!! laugh.gif tongue.gif

Hello Bhoys67 and welcome back. I wonder how many of your fellow tattie munchers will call for you to be banned this time round.

So what's Edu like? Did you see him much when he played for Toronto?