Full Version: Top 5 Bands You Like No-ones Ever Heard Of
The Pie Shop > General Nonsense & Misc Others > The General Nonsense Forum > Top Fives
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
stpatty
I have an extraordinary talent for boring people to death about music I like. I realise some band on here P&B posters will know of and like but post with your top 5 bands people go eh? over when you mention them?

1. Joy Division - Any time I mention this all I get is a chorus of The Wombats dry.gif
2. Athlete - Criminally under-rated, not heard one person mention these guys ever
3. 1990s - Granted I did get one person to love this bunch, asides from that no-one
4. Gogol Bordello - Tremendously talented, my mates giggle when I say "bordello." Those who know what it is
5. ¡Forward, Russia!/Guillemots - Both brilliant bands, not mainstream therefore uncared for...

- I don't know what this thread shows up more, my friends ignorance or my pedanticness regarding music.....
Charles Darwin Esq
Interesting idea. My list of best bands nobody's ever heard of would consist of:

1) Waysted
2) Y&T
3) Grand Prix
4) The Skids (prob doesn't count)
5) Accept
King Kebab
1 - The Datsuns
2 - Sigur Rós
3 - The Offspring
4 - Idlewild
5 - The Hives

Anyone who reads this list will go whats he on about 'cos you will have heard of all of them, but ask your mates, you may be surprised!!!

Or maybe it just goes to show what shit taste my mates have!!!
uberman
1 The Stretchheads (punk)
2 Jailcell Recipes (punk)
3 Augustus Pablo (dub)
4 Alice Donut (alternative/punk)
5 Black Star Liner (bangra?)
my-name-is-neil
late of the pier
go! team
twin atlantic
fleet foxes
pete and the pirates
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Aug 23 2008, 18:31) *
1 - The Datsuns
2 - Sigur Rós
3 - The Offspring
4 - Idlewild
5 - The Hives

Honking!! rip.gif

Quality!! thumbup2.gif
Enigma
1927, I challange ANYONE on this forum to even have heard of them!
The Alarm
Goodbye Mr. MacKenzie are quite obscure

Mentions to Nena and Men at Work because nobody elce has heard another of ther one-hit wonders, that was untill Overkill was featured in Scrubs rolleyes.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Enigma @ Aug 23 2008, 23:06) *
1927, I challange ANYONE on this forum to even have heard of them!

I had '...ish' on cassette many years ago...must have been late 80's/early90's maybe? Wasnae that impressed with them I seem to remember, although it's been ages since I heard them. Kinda Foreigner-esque soft rock weren't they?
Top Cat
  1. Cactus World News
  2. Silent Running
  3. The Fat Lady Sings
  4. Trash Can Sinatras
  5. Hard Rain

All worth a mention even though some might have heard of them! smile.gif

btw, good on Emigma to give attention tae the Mackenzies and The Alarm.
Brilliant but sadly missed. sad.gif
Enigma
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 23 2008, 23:37) *
I had '...ish' on cassette many years ago...must have been late 80's/early90's maybe? Wasnae that impressed with them I seem to remember, although it's been ages since I heard them. Kinda Foreigner-esque soft rock weren't they?

dry.gif correct. Australian band, very big over there in the late 80's. I don't think they charted over here. To be fair I only like on of thier songs...
Enigma
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Aug 23 2008, 23:52) *
btw, good on Emigma to give attention tae the Mackenzies and The Alarm.
Brilliant but sadly missed. sad.gif

I may be wrong but I believe they are still touring.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Enigma @ Aug 24 2008, 00:34) *
I may be wrong but I believe they are still touring.

I think Mike Peters was diagnosed with cancer some time ago. Not sure of his condition at the moment though. I saw them live at the Garage in Glasgow, ooh musta been around 2005/6, but that was the last time.
Enigma
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 24 2008, 00:36) *
I think Mike Peters was diagnosed with cancer some time ago. Not sure of his condition at the moment though. I saw them live at the Garage in Glasgow, ooh musta been around 2005/6, but that was the last time.

He diagnosed back in 2005 according to wikipedia. If they are still touring I would love to see them if they came up to Scotland.
Gaz
China Drum!
ohphuq
Sigur Ros
Gogol Bordello
My Latest Novel
Silver Mount Zion Memorial Orchestra
Lifehouse
StewartyMac
Back in the day when I used to champion young Scottish bands, these were arguably my favourite five....

Trashcan Sinatras
Bloomsday
Nick Robertson & Slice
Motorcycle Boy
The Big Dish
uberman
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 24 2008, 09:38) *
Back in the day when I used to champion young Scottish bands, these were arguably my favourite five....

Trashcan Sinatras
Bloomsday
Nick Robertson & Slice
Motorcycle Boy
The Big Dish

Bet you've never heard of Whirling Pig Dervish, they were a cracking scottish band.
DJP
Whilst most my mates know the bands I like, although apart from idlewild, they could not name a song by them, My work mates have not heard of any bands I like, but they are country bumpkin yokels who only listen to local radio.

1. iDLEWiLD
2. Mogwai
3. Aereogramme
4. ballboy
5. Jimmy Eat World

ps I await comments about my 1st two choices laugh.gif and off to buy the Vessels album now
Bobby
The Decemberists
Guillemots
Athlete
Five For Fighting
Teddy Geiger(Solo aritist)
StewartyMac
QUOTE (uberman @ Aug 24 2008, 10:36) *
Bet you've never heard of Whirling Pig Dervish, they were a cracking scottish band.

The name rings a bell, but I've never heard any of their material.
DumfriesBear
QUOTE (ohphuq @ Aug 24 2008, 06:28) *
Sigur Ros
Gogol Bordello
My Latest Novel
Silver Mount Zion Memorial Orchestra
Lifehouse

Fucking brilliant band! biggrin.gif
Ron Aldo
Pete and The Pirates
Parka
Reverend and The Makers

Can't think of two more huh.gif
Bankieboy
None of my mates have heard of any of these bands.
Karma 45
The National
The Walkmen
Get Cape Wear Cape Fly
Campag Velocet ( who have now split up )
cbhaf
The Clientele
Phinius Gage
Of Montreal
J Church
Streetlight Manifesto
Frank Booth
Dirty Violets

One Will Burn

Coetzea's Charm

Humperdinck

Girls Silenced
StewartyMac
QUOTE (cbhaf @ Aug 24 2008, 23:25) *
The Clientele

thumbup2.gif
Mr. Brightside
Howie Day
Say Anything
Lifehouse
Cary Brothers
Citizen Cope
Madina Lake
Modest Mouse
Oi Polloi
The All-American Rejects
Rhett Miller
Story Of The Year
Alter Bridge
Augustana
The Courteeners
Glasvegas

I could continue
I know it's a bit more than five
But I couldn't narrow it down
DumfriesBear
QUOTE (Altaïr @ Aug 25 2008, 18:27) *
Howie Day
Say Anything
Lifehouse
Cary Brothers
Citizen Cope
Madina Lake
Modest Mouse
Oi Polloi
The All-American Rejects
Rhett Miller
Story Of The Year
Alter Bridge
Augustana
The Courteeners
Glasvegas

I could continue

thumbup2.gif
tongue_tied_danny
As Mercenarias
Fear
The Go! Team
Andy Votel (Solo artist, not a band)
Fu Manchu

stpatty
QUOTE (Altaïr @ Aug 25 2008, 18:27) *
Glasvegas

I could continue

Come to think of it I only know about 5 people who've heard of Glasvegas.... odd really =//
Zanetti
1. Los Fastidios
2. Sigur Rós
3. Oi Polloi
4. Disco Ensemble
5. Buju Banton

I have to be honest though and say 7/10 times my friends have never heard of the bands I listen to.

Edit: How could I forget Oi Polloi from my list!?
Mr. Brightside
I forgot about Rise Against
the snudge
1. Alexisonfire
2. City and Colour
3. Idiot Pilot
4. The Decemberists
5. TV on the Radio

There are many more but these are the top 5
xaviermaw
1. Playground Legend
2. Jose Neto
3. Shrinking Violet
4. Semisonic
5. Penguin Plant

smile.gif
Pedro's Love Child
Most people have probably heard of my 5 but due to the fact that the musical taste of my friends stretch to Kid Rockj, here goes:

1. Wolf Parade
2. The Hold Steady
3. The Mars Volta
4. Idiot Pilot
5. Tokyo Police Club
the snudge
QUOTE (Pedro's Love Child @ Aug 25 2008, 20:51) *
Most people have probably heard of my 5 but due to the fact that the musical taste of my friends stretch to Kid Rockj, here goes:

1. Wolf Parade
2. The Hold Steady
3. The Mars Volta
4. Idiot Pilot
5. Tokyo Police Club

4.Stop copying.
5.Gash
the snudge
QUOTE (xaviermaw @ Aug 25 2008, 20:27) *
1. Playground Legend
2. Jose Neto
3. Shrinking Violet
4. Semisonic
5. Penguin Plant

smile.gif

I'm intrigued by the name... huh.gif
Pedro's Love Child
QUOTE (the snudge @ Aug 25 2008, 21:17) *
4.Stop copying.
5.Gash

4. I'm not.
5. In your opinion
the snudge
QUOTE (Pedro's Love Child @ Aug 25 2008, 21:19) *
4. I'm not.
5. In your opinion

4. OK
5. Except my sincere apologies
*extends arm and looks for hand shake*
Pedro's Love Child
QUOTE (the snudge @ Aug 25 2008, 21:21) *
4. OK
5. Except my sincere apologies
*extends arm and looks for hand shake*

Haha. Accepted!!!
the snudge
QUOTE (Pedro's Love Child @ Aug 25 2008, 21:23) *
Haha. Accepted!!!

*turns heel and kidney punches*

mUahahhahHAHAHAh more fool you!!!!

Sorry I'm really bored tonite!
footsoldier101
1. Rodrigo y Gabriela-saw them at the baroowlands and theyre fucking amazing
2. Glasvegas-probably shouldnt count but get in due to their sheer awsomeness
3. The Maccabees
4. The Bandit
5. Wolfmother
SeatonFFC
Grizzly Bear
Twilight Sad
TV on the Radio
Wolf Parade
of Montreal
The_Num
Counting Crows (I'm working on it with 2 or 3)
Scars over Broadway (part of the split/hiatus of SOAD)
Unkle
The Time Frequency (I work with a bunch of weans)
Gypsy Kings (ditto)
Reading Saintee
1. A.Human
2. The Hosts
3. Ipso Facto
4. Tokyo Police Club
5. Get Cape Wear Cape Fly
6. Pint Shot Riot
7. The Maccabees
8. Little Man Tate
9. The Wedding Present
Colin M
QUOTE (SeatonFFC @ Aug 25 2008, 21:35) *
Grizzly Bear

Their album Yellow House is fantastic.
diamonds2002
QUOTE (stpatty @ Aug 23 2008, 18:21) *
2. Athlete - Criminally under-rated, not heard one person mention these guys ever

dreary and dull
Stuboy
QUOTE (cbhaf @ Aug 24 2008, 23:25) *
The Clientele
Phinius Gage
Of Montreal
J Church
Streetlight Manifesto

Oh wow. someone else has heard of them ohmy.gif MoreHasteMoreSpeed was such a quality album. They used to play Glasgow all the time 3 or 4 years ago. They've went a bit quiet lately.

Good call on Streetlight too. First time I saw them play at the barfly (2005ish) they had around 10 fans. They played the academy with Reel Big Fish in February and seemed to have gathered a pretty big fanbase.

heres my list

Rise Against
Mad Caddies
Mighty Mighty Bosstones
[Spunge]
Ska-p (had 10,000 folk at their last gig in Paris)
Get Cape Wear Cape Fly
Gogol Bordello (even played at live earth!!)
Less Than Jake
Reel Big Fish (dont really like them but for a big band, noone seems to hae heard of them)
Ally's honest man
1. Counting Crows ( yeah i do realise im second to post this)
2. Helen Love
3. Rumble strips
4. Kick to Kill
5. The Seventh Sons
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (Ally's honest man @ Aug 26 2008, 14:11) *
2. Helen Love

Jings! That takes me back.

I remember "Long Live the UK Music Scene" being played to death on Radio 1 around 1998 or thereabouts, but that's about it.

A an aside, I assume that the majority of those who've posted have friends who've never heard of a single piece of popular music in their lives?

Some of the bands listed have sold millions of records FFS. laugh.gif