So, another home victory, another clean sheet, another Eric Paton bullet header, and another lacklustre afternoon. There's no question that we deserved to win the game, with Rab Douglas only making one save during the whole ninety minutes, although an important one at that. I thought we played good stuff at times, which is encouraging since we still have a few players to come back, namely, Colin Cameron, who may make the squad for next Saturday's game away to, QOTS.
I thought, Gary MacKenzie was fantastic again, excluding his error which almost resulted in a Morton goal. Williams gave a solid performance again, as did Eddie Malone. Pozniak, again wasn't involved, but he's there when you need him. Paul McHale was his usual self, playing the game simply and keeping the ball moving, as was Freddie Daquin his usual self...
Upfront, Antoine-Curier and McMenamin were not all that impressive but their effort was evident, and could have possibly had a goal each.
Gilhaney brightened the game up when he came on; I thought he did very well.
But, a special mention to Eric Paton, who again, was absolutely phenominal. What a player he is. Some QOTS fans seem to think his best days are behind him. If they are, I don't care as long as he continues to play like this.
Overall, Morton provided stuffy opposition without doing much in the way of goal scoring opportunities. A game we thouroughly deserved to win, without playing anywhere near our best.
Another crowd in excess of 4000. What a support.
Top of the league, it's looking good.
BluebirdTon
Aug 23 2008, 16:26
Glad I didn't bother my arse. I think i'll be much happier spending that £15, that would have been conned out my pocket, In the pub tonight.
As i've already stated, I didn't bother travelling today. I hate missing a game incase I miss out, but that wasn't the case today anyway which makes me feel alot better.
Seems like we conceded yet another goal that should have been prevented with common defending. From reports it seems like the marker took his eye of his man[Paton] and he happened to be the first man to the ball and he soundly headed it home.
Newby had our best chance and missed, theres a massive surprise.

No points gained, again, but thats never been a shock after a game against Dundee.
Bring on the Hibees.
Juan Sara
Aug 23 2008, 16:44
3 points and still top, overall happy.
Although our lack of firepower upfront is starting to worry me..... We've only played pretty much the 4 worst teams in the division (Two promoted and the two teams that just missed out on the drop) and only won by a single goal apart from the draw at Airdrie.
scottdeeuk
Aug 23 2008, 16:46
Really enjoyed todays game.....
Dundee line up - Douglas, Paton, Malone, McHale, MacKenzie, Williams, Daquin, Pozniak, McMenamin, Curier, O'Brien
Subs - Cowan, Deasley, Davidson, Gilhaney, Roy.
Defensivley i feel we are absolutley solid, dont think we will lose 2 many goals if they keep up this kind of form. Def- 8/10
Douglas- 1 save to make the whole afternoon, solid. 7/10
Paton- Absolutley Fantastic, good goal. 8/10
Malone- Worked hard, few misplaced passes, but a typical hearty performance.7/10
McKenzie- What a game he had, thought he was brilliant and should have scored with that header! 8/10
Willams- Always where he needs to be and reads the game brilliantly! 8/10
Midfield did well today tho i feel we lack some sort of creativity for the strikers to feed off of, sure this will come from Cameron/young. mid- 7/10
Freddy Daquin- A good performance, he fights for every ball and i dont understand y some dundee fans write him off the whole time. I was sat in the cox day and sat and listend to some idiot slag him off at every touch....Felt when freddy went off the midfield lost abit of the edge we had. 7/10
McHale- defensivley brilliant, few good corners 2...7/10
Pozniak- Quiet Game, always where he needs to be. went about his buisness well. 6/10
O'brien- Should have taken a shot so many times 2day, often gets into a good position but bottles out of shooting, however skinned his man several times. Looks like he could have a good season! 7/10
Up front i know we have a barrow load of goals to come, however abit more creativity frm midfield will help. 7/10
McMenamin- Cant question his workrate, run himself into the ground 2day, unlucky not to have opend his account for the season 2day, knew he wanted to celebrate the birth of his son with a goal but know it will eventually come for him. 7/10
M.A.C- Quiet day, put himself around a fair bit. 6/10
Subs-
Deasley- came on with 5 mins to go, did well in the tim he had.
Gilhaney- Looked good when he came on, one good scoring chance but the keeper made a good save! 7/10
Overall i think Dundee could have won by more but found it difficult to break up a stuffy Morton side who clearly were told to stop play at any chance. Too many of their player went down to easily and fooled the ref several times.
Ref- few poor decisions...clearly not at the same game as all of dens!
SavotheGreat
Aug 23 2008, 16:47
QUOTE (scottdeeuk @ Aug 23 2008, 17:46)

Dundee line up - Douglas, Paton, Malone, McHale, MacKenzie, Williams, Daquin, Pozniak, McMenamin, Curier, O'Brien
Defensivley i feel we are absolutley solid, dont think we will lose 2 many goals if they keep up this kind of form. Def- 8/10
Malone- Worked hard, few misplaced passes, but a typical hearty performance.7/10
McKenzie- What a game he had, thought he was brilliant and should have scored with that header! 8/10
Midfield did well today tho i feel we lack some sort of creativity for the strikers to feed off of, sure this will come from Cameron/young. mid- 7/10
Freddy Daquin- A good performance, he fights for every ball and i dont understand y some dundee fans write him off the whole time. I was sat in the cox day and sat and listend to some idiot slag him off at every touch....Felt when freddy went off the midfield lost abit of the edge we had. 7/10
Pozniak- Quiet Game, always where he needs to be. went about his buisness well. 6/10
O'brien- Should have taken a shot so many times 2day, often gets into a good position but bottles out of shooting, however skinned his man several times. Looks like he could have a good season! 7/10
Up front i know we have a barrow load of goals to come, however abit more creativity frm midfield will help. 7/10
McMenamin- Cant question his workrate, run himself into the ground 2day, unlucky not to have opend his account for the season 2day, knew he wanted to celebrate the birth of his son with a goal but know it will eventually come for him. 7/10
Subs-
Gilhaney- Looked good when he came on, one good scoring chance but the keeper made a good save! 7/10
Overall i think Dundee could have won by more but found it difficult to break up a stuffy Morton side who clearly were told to stop play at any chance. Too many of their player went down to easily and fooled the ref several times.
F'ckin hell, your a bit keen!
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Aug 23 2008, 17:44)

3 points and still top, overall happy.
Although our lack of firepower upfront is starting to worry me..... We've only played pretty much the 4 worst teams in the division (Two promoted and the two teams that just missed out on the drop) and only won by a single goal apart from the draw at Airdrie.
Ross County away, first game of the season is as hard as it gets, especially with a severely depleted squad at that time. 3 clean sheets out of 4. One goal conceded this season. Probably the best defence and goalkeeper in the league. Hopefully, when Colin Cameron comes back, he will create chances for our strikers, who will score goals. At the moment, the service is not great, but we are still winning.
Ross_dee
Aug 23 2008, 16:48
Couldn't make game as i was skint, but I'm happy with the result. Another game, we got win and a cleansheet. We're grinding out results with few players still to come back, mainly Cameron. Hopefully we start to get the goals as only thing worrys me, we have good defence, but not killing teams off that could come back to haunt us.
Im happy with result, Im going go out and celebrate another win with few drinks.
G_Man1985
Aug 23 2008, 16:50
Keep playing not so great and keep winning, i could handle that. Could you?
Deesign For Life
Aug 23 2008, 16:50
great result, some cracking moves but we as usual want to do things the hard way! i think we could've had a couple more and were almost punished after one mistake.
by the way who was the no.4 for morton? he has very pretty hair!
silvery tay
Aug 23 2008, 16:55
QUOTE (scottdeeuk @ Aug 23 2008, 17:46)

Subs-
That pretty well sums things up ..still top with players to return ...i am sure that "Mickey" wil make a vast improvement to our midfield creativity,also thought Freddie had a good game today despite the constant abuse he gets from some "fans"
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Aug 23 2008, 17:50)

by the way who was the no.4 for morton? he has very pretty hair!

He is one of the worst players I've saw in a while. Who is he?
DundeeDerryBoy
Aug 23 2008, 16:58
Eric Paton was outstanding today................. Again. Well impressed with him.
We are missing a creative midfielder to compensate for McDonald leaving but obv Cameron will fill that role when he's back (next week apparently)
Defence was excellent again today other than one short header from McKenzie that lead to Rab making a good save. If we do win the league this season it will not be due to winning games 3-0 & 4-0, it will be due to 1-0 wins built on this excellent defence............. Might not be great to watch at times but I'll take a boring 1-0 win every single week.
EastFootball
Pleased with the result.
Morton started well, but couldn't really get into the game and we took control, resulting in another great header from Paton.
About 15 minutes before the end was a classic bit of end-to-end football: McKenzie misjudged a header for us and the Morton striker looked clean through, but was denied by Douglas, before our defence held firm from the second and third balls...the ball then broke to Gilhaney on the left and he charged from one 18-yard line to the other and we ended up with a corner (although the run was worthy of a goal).
Deesign For Life
QUOTE (Muggy @ Aug 23 2008, 17:56)

He is one of the worst players I've saw in a while. Who is he?
i thought he marshalled curier quite well, never let him play the way he wanted.
BluebirdTon
Aug 23 2008, 17:03
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Aug 23 2008, 17:58)

i thought he marshalled curier quite well, never let him play the way he wanted.
I presume your talking about Shimmin, the black guy with the corn rows ?

Great defender.
Missed this game due to massive hangover, still TOTL. See you in May xxx
SuperTommy
Aug 23 2008, 17:06
Another win without a great performance. I’m not convinced we’ll be able to hold out like we have in our first four games against Queens next week so we’ll have to get some creativity going for next Saturday, hopefully Cameron will return.
Paton’s goal was only real thing that happened first half. Great build up play to earn the corner. Daquin who was alot better today coming in from the right and letting McHale knock it wide to O’Brien. Would of been a great goal if he had stuck it away but Paton made up for that scoring from the corner.
Morton’s big chance in the second half wasn’t great defending. Ball dropped over MacKenzie’s head and Big Rab had to be alert to save from Morton sub. MacKenzie actually did really well to block Wake’s shot right after so i suppose he made up for not dealing with long ball forward.
Late on we looked to just be holding out for whistle and Morton never really got anywhere punting it forward with Williams in good form again and MacKenzie getting to everything.
Good win and good to see Alex isn’t scared to change his starting line up. Partick will be tough test on Tuesday hopefully we can get another win there then get back to league business next Saturday.
4 down 32 to go, still top of the league.
coyletonfan
Aug 23 2008, 17:08
If it was sort of dreadlocked then it is Dominic Shimmin. He got a bit of a torrid time off Griffiths last week but stuck to his task. If he kept Curier quiet then he mustv done ok.
All our goals seem to be conceded from setpieces or through the middle like last week.
We have not played the same defence in any of our opening 6 games in league and cup.
Not exactly rocket science to work out what Irons has got to do.
FFS decide on your best team and stick with it!! He seems to be going horses for courses which is all fine and well, but it means bakc to square one every week when working on defending set pieces.
Irons has been making all the right noises but cmon man, give us a bit of consistency.
Distant Doonhamer
Aug 23 2008, 17:10
Pleased and not surprised to see Eric Paton has started well. His form had dipped a little withus latterly but he was an excellent right back for us. Suspect the move to a new club has really brought the best out of him. Mind you, I hope he has a shocker next week against us. Suspect he won`t though.
QUOTE (Deesign For Life @ Aug 23 2008, 17:58)

The fact Curier didn't play that well today is not good for my argument, but, I just thought Shimmin was extremely clumsy and positionally inept.
Blue Galoo
Aug 23 2008, 17:13
QUOTE (coyletonfan @ Aug 23 2008, 18:08)

FFS decide on your best team and stick with it!! He seems to be going horses for courses which is all fine and well, but it means bakc to square one every week when working on defending set pieces.
Irons has been making all the right noises but cmon man, give us a bit of consistency.
I think he knows his best team, so far though injuries have prevented him putting them out there.
Need a win soon.
We'll see on Tuesday and Saturday next week whether we will raise our game and where we're really going this season. If we can win at Palmerston then I'll probably be flying on a pig somewhere and we'd be as well just stopping there and then and giving Dundee the title
Scott_L
Aug 23 2008, 17:27
QUOTE (Ross_dee @ Aug 23 2008, 17:48)

Couldn't make game as i was skint, but I'm happy with the result. Another game, we got win and a cleansheet. We're grinding out results with few players still to come back, mainly Cameron. Hopefully we start to get the goals as only thing worrys me, we have good defence, but not killing teams off that could come back to haunt us.
Im happy with result, Im going go out and celebrate another win with few drinks.
How can you afford to go out if you're skint
QUOTE (Scott_L @ Aug 23 2008, 18:27)

Ask Gretna FC
Ross_dee
Aug 23 2008, 17:35
QUOTE (Scott_L @ Aug 23 2008, 18:27)

Going up to my mates who will supply the booze.
BigAl024
Aug 23 2008, 18:00
We were pretty poor today, although we did enough to win. Its just as well Morton were "not at their best".
Yet again, Rae persisted in playing Freddie, with Gilhaney dropping to the bench to make way for O'Brien. I'm not one to boo, or hurl abuse at the poor guy, as its just not on, but the guy is a waste of a shirt. Its like playing with 10 men at times. The only good he does, is recovering some of his f**k-ups or poor touches. Shape, or no shape, I just dont see what he offers to our team. Both O'Brien and Gilhaney showed willingness to be creative and take a man on. Freddie showed neither.
Good crowd today, although very quiet, probably to do with the pretty poor fayre on show yet again.
Sorry for the wee kinda rant - I'll take a 1-0 win any day. But a good performance wont go a miss, and will certainly be required next week.
A_dee4life
Aug 23 2008, 18:05
Morton had a few good chances, Rab "Scotland's Number 1" Douglas made another great save to keep the score level but I think it was his only the save for the whole 90 minutes so overall I'd say Dundee were deserved winners.
Big Gary MacKenzie was fantastic, every single ball which was put through he headed it away. Eric Paton looks like he is going to be a great signing, his composure on the ball and forward runs were brillaint. Eddie Malone, his usual self putting in a good display.
Still I'd like to point out we are still going through a slight injury struck period so the fact that we have 10 points for a possible 12 is great. We will walk the league!
Edit: Oh I forgot, the ref was utter pish!
BigAl024
Aug 23 2008, 18:07
QUOTE (A_dee4life @ Aug 23 2008, 19:05)

Morton had a few good chances, Rab "Scotland's Number 1" Douglas made another great save to keep the score level but I think it was his only the save for the whole 90 minutes so overall I'd say Dundee were deserved winners.
Big Gary MacKenzie was fantastic, every single ball which was put through he headed it away. Eric Paton looks like he is going to be a great signing, his composure on the ball and forward runs were brillaint. Eddie Malone, his usual self putting in a good display.
Still I'd like to point out we are still going through a slight injury struck period so the fact that we have 10 points for a possible 12 is great. We will walk the league!
Edit: Oh I forgot, the ref was utter pish!
Gonnae no dae that.........
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Aug 23 2008, 19:00)

We were pretty poor today, although we did enough to win. Its just as well Morton were "not at their best".
Yet again, Rae persisted in playing Freddie, with Gilhaney dropping to the bench to make way for O'Brien. I'm not one to boo, or hurl abuse at the poor guy, as its just not on, but the guy is a waste of a shirt. Its like playing with 10 men at times. The only good he does, is recovering some of his f**k-ups or poor touches. Shape, or no shape, I just dont see what he offers to our team. Both O'Brien and Gilhaney showed willingness to be creative and take a man on. Freddie showed neither.
Good crowd today, although very quiet, probably to do with the pretty poor fayre on show yet again.
Sorry for the wee kinda rant - I'll take a 1-0 win any day. But a good performance wont go a miss, and will certainly be required next week.
The general concencus is that Freddie had one of his better games today and setup the goal.
deenook
Aug 23 2008, 18:12
thought today's game brought back memory's of the John McCormack era not so good football but getting the results.
QUOTE (Distant Doonhamer @ Aug 23 2008, 18:10)

Pleased and not surprised to see Eric Paton has started well. His form had dipped a little withus latterly but he was an excellent right back for us. Suspect the move to a new club has really brought the best out of him. Mind you, I hope he has a shocker next week against us. Suspect he won`t though.
Likewise. Eric Paton is still a class act. I'm sure Dundee fans may find it hard to believe but he was even better a few years ago. On form (and he appears to be), he must still be one of the best right-backs in the league.
I hope he gets a decent reception next week; in fact, I'm sure he will (unless some people have very short memories). Just as long as he doesn't score.
DeeJay35
Aug 23 2008, 18:23
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 23 2008, 19:08)

The general concencus is that Freddie had one of his better games today and setup the goal.
Yep, Id agree with that. He got a good reception when he left the field anyway, which means supporters though he had a decent enough game. His delivery for the corner was top drawer.
Another lucklustre performance, but 3 points is 3 points. The only real exciting part of the whole game (the goal apart) was from Gary Mckenzie with his short header until the ball was up the other end.
I think this is the first time we have been so solid at the back in years. Lets hope we can start creating alot of chances for the forwards in the games ahead and we will continue to push for the title.
A_dee4life
Aug 23 2008, 18:23
QUOTE (deenook @ Aug 23 2008, 19:12)

thought today's game brought back memory's of the John McCormack era not so good football but getting the results.
I thought the football we played was good, the play between O'brien, McHale and Paton on the right wing was good.
BigAl024
Aug 23 2008, 18:26

True he crossed for the goal. I reckon most folk were applauding through relief though.
QosLoyal
Aug 23 2008, 18:29
cannae wait till next weekend, should be a cracker...
QUOTE (MB @ Aug 23 2008, 19:23)

Likewise. Eric Paton is still a class act. I'm sure Dundee fans may find it hard to believe but he was even better a few years ago. On form (and he appears to be), he must still be one of the best right-backs in the league.
I hope he gets a decent reception next week; in fact, I'm sure he will (unless some people have very short memories). Just as long as he doesn't score.

His performance today was infallible. Can you get any better than this? B)
VitalDees
Aug 23 2008, 18:32
Dundee deserved their win today, Morton had one chance which Rab managed to save with the other people (too quick to realise who!) blocking shots before MacKenzie headed it away. Good game and goal from Eric Paton, what a player he is, the defence was solid throughout and the strikers done a lot of work with the midfield being the weakest link. Hopefully, with Cameron due back for next week, we can sort that out - roll on Tuesday.
Still a long way to go in the season but, four games in it's looking good. I don't expect anyone to walk the league, it will be tight. I didn't expect Thistle or Livi to be doing as well as they are currently doing, I hope they can't keep it up for the whole year but then again, no other team is really challenging unless St Johnstone sort themselves out and Dunfermline become more consistent, oh I don't know I just want up to win the title.
Edit: Freddie Daquin was much improved from his unless shit, today.
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Aug 23 2008, 19:29)

cannae wait till next weekend, should be a cracker...
I agree. We'll bring a massive crowd down with us again, I'm sure. Will be a big test for us, but with a phenominal defence, we always give ourselves a chance.
EastFootball
Aug 23 2008, 18:35

I also found it quite amusing that Freddie was berated for playing the ball back, yet when McHale did it he was applauded.
VitalDees
Aug 23 2008, 18:40
QUOTE (Muggy @ Aug 23 2008, 19:34)

I agree. We'll bring a massive crowd down with us again, I'm sure. Will be a big test for us, but with a phenomenal defence, we always give ourselves a chance.
Yeah, most buses seem to be going well. I'm booked and paid and there was just one seat left after I got mine - now full. Fife Dark Blues had 26 gone in a day also according to the official site and a few Dees living in England will be making the journey up, could see 700 going to Dumfries and can't wait for what should be a great game first, we have Partick Thistle on Tuesday to look forward too - a game I wouldn't like to predict.
QosLoyal
Aug 23 2008, 18:43
[quote name='VitalDees' date='Aug 23 2008, 19:40' post='2720631']
Yeah, most buses seem to be going well. I'm booked and paid and there was just one seat left after I got mine, Fife Dark Blues had 26 gone in a day also according to the official site and a few Dees living in England will be making the journey up, could see 700 going to Dumfries and can't wait for what should be a great game first, we have Partick Thistle on Tuesday to look forward too - a game I wouldn't like to predict.
[/quote
Sounds good boys, should be another big crowd at palmy and hopefully it will be a geat atmosphere! As long as eric paton doesnt score....
Ludo *1
Aug 23 2008, 18:48
IMO Shimmin was Morton's best player on the park.
Paton had to be MOM, quiet match but a win's a win and the refereeing was abysmal.
One point though in the 2nd half Freddie done a delicate flick over his head and everyone started booing and shouting insults as usual yet they never even waited to see if his pass was good which it was.
Bring on the farmer slayers
HardingsHamstring
Aug 23 2008, 18:58
Didn't bother travelling to Dens today, nor will I in future until the scamming c*nts get their pricing sorted out. £17 and £10 for a first division game is robbery and I won't fund any of their failed promotion bids with that sort of money.
Ross_dee
Aug 23 2008, 19:02
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Aug 23 2008, 19:58)

Didn't bother travelling to Dens today, nor will I in future until the scamming c*nts get their pricing sorted out. £17 and £10 for a first division game is robbery and I won't fund any of their failed promotion bids with that sort of money.
Someone is bitter
Skyline Drifter
Aug 23 2008, 19:02
QUOTE (MB @ Aug 23 2008, 19:23)

Yeah, looking forward to seeing Eric back next week. I think he probably did need a fresh challenge and maybe had gone a bit stale with us. His ability was never in doubt on the ball (though scoring headers is some kind of novelty, I don't think he did that in all his years with us!). What is sometimes questionable is his actual defending if up against a tricky and quick left winger. Fortunately for him and Dundee we haven't got one and I imagine he'll be desperate to have an absolute stormer next week and prove his point to Chisholm.
I think he'll get a good reception as the likes of Weatherson have in the past. I hope so anyway. It'll be a tough game and the Dundee Queens hoodoo has to go sooner or later.
QUOTE (VitalDees @ Aug 23 2008, 19:40)

Yeah, most buses seem to be going well. I'm booked and paid and there was just one seat left after I got mine - now full. Fife Dark Blues had 26 gone in a day also according to the official site and a few Dees living in England will be making the journey up, could see 700 going to Dumfries and can't wait for what should be a great game first, we have Partick Thistle on Tuesday to look forward too - a game I wouldn't like to predict.
Excellent. Should be a good atmosphere then. Let's hope all 700 manage to stay OFF the pitch this time and don't break any of our advertising hoardings, seats or throw any money, pies or Vicks Inhalers on the pitch either.
HardingsHamstring
Aug 23 2008, 19:03
QUOTE (Ross_dee @ Aug 23 2008, 20:02)

Someone is bitter
Someone is voting with their feet.
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 23 2008, 20:02)

Excellent. Should be a good atmosphere then. Let's hope all 700 manage to stay OFF the pitch this time and don't break any of our advertising hoardings, seats or throw any money, pies or Vicks Inhalers on the pitch either.

Are we allowed to shout?
Skyline Drifter
Aug 23 2008, 19:09
QUOTE (Web @ Aug 23 2008, 20:06)

Are we allowed to shout?
If you can do it quietly.
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 23 2008, 20:09)

If you can do it quietly.

Satans_Husband
Aug 23 2008, 19:15
Quite impressive that this thread is nearly 2 full pages and there hasn't been one mention of the fact that Morton had to sub Finlayson off in the first few minutes thanks to a shocker of a challenge from McMenamin which he somehow didn't get a card for though the 'referee' indicated that he took it into account when eventually giving him a yellow. For what it's worth, I doubt it made much difference as Morton were truly shite today. I thought Dundee were no great shakes either though winning games when you're not playing well blah dee blah. Excellent save from Douglas as well.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.