Full Version: Shaun Maloney
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
LordHawHaw

Wee man's signed a 4 year deal with the champions, nice to have back a player that can carry the ball and take people on smile.gif , good bit of work, apparently he'll be shown aff at Lennoxtown today.

Homesickness is not good, he's home noo

http://www.celticfc.net/news/stories/news_220808102047.aspx
drs
Complete and utter lack of guts from Mloney, can't cut it in the EPL so runs crying back to his mammy.

Where is the winning mentality in Scottish footballers today?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (drs @ Aug 22 2008, 12:27) *
Complete and utter lack of guts from Mloney, can't cut it in the EPL so runs crying back to his mammy.

Eh! oh aye get that lad in the HArmy, that'll make him a MAN!

He's homesick and taking a pay cut to come back up, I'm happy with that, as are the vast majority of Celtic fans
fatman76
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 22 2008, 12:49) *
Eh! oh aye get that lad in the HArmy, that'll make him a MAN!

He's homesick and taking a pay cut to come back up, I'm happy with that, as are the vast majority of Celtic fans

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHAHA!!!

Glad to see sellick makin big steps forward! Strachan will be ooot fer Christmas!
MC Pee Pants
the UK is fucking tiny, how anyone can get homesick moving a few hours train journey away just baffles me.
Javier Mascherano
Birmingham's probably a very different place to Glasgow.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Mango Reinhardt @ Aug 22 2008, 14:02) *
the UK is fucking tiny, how anyone can get homesick moving a few hours train journey away just baffles me.

Very easily from my experience
dogma
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Aug 22 2008, 16:54) *
Birmingham's probably a very different place to Glasgow.

Yes its much nicer.
DJP
QUOTE (dogma @ Aug 22 2008, 17:04) *
Yes its much nicer.

Not so sure about that laugh.gif.

Beren
Maloney tore the huns a new one a few times smile.gif
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Whose bright idea was it to give him number 13? I'm not particularly superstitious but talking about inviting trouble...............
No8.
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Aug 22 2008, 17:29) *
Maloney tore the huns a new one a few times smile.gif

Was that in the 6 months in the last 10 years when he wasn't injured or home sick rolleyes.gif

Maloney is a nothing player who is no better than Barry Robson. He might at a push move Paddy McCourt and Riordan further down the pecking order though tongue.gif
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 22 2008, 21:10) *
Was that in the 6 months in the last 10 years when he wasn't injured or home sick rolleyes.gif

Maloney is a nothing player who is no better than Barry Robson. He might at a push move Paddy McCourt and Riordan further down the pecking order though tongue.gif

If Maloney has as good a season as Robson had last season that'll do for me .
Guess you could argue Robbo was the difference between the OF in the 2nd half of the season - the half that determined we won the league . biggrin.gif
khenny

Same could be said of Ferguson when he was p1sh at Blackburn. Some players just cut it at certain clubs and raise their game to better levels when they play for the club they support.

I don't think that's anything to berate them about. I for one didn't want Maloney to go and I'm delighted to see him back where he belongs.

Took my son to his first ever Rangers game when Maloney scored from 300 yards and made Klos look like a fanny. Ahhhhhhh what a stonkingly good memory that is! cool.gif
No8.
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Aug 23 2008, 07:50) *
If Maloney has as good a season as Robson had last season that'll do for me .
Guess you could argue Robbo was the difference between the OF in the 2nd half of the season - the half that determined we won the league . biggrin.gif

You could argue that all you want but i would argue Eddie Smith,Ian Brines,Kenny Clark,Craig Thomson,Lex Gold and Phil O'Donnell were far more influential in determining where the league flag went rolleyes.gif
myshkin
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 23 2008, 08:27) *
You could argue that all you want but i would argue Eddie Smith,Ian Brines,Kenny Clark,Craig Thomson,Lex Gold and Phil O'Donnell were far more influential in determining where the league flag went rolleyes.gif

The huns folding up like a deck chair was a help as well laugh.gif
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 23 2008, 08:27) *

Mike McCurry ? dry.gif
bernie
QUOTE (fatman76 @ Aug 22 2008, 13:59) *
HAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHAHA!!!

Glad to see sellick makin big steps forward! Strachan will be ooot fer Christmas!

Traitor Wattie will be the 1st to go- pish manager- pish team- won nil last year and you are laughing at us???

Choob.
bernie
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 22 2008, 21:10) *

Huns having a go at the HOOPS- how ironic.
No8.
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 23 2008, 11:35) *
Traitor Wattie will be the 1st to go- pish manager- pish team- won nil last year and you are laughing at us???

Choob.

I thought Rangers won Cup double last year? rolleyes.gif
Beren
I think the player that won the league for Celtic last season was Alan Hutton. How many away SPL wins did the huns get after he left?
bernie
You are right no8 , though I was really referring to the league- I stand corrected .

By the way, take a good look at Shauns performance today on TV- sublime.

I think your "nothing player" post will come back to bite your arse.
seamus
By all accounts Maloney doid everthing else apart from score today.They do say you should never go back but he looks as if he has a point to prove and that he is young enought to do it.

I wonder who else Rangers are interested in so we can sign them. wink.gif
bernie
He was fantastic today- a breath of fresh air.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 23 2008, 19:07) *
He was fantastic today- a breath of fresh air.

Put a bit of fizz back in the team, should have scored as well though
paul-r-cfc
he was brilliant today

injected some much needed pace up front
zenith st.petersburg
Outstanding - what a difference Maloney made . I wont be unhappy if he starts next week with Samaras. Looks like a good partnership . Could scare the shit out of of our guests next week.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Aug 23 2008, 20:24) *
Outstanding - what a difference Maloney made . I wont be unhappy if he starts next week with Samaras. Looks like a good partnership . Could scare the shit out of of our guests next week.

Is jan out? I know he had a cut but does anyone know if he has any other problems
The_Judge
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 23 2008, 22:33) *
Is jan out? I know he had a cut but does anyone know if he has any other problems

Yep, GS has better players than him available. wink.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (The_Judge @ Aug 23 2008, 22:47) *

huh.gif Hmmmm Samaras played better on the floor stuff with the youngsters, Jan's better IMO
stpatty
I'm intrigued by the mentality of Celtic fans welcoming this guy back with open arms, wasn't like that for us when Ferguson came back...
khenny
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Aug 23 2008, 20:24) *

Could be a good week to try out something new and get ready for when the big guns like Aberdeen and Hearts come to town. rolleyes.gif
bernie
QUOTE (stpatty @ Aug 23 2008, 23:42) *
I'm intrigued by the mentality of Celtic fans welcoming this guy back with open arms, wasn't like that for us when Ferguson came back...

We appreciate players that can play and are exciting.

Ferguson on the other hand is boring and predictable.
fishtasteslikeshit
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 23 2008, 22:53) *
We appreciate players that can play and are exciting.

Ferguson on the other hand is boring and predictable.

that says a lot about the quality of the other scottish players when the best player of the last 7 or 8 years is boring and predictable.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (fishtasteslikeshit @ Aug 23 2008, 23:59) *
that says a lot about the quality of the other scottish players when the best player of the last 7 or 8 years is boring and predictable.
Marvin
QUOTE (The_Judge @ Aug 23 2008, 22:47) *

If Jan is fit then he'll start.

I'd love to see...

-----------------Boruc----------------

Hinkel---Loovens--McManus---Wilson

--------Brown-----------Hartley--------

Nakamura---------------------McGeady
-----------------Maloney-----------------

---------------JVOH----------------------

....with Samaras, Robson and Crosas as the impact subs
Marvin

Ferguson was a pretty good Rangers player in his day, for sure, but dont be silly.
bernie

Are you Mikey from Big Brother?
ChampionsElect

As for Maloney he was brilliant yesterday and i don't think their were too many boo'ers.
He admitted it was a mistake to leave Paradise, a didn't pretend that it just wasn't right for him, he said as soon as he left he knew it wasn't right. That along with scoring against Der Hun will do as a sufficient apology.
WeAreThePeople

Oh aye, because Villa are going to win things. laugh.gif

Same for Cuellar.

Only silver-wear he will pick up this season is a new wire for his braces. wink.gif
kinlossbhoy
Just watched the highlights from yesterdays game.... I know, a bit late, but better late than never!

Thought Maloneys touch for the third goal was superb, he couldn't have wished for a much better return.

Looked as if he hasn't been away from the club at all, and it was great to hear the reception he got from the fans.
ohphuq
I've always rated him to be honest, injuries have derailed his career a fair bit but when fully fit he could be an excellent player for Celtic and Scotland.

I was hoping he would take a bit longer to settle back in but having seen the highlights from the weekend no such luck. I'm already having nightmares about a Maloney-Weir footrace on Sunday.
rfcgav
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Aug 24 2008, 11:49) *

As for Maloney he was brilliant yesterday and i don't think their were too many boo'ers.
He admitted it was a mistake to leave Paradise, a didn't pretend that it just wasn't right for him, he said as soon as he left he knew it wasn't right. That along with scoring against Der Hun will do as a sufficient apology.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
He took his time getting back then, Or could it be he wasny good enough and came running
back to the SPL lek a fanny. The thick tims will lap it up tho.
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
bernie
Worry about your own team gav.

Wee Shaun the Tim will run your back 4 ragged- maybe yer hurting as he declared he was never going to the dark side.

You are right- after Saturday's display- we the tims will lap it up - too fooking right we will.
rfcgav
Hes a good player i always liked him and i hope he gets a run in the scotland team too but all
the pish about hes back wer he belonged and regretting leaving the next day blah blah what a
lot of pish the same as it was with ferguson leaving rangers. They were found out pure and simple.
I think we may get a draw next weekend by the amount of chances falkirk had and dundee utd and
st mirren be the better teams when you played them am not overly concerned.
fishtasteslikeshit
QUOTE (bernie @ Aug 24 2008, 11:21) *
Are you Mikey from Big Brother?

no but you want to get a life for watching that shite. Name one player whos been consistently better than ferguson?
rfcgav
QUOTE (fishtasteslikeshit @ Aug 25 2008, 15:12) *
no but you want to get a life for watching that shite. Name one player whos been consistently better than ferguson?

robson, macgregor, macdonald, thompson, mcgeady, boruc. Sorry but i think ferguson is anything
apart from consistant he goes awol for large chunks of a season has a few decent games and our
fans think hes some sort of god again. Seriously if mendes and davis hit form he should struggle
to get back in the team.

Ps he does need to get a life for watching that shit.
djn
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Aug 25 2008, 12:57) *
what a lot of pish the same as it was with ferguson leaving rangers

There's certainly a few paralells, moving south to play for an ex Old Firm boss etc etc. And, just like the paralells between one half of the Old Firm getting to the UEFA final and losing the league, both sets of fans will take a side, regardless of what they said when it happened the other way round.

As far as I'm concerned, this is a good move, it's great to see young Scottish talent playing at the top of the Scottish Premier League, so credit to Strachan etc for spending the money to make the move happen. Who could argue with that?
LordHawHaw

I'd play Maloney from the start against Rangers, he's exactly the player we need to link the midfield to both flanks and Samaras smile.gif
seamus
QUOTE (fishtasteslikeshit @ Aug 25 2008, 15:12) *

and has not been sold to balance the books.Rangers are the feeder club for middle of the road premiership teams.