Full Version: Livingston V Clyde
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Stadio Delle Almondvale
OK, I need reasons why I shouldn't expect three points from this one.
thruthenight
Cos we're ridiculously unpredictable atm.

Also, we're a very lightweight team, and of any team in the league, Clyde are the oens going to kick us off the park. They did it well last season, and I can forsee us having the same problems this time round.

Having said that, 1-0 Livi.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 18 2008, 22:28) *

Im really dissopointed im myself for being unable to come up with a witty reply here. Might as well concede defeat already.
MCL
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 18 2008, 23:28) *

There are none......
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
No need to be that confident. We have had quite a few draws up there in recent seasons
el bawbag
if we play to our best we'll f**k them over. however with the team still gelling and with clyde being the team they are(or were last season) of dirty bassas we might get kicked out of our stride.

3-1 livi
LIVIFOREVER
At this moment i don't care who we play at home i'd be looking for a win, home form in pre season , cup and league games is pretty good, some have been ground out wins, others like the County game was pretty comfortable, expect the Clyde game to be a hard fought game, mostly because they're physical but expecting us to win, not being arrogant, more because we're on a wee run and the team are playing confidently.

Really looking forward to games this season. smile.gif
LiviClyde
QUOTE (thruthenight @ Aug 18 2008, 23:55) *
Cos we're ridiculously unpredictable atm.

Also, we're a very lightweight team, and of any team in the league, Clyde are the oens going to kick us off the park. They did it well last season, and I can forsee us having the same problems this time round.

Having said that, 1-0 Livi.

QUOTE (LIVIFOREVER @ Aug 19 2008, 01:44) *
At this moment i don't care who we play at home i'd be looking for a win, home form in pre season , cup and league games is pretty good, some have been ground out wins, others like the County game was pretty comfortable, expect the Clyde game to be a hard fought game, mostly because they're physical but expecting us to win, not being arrogant, more because we're on a wee run and the team are playing confidently.

Really looking forward to games this season. smile.gif

Sorry, guys but you've obviously not seen us this season. We've got a team of mainly lightweight youngsters who've been bullied all over the park by both Morton and County.They're seriously not capable of kicking anyone off any park.

Given this and our injury problems I don't expect to take anything from my first "home" game this season.

Charles Darwin Esq
So a more level playing field then this time round? Can still see Sparky getting booted up and down the touchline though.

I'm going for a 2-2 draw.
Gypsy till I die
This season's Clyde team..........physical................ laugh.gif

We're far too lightweight all over the park except for the defence. Not sure were McGregor is on his road to recovery but really think we need him back to stand a chance of getting something. We have to play McKay as well. He turned the game for us on Saturday with his willingness to take his man on and win a number of corners and free kicks in dangerous positions. We've looked pretty dangerous from free kicks this year and it looks like something we've been working on and it's saved our bacon twice this season already. We really need to get back to basics and start passing the ball better or at all for that matter. The boo boys next to me that constantly berate the players for getting the ball up to the strikers quicker need just look to Saturday as the reason why we need to try build from the back. Clarke and Gemmill won nothing in the air all game(Clarke's goal aside) and it's just giving the ball away needlessly.

I'm praying for a Clyde win but can honestly see it being 2-1 or 2-0 Livi. sad.gif
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (LiviClyde @ Aug 19 2008, 03:22) *
Sorry, guys but you've obviously not seen us this season. We've got a team of mainly lightweight youngsters who've been bullied all over the park by both Morton and County.They're seriously not capable of kicking anyone off any park.

Given this and our injury problems I don't expect to take anything from my first "home" game this season.

You just saying that to get my hopes up laugh.gif , tacticaly last season when it came down to the nitty gritty, you were far better than us, you snuffed out the threat from Dorrans by clouting him early on and you could see it affected him as he was looking over his shoulder everytime he got the ball, if your less physical. then i really can't see us losing. I'm even more confident at set pieces, last season we were dodgy defending them, but Inness is good in the air and has strengthened us in that area, McPakes great mopping up after him when he gets caught out for pace too and our keepers good making reflex saves.

Better not build my hopes up too much though, never know what could happen if we go a goal down.
bhoonaman
to revisit last seasons first game banter with SDA, 6 -0 Clyde.
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (bhoonaman @ Aug 19 2008, 12:20) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif if we lose 6-0 i'll eat the shit of my pants. laugh.gif
bully-wee
i think clyde could get a point out of this one tbh, Wilson is back avaliable and he will make a massive difference to the midfield as far as being bullied. It was also encouraging to see Kettlewell play alot better in the second half againest county and Waddel played quite well too, defo start him over trouten- who was terrible again.
TheDoctor
Based on current form, you would have to say Livi, but if Clyde could very well turn it on. As long as it's not a repeat of the dull, dreich, dour 0-0 draw from about March last season.

The worst game I went to all last season thumbdown.gif
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (bhoonaman @ Aug 19 2008, 12:20) *

laugh.gif My what a long memory. You'll not forget the score that day I assume??

QUOTE (bully-wee @ Aug 19 2008, 12:39) *
i think clyde could get a point out of this one tbh, Wilson is back avaliable and he will make a massive difference to the midfield as far as being bullied. It was also encouraging to see Kettlewell play alot better in the second half againest county and Waddel played quite well too, defo start him over trouten- who was terrible again.

For the last two seasons there have been as many draws from this fixture than anything else. I can't say that I would be surprised if the same thing happened again. However we have a stronger team. I feel we have improved in attack with Griffiths more than matching his late season form from last season. Cuenca and now Quinn can only help in that area. McParland has aslo been helping the strength of the attack. Our defence has improved vastly. In three league games and three cup games at this stage last year, we had conceded 9 goals. It's 4 goals at this stage this season. Midfield jury is still out.

I can only take confidence at this and playing at home against a Clyde team yet to win a league game I see no real reason to feel otherwise.
Livi 293
It won't be free scoring, there'll be two/three goals at most. And I wouldn't think the margin of victory for either team would be more than 1. Our style seems to be very Italian this year. Do enough to win, and hold it. Likewise, our defence is good - so a heavy defeat unlikely.

That's as much as I care to speculate. tongue.gif

Mushroom
I'm not at all comfortable with the prospect of this game. The old man is considering not going, and if he doesn't, theres no way I'm taking the ridiculously conveluted route I'd need to to see this.

Theres alot to think about after the County game. Higgins, Ohnesorge, Roddy MacLennan, Kettlewell, Trouten and Gemmill's places are all uncertain after last week.

Really depends who's available, delighted to see Wilson return, but I think McLaren and McSwegan will be out for some time. Hopefully McGregor will be up to this one though, and I hear McCusker played an u19 match, which is a bonus.
vikingTON
Having seen both play, I'd expect Livingston to win this comfortably, possibly 3-1.
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
It seems that all the Livi fans are confident and all the Clyde fans are bricking it. I dont really buy this,I dont think the gulf in quality between the teams is that big. At the minute im saying a 1-1 draw.
Mon The Clyde
Clyde will win 1-0.
LiviClyde
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Aug 19 2008, 15:35) *
I'm not at all comfortable with the prospect of this game. The old man is considering not going, and if he doesn't, theres no way I'm taking the ridiculously conveluted route I'd need to to see this.

Theres alot to think about after the County game. Higgins, Ohnesorge, Roddy MacLennan, Kettlewell, Trouten and Gemmill's places are all uncertain after last week.

Really depends who's available, delighted to see Wilson return, but I think McLaren and McSwegan will be out for some time. Hopefully McGregor will be up to this one though, and I hear McCusker played an u19 match, which is a bonus.

What?

To be replaced by whom exactly?

And I'm also curious as to why you consider the availability of the virtually untested McCusker to be a bonus?
snorkie
Hate it when any supporters get overly confident (Smug) thinking back to last season when the Livi team hit that purple patch and looking forward to the Livi v thistle game...ended up 0-4 sad.gif
thruthenight
QUOTE (Mr Kilsyth @ Aug 19 2008, 16:04) *
It seems that all the Livi fans are confident and all the Clyde fans are bricking it. I dont really buy this,I dont think the gulf in quality between the teams is that big. At the minute im saying a 1-1 draw.

This, and I don't understand it. While we're looking good, the confidence in this thread is above what I'd expect tbf.

Still going to stand by 1-0 Livi. Could be one of the '70 minutes in, we're going to sit back and take everything you throw at us' games.
GypsyTillIDie
Although Almondvale isn't the most atmospheric ground on the planet, I quite enjoy going there. Nice enough town and the ground's quite easy to get to.

Onto the game and I predict if we don't sharpen up at the start of the game, we could be 2 down in the first 5/10 minutes. If Livi's attack is quick and on the ground, you've found the right defence to play against. Brown and Higgins ain't no Usain Bolts and could be caught out at every turn by a through ball to Griffiths.

I'd expect us to line up along these lines:
Hutton
Gibson Brown Higgins Ohnesorge
Trouten Ru.McLennan Wilson Kettlewell Waddell
Clarke

Brown will be looking for a draw, and that's the best we can hope for.

Prediction: Livi 3-1 Clyde
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Mr Kilsyth @ Aug 19 2008, 16:04) *

You haven't seen us play as of yet though, as we haven't with you. The only people who can really give a fair comparison between the teams are Morton fans. VT (as much as you might want to argue he "hates" Clyde) has given one between the teams and I'm prepared to go by that. Not that I thought this game was going to be easy, but I did think that we should win this game even before I saw VT's comments. That's based on Home adv. and the way I've seen the team play this season. Not to mention the fact that Clyde now look significantly less physical than they were last season which was, in my opinion, the main reason we got bossed about last season.

After missing out on a large preview for last Saturday's game (I couldn't be bothered since I wasn't going), I'll post one for this later in the week.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 19 2008, 21:20) *
You haven't seen us play as of yet though, as we haven't with you. The only people who can really give a fair comparison between the teams are Morton fans. VT (as much as you might want to argue he "hates" Clyde) has given one between the teams and I'm prepared to go by that. Not that I thought this game was going to be easy, but I did think that we should win this game even before I saw VT's comments. That's based on Home adv. and the way I've seen the team play this season. Not to mention the fact that Clyde now look significantly less physical than they were last season which was, in my opinion, the main reason we got bossed about last season.

After missing out on a large preview for last Saturday's game (I couldn't be bothered since I wasn't going), I'll post one for this later in the week.

Awesome. I can't wait.
vikingTON
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 19 2008, 21:20) *

I'm not too keen on Lavvy either. wink.gif
Nah, Clyde aren't the same physical bullying threat of previous years, and from what I saw appeared limited in all departments to the extent they'd be at best on a par with ourselves, that's factoring in a poor performance on the day that made them look far worse.
We challenged Livi with height and strength (allegedly) and Livingston came through it - can't find a major advantage for Clyde in any aspect of play.
bhoonaman
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 19 2008, 13:53) *
laugh.gif My what a long memory. You'll not forget the score that day I assume??

8-0 Clyde. Don't ty my patience wink.gif
Livi 293
While we've started solidly, it's important for us not to get carried away. Two good wins, but this game will provide as much a test as the previous two. I do expect that Landi will approach it in a professional manner, however.
clyde4ever
On previous results this season we were expected to beat Ross County, but were played off the park for an hour and lucky to be only 2-0 down. This is typical Clyde.

On Saturday Livingston should expect to beat us, but it wouldn't at all surprise me if we were to nick this one. Again that would be typical Clyde.

I've said for years that if you back us to lose when we're favourites, and back us to win when the bookies don't fancy us you'd make a decent profit.

A crazy hunch for 2-1 Clyde.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 19 2008, 21:55) *
Awesome. I can't wait.

Your sarcasm hurts me deeply sad.gif

QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 19 2008, 22:34) *
I'm not too keen on Lavvy either. wink.gif

As long as you like us better than Clyde biggrin.gif
Pride Of The Clyde
QUOTE (clyde4ever @ Aug 19 2008, 23:04) *
On previous results this season we were expected to beat Ross County, but were played off the park for an hour and lucky to be only 2-0 down. This is typical Clyde.

On Saturday Livingston should expect to beat us, but it wouldn't at all surprise me if we were to nick this one. Again that would be typical Clyde.

I've said for years that if you back us to lose when we're favourites, and back us to win when the bookies don't fancy us you'd make a decent profit.

A crazy hunch for 2-1 Clyde.

I would agree with most of that, all except the bit about us expecting to beat ross County. I had a bad feeling about saturday because of the players we had missing.
Wilson being back is a huge bonus for us, he is the experienced head in the middle of the park i believe we have been sorely missing.
If we can get the ball down and play a bit of football and forget about the long ball nonsense i am pretty confident we can collect all 3 points.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Pride Of The Clyde @ Aug 19 2008, 23:34) *
If we can get the ball down and play a bit of football and forget about the long ball nonsense i am pretty confident we can collect all 3 points.

If you try and play that way, you will definetely get humped. We now command that style of play and I think Clyde would fail miserably at attempting it. Long-Ball may well just be your best option.
strathbrock
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 19 2008, 23:44) *
If you try and play that way, you will definetely get humped. We now command that style of play and I think Clyde would fail miserably at attempting it. Long-Ball may well just be your best option.

Wish I had your confidence. No easy games in this division.The optimism of youth eh! wink.gif
LIVIFOREVER
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Aug 19 2008, 20:50) *
Although Almondvale isn't the most atmospheric ground on the planet, I quite enjoy going there. Nice enough town and the ground's quite easy to get to.

Onto the game and I predict if we don't sharpen up at the start of the game, we could be 2 down in the first 5/10 minutes. If Livi's attack is quick and on the ground, you've found the right defence to play against. Brown and Higgins ain't no Usain Bolts and could be caught out at every turn by a through ball to Griffiths.

I'd expect us to line up along these lines:
Hutton
Gibson Brown Higgins Ohnesorge
Trouten Ru.McLennan Wilson Kettlewell Waddell
Clarke

Brown will be looking for a draw, and that's the best we can hope for.

Prediction: Livi 3-1 Clyde

I'd expect us to really go at you early on, same as the Morton game, Sparky is a livewire and you took him out at your ground the last time we played, that changed the game in your fave, so it all might hang on him not getting injured.
We do have a host of other players scoring goals right enough, Hamill, Fox, McParland, Talbot, Davidson, young Smith(could come on for Sparky late on), Rocco Quinn and Dave MacKay haven't scored yet but are capable.

A point of note, St Johnstone scored with 2 long balls against us, first one was a long ball into the box, 2nd was a ball humped up the park that a St J's player chased into the box and got fouled for a penalty, also Inness is a bit slow chasing balls going past him, so that would prob be your best bet against us.

Damn, shouldn't be telling you this, take out Sparky and fire long balls up at us. laugh.gif
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 19 2008, 23:34) *
Your sarcasm hurts me deeply sad.gif

I feel your tough skin will survive.
bhoonaman

you need a strong and/or tall forward for the long ball game which we don't have so it would be a useless tactic. We have pace in Mckay but don't have a midfielder with the passing ability to play it into space for him over the top of the defence. Our best bet is a free kick on the edge of the box and Billy Gibson running on to it.
ClydeSI
this thread reminds me a wee bit of the play off scores thread.....
Livi 293
To add a bit more (couldn't be bothered earlier):

Clyde last season were very good, at Broadwood anyway, at closing us down quickly, and keeping us pinned back in our own half. As a result we couldn't play the ball out of defence - and we never got going.

My concern would be that if Talbot and Mackay are closed down quickly, and we can't get the ball to our central midfielders, we would struggle to make an impact on the game. I thought that happpened a bit against Forfar in the first half, and we reverted to a long ball to Griffiths and Cuenca; no physical presence whatsoever. Quinn coming on at half time gave us some physical presence, and we got a grip on the game.

Clyde fans have said they are a fairly lightweight team this year. In that case, it might be fairly open and free flowing, which is the opposite of what I'd predicted earlier in the thread. If Clyde stand off our players, allow us time to work the ball into midfield and down the wings, I'd be fairly confident of getting three points. Ross County certainly did. At Greenock, we almost took Morton by surprise and that had the same effect. It's notable that, if anything, we've looked more uncomfortable (the Stranraer game apart) against lower league teams who chase everything.

It'll be a good test of our ability to adapt to playing against different types of opposition if Clyde close everything down quickly - it's the sort of team, in limited experience, I'd expect from Brown. Happened at Almondvale in the 0-0 too. If they do that, then (last year anyway) they had some decent pace going forward that can be problematic.
northernlivifan
I'm heading down, thisl b my first home game of season, canny wait! I'm expecting a toughy, this is a real test to us to see if we can gather a run together! I can defo see us scoring, but something iffy inside me says clyde will equalise! 1-1 is my prediction, which would be a great result for clyde!
BullyWeeBoy
i can see clyde just scrapping this one 1-0
Haitch
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 18 2008, 23:28) *

I have backed Livi to win. There. That is the only reason you need why you will not pick up all three points.

QUOTE (Mr Kilsyth @ Aug 19 2008, 00:05) *
Im really dissopointed im myself for being unable to come up with a witty reply here. Might as well concede defeat already.

Hang your head in shame.
Livi Crazy
Going for 1-1. The over-confidence of the other fans is a bit much. As yet we have not been particularly impressive and frankly of the games I have seen this season I have been bored. We have ground out most of our results. Against Stranraer, the score flattered us, it took till the hour to start fully controlling the game, Ross County, it took till the hour again before we took control, Forfar we were awful, and lucky to not be beaten. We do however have some decent players, and some on form players, I expect Griffiths to get another goal, defence is solid just now, and I expect us to conceed no more than 1 goal, but I expect our attacking threat to be found out quickly by Clyde. So 1-1 would be a fair result, I dont expect a particularly good game, but we do have tha ability to grind out a result, thats about all that can be said about this season so far.
LIVIFOREVER
lol you crack me up, if we won 6-0 against Clyde this Sat you'd still be saying this.

We've played some decent stuff in games, fail to see when we didn't control the County game, we were all over them even when they had 11 men, Sparky got the goal in 12 mins and then Craig got sent off, was the easiest game i've seen us play in years, we cruised to a 2-0 win, only complaint was we took it easy instead of racking up the goals.

The Forfar game was decent to watch from a neutral view i'd say, Forfar played a good game, yes we found it difficult against them but that's what cup games are all about.

Against Stranraer the score flattered us, ffs behave yourself, we won 4-0 and you still were bored.

Morton game by all accounts was a good performance by Livi, 2-0 up in 12 mins, actually we could've been up 2-0 against County in 12 mins but Davidson hit the post, this time however he scored and that'll have done his confidence no end of good. Morton fought hard the last 20 mins but was good to see us capable of hanging onto the lead and not collapsing like in the past.

Anyway your entitled to your opinion but mines isn't based on arrogance, going by how i've seen us develope so far and 5 wins out of 6 isn't bad, a winning habit is a good habit to have, gets you results when you maybe don't deserve them just because the team have the belief they can win.

I'm loving the way we're playing football this season, winnings a bonus and i hope we keep on doing it.
Fukk the Morton fans have given Livi more credit than you.
Livi Crazy
QUOTE (LIVIFOREVER @ Aug 20 2008, 22:21) *
lol you crack me up, if we won 6-0 against Clyde this Sat you'd still be saying this.

If we play exciting attacking football, rather than this slow boring pass across the back and occasional burst up the field I will be happy

We've played some decent stuff in games, fail to see when we didn't control the County game, we were all over them even when they had 11 men, Sparky got the goal in 12 mins and then Craig got sent off, was the easiest game i've seen us play in years, we cruised to a 2-0 win, only complaint was we took it easy instead of racking up the goals.

The County game was boring, it was only once the first sending off did we look like we were totally comfortable, before that I felt they could come back at any point. As I say defence has been strong but our general attacking threat was poor.

The Forfar game was decent to watch from a neutral view i'd say, Forfar played a good game, yes we found it difficult against them but that's what cup games are all about.

We should be able to dispose of a lower league team very well, and not so uncomfortable, like last year when we beat Alloa last year, we always looked far more threatening, constantly going forwards, that was before half our team left us in January. Forfar hit the goalpost, and got several good shots off before we finally looked even slightly threatening.

Against Stranraer the score flattered us, ffs behave yourself, we won 4-0 and you still were bored.

We did dominate that game, but 2-0 would have been a fair score for it, 3 of the goals came within a very poor five mins for Stranraer.

Morton game by all accounts was a good performance by Livi, 2-0 up in 12 mins, actually we could've been up 2-0 against County in 12 mins but Davidson hit the post, this time however he scored and that'll have done his confidence no end of good. Morton fought hard the last 20 mins but was good to see us capable of hanging onto the lead and not collapsing like in the past.

I didnt see this game to make comment.

Anyway your entitled to your opinion but mines isn't based on arrogance, going by how i've seen us develope so far and 5 wins out of 6 isn't bad, a winning habit is a good habit to have, gets you results when you maybe don't deserve them just because the team have the belief they can win.

Wins aren't everything IMO, I personally would rather watch a great game where we lost, than watch a boring game where we grind out a result. Its alright for a couple fo games, but if thats all you can do, its tedious, look at Rangers fans turning on Smith for doing the same thing. Don't get too carried away, in our first season down here under Robbo, after the first 9 games we were near the top of the league, by the second lot of games teams had sussed us out and by the end of the season we survived relegation by two points, I have a feeling that teams will learn to take us on and attack us and we may be found out, I hope to be wrong.

I'm loving the way we're playing football this season, winnings a bonus and i hope we keep on doing it.
Fukk the Morton fans have given Livi more credit than you.

Fair enough, your obviously the sort that finds Italian football enjoyable, personally I find Landi's style extremely boring, I hate this slow pass around the back and burst forward every so often, it may be effective, but its so boring to watch, and I will be annoyed if it carries on like this for the whole season.

I am not one of those that criticised Mark Proctor, I found his style of football exciting to watch and the most enjoyable football I have seen since Davie Hay's team in 2003/04. I have yet to be convinced by Landi's team.
StevenC
If we're serious about wanting to be title contenders we should be beating Clyde comfortably at home.

I'm saying 2-0, and a lot less comfortable than We'd want it to be smile.gif
LIVIFOREVER
Livi Crazy i'm not going to respond to your whole post, would get too much into a big debate, we're playing entertaining football, your compairing us against MP team but for the first 7 games we were shite, we hit a patch where we were playing good but one week we'd win 4-0 then next again week we'd lose, got gubbed from St Johnstone a few times, i'd much rather we played consistantly TBH and we're doing that, getting wins is exactly what the manager wants, he said he doesn't want to come away losing 4-3 and fans saying what a great game it was but we LOST, wont get promotion losing that's for sure. A couple of the games have been low tempo at times but not the whole game, we just need to keep a high tempo for longer spells but that will come as we get further into the season, give us time man, i think too many fans are being hyper critical of the team when the seasons hardly started.

Good to see James McPakes take on things on the Livi website, if the fans are not positive, then how the feck does that help the team.
Mushroom
QUOTE (LiviClyde @ Aug 19 2008, 17:02) *
What?

To be replaced by whom exactly?

And I'm also curious as to why you consider the availability of the virtually untested McCusker to be a bonus?

Those 3, probably no-one. They shouldn't be automatic picks though.

McCusker's another option - as you say - he's untested. He could be god on toast for all we know!
Nizzy
If you try and play that way, you will definetely get humped. We now command that style of play

QUOTE (Livi 293 @ Aug 20 2008, 10:46) *
Quinn coming on at half time gave us some physical presence

QUOTE (StevenC @ Aug 21 2008, 06:30) *
If we're serious about wanting to be title contenders

This thread is full of comedy gems, the three quoted being among the most amusing.