Full Version: Dunfermline Athletic V Airdrie United
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Grant228
I feel this will be a very tight game with Airdrie showing that they are not a team to be taking lightly having conceded very few goals...
Jimmy85
If we play like we did on Saturday I'm confident we can break them down.

1-0 Pars

DAFC
I'm still raging about the 2-3 cup game.

Grant228
Was it not 3-4?
Jimmy85
Aye it was 4-3. That was the most amount of Burbery I have ever seen in one area at that game! What a bunch of complete arseholes wink.gif
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (Jimmy85 @ Aug 18 2008, 20:38) *
Aye it was 4-3. That was the most amount of Burbery I have ever seen in one area at that game! What a bunch of complete arseholes wink.gif

we were great that day......
Jimmy85
Your team was great that day dry.gif
Your fans on the other hand were a complete disgrace, i think there must have been a mass viewing of Green Street before they left Airdrie!
Trenchie
QUOTE (Jimmy85 @ Aug 18 2008, 20:44) *
Your fans on the other hand were a complete disgrace, i think there must have been a mass viewing of Green Street before they left Airdrie!

There was and this time we are watching Football factory before we head over to Fife... biggrin.gif
Ade Eyemond
I'd almost forgotten what a bunch of total and utter dickheads Dunfermline fans are !

I'll assume you muppets made do with sesame street.
Rio 2
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 18 2008, 20:28) *
I'm still raging about the 2-3 cup game.

I'm still raging as well...

It should have been a lot more... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif rolleyes.gif
DAFC
Must've blanked out the score.

I do remember saying to my Dad 'ah well at least we got a replay, are you gonna....AH f**k'

Seeing Derek Young prance about in midfield after Lee Makel got sent off told me that Leishman wasn't up for the job.

You see... still pissed off.

Rio 2
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 18 2008, 21:18) *
Must've blanked out the score.

I do remember saying to my Dad 'ah well at least we got a replay, are you gonna....AH f**k'

Seeing Derek Young prance about in midfield after Lee Makel got sent off told me that Leishman wasn't up for the job.

You see... still pissed off.

Well at least you will have a chance on Saturday...

Homer's injured.. laugh.gif

"Again"
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (Ade Eyemond @ Aug 18 2008, 20:50) *
I'd almost forgotten what a bunch of total and utter dickheads Dunfermline fans are !

We love you too. One David Syme.

This will be difficult, Airdrie never make it easy for us and this weekend will be no different. I expect them to come and try and keep it tight and look to hit on the break.

Will be a low scoring affair I think.
Ade Eyemond
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Aug 18 2008, 21:41) *
We love you too. One David Syme.

This will be difficult, Airdrie never make it easy for us and this weekend will be no different. I expect them to come and try and keep it tight and look to hit on the break.

At least big Davie - blind bassa that he is, is still alive and kicking, unlike serial adulterer........
revolvingduck
QUOTE (Ade Eyemond @ Aug 18 2008, 20:50) *

Fair enough, but i'd rather be a dickhead then a dirty, thieving, nazi b*****d wink.gif
DAFC
Play nice kiddas.

Ade Eyemond
QUOTE (revolvingduck @ Aug 18 2008, 21:58) *
Fair enough, but i'd rather be a dickhead then a dirty, thieving, nazi b*****d wink.gif

Awww, f*** , is that the best you can do ?
Parscelona
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Aug 18 2008, 21:41) *

I agree, 4-0 Dunfermline wink.gif

revolvingduck
QUOTE (Ade Eyemond @ Aug 18 2008, 22:04) *
Awww, f*** , is that the best you can do ?

Probably not, but i'll leave the actual banter for teams will some respectable qualities.

I actually despise your team more than Falkirk which really is a sad state of affairs
RedV

Really? I was there that day and didn't notice anything at all. What exactly happened?

Where does this extreme hatred of Airdrie by Dunfermline fans come from?
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (Ade Eyemond @ Aug 18 2008, 21:58) *
At least big Davie - blind bassa that he is, is still alive and kicking, unlike serial adulterer........

QUOTE (RedV @ Aug 18 2008, 23:06) *
Really? I was there that day and didn't notice anything at all. What exactly happened?

Where does this extreme hatred of Airdrie by Dunfermline fans come from?

Probably from attitudes like the above.
Socks
Even this early in the week, this looks to have the potential to be one of the most pathetic threads ever seen on this forum - congratulations to all responsible so far for that. Such a pity that there is no way of filtering out posts that bang on about Nazis or include pathetic comments relating to a dead former player. There has usually been a bit of feeling about these games since I started going nearly 20 years ago, but this kind of stuff just makes the folk who come out with it look like complete fandans in my opinion.

Anyway, as to the game. It looks a pretty hard one as Airdrie seem to have been pretty solid so far, and losing only one goal in three games after any promotion is pretty good going. I really want to beat Airdrie this season to partly make up for that Scottish Cup game 3 years ago - it was one of only about 3 in the last 10 years where I've still been in a rage by the time I got back to the car. I still passionately despise Lee Makel for that one, getting himself sent off for being a tit, trying to skin his man a third time on the edge of his own box, losing it, then having to bring him down. I can't ever remember being so absolutely furious with one particular player as I was that day.

No prediction from me as to how it's going to go as far as the result is concerned - only a close, nervy game, probably with no more than one goal in it either way.
diamonds2002
That 4-3 game was probably the best game I have ever been at. It had everything including the result.

Anyway I wont be there on Saturday but I am not confident about this one - feel that it could be our first away defeat of the season
jester

While your defence had a special viewing of Sesame Street before the game laugh.gif
jester
Apologies Ron.
Note to self:
Read ALL posts before submitting witty reply dry.gif
RedV

Still waiting for an explanation as to what made the Airdrie fans a disgrace that day. All of them, or just some? Loads, or a tiny wee handful?
QUOTE (jester @ Aug 19 2008, 09:30) *
Apologies Ron.
Note to self:
Read ALL posts before submitting witty reply dry.gif

no no batter right in...I was looking forward to another decent thread but this ones deteriorating rapidly...anyhoos i'm off to polish my panzer...no it's not a euphamism I really do have a panzer.

Lets hope the atmosphere is the same as the last time...it were fookin' great.......we were late in as usual and it sounded like there were thousands of airdrie fans as we could hear it all the way to the bottom of the hill....turns out there was only a few hundred.
Aufc

What on earth are you talking about you fud?

Aufc
QUOTE (Socks @ Aug 19 2008, 07:43) *
Even this early in the week, this looks to have the potential to be one of the most pathetic threads ever seen on this forum - congratulations to all responsible so far for that. Such a pity that there is no way of filtering out posts that bang on about Nazis or include pathetic comments relating to a dead former player. There has usually been a bit of feeling about these games since I started going nearly 20 years ago, but this kind of stuff just makes the folk who come out with it look like complete fandans in my opinion.

I agree with you here. However, as far as i can see, not one airdrie fan has mentioned anything about the player. It is only you fifers that have resorted to the ridiculously boring shout of nazis etc etc etc blah blah...yawn.

Anyways i reckon you will finally get revenge for the cup game as you seem to be doing well. You will win by one goal.
jester
QUOTE (Aufc @ Aug 19 2008, 09:40) *
I agree with you here. However, as far as i can see, not one airdrie fan has mentioned anything about the player. It is only you fifers that have resorted to the ridiculously boring shout of nazis etc etc etc blah blah...yawn.

Anyways i reckon you will finally get revenge for the cup game as you seem to be doing well. You will win by one goal.

I think the term serial adulterer gas been used, which was possibly a reference to the aforementioned.

I was at the 4-3 game, fantastic result and atmosphere, and we left after the game. I do recall the police blocking the road so that all Airdrie fans had to be herded the other way, and I recall a bit of abuse from some of the Dunfermline fans, bat to be honest we didn't bloody care. Life was sweet.

QUOTE (jester @ Aug 19 2008, 09:47) *
I think the term serial adulterer gas been used, which was possibly a reference to the aforementioned.

I was at the 4-3 game, fantastic result and atmosphere, and we left after the game. I do recall the police blocking the road so that all Airdrie fans had to be herded the other way, and I recall a bit of abuse from some of the Dunfermline fans, bat to be honest we didn't bloody care. Life was sweet.

hmmmphh...we had to spend an hour or so at Dunfermline nick...free the Airdrie one...and they did.......although the match inspector refused to allow his ossifers to play us a game of fives in the car park at the station...he even told us we had to put our ball away...we had so little to do we smoked a joint instead....so it's the policemans fault we turned to drugs.
wearealldoomed

That piss poor attempt at a stand off was hilarious. One or two possibly inappropriate songs may have been sung at the polis line, but that's all part of the fun. ph34r.gif

As for the game, I fear our first comfortable defeat. Dunfermline have surprised me by actually singing some strikers, whereas ours couldn't hit a coo's arse with a banjo in the league thus far

A point would be a superb outcome here, but my head says 2-0 Dunfermline. Morton the following week already looks like a massive game.
diamonds2002
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Aug 19 2008, 09:33) *
no no batter right in...I was looking forward to another decent thread but this ones deteriorating rapidly...anyhoos i'm off to polish my panzer...no it's not a euphamism I really do have a panzer.

Lets hope the atmosphere is the same as the last time...it were fookin' great.......we were late in as usual and it sounded like there were thousands of airdrie fans as we could hear it all the way to the bottom of the hill....turns out there was only a few hundred.

I always had you pegged as a Luftwaffe man - snazzier uniforms
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Aug 19 2008, 11:08) *
I always had you pegged as a Luftwaffe man - snazzier uniforms

Waffen SS is where it's really at......
diamonds2002
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Aug 19 2008, 11:13) *
Waffen SS is where it's really at......

selbstverständlich
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Aug 19 2008, 10:24) *
That piss poor attempt at a stand off was hilarious. One or two possibly inappropriate songs may have been sung at the polis line, but that's all part of the fun. ph34r.gif

As for the game, I fear our first comfortable defeat. Dunfermline have surprised me by actually singing some strikers, whereas ours couldn't hit a coo's arse with a banjo in the league thus far

A point would be a superb outcome here, but my head says 2-0 Dunfermline. Morton the following week already looks like a massive game.

See, this should enable me to be confident, but I can see it being the case that Airdrie will end up frustrating.

Thankfully, a lot of our lot from that cup game have moved on- I've still not forgiven Lee Makel dry.gif
parslad
QUOTE (RedV @ Aug 19 2008, 09:31) *
Still waiting for an explanation as to what made the Airdrie fans a disgrace that day. All of them, or just some? Loads, or a tiny wee handful?

Thought Airdrie fans created a good atmosphere that day.Not big numbers but made plenty noise.There was a mob of about 70 "Lads" strutting about before the game but never saw trouble. so dont know why they're being called a disgrace.There have been incidents over the years but never saw anything that day.
As for this weeks game think we might shade it 1-0.Always close games between the two and can't see this being any different.
bingo
How much is it to get in and more importantly how much are the steak bridies? thumbup2.gif
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (bingo @ Aug 19 2008, 14:02) *
How much is it to get in and more importantly how much are the steak bridies? thumbup2.gif

£16 IIRC, concessions at £8.

Steak Bridies are a mere £1.80, or something. Alas, I am not up to speed with the recommended retail price of the famous bridie- I haven't been to EEP since February sad.gif

I am ashamed.
LTP
QUOTE (Larbert_Par @ Aug 19 2008, 14:09) *
£16 IIRC, concessions at £8.

Steak Bridies are a mere £1.80, or something. Alas, I am not up to speed with the recommended retail price of the famous bridie- I haven't been to EEP since February sad.gif

I am ashamed.

Bridies are £1.90 btw. Worth every penny. thumbup2.gif
el Gringo

Subtle attempt at humour, or ironic typo faux pas?
LTP
QUOTE (el Gringo @ Aug 19 2008, 15:19) *
Subtle attempt at humour, or ironic typo faux pas?

The first one I think. mad.gif
QUOTE (LTP @ Aug 19 2008, 16:20) *

mmm I see your anger as oppose to feeling it.
RedV
QUOTE (LTP @ Aug 19 2008, 16:20) *

Yeah, of course. That's the obvious conclusion isn't it?

Even if the letters G and H are right next to each other on the keyboard.
rolleyes.gif

jester
ohmy.gif
In the words of Larry David- It's a typo!
SteamingparBoz
QUOTE (Ade Eyemond @ Aug 18 2008, 21:58) *

I'd almost forgotten what a bunch of dickheads a section of your fans can be. But that's sorted it. Thanks.
gingapar
QUOTE (RedV @ Aug 19 2008, 09:31) *

probably a 'tiny wee handful', but a 'tiny wee handful' that has not belonged to any other club coming to East End in many years, including the old firm. before the game, i witnessed a group of grown men (in their 30's at least) challenging any one in black & white to a fight. They charged agressively at a group of home fans (including children) spitting, and making agressive threats before being dispersed by the police although unfortunately not repremanded. A minority, certainly, but most 'minorities' left that sort of behaviour back in the 80's.
LTP
QUOTE (RedV @ Aug 19 2008, 16:26) *
Yeah, of course. That's the obvious conclusion isn't it?

Even if the letters G and H are right next to each other on the keyboard.
rolleyes.gif

Well given the reputation of Airdrie fans it's hard not assume. It's not as if similar things have not been said in the past. I seem to recall a 'minority' of your fans interupting the minutes applause for Norrie before the 4-3 game.
Grant228
It was a minutes applause.
They never done a minutes silence because of the fact it was a stick on that a section of the Airdrie would interrupt it.