Full Version: Edu Signs
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
G_Man1985
Toronto midfielder Maurice Edu is travelling to Glasgow on Saturday to finalise a transfer to Rangers.

It was reported on Friday night that Rangers had agreed a deal for the American international.

And the Scottish club have now confirmed the news and revealed that Edu will be attending the match against Hearts this weekend.

Rangers will discuss personal terms with the 22-year-old after agreeing a fee of $5million (£2.5million) with Toronto.

They will also work with Edu and their American counterparts in a bid to secure a work permit for the player.

Edu has recently returned from the Olympic Games in China, where he featured in all three of USA's games.

He also enjoyed a superb spell with Toronto after being selected as first pick in the Major League Soccer draft of 2007, with his performances earning him the Rookie of the Year award.

Never heard of him. News was from sky sports

Mac
Apparently Mo Johnston recommended him...

The Last couple of American lads to come over to Europe with big reputations haven't faired too well, Landon Donovan, Eddie Johnson & Freddy Adu.

Not sure Maurice will be any different, although he's picked a weaker league to start in. After all, St.Mirren plucked Andy Dorman from the MLS and he's a handy wee player.
glasnost
QUOTE (Mac @ Aug 16 2008, 15:01) *
Apparently Mo Johnston recommended him...

Typical of the hun.
Casper Rose
he's good in FM, that's all I can tell you
Steve McQueen
I thought it was going to be the ex-Arsenal player!!!
Disraeli
It may be difficult to obtain the work permit, because of his age - and subsequent lack of international experience; the fact that he played at the olympics could work in our favour, though.

Also, this deal (if it goes through) is likely to mean the end of Hemdani's time at Rangers.
rfcgav
Never heard of him but i liked reyna when he was here hopefully will be a good buy time will tell.
LordHawHaw

Mo Johnstone is a rat, I hope his nose drops off smile.gif
khenny
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 17 2008, 10:16) *

How dare you insult rats!

How very fookin dare you!

I happen to like rats! mad.gif
calum_gers
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 16 2008, 17:09) *
Typical of the hun.

LordHawHawPosted Today, 10:16

like the murphys they aint bitter! biggrin.gif

LordHawHaw
QUOTE (khenny @ Aug 17 2008, 10:27) *
How dare you insult rats!

How very fookin dare you!

Yer right the wee cnut is lower than a rat, lower than a snake's belly and that low mad.gif

QUOTE (calum_gers @ Aug 17 2008, 12:12) *
LordHawHawPosted Today, 10:16

like the murphys they aint bitter! biggrin.gif

I hate the wee cnut
youroldda
mad.gif
QUOTE (Ludhiana @ Aug 17 2008, 18:23) *
Yer right the wee cnut is lower than a rat, lower than a snake's belly and that low mad.gif

I hate the wee cnut

mad.gif right thats enough......lets just hope he dies in a freak sausage machine accident and leave it at that!
Top Cat
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 17 2008, 18:23) *

I hate the wee cnut

I quite liked him when he scored goals, for us and Scotland of course! tongue.gif
No8.
QUOTE (khenny @ Aug 17 2008, 10:27) *

We noticed you supported Celtic...You didn't have to mention it again tongue.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 17 2008, 21:03) *
We noticed you supported Celtic...You didn't have to mention it again tongue.gif

Fukk there all turning up, we thought the aliens had did a mass capture of rangers fans a few weeks ago, I take it that even they could not live with you lot (pools of pish in the spaceship, magnetic intergalactic wrap drives smashed to fukk with bottles because it took too long to power up, Chelsea fans dressing up as Cuddly teddies etc etc tec)
Top Cat
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 17 2008, 21:03) *

Bloobell
The official line on it

<h3 class="headline" id="headline">Edu Joins Gers </h3>by Lindsay Herron

RANGERS have clinched a deal to sign exciting US international Maurice Edu on a five year contract, subject to a work permit.

The Light Blues have agreed personal terms with the 22-year-old midfield player after clinching a $5million deal with Major League Soccer.

The next move is for Rangers to obtain a work permit for the American star who already has six caps for the full national team having come through the ranks.

Edu was at Ibrox for Saturday's 2-0 win over Hearts but he has now flown back to the USA to prepare for the World Cup qualifier in Guatemala on Wednesday when DaMarcus Beasley will be with him.

The midfielder was recommened by Mo Johnston, who worked with the player at Toronto FC in the MLS, and Rangers had him watched before making their move.

Johnston was coach at the Candian club before moving upstairs and believes Edu has a very bright future.

Rangers are pleased to have completed the deal but have to wait for the work permit situation to be sorted out and have now set the wheels in motion.

Edu will join Pedro Mendes, who made a fantastic debut against Hearts after his £3million move from Portsmouth on Friday, and Spanish sensation Aaron Niguez who has joined on a two-year loan deal from Valencia.

Steve Davis is also set to become a Rangers player tomorrow. A fee has been agreed with Fulham for the midfielder, who was on loan at Ibrox last season. and a deal has been agreed with the player in principle. Davis has one or two things to tie up with Fulham but all things being equal he will be a Rangers player tomorow.

He is already in Scotland with the Northern Ireland squad preparing for Wednesday's friendly with George Burley's side at Hampden on Wednesday.

Top Cat
So, is this Edu a player then. What should we expect??
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Aug 17 2008, 22:51) *
So, is this Edu a player then.

Id certainly hope so for your sakes. laugh.gif
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 17 2008, 22:02) *
Fukk there all turning up, we thought the aliens had did a mass capture of rangers fans a few weeks ago, I take it that even they could not live with you lot (pools of pish in the spaceship, magnetic intergalactic wrap drives smashed to fukk with bottles because it took too long to power up, Chelsea fans dressing up as Cuddly teddies etc etc tec)

WTF is a 'wrap drive'....you really have not improved any. rolleyes.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 17 2008, 23:26) *
WTF is a 'wrap drive'....you really have not improved any. rolleyes.gif

Can you no guess given it context? rolleyes.gif
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 17 2008, 23:36) *
Can you no guess given it context? rolleyes.gif

I know what warp drive is but not wrap drive...i will put it down to utter pish patter. Never mind you can comfort yourself knowing you beat Rangers to Loovens laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif ...The Gutter press...you gotta love them. wink.gif
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 18 2008, 00:27) *
I know what warp drive is but not wrap drive...i will put it down to utter pish patter. Never mind you can comfort yourself knowing you beat Rangers to Loovens laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif ...The Gutter press...you gotta love them. wink.gif

Jesus I'd hoped that when you and Bloobaws came out of hiding you'd be happier, however I'm sensing the Famine or Naka song just around the corner from one of you. ohmy.gif
jaypreet
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Aug 16 2008, 22:36) *
It may be difficult to obtain the work permit, because of his age - and subsequent lack of international experience; the fact that he played at the olympics could work in our favour, though.

Also, this deal (if it goes through) is likely to mean the end of Hemdani's time at Rangers.

In order to qualify for a British work permit I think you have to have played 25% of your countries games in the last calendar year. The reason for this rule is so that only the most exciting talents from abroad come in, with British youngsters getting their chance over youngsters from other countries with similar talent. 

If you include the Olympics then I think Edu has played at least 25% of the USA's games. Regardless, he'll get a work permit anyway, in my opinion, as he certainly is an exciting talent.

Robbo1873
QUOTE (jaypreet @ Aug 18 2008, 09:20) *
In order to qualify for a British work permit I think you have to have played 25% of your countries games in the last calendar year. The reason for this rule is so that only the most exciting talents from abroad come in, with British youngsters getting their chance over youngsters from other countries with similar talent. 

If you include the Olympics then I think Edu has played at least 25% of the USA's games. Regardless, he'll get a work permit anyway, in my opinion, as he certainly is an exciting talent.

Going by that you have to wonder how Mizuno ever got a work permit.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Robbo1873 @ Aug 18 2008, 11:00) *
Going by that you have to wonder how Mizuno ever got a work permit.

How many games did Mizuno play for Japan then?
Swampy
QUOTE (Steve McQueen @ Aug 16 2008, 18:57) *
I thought it was going to be the ex-Arsenal player!!!

I thought it was going to be the Betis one.
No8.
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 18 2008, 07:52) *
Jesus I'd hoped that when you and Bloobaws came out of hiding you'd be happier, however I'm sensing the Famine or Naka song just around the corner from one of you. ohmy.gif

Funnily enough i was called a miserable b*****d on another forum this morning...i could get a complex here tongue.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (No8. @ Aug 18 2008, 12:51) *
Funnily enough i was called a miserable b*****d on another forum this morning...i could get a complex here tongue.gif
Would that be the armchair forum where you act like a deranged bigoted moron?
No8.
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 18 2008, 12:52) *
Would that be the armchair forum where you act like a deranged bigoted moron?

Nope that would be Finalscoreforums.....you can stalk me there as well weirdo. tongue.gif
youroldda
QUOTE (G_Man1985 @ Aug 16 2008, 13:08) *
Never heard of him. News was from sky sports

2.5 mil for some cock from toronto!!! sounds a bit desperate to me,apparenlty he's shit as well, but I like the way minty paraded him to huns before the game, obviously to distract the fans revolt, a bit like showing a sparkler to a bunch of rabid monkeys,,, worked a treat wink.gif
rfcgav
QUOTE (youroldda @ Aug 18 2008, 17:13) *
2.5 mil for some cock from toronto!!! sounds a bit desperate to me,apparenlty he's shit as well, but I like the way minty paraded him to huns before the game, obviously to distract the fans revolt, a bit like showing a sparkler to a bunch of rabid monkeys,,, worked a treat wink.gif

Yeah what we should be doing is signing the footballing genius that is paddy mccourt and the likes
Edu 22 years old and caps for USA already yeah he sounds shite cmon murray f**k you playing at?
we want PADDY PADDY PADDY PADDY........
youroldda
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Aug 18 2008, 17:19) *
Yeah what we should be doing is signing the footballing genius that is paddy mccourt and the likes
Edu 22 years old and caps for USA already yeah he sounds shite cmon murray f**k you playing at?
we want PADDY PADDY PADDY PADDY........

capped for the USA ohmy.gif he must be amazing..................... laugh.gif
ballymoneyyin
all i can tell you is that his old club sung his name in the stands to the tune of hey jude by the beatles

hope we are doing the same in weeks to come and for the next 2 seasons until a bigger team like bristol city but off the point. heres the example

NA NA NA NA NA NA NA, NA NA NA NA EEDDUUUUU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BYBouSCvKAw

rfcgav
QUOTE (youroldda @ Aug 18 2008, 17:59) *
capped for the USA ohmy.gif he must be amazing..................... laugh.gif

My point being hes 22 and has a few caps already and USA are a good team he sounds pretty
decent time will tell. I would be more concerned about your own singings or lack off so far.
rfcgav
edu

Nae bad strikes for a defensive midfielder...
youroldda
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Aug 18 2008, 18:33) *
My point being hes 22 and has a few caps already and USA are a good team he sounds pretty
decent time will tell. I would be more concerned about your own singings or lack off so far.

I would be more concerned if i was a hun, and we just sold our best defender then spent the money on midfielders?
Ps paddy only 24 capped as well co rolleyes.gif st a quarter of edu's fee......and if your basing your judgement on youtube videos the check oot paddy . he looks the better of the 2 to me.....time will tell rolleyes.gif
RockofCabraltar
Coming from someone that's seen him play, he's solid, not excellent.

Edu playing in college for a few years, but left early to head to MLS. He was drafted (how college players get allocated to teams) first overall by then expansion side Toronto FC. In Toronto his first year he played well in the holding midfield role, and was named Rookie of the Year (only players who had not played professionally before are eligible) which is voted on by players, coaches, general managers and reporters.

He was named to the US Men's Olympic team, and played in all three of the US' games in China. Edu played as a center-back for the US team that was lacking true defenders. The US played very well in the group stage, beating Japan 1-0, giving up a tying goal in the 92' to Hollad 2-2, and a 4' red-card in the last game sunk them when all they needed was a draw to move on; they ended up losing that game to Nigeria 2-1.

The USNT usually plays in a two center-mid formation, and people are speculating that Edu will end up being the second DM for the USNT for the future (21 year-old Michael Bradley who plays for Heerenveen, but has been linked to a €10m move to Monaco, being the first).

I think he'll prove to be a good signing, but I don't know if he's worth £2.5m. So you know this year he was making a total of $157,500 for the year. I don't know how that fits into Rangers wage bill, or what wage rate he'll be on while there.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (RockofCabraltar @ Aug 18 2008, 22:27) *
Coming from someone that's seen him play, he's solid, not excellent.

Edu playing in college for a few years, but left early to head to MLS. He was drafted (how college players get allocated to teams) first overall by then expansion side Toronto FC. In Toronto his first year he played well in the holding midfield role, and was named Rookie of the Year (only players who had not played professionally before are eligible) which is voted on by players, coaches, general managers and reporters.

He was named to the US Men's Olympic team, and played in all three of the US' games in China. Edu played as a center-back for the US team that was lacking true defenders. The US played very well in the group stage, beating Japan 1-0, giving up a tying goal in the 92' to Hollad 2-2, and a 4' red-card in the last game sunk them when all they needed was a draw to move on; they ended up losing that game to Nigeria 2-1.

The USNT usually plays in a two center-mid formation, and people are speculating that Edu will end up being the second DM for the USNT for the future (21 year-old Michael Bradley who plays for Heerenveen, but has been linked to a €10m move to Monaco, being the first).

I think he'll prove to be a good signing, but I don't know if he's worth £2.5m. So you know this year he was making a total of $157,500 for the year. I don't know how that fits into Rangers wage bill, or what wage rate he'll be on while there.

So not quite the US superkid that our fawning media have led us to believe then?

Re his wages I reckon he'll be earning around 4 times his NA figure
KnightswoodBear
Scottish fitba should be great this season with all these wonderkids Rangers and Celtic are signing!

We've got Edu and Aaron, ra Shellick have got Crosas and Mizuno! This'll be fucking great season! biggrin.gif
rfcgav
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 18 2008, 22:56) *
So not quite the US superkid that our fawning media have led us to believe then?

Re his wages I reckon he'll be earning around 4 times his NA figure

Mmmm so your basing YOUR opinion on what some random guy with 21 posts on this site says?
Never mind what the US coach, Entire US footballers who voted him rookie oty, Walter Smith,
Mo Johnston think just g o with the guy that says hes average......ok then.
Time will tell a spose.
RockofCabraltar
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Aug 19 2008, 09:38) *
Mmmm so your basing YOUR opinion on what some random guy with 21 posts on this site says?
Never mind what the US coach, Entire US footballers who voted him rookie oty, Walter Smith,
Mo Johnston think just g o with the guy that says hes average......ok then.
Time will tell a spose.

You mean the random guy that's actually seen him play live? wink.gif

Anyway, I didn't say he was just average, I said he was "solid, not excellent." Last year he had an excellent year, thus being voted the ROY but this year he hasn't been as great. He's currently not the type of DM that will absolutely dominate a game, but considering he's expected to be the US' second DM of the future, I assume he'll continue to develop. He's more of a player where you don't here his named called out particularly often, but he won't commit any glaring mistakes either.

My only hesitation with the move, is that Rangers would be looking for someone who could come in and dominate the midfield, and I'm not sure if he'll be that player, at least right away. But Edu is a big, strong physical specimen. He's been playing on turf for the past year and half, and has handled that well. I expect him to do well at Rangers, but I'm just tempering some expectations that he's a box to box ball winning machine, but who knows, maybe getting to Ibrox will make him that, I don't know.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (RockofCabraltar @ Aug 19 2008, 19:28) *
You mean the random guy that's actually seen him play live? wink.gif

Anyway, I didn't say he was just average, I said he was "solid, not excellent." Last year he had an excellent year, thus being voted the ROY but this year he hasn't been as great. He's currently not the type of DM that will absolutely dominate a game, but considering he's expected to be the US' second DM of the future, I assume he'll continue to develop. He's more of a player where you don't here his named called out particularly often, but he won't commit any glaring mistakes either.

My only hesitation with the move, is that Rangers would be looking for someone who could come in and dominate the midfield, and I'm not sure if he'll be that player, at least right away. But Edu is a big, strong physical specimen. He's been playing on turf for the past year and half, and has handled that well. I expect him to do well at Rangers, but I'm just tempering some expectations that he's a box to box ball winning machine, but who knows, maybe getting to Ibrox will make him that, I don't know.

tell it like it is mate, he's pish is he not?
Disraeli
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 19 2008, 21:11) *
tell it like it is mate, he's pish is he not?

Is this guy another one of your creations? I prefer Daddy Bear.
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (Disraeli @ Aug 19 2008, 21:15) *
Is this guy another one of your creations? I prefer Daddy Bear.

well I don't think we have a dating forum, so you'll just need to admire from afar ohmy.gif
RockofCabraltar
Edu came on in the 75' of yesterday's World Cup qualifying match between the US and Guatemala, and played very well. He had a calming effect on a crazy game and played well, although his distribution in killing the game could have been better a couple times. I was impressed with Edu calmness on the ball, particularly in a very hostile environment playing against a bunch of thugs, and I think he has a lot of potential.

At the time, the US led 1-0 and both teams were playing with ten men as Steve Cherundolo picked up a second yellow card in the 59', and Cabrera Gustavo picked up a red in the 60' for Guatemala after he blindsided Lewis for the US with a flying elbow.
rfcgav

Jeees oh what a difference 15 minutes of football can make.
soti14
Work permit granted.
Arthurlie1981
QUOTE (soti14 @ Aug 22 2008, 14:26) *
Work permit granted.

Now if Walter can get rid of some of the deadwood and buy a right or left back!!
No8.
QUOTE (Arthurlie1981 @ Aug 22 2008, 15:23) *
Now if Walter can get rid of some of the deadwood and buy a right or left back!!

Papac has been excellent at left back and i cant understand the clamour to see him replaced. Young Stevie Smith should not be written off entirely either. At right back Rangers are never going to replace Hutton for the money they would be willing to spend and maybe Whittaker is as good as we can get...i just wish Smith would play him there!