Full Version: Well Done Queens
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
castlekeeper
just seen your result for tonight well done ,i think everyone thought you were going to embarass the scotish game, you left that to another team who play in blue .
good luck for the second leg i hope you do Dumfries and your fans proud,and scotland too.
you are a smile.gif credit to the first division.
stuart.
I want to vomit now sad.gif
EastFootball
This forum could do with a European board.
ragerpar
Are you serious? huh.gif
ian_dfc
QUOTE (castlekeeper @ Aug 14 2008, 22:20) *
just seen your result for tonight well done ,i think everyone thought you were going to embarass the scotish game, you left that to another team who play in blue .
good luck for the second leg i hope you do Dumfries and your fans proud,and scotland too.

your a fruit cake, i thought they had won by your post.
DAVE M
Well done QOS.

The word 'embarrassment' should only apply to the people who keep predicting QOS to be the fore-mentioned word. QOS were amazing enough to get to the final in the first place. What a semi final!! .... hell.... what a final!!!

No one expects anything from them in the UEFA cup. It's all about the occasion. ....but then look at the scoreline tonight,.. that's a close thing! I'm much prouder to have QOS represent Scotland in the UEFA Cup than ANY ofthe Old Firm.

Good luck in the next leg guys, hope you enjoy it. smile.gif
Reynard
QUOTE (DAVE M @ Aug 14 2008, 22:30) *
Well done QOS.

The word 'embarrassment' should only apply to the people who keep predicting QOS to be the fore-mentioned word. QOS were amazing enough to get to the final in the first place. What a semi final!! .... hell.... what a final!!!

No one expects anything from them in the UEFA cup. It's all about the occasion. ....but then look at the scoreline tonight,.. that's a close thing! I'm much prouder to have QOS represent Scotland in the UEFA Cup than ANY ofthe Old Firm.

Good luck in the next leg guys, hope you enjoy it. smile.gif

Absolutely!
ChampionsElect
The early goal was always going to be a killer, but 2-1 does not mean they are out of it, just need to go for it away.
The Arch
Fair enough congratulating them on getting into Europe, but why are they getting congratulated on losing at home?

Considering the game wasn't on tv, most of the people will be congratulating them on score alone, which isn't that impressive.
Tam
They were a tidy enough side. Danish ICT? Pacey forwards; reasonably good on the ball; dodgy at the back.
Underfoot conditions were poor. We weren't let into the stadium until 20 mins before kick-off after the ref passed it fit for purpose.

QoS didn't perform to Cup semi or final level but made a fair game of it. Our own dodgy defending gifted them a couple of goals.

The tie ain't dead, merely quite ill so far.
19QOS19
Nice to see fans from other clubs giving a little support to QoS, but there's always the typical ar£eholes that have to make a negative comment about the occasion! Maybe it's a little jealousy creeping in or maybe they just don't like to give praise! At the end of the day if you don't have anything positive to say in a post that says "Well Done..." then don't post at all.
ajcton
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 14 2008, 23:51) *
Fair enough congratulating them on getting into Europe, but why are they getting congratulated on losing at home?

Considering the game wasn't on tv, most of the people will be congratulating them on score alone, which isn't that impressive.

Aye and so they should first time in europe and the hopes of a country never mind a small league to stomp pressure on them does not help. It is not beyond the realms of possibility for them to get what they need either so get grip have your lot been there. I await the silence.
aggie#11

were you at the game? If not..then Piss off you miserable f**k laugh.gif
Diamonds are Forever
QUOTE (castlekeeper @ Aug 14 2008, 22:20) *

And the award for most patronising post of the year goes to...
Reynard

Exactly. Most other teams would be getting slaughtered for disgracing Scottish football. I think it's because they are a harmless diddy club with no real enemies apart from Stranraer and that Gretna side that lasted about three years before it packed in.

I listened to the game on the radio and it sounds like Queens defended badly, which is not good enough at that level of football. They got away with shit defendig in the cup semi by taking their chances when they came along. They defended like amateurs in the final as well. Their reward for losing the final was a chance to defend like amateurs in a European qualifying round.

They will probably get horsed over there. But the fans will enjoy the change of scenery if nothing else.

I hope they win and go through. But they won't.
aggie#11
rolleyes.gif And your diddy team would have done any better in Europe? Doubt it very much!
cfcuk
so a team loses at home to a team who are bottom of the danish league having lost their first four games and scottish football fans think this is some to be congratulated says it all.
John Barleycorn
New grapes needed for some of the jealous posters on here.
Wish it was us back in Europe but there's hope.

On radio it sounded as if you could have won it couple of near misses, apart from the dodgy goals you gave away I think you may have the beating of this lot over there.

Go on do it QOS.

Toby Fair

I agree entirely.

We weren't humiliated, but it wasn't a good result or, in many important ways, a good performance.

All in all, it was a pretty disappointing evening. It's obviously explored in much greater depth on the 'Scots in Europe' section of the site.
glasnost
What an embarrassing thread.
Mr X
QUOTE (cfcuk @ Aug 15 2008, 09:25) *
so a team loses at home to a team who are bottom of the danish league having lost their first four games and scottish football fans think this is some to be congratulated says it all.

Actually, they've drawn 2 and lost 2.

The team at the top of that league beat Man City last night, so I think its safe to say they're playing against better teams week in week out than Queens are rolleyes.gif
The Arch
QUOTE (ajcton @ Aug 15 2008, 00:29) *
Aye and so they should first time in europe and the hopes of a country never mind a small league to stomp pressure on them does not help. It is not beyond the realms of possibility for them to get what they need either so get grip have your lot been there. I await the silence.

I have no idea what you're trying to say here. You start off by agreeing with me and then you say "so get grip have your lot been there". You're clearly a confused lad.
Ross
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 15 2008, 10:21) *

Have you not got tickets to sort out somewhere dry.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (Terry Wogan @ Aug 15 2008, 11:12) *
Have you not got tickets to sort out somewhere dry.gif

No, not until Sunday.
Dark Blue
Well done, its going to be a hard game going over there being 2-1 down with 2 away goals against you's isnt easy but you have shown in the past that your capable of coming back against strong opposition like Rangers in last seasons in scottish cup final.

How many fans are you's expecting to take across?

peace out x
19QOS19
QUOTE (Reynard @ Aug 15 2008, 08:00) *
Exactly. Most other teams would be getting slaughtered for disgracing Scottish football. I think it's because they are a harmless diddy club with no real enemies apart from Stranraer and that Gretna side that lasted about three years before it packed in.

I listened to the game on the radio and it sounds like Queens defended badly, which is not good enough at that level of football. They got away with shit defendig in the cup semi by taking their chances when they came along. They defended like amateurs in the final as well. Their reward for losing the final was a chance to defend like amateurs in a European qualifying round.

They will probably get horsed over there. But the fans will enjoy the change of scenery if nothing else.

They have electricity in Paisley? ohmy.gif
wee man
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 15 2008, 13:31) *

It'll be one of those wind up radios wink.gif
morrison
I'd be happy enough seeing my team score in Europe, so while it's not a "tremendous result" it is a great experience.

Plenty to do, it's very much like a Scottish Cup giant-killing opportunity, and Queens are capable of that sort of carry on.
Reynard
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 15 2008, 13:31) *

No idea. I live in Ayr. dry.gif
larchfield boy
its only half time in this tie and i think we can go over there and win,maybe not by 2 goals but we can win. nearly 800 queens fans already booked up,good times to be had. if we win and go through gr8 if not then there is always next time. ps we may be a diddy team but we are a diddy team playing in european competition,how many teams in scotland can say that. mon the south
setterday sanny
QUOTE (Reynard @ Aug 15 2008, 08:00) *

Heres a photo I took of MY team scoring in a european comp, this is what a european goal looks like .(Dont know what bad defending SOUNDS like ) Perhaps you could send in a photo of your team scoring in europe.

Click to view attachment
Toby Fair
QUOTE (setterday sanny @ Aug 15 2008, 20:03) *
Heres a photo I took of MY team scoring in a european comp, this is what a european goal looks like .(Dont know what bad defending SOUNDS like ) Perhaps you could send in a photo of your team scoring in europe.

Click to view attachment

Loads of the fans on here could indeed post such a photo and for those who couldn't, so what?

We got tons of praise and congratulations in April for quaifying and lots of 'good luck' wishes ahead of last night. There's no need to get all defensive just because some posters are suggesting that the performance itself didn't merit similar commendation.
Skyline Drifter

Click to view attachment

That's a great photo and I hope you don't mind I've taken the liberty of downloading it to my pc. biggrin.gif

However, as a St Mirren fan, I'd think he'd be fairly easily able to provide you with such a photo if he sees fit. At the end of the day he can say and think what he likes (and he's right about the defending in the semi final and to an extent last night, though a bit harsh about the final where I thought we defended pretty well all in all). We're not a St Mirren though. We've not had European runs and cup final wins in the recent past. We frankly aren't that big a club. It's not a reason to be ashamed.

It's a pity that some people feel the need to belittle the achievement frankly (not particularly aimed at Reynard incidentally). For a club like us who trawled the bottom levels of Scottish football for decades and played Saturday league games with away supports barely into double figures within the last couple of decades to have come as far as we have is simply phenomenal. If you'd suggested to some of the worthies on the terraces when we were losing 6-1 to Alloa in the final game of a frankly appalling season in 2000 that within a decade we'd have taken the UEFA Cup finalists to the very limit in a five goal thriller in a Scottish Cup Final in front of 15,500 Queens fans having beaten Aberdeen 4-3 in front of a live national tv audience and played in the UEFA Cup they'd have dragged you off to the hospital in a straitjacket. It's incredible and will continue to be treated as such by those of us who experienced the whole journey.

Absolutely incredible. We could have done better last night but the memories of hitting an equaliser in Europe will live forever. As will those of a trip to Copenhagen.

I would wish that experience at some point in their lives for every fan of an established lower division club.
Reynard

Click to view attachment

I could of course send in quite a few photos of my team in European competition. I could even send some in of my team winning games in European games.

Ya dafty
queenslad
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 15 2008, 21:14) *
I would wish that experience at some point in their lives for every fan of an established lower division club.

I think this quote just about sums it all up. Although a supporter for past 28 years you learn to take the good times as they come along and that tended to be a win in the past, beating someone above you in the league, two-three games in a cup run.

The success of 4-5 years ago in getting to final of challenge cup was as good as you could have expected, we then won it and the following season won the league. A really successful season but we did win two trophey's.

The last 5months have not been as successful trophey wise but has been a greater achievement. In March all Queens fans wanted was to win a Q/F Scottish Cup match, to get to Hampden once and beat Aberdeen in what I think is a more memorable acievement than losing the final was amazing and then to go back for a Scottish Cup Final will never be fotgotten or repeated.

Last night in someways was a greater experience again, playing in Europe although the occasion was not as great as any of the five games mentioned above. A night time atmosphere miles from home and losing an early goal. For supporter who have followed Queens for past 20-30 years and even longer these are the good times and even playing in SPL will it be any better...............

I think every supporter of smaller teams shares our journey of the past 5 months and have wished us well and hope that someday they will achieve something similar.
Reynard
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Aug 15 2008, 21:14) *
That's a great photo and I hope you don't mind I've taken the liberty of downloading it to my pc. biggrin.gif

However, as a St Mirren fan, I'd think he'd be fairly easily able to provide you with such a photo if he sees fit. At the end of the day he can say and think what he likes (and he's right about the defending in the semi final and to an extent last night, though a bit harsh about the final where I thought we defended pretty well all in all). We're not a St Mirren though. We've not had European runs and cup final wins in the recent past. We frankly aren't that big a club. It's not a reason to be ashamed.

It's a pity that some people feel the need to belittle the achievement frankly (not particularly aimed at Reynard incidentally). For a club like us who trawled the bottom levels of Scottish football for decades and played Saturday league games with away supports barely into double figures within the last couple of decades to have come as far as we have is simply phenomenal. If you'd suggested to some of the worthies on the terraces when we were losing 6-1 to Alloa in the final game of a frankly appalling season in 2000 that within a decade we'd have taken the UEFA Cup finalists to the very limit in a five goal thriller in a Scottish Cup Final in front of 15,500 Queens fans having beaten Aberdeen 4-3 in front of a live national tv audience and played in the UEFA Cup they'd have dragged you off to the hospital in a straitjacket. It's incredible and will continue to be treated as such by those of us who experienced the whole journey.

Absolutely incredible. We could have done better last night but the memories of hitting an equaliser in Europe will live forever. As will those of a trip to Copenhagen.

I have never actually belittled QOTS for finding themselves in a European tie. I have my own thoughts as to whether you should be in there at all for winning a few cup ties and losing the main one.

Its a wee bonus to get into Europe but unfortunately it's not really the way it used to be thanks to the way its rigged up now with qualifying rounds against glamour free opponents.

I have wished your team well in the cup final. And I wanted you to do well last night too. But Queens are a pretty average first division side trying to punch above their weight. Its not their fault they qualified for Europe due to the losing cup finalist route. Hopefully you,ll do them over there though.
Tam
QUOTE (Reynard @ Aug 15 2008, 22:02) *
I have never actually belittled QOTS for finding themselves in a European tie. I have my own thoughts as to whether you should be in there at all for winning a few cup ties and losing the main one.

Its a wee bonus to get into Europe but unfortunately it's not really the way it used to be thanks to the way its rigged up now with qualifying rounds against glamour free opponents.

I have wished your team well in the cup final. And I wanted you to do well last night too. But Queens are a pretty average first division side trying to punch above their weight. Its not their fault they qualified for Europe due to the losing cup finalist route. Hopefully you,ll do them over there though.

Yes and they enlarged the EssPeeHell too. Amazing eh?

Nordsjalland were in the UEFA cup because of a fair play award. What is football coming to?

Possibly entertainment for more fans of more clubs? That will never do will it?

It's all relative, of course. Buddies will be happy to be in the top flight and hope to stay there; and maybe have a cup run. Enjoy your season.
Reynard
QUOTE (Tam @ Aug 16 2008, 00:07) *
Yes and they enlarged the EssPeeHell too. Amazing eh?

Nordsjalland were in the UEFA cup because of a fair play award. What is football coming to?

Possibly entertainment for more fans of more clubs? That will never do will it?

It's all relative, of course. Buddies will be happy to be in the top flight and hope to stay there; and maybe have a cup run. Enjoy your season.

They are only in the qualifying round.

You're a bit fucking touchy. laugh.gif

I did actually support your team the other night. I want to see Scottish clubs do well in Europe. Hopefully you'll get past the qualifying round and make it into the competition proper. But you won't.
QosLoyal
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 15 2008, 10:21) *

i am agreeing wit a celtic fan here ohmy.gif . did dunfermline get one of these threads last year or did ppl take the piss? its patronising, however some of the comments on here are funny eg reynard! God i LOVE being hated, it means that the club are doing something right! thumbup2.gif
setterday sanny
QUOTE (Reynard @ Aug 15 2008, 21:55) *

I could of course send in quite a few photos of my team in European competition. I could even send some in of my team winning games in European games.

Ya dafty

The point of my post seems to have been missed, i was proud to watch my team play in europe , same as i have supported other Scottish teams abroad. I am old enough to remember Dunfermline ,St Mirren ,the Dundees, Raith , I even shout on the Bigot brothers playing in europe.
What i dont do is comment online on secondhand info (my mate tells me saints were pish last season !).
Here is a photo of our piss poor defending for you to see firsthand....

Click to view attachment
The Arch
QUOTE (QosLoyal @ Aug 16 2008, 01:15) *
did dunfermline get one of these threads last year or did ppl take the piss? its patronising, however some of the comments on here are funny eg reynard! God i LOVE being hated, it means that the club are doing something right! thumbup2.gif

Nobody could hate QOTS. They're so sweet and cuddly.
QosLoyal
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 16 2008, 13:14) *
Nobody could hate QOTS. They're so sweet and cuddly.

why dont you hate us! mad.gif laugh.gif