LordHawHaw
Aug 14 2008, 17:56
Player on his way to Celtic park to talk terms
IXI THE ONE IXI
Aug 14 2008, 18:02
Heard he has signed for £3 million for Celtic. Seems expensive for a guy out of contract next year.
IXI THE ONE IXI
Aug 14 2008, 18:04
LordHawHaw
Aug 14 2008, 18:04
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Aug 14 2008, 19:02)

Heard he has signed for £3 million for Celtic. Seems expensive for a guy out of contract next year.
It does, is he any good

or are we going to not agree terms with the guy

seems odd to me
IXI THE ONE IXI
Aug 14 2008, 18:31
Don't know how good he is to be honest, came from Feyenoord so probably technically good with the ball at his feet. Not sure I'd have wanted £3 million spent on him though when he was free for a pre-contract in January.
LordHawHaw
Aug 14 2008, 18:33
QUOTE (IXI THE ONE IXI @ Aug 14 2008, 19:31)

Don't know how good he is to be honest, came from Feyenoord so probably technically good with the ball at his feet. Not sure I'd have wanted £3 million spent on him though when he was free for a pre-contract in January.
I refuse to believe we've spent £3million...we have other needs
Top Cat
Aug 14 2008, 18:47
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 14 2008, 19:33)

I refuse to believe we've spent £3million...we have other needs

I hope they've no signed this guy to replace the Son o Frankenstein!
I'd be gutted if Caldwell is dropped!!
LordHawHaw
Aug 14 2008, 18:51
QUOTE (Top Cat @ Aug 14 2008, 19:47)

I hope they've no signed this guy to replace the Son o Frankenstein!
I'd be gutted if Caldwell is dropped!!

Caldwell is playing well at the moment thank you
youroldda
Aug 14 2008, 18:55
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 14 2008, 19:51)

Caldwell is a dud , he did have a good finish to the season, but he does have one fatal flaw......he thinks he can play football, which always leads to him making a c**t of himself
BullyWee1878
Aug 14 2008, 18:58
I wonder now if all the Celic fans will be going on about how great this guy is not long after giving the huns pelters for trying to sign a guy that plays for Cardiff
Top Cat
Aug 14 2008, 18:59
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 14 2008, 19:51)

No need to thank me. The good doctors shock treatment cannae last forever and when the big 'Ever Ready' in his noggin runs oot, it will be normal service resumed!!
youroldda
Aug 14 2008, 19:01
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Aug 14 2008, 19:58)

I wonder now if all the Celic fans will be going on about how great this guy is not long after giving the huns pelters for trying to sign a guy that plays for Cardiff

best defender in Britain
LordHawHaw
Aug 14 2008, 19:02
QUOTE (youroldda @ Aug 14 2008, 19:55)

Caldwell is a dud , he did have a good finish to the season, but he does have one fatal flaw......he thinks he can play football, which always leads to him making a c**t of himself
I never said he wisnae a dud, he was my man of teh match v the Midden, he get's terrible press, I don't think he's as bad as everyone makes out, except at FB
Top Cat
Aug 14 2008, 19:09
QUOTE (youroldda @ Aug 14 2008, 20:01)

best defender in Britain
Should he no be playing in the Premiership then??
The Minertaur
Aug 14 2008, 19:37
Chick Young just confirmed this on the radio. Apparently it was 2 million not 3.
QUOTE (The Minertaur @ Aug 14 2008, 20:37)

Chick Young just confirmed this on the radio. Apparently it was 2 million not 3.
Chick Young is a cock. That is all.
uberman
Aug 14 2008, 20:19
He can't be that good or he wouldn't be dropping down a level at this stage of his career, he should have stayed with Cardiff. They tore Celtic apart in a recent friendly and as we all know cellic don't play friendlies
QUOTE (uberman @ Aug 14 2008, 21:19)

He can't be that good or he wouldn't be droppin
g down a level at this stage of his career, he should have stayed with Cardiff. They tore Celtic apart in a recent friendly and as we all know cellic don't play friendlies

Is playing in the champions league group stages a step down from the championship? mmmmm let me think..........
uberman
Aug 14 2008, 21:03
QUOTE (sev @ Aug 14 2008, 21:55)

Is playing in the champions league group stages a step down from the championship? mmmmm let me think..........
bite
you cellic fans are too easy
JUMPURS
Aug 14 2008, 21:21
Thought the huns thought they had him in the bag??
nageek
Aug 14 2008, 21:36
Dont blame him for joining celts, lure of euro football for a season and all that jazz but on personal note am glad rangers didn't sign him, plenty more uses 2mill could have done than another centre back!
Beyemystic
Aug 14 2008, 21:41
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Aug 14 2008, 22:21)

Thought the huns thought they had him in the bag??
No doubt they "refused to be held to ransom"
But I remember when Rangers signed the woeful Gordan Petric for an inflated fee. Every time the big haddy was mentioned for the next few years it was "he was signed from under the noses of Celtic" as if the huns had put one over on us.
ChampionsElect
Aug 14 2008, 22:47
From what i have seen of him in the FA Cup and in the game against us, he has looked steady. Quite composed but no world beater. £3million isn't a bad price considering what they go for down there.
If he replaces anyone i'd rather it was McManus but that willny happen
stpatty
Aug 14 2008, 23:07
http://www.theherald.co.uk/sport/headlines...Ibrox_bound.phpSeems we retaliate to Strachans signing policy of buying anyone we delcare interest in by buying... Mendes? His name rings a bell...
WOOHOO!!
Aug 15 2008, 05:18
Cardiff City Chairman Peter Risdale has said "Dave Jones has been given all of the money from this transfer to strengthen the squad."
Looks as though it's a done deal then.
celtic_glasgow
Aug 15 2008, 08:37
We have signed in an area where in my opinion we didn't HAVE to strenghten.
We need a left back, a creative midfielder and a pacey striker, so we go and buy a centre half.
I just don't get it.
Ps, Gary Caldwell has been our best player the past 5 months in my opinion
glasnost
Aug 15 2008, 08:54
I take it this hasn’t been declared official yet?
Hardly know anything about the player but we have been crying out for a quality centre half to be bought since Mjallby went awol. It’s been a long wait but hopefully, if he does sign, Loovens can prove to be the player we have been needing. He doesn’t have much of a pedigree though so it does feel a bit underwhelming.
LordHawHaw
Aug 15 2008, 09:03
Don't know how good he is but I was reading lots of nice things said by Cardiff fans on CM last night, they seem to think he was the real deal, I would imagine he been bought to play in the first 11 alongside Mick so we'll get to see how good he is pretty quickly
glasnost
Aug 15 2008, 09:06
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 15 2008, 10:03)

Don't know how good he is but I was reading lots of nice things said by Cardiff fans on CM last night, they seem to think he was the real deal, I would imagine he been bought to play in the first 11 alongside Mick so we'll get to see how good he is pretty quickly

Is he a player with decent pace?
khenny
Aug 15 2008, 09:08
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 15 2008, 10:06)

I would hope so as that is the thing we miss at the back and is vital in Europe.
To answer yer question though..........ah huvnae got a clooo!
LordHawHaw
Aug 15 2008, 09:09
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 15 2008, 10:06)

Don't know, it was mostly general stuff about him going on their own website and how much he'd be missed, I see we have a Bluebird on at the moment, hopefully they will expand on what sort of player he is
From whai i saw of him against us in pre-season he was solid, not scared to put himself about and could pass the ball. I think he'll do well. Maybe he can even teach Gary Caldwell how not to punt the ball every time he gets it
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.