Radford
Aug 14 2008, 11:39
It's that time again where the first international squads are being named for the opening matches of the new season. Many First Division players getting recognition? I see two of last season's stars of this league, James McArthur and Kevin McDonald are in the Scotland U21 setup, along with Jamie McDonald, formerly of Queens, Graham Dorrans, formerly of Livi, and Euan McLean of Saints.
Saints striker Andy Jackson has also been called up to the Ireland U21 squad, alongside James McCarthy of Accies.
Any other First Division players called up? Tuffey in the Northern Ireland U21s?
Dunning1874
Aug 14 2008, 11:43
QUOTE (Radford @ Aug 14 2008, 12:39)

It's that time again where the first international squads are being named for the opening matches of the new season. Many First Division players getting recognition? I see two of last season's stars of this league, James McArthur and Kevin McDonald are in the Scotland U21 setup, along with Jamie McDonald, formerly of Queens, Graham Dorrans, formerly of Livi, and Euan McLean of Saints.
Saints striker Andy Jackson has also been called up to the Ireland U21 squad, alongside James McCarthy of Accies.
Any other First Division players called up? Tuffey in the Northern Ireland U21s?
I thought Jackson was Northern Irish?
As usual, no Morton players at any level. I think the only player we currently have who's played at any international level is Kieran McAnespie, who had a few under-21 caps.
Baiggers
Aug 14 2008, 11:47
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Aug 14 2008, 12:43)

I thought Jackson was Northern Irish?

He's Scottish
Exuberant
Aug 14 2008, 11:50
Tuffey has been ommited from the NI U21 squad. What is the age cut-off regarding U21 sides? Tuffey turned 21 in January.
PerthSaintBob
Aug 14 2008, 11:51
QUOTE (Baiggers @ Aug 14 2008, 12:47)

He's Scottish
Uh oh!
10 pages
FTOF_PTFC_1
Aug 14 2008, 11:52
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Aug 14 2008, 12:50)

Tuffey has been ommited from the NI U21 squad. What is the age cut-off regarding U21 sides? Tuffey turned 21 in January.
Do you think he will be put in the full team anytime soon ?
Dunning1874
Aug 14 2008, 11:52

He's Scottish
Well, what I should have said was, I thought he'd chosen to play for Nothern Ireland, despite being Scottish.
Clearly I was wrong.
He's still a wee treacherous bawbag anyway.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
Aug 14 2008, 11:53

He's Scottish
vikingTON
Aug 14 2008, 11:54
Erik Paartalu had one appearance for Australia U-17s.
FTOF_PTFC_1
He is from the republic of Ireland.
vikingTON
I think you'll find he isn't.
Exuberant
Aug 14 2008, 11:55
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Aug 14 2008, 12:52)

Do you think he will be put in the full team anytime soon ?
Maik Taylor of Birmingham City has a few years left in him. There's a couple of understudies who would still get in ahead of our Tuffmeister.
If he can sort his kicking out, I reckon he could be in with a shout in 4-5 years time though. Goalies often bloom late.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Aug 14 2008, 11:57
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Aug 14 2008, 12:55)

Maik Taylor of Birmingham City has a few years left in him. There's a couple of understudies who would still get in ahead of our Tuffmeister.
If he can sort his kicking out, I reckon he could be in with a shout in 4-5 years time though.
oh well.
PTFC27
Aug 14 2008, 12:10
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Aug 14 2008, 12:50)

Was he not the NI under21 captain?
Hazely from Airdrie has been capped a few times for NI under21's.
Hoochthedrummer
Aug 14 2008, 12:27
Dorrans in the team but no Snodgrass...arguably Snoddy is the better player and will probably be playing more first team football than Dorrans this season. Good to see some recognition of the lower leagues though
Sparky Griffiths was invited to a Scotland meet of some sort...not sure what that was all about
Haitch
Aug 14 2008, 12:29
Dyron Daal - Netherland Antilles
Taylorboy77
Aug 14 2008, 12:40
Hope Jacko gets a game and goal to boost his confidence.
Looks a bit deflated this season so far but im sure a goal will get him going again.
Still shocked that Scotland never once came near Saints or Jacko

to get him afore the Irish.
Cannae blame the boy for opting for Irlenad with the way Scotland discarded him.
Günther
Aug 14 2008, 13:07
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Aug 14 2008, 13:40)

Hope Jacko gets a game and goal to boost his confidence.
Looks a bit deflated this season so far but im sure a goal will get him going again.
Still shocked that Scotland never once came near Saints or Jacko

to get him afore the Irish.
Cannae blame the boy for opting for Irlenad with the way Scotland discarded him.
I don't think he would've been good enough to play for Scotland to be honest. Also to be fair to the lad. I believe almost all of his Family including Parents are Irish - So fair play to him and best of luck.
It's the ones who's parents are both Scottish and were born in Scotland who play for Rep of Ireland because they're Granda was Irish or because their next door neighbours cousins boyfriend drunk a pint of Guiness that anoy me most. Like yer TraitorBhoy McGeady and TraitorBhoy McCarthy
Thistle
Aug 14 2008, 13:30
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Aug 14 2008, 12:52)

Well, what I should have said was, I thought he'd chosen to play for Nothern Ireland, despite being Scottish.
Clearly I was wrong.
He's still a wee treacherous bawbag anyway.

a used to play alongside him and to be fair nobody from the scottish fa ever approached him to play so u cant really blame him
Taylorboy77
Aug 14 2008, 14:15
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Aug 14 2008, 14:07)

I don't think he would've been good enough to play for Scotland to be honest. Also to be fair to the lad. I believe almost all of his Family including Parents are Irish - So fair play to him and best of luck.
It's the ones who's parents are both Scottish and were born in Scotland who play for Rep of Ireland because they're Granda was Irish or because their next door neighbours cousins boyfriend drunk a pint of Guiness that anoy me most. Like yer TraitorBhoy McGeady and TraitorBhoy McCarthy
Think he is more than good enough for Scotland Under 21s. Would have him ahead of any of the forwards in the current under 21 line up.
PTFC27
Aug 14 2008, 14:29
QUOTE (Taylorboy77 @ Aug 14 2008, 15:15)

Think he is more than good enough for Scotland Under 21s. Would have him ahead of any of the forwards in the current under 21 line up.

Ross McCormack? I wouldn't have Jackson ahead of him.
Taylorboy77
Aug 14 2008, 14:34
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Aug 14 2008, 15:29)

Ross McCormack? I wouldn't have Jackson ahead of him.
Fair shout. what was his goal scoring record last season??
Radford
Aug 14 2008, 15:28
The thing is, McCormack (and Dorrans) aren't out and out strikers. Dorrans played on the wing for Livi last season and McCormack in a wide left position AFAIK. Surely no one is going to insult the guy by claiming Calum Elliot is a better player?
His parents are both Scottish though, he qualifies for Ireland through a grandparent.
Saints goalkeeper Sean Diamond is in the Ireland U17 squad as well.
EdinburghLivi
Aug 14 2008, 15:58
Gordon Smith and Sean Kerr from our youth team have both had call ups in the past. I think Kerr's was at under 19 level and Smith's at under 17 level. Lately Smith has been get sub appearances and scored against East Stirling in the CIS cup. I'm not entirely sure if Kerr is even with the club anymore though. I really expected him to make a breakthrough last season and that wasn't the case.
gingapar
Aug 14 2008, 16:53
Bamba from us all though probably not for long
AyrshireTon
Aug 14 2008, 17:28
Don't think we've had any call-ups since Janne Lindberg and Marko Rajamaki got places in the Finland squad.
Paul Fenwick may also have been called up by Canada, but I'm not sure.
Steve McQueen
Aug 14 2008, 17:29
I think Jackson can actually change back to Scotland, all it would take is one phone call.
The SFA were informed about him at least 12 times & they weren't interested, Ireland were & Jacko chose to play international football.
David W
Aug 14 2008, 17:49
Michael Ohnesorge is 10342 times better than Marcell Jansen - he should be called up by the Germans soon.
Regarding age cut-offs, usually the competition that they're playing in affects their status. For instance, at the Euro U21's a couple of years back, there were guys that were 23 playing as they were eligible at the start of the tournament. Think that might've changed though as the tournament is every summer?
wattie_rojas
Aug 14 2008, 19:04
Rab Douglas and Colin Cameron both played for Scotland though not for a while. Williams has England U/21 caps, Lauchlan Scotland B, Pozniak has 20-odd Canada caps, Davidson has U/21 caps while I think Darren Young probably does as well. Think this is it.
Günther
Aug 14 2008, 21:15
QUOTE (David W @ Aug 14 2008, 18:49)

Michael Ohnesorge is 10342 times better than Marcell Jansen - he should be called up by the Germans soon.
Regarding age cut-offs, usually the competition that they're playing in affects their status. For instance, at the Euro U21's a couple of years back, there were guys that were 23 playing as they were eligible at the start of the tournament. Think that might've changed though as the tournament is every summer?
Jansen is one of the best young players to have played for Borussia over the last few years. Was gutted when he moved to Munchen.... Still think he's a great player!
Skyline Drifter
Aug 15 2008, 09:55
Michael McGowan has Northern Ireland u21 caps does he not? Was certainly in squads.
Randall Graves
Aug 15 2008, 10:02
Did Steve Crawford play for Scotland against Ecuador when Raith were in the first division or had they been promoted at that point?
Skyline Drifter
Aug 15 2008, 10:28
QUOTE (Randall Graves @ Aug 15 2008, 11:02)

Did Steve Crawford play for Scotland against Ecuador when Raith were in the first division or had they been promoted at that point?
It was in the summer between earning promotion and actually playing in the top league. It's debateable where he stands in terms of which division he was "representing" at the time.
Radford
Aug 15 2008, 11:47
Saints' Sean Diamond started for Ireland U17s against Bulgaria last night. He's our U16 goalkeeper so is playing a year at least above his level.
Dark Blue
Aug 15 2008, 12:09
QUOTE (wattie_rojas @ Aug 14 2008, 20:04)

Rab Douglas and Colin Cameron both played for Scotland though not for a while. Williams has England U/21 caps, Lauchlan Scotland B, Pozniak has 20-odd Canada caps, Davidson has U/21 caps while I think Darren Young probably does as well. Think this is it.
Paul Ritchie has a few under 21 caps aswell
theoceanfloor
Aug 15 2008, 12:18
QUOTE (AyrshireTon @ Aug 14 2008, 18:28)

Don't think we've had any call-ups since Janne Lindberg and Marko Rajamaki got places in the Finland squad.
Paul Fenwick may also have been called up by Canada, but I'm not sure.
He definately did, several times. Hugh Scott made Ian McCall drop him because he'd been away on Gold Cup duty (Canada actually won it that year). He left for Raith Rovers (?) then Hibs shortly afterwards
Yellow Army Faithful
Aug 21 2008, 10:34
Saints Full International Caps Include
George O' Boyle : 11 NI Caps
Danny Griffin : 12 NI Caps
Nick Dasovic : 26 Canada Caps
Momo Sylla : 2 Guinee Caps
Rachid Djebaili : 3 Algerian Caps
Jason Scotland : 6 T&T Caps
Collin Millar : 5 Canada Caps
And from Pre War:
Sandy Mclaren 5 Scotland
Willie Imrie 3 scotland
Joe Toner 2 Scotland
Radford
Aug 21 2008, 11:39
QUOTE (Yellow Army Faithful @ Aug 21 2008, 11:34)

Joe Toner 2 Scotland
Was Joe Toner not capped for Northern Ireland?
QUOTE (Dark Blue @ Aug 15 2008, 13:09)

Paul Ritchie has a few under 21 caps aswell

Ritchie played for the full Scotland side as well. Scored against the Czechs when they beat us 3-2. His last i think was when Wales beat us 4-0
Yellow Army Faithful
Aug 21 2008, 17:27
QUOTE (Radford @ Aug 21 2008, 12:39)

Was Joe Toner not capped for Northern Ireland?
I dunno, I Asumed Scottish
TheScarf
Aug 22 2008, 14:06
Richard Hastings played and scored for Canada at the 2000 Gold Cup when ICT were in the First Division. Davide Xausa played in the tournament aswell.
Jonny Tuffey has been called up to the senior Northern Ireland squad. Well done, son.
Randall Graves
Aug 27 2008, 12:56
Did Ryan Blackadder not get called up at some point to the Scotland U-21's or was it the U-19's
Exuberant
Aug 27 2008, 15:14
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 27 2008, 13:42)

Jonny Tuffey has been called up to the senior Northern Ireland squad. Well done, son.
Hear hear!
If he gets to his best of last season, and works a little on his kicking, he could be a very good internationalist for them.
Radford
Aug 27 2008, 17:40
Euan McLean is back in the Scotland U21 squad, as are Steven Lennon and Callum Elliot.
Viva La Livi
Aug 27 2008, 17:54
sol bamba is in the ivory coast squad i think
Livi's latest signing Calum Elliot is in the Under-21 squad alongside Dorrans
Radford
Aug 27 2008, 18:22
QUOTE (Radford @ Aug 27 2008, 18:40)

Euan McLean is back in the Scotland U21 squad, as are Steven Lennon and Callum Elliot.
QUOTE (MCL @ Aug 27 2008, 19:06)

Livi's latest signing Calum Elliot is in the Under-21 squad alongside Dorrans
Really?
EastFootball
Aug 27 2008, 18:30
MAC is just waiting for the call from Domenech
QUOTE (Radford @ Aug 27 2008, 19:22)

Really?
Yes.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.