mrs stainrod
Aug 13 2004, 10:51
I've got to agree with Bill Leckie's article in today's Sun.
I think Gordon Strachan is the best candidate for the job.
Time for Berti to step aside and the SFA to give Gordy the thumbs-up.
Would that just be too good to be true though???
GeordieMunro271194
Aug 18 2004, 22:09
Clodd Anelka would make a better 'manager' than Vogts. Time to ditch the hopeless goose stepper.
BRFC Tartan Army
Aug 19 2004, 15:00
Gordon is the right man for the job, think I might cancel the trip to Spain after watching last night, (nae chance)
sons1872
Aug 19 2004, 23:42
| QUOTE (BRFC Tartan Army @ Aug 19 2004, 04:00 PM) |
| Gordon is the right man for the job |
I would also agree that he is the right man for the job. Can Scotland get any worse.
xbasslichtie_old
Aug 20 2004, 10:01
Sure Strachan would be the right man for the job, but Berti deserves a shot at the qualifying.....if we dont make it to the world cup, time for a change.
Butterfield
Aug 20 2004, 10:04
| QUOTE (xbasslichtie @ Aug 20 2004, 11:01 AM) |
| Sure Strachan would be the right man for the job, but Berti deserves a shot at the qualifying.....if we dont make it to the world cup, time for a change. |
Not good enough. We MUST make it to this world cup, we've missed too many tournaments.
We won't do it with him in charge. OOT. Now!
sons1872
Aug 20 2004, 11:00
I would give him til the Slovenia match if he can't win that then sack him.
bluetooner
Aug 20 2004, 11:18
| QUOTE (Ruggy Bairn @ Aug 20 2004, 06:04 AM) |
Not good enough. We MUST make it to this world cup, we've missed too many tournaments.
We won't do it with him in charge. OOT. Now! |
why MUST we make it, yes weve missed lots of tournaments, but since when are we expected to beat Italy, meaning a play off place is all we are aiming for, where its pot luck with the draw and well end up with holland or spain?
skinnyjean
Aug 20 2004, 11:49
I've said for a while now Strachan is the man. He'd have the respect of the players both in terms of his knowledge of the game and his passion for his country.
Italy are struggling at the moment. They fielded a weakened team the other night and lost 2-0 to Iceland. Lippi is talking of bringing back 38 yr old Costacurta if the situation requires it. do something now and we might have a chance.
The Poker King
Aug 20 2004, 11:53
If Berti's still in charge we won't even make it to the play-offs. He needs to go now. If Strachan were given the job today, I reckon by the Spain game he would be able to put out a team with everyone playing in their correct positions, but more importantly a team with a bit of heart and belief.
BRFC Tartan Army
Aug 20 2004, 12:45
couldn't agree more with you Poker King, while were at it lets get rid of that p***k Tommy Burns as well, people are on about giving the job to Banhof, I totally disagree lets keep it Scottish. I hope the SFA sat back and realise what a fucking mess they've made to this wonderful country
The Poker King
Aug 20 2004, 13:08
Lets add David Taylor to this list of muppets that we need to get rid off. After all it's his fault we're in this mess. He gave Berti a contract worth £500,000 a year for the next 65 years or however long it is.
Faraday
Aug 20 2004, 15:52
How about a petition to get strachan in if people reckon he's the man for the job.
I reckon berti needs time but he's had plenty already!
Would love to see strachan as scotland manager one day. He would really get them playing unlike berti who juts seems to moan about passion!!
| QUOTE (David Halliday (East Fife) @ Aug 20 2004, 04:52 PM) |
| How about a petition to get strachan in if people reckon he's the man for the job. |
I'd sign, so would many others. Who wants to be the famous one who gets in the paper.
Actually on 2nd thoughts, put www.pieandbovril.co.uk as the author of the petition (with pieman's permission of course.)
sons1872
Aug 20 2004, 20:40
Does anyone think that no matter who manages Scotland we will still be crap.
With another manager in charge we may still lose, but the manner of the loss will not be the same. If Strachan was in charge many players that under perform would not get anymore Scottish Caps. The Caldwell brothers are not International class at this stage in their careers.
Under Strachan he would not hide, he would take the blame and he would install belief in teh Scotland side that is sadly lacking.
Just for the record, Strachan said this afternoon that he wants the job!
Berti get to feck....
Faraday
Aug 21 2004, 17:58
HTTT, I really hope the sfa were listening to the interview. It may not be a "come and gte me" but it certainly sounded something like that!!
Can pie man start a strachan for scotland forum for people to sign? Even if it doesn't make a difference its better than sitting on our hands.
I've lost faith in the current regime at east fife and I'm afraid if it goes the same way with scotland I may never enjoy a football match again for a long time!!!
| QUOTE (sons1872 @ Aug 20 2004, 09:40 PM) |
Does anyone think that no matter who manages Scotland we will still be crap. |
Thats the sort of shite that gets on my nerves.
We need a manager that can motivate players,have organisational skills and tactical awareness,Vogts and Burns has neither.Your not telling me that the players playing with Greece are any better than what we`ve got yet they won the European Championship.
Get the right manager in(Scottish)and we`ll do okay.
BTW.The Hungary game on Wednesday night will be/was my last friendly game i`ll be at through in Glasgow.
edinlichtie
Aug 22 2004, 15:15
strachan for the arbroath job!
arab_joe
Aug 22 2004, 15:43
its not about the manager in my view, its about the players. could anyone be successful as scotland manager with the crop of shite he has to work with? i doubt it.
this has come to a forefront after the hungary match, which i find strange. scotland got beat 3-0, fair enough, but 2 of those goals were freaks- one an absolute blinder and one a bizarre own goal.
give him a chance to qualify and by that time some good youngaters may have come through- football in scotland needs to change a grass roots level, not at the levl of national manager
bluetooner
Aug 22 2004, 16:32
And the way this has to be done is to give youngsters a chance, not like Olaf said on another thread by buying in cheap imports just to be politically correct

Then we may have some players who are used to playing at the top level instead of having to play in the english 3rd division, and we will improve that way.
You have to give people a chance, what if Strachan comes in and we take 3 steps back, just at a qualifying stage, fair enough if berti blows his chance half way through, he can go then, giving strachan time to get a team going his way before euro 2008 champs.
The Poker King
Aug 22 2004, 19:20
I think what we heard from Strachan on Saturday was as close to a 'come and get me' as we're like to get. The problem with Strachan is that he won't take any pish from the SFA and they know this. I think they could be afraid of him.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.