Full Version: Darren Barr
The Pie Shop > International & Other Football & Other Sports > Tartan Army Ramblings
The Don
Well done to Darren Barr on his call up to the national side. Just reward for some exceptional performances. Just hope the huns keep their hands off now they have money and need a Cuellar replacement.
glasnost
Tartan Army Ramblings for this nonsense.
ChampionsElect
Yes, good young player. Deserved a call up.
The Don
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 12 2008, 12:41) *
Tartan Army Ramblings for this nonsense.

Part of the post refered to my fear that he may be poached by a fellow spl club... I would have thought that would be relevant to an spl forum??
gav-ffc
Deserved place for Darren. Been our best player since he has come into the team.
glasnost
QUOTE (The Don @ Aug 12 2008, 12:47) *
Part of the post refered to my fear that he may be poached by a fellow spl club... I would have thought that would be relevant to an spl forum??

There is a lengthy Cuellar thraed to which that could be said.
MarreZ
Surprised that Haining hasnt had a call up when Barr has, he's a better defender, though perhaps Barr is the better long term prospect.
killieman
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 12 2008, 12:53) *
There is a lengthy Cuellar thraed to which that could be said.

who died and made you a MOD ya dullard
H_B
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Aug 12 2008, 12:54) *
Surprised that Haining hasnt had a call up when Barr has, he's a better defender, though perhaps Barr is the better long term prospect.

Don't want to risk the preferred first choice partnership of Haining and Broadfoot in a meaningless friendly I can only assume.
Ric
QUOTE (The Don @ Aug 12 2008, 12:47) *

Congratulations to a player for making the national team should surely be posted in the forum for national team affairs, imo.

Even though this makes me uneasy at agreeing with Glasnost.. wink.gif

Edit: btw, yes, in retrospect I should have moved that previous thread about the St.Mirren boys getting the youth call-ups. Sorry an oversight than anything else.
bairn175
Congrats to Darren Barr. I didn't think he would get a call up until 3 months after he had left us dry.gif
Larbert_Par
Burley out. I will boo this reprobate if he is picked.

On a serious note, well done to him for the call up. However, I am concerned at the lack of experience at centre back- I think Burley would be wise to include Weir and Dailly for the Macedonia and Iceland games.
Dunning1874
About time, he's a far better player than Berra. The first of many call ups you'd imagine! biggrin.gif

dogma
Anyone know anything about the other lad Commons. Read on the Beeb that he plays for Derby ( which isnt overly encourgaing ) and he qualifies through a granny.
Deeboy
QUOTE (dogma @ Aug 12 2008, 13:10) *
Anyone know anything about the other lad Commons. Read on the Beeb that he plays for Derby ( which isnt overly encourgaing ) and he qualifies through a granny.

According to SkySports he's thought of as one of the brightest talents outside of the Premiership. Can't say I've ever seen him play but does sound encouraging.
Tomsk The Beano
QUOTE (dogma @ Aug 12 2008, 12:10) *

http://www.icons.com/commons/twenty.html
arab_joe
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Aug 12 2008, 12:41) *
Yes, good young player. Deserved a call up.

I agree. Good to see a young non-Old Firm player getting a chance for a change, I see Robson is now an ever-present since leaving us...

Just wished Scotland would put more faith in youth/inexperience for friednlies that mean so little, rather than continuing to pick rubbish like Callum Davidson, Gavin Rae, Kenny Miller etc- surely there are better players worth taking a gamble on.
William S
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Aug 12 2008, 12:54) *

Totally agree, Haining is a fantastic centre back.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (arab_joe @ Aug 12 2008, 14:25) *
I agree. Good to see a young non-Old Firm player getting a chance for a change, I see Robson is now an ever-present since leaving us...

Just wished Scotland would put more faith in youth/inexperience for friednlies that mean so little, rather than continuing to pick rubbish like Callum Davidson, Gavin Rae, Kenny Miller etc- surely there are better players worth taking a gamble on.

Kenny Miller has generally been outstanding in a Scotland shirt.
Back Post Misses
QUOTE (William S @ Aug 12 2008, 14:38) *
Totally agree, Haining is a fantastic centre back.

Not the player Barr is - guarenteed
glasnost
QUOTE (arab_joe @ Aug 12 2008, 14:25) *
Just wished Scotland would put more faith in youth/inexperience for friednlies that mean so little, rather than continuing to pick rubbish like Callum Davidson, Gavin Rae, Kenny Miller etc

..........or picking Englishmen like Commons?

William S
QUOTE (Back Post Misses @ Aug 12 2008, 14:47) *
Not the player Barr is - guarenteed

Respectfully I disagree.
Gallacticos
Always thought Barr was a good centre half, certainly better than Will Haining or Kirk Broadfoot.

No place for McCulloch, Dailly or Weir - good to see Burley picking players on form rather than reputation.

Looking forward to the game now cool.gif
Russ.
Congratulations to Darren his call up is certainly merited and long over-due.

The only bad side to this is that this puts him in an even bigger shop window now but I really hope we can hold on to him for as long as possible.

QUOTE (dogma @ Aug 12 2008, 13:10) *

Really good player. Plays mostly as a left winger iimrc but can also play just behind the striker and up top as well. He's been with Notts Forrest for the last few years and been there stand out player I'm also pretty sure there were a few EPL teams after him but he strangely chose to move to Derby in the summer.
skinnyjean
QUOTE (Only1Hagi @ Aug 12 2008, 15:11) *
Congratulations to Darren his call up is certainly merited and long over-due.

The only bad side to this is that this puts him in an even bigger shop window now but I really hope we can hold on to him for as long as possible.

But it does give us the opportunity to add an extra wee bit on to the price - kerching!

Great news for the lad! Really, really pleased for him.

Shame Dean Holden is still injured - he could have been playing for NI on the same night!
kris_FFC
Well done Darren, about time too biggrin.gif

Good to see the club are now represented at every level in the Scotland set up from the Under 15's upwards. cool.gif
MattBairn
Congrats to Barr. Thoroughly deserved. smile.gif
MarreZ
Out of interest, when was the last time Falkirk had a player capped?
Millfield Marksman
Alex Parker, 1958 ?
Naught A Chance
Happy with this always a player that has impressed me and i am happy to see him called up
Ned Nederlander
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Aug 12 2008, 17:31) *
Out of interest, when was the last time Falkirk had a player capped?

Russell Latapy & Denzil Theobald 20th June 2006 vs Paraguay (Kaiserslautern)

T&T:
Russell: 10 Caps 1 goal as a Bairn.
Denzill: 10 Caps as a Bairn.
Rahim: 12 Caps as a Bairn.

QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 12 2008, 17:38) *
Alex Parker, 1958 ?

More 'recent' Caps than Alex:

Latapy 2006
Rahim 2005
Theobald 2006
McKinney NI 1966
Wilson NI 1965
Captain_Sensible
I can't believe that Barr has been called up ahead of Kirk Broadfoot.

Big Kirk is the second best defender in Scotland.
bairnagain
I am in shock! It took seven posts before a St Mirren player got mentioned on this thread.

At least I now have a reason to watch the game next Wednesday now. Well done Darren, richly deserved.
Larbert_Par
First Falkirk player to be called into the Scotland squad in 49 years according to today's Metro.
MarreZ
QUOTE (Ned Nederlander @ Aug 12 2008, 21:08) *

T&T:

More 'recent' Caps than Alex:

Latapy 2006
Rahim 2005
Theobald 2006
McKinney NI 1966
Wilson NI 1965

Sorry, i meant Scottish player, not any player.
Ned Nederlander
QUOTE (MarreZ @ Aug 13 2008, 12:47) *
Sorry, i meant Scottish player, not any player.

John White who played a few full Internationals in 1959.

(followed by a couple of Scottish League call ups in 1960)
GunnerBairn
good luck to darren. John White scored in the first minute in a 3-2 win vs West Germany in front of 103,000 fans, on his last international in 1959. if darren gets his cap then his value will go up. it's all good for captain marvellous....
Sao Paulo
Congratulations to Barr on his call up. Hopefully he'll get a decent run out against Northern Ireland on Wednesday.

Himself & Christophe Berra should provide decent competition for places at the heart of the defence in the future.
doulikefish
lets hope he doesnt come against a striker of colin nishs ability in the international arena
Ned Nederlander
QUOTE (Ned Nederlander @ Aug 12 2008, 21:08) *

T&T:

A wee update:

T&T:
Russell: 12 Caps 2 goals as a Bairn. biggrin.gif
Thundermonkey
Surely Barr will not be called up for the next squad given his recent dip.

Or now that he has made the squad will he do a Dailly or McCunnie (U21 level) and hang around despite playing poorly?

Don't get me wrong, I love having Barr selected but if he's playing poorly surely he's just stopping another 'Darren Barr' from gaining a deserved call up?
H_B
QUOTE (Thundermonkey @ Oct 22 2008, 12:58) *
Surely Barr will not be called up for the next squad given his recent dip.

Is there anyone else though?

He has been rancid since the Northern Ireland game.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 22 2008, 16:26) *

Sacrifice a defensive position for another striker, Ross McCormack to be precise. B)
Thundermonkey
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 22 2008, 16:26) *

There isn't but it would I never noticed if Darren made the bench anyway in the last few qualifiers.

Being dropped might help his club form ph34r.gif
Kenny_Jnr
In fairness to Barr recently, he's been playing alongside Bullen at centre back (who is clearly not up to it at this level any more) and Scobbie at left back (not good enough as a full back but a good centre back with a big future). I still honestly believe he is the best centre back in the country and his recent performances haven't been as bad as some are making out.
H_B
QUOTE (Kenny_Jnr @ Oct 23 2008, 00:08) *
I still honestly believe he is the best centre back in the country

You have to be joking.
dubs
QUOTE (Kenny_Jnr @ Oct 23 2008, 00:08) *
I still honestly believe he is the best centre back in the country.

You are an idiot then.
Kenny_Jnr
QUOTE (H_B @ Oct 23 2008, 10:06) *
You have to be joking.

McManus, Caldwell and Weir are all too slow and none of them are as good on the ball as Barr. Weir gets caught out of position far too often now. Anytime Caldwell plays a ball forward its too the opposition and I don't trust any of them when a player gets in behind. I haven't seen Berra enough to judge and I don't think there is anyone else apart from Broadfoot, who I again haven't seen enough of at centre back.
H_B
Caldwell is a class above Barr at present I'm afraid. As is even a decrepit Davie Weir.

Barr has a lot of improving to do to even get the decent move we hope he gets to the Championship or the Old Firm.