Full Version: Pars Fans
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
QOS 1970
I know this post will be moved but it probably would not be noticed by any dunfermilne fans if put on the "scots in europe" page straight away.With our looming UEFA game coming up ,I just wanted to know how you found the experience? rated the opposition? (Haka wasnt it).if you should have won etc?.
north_west_L52
Christ dont even remind me !
QOS 1970
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 7 2008, 19:08) *
Chris dont even remind me !
Please grit your teeth and tell me about it.
north_west_L52
Well one thing i will say is dont get your hopes up
ragerpar
It was actually BK Hacken. And I would totally agree , don't get your hopes up!
SeanThePar
We expected to win, and after the first minute of the first lg we were 1-0 up. Sean Murdoch mistake and the first leg finishes 1-1. 2nd leg was not good...
Paco
Why don't we discuss Hafnarfjodur? ph34r.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Paco @ Aug 7 2008, 20:48) *
Why don't we discuss Hafnarfjodur? ph34r.gif

thumbup2.gif

Yes lets..... biggrin.gif
martybigain
rovers done better in europe... at least we got 3 rounds he he..

love the experience and dont get hopes up just enjoy the moment and if you get anything
from it then its a bonus.

good luck though.

revolvingduck
QUOTE (martybigain @ Aug 7 2008, 20:50) *
rovers done better in europe... at least we got 3 rounds he he..

love the experience and dont get hopes up just enjoy the moment and if you get anything
from it then its a bonus.

good luck though.

Pah we beat Valencia dry.gif in the 60's of course......

In reply to the OP, it is strnage. You expect the game to be really different from your domestic games but sadly for us they weren't. And we got rapeed by a buch of shite (twice sad.gif)
da_no_1
jeez one mention of europe & a wee teamer gets all frothy.

jog on ya fud.
north_west_L52
QUOTE (martybigain @ Aug 7 2008, 20:50) *
rovers done better in europe

Aye - bayern to Stirling albion

look how shite your team is now
smile.gif
sandboy
QUOTE (QOS 1970 @ Aug 7 2008, 20:06) *
I know this post will be moved but it probably would not be noticed by any dunfermilne fans if put on the "scots in europe" page straight away.With our looming UEFA game coming up ,I just wanted to know how you found the experience? rated the opposition? (Haka wasnt it).if you should have won etc?.

I think Hacken were better than we gave them credit for. Sweden is a similar sized country to Scotland so it seems reasonable that a team just relegated from the swedish top league wouldn't be that much poorer than any teams in our first division. Having said that we should have done better. We were maybe a bit unlucky to only draw the first leg, but we were rubbish over there and deserved to get knocked out.

The experience is fantastic, especially for anyone travelling to the away leg. We've been lucky enough to have two games in great cities, Gothenburg and Reykjavik, in recent years and both trips were brilliant. Queens fans going to to Denmark will love it. How many do you think will travel over there?
DAFC
Hacken would stay in the SPL no question.
I thought they were pretty decent.
washsacks
Hacken were completely dross.Totally pish. It's just that we happened to be considerably worse.
In saying that we had chances in the 2nd leg to do them over but didn't take them.The nail in the coffin was Hamilton stupidly getting himself sent off. The 1st leg was dire after the first minute.

The icelandic fisherman were a better team i think. They had one guy who's name escapes me and Spurs snapped him up not long after, he is playing for Genoa or some other Italian team now. I wasn't at the 1st leg but by all account we were completely pumped and somehow escaped with the 2-2. The 2nd leg we were comfortable until Skerla decided to have a fit in the box.Still never been so gutted after a match i don't think.
DAFC
Dunno about complete dross?
Mambo Mumba, Lucic, Dioh Williams, are all internationals.
port-ton
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 7 2008, 23:25) *

you had Sol Bamba though!
washsacks
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 7 2008, 23:25) *

And our team wasn't filled with people who have played full internationals?
DAFC
McKenzie (Murdoch 9), Shields, Wilson, Young, Bamba, Scott Thomson (Scott Morrison 45), Simmons (Owen Morrison 78), Burchill, Hamilton, Harper, Glass.
Subs Not Used: McManus, McGuire, Crawford, Phinn.

Larbert_Par
Hacken weren't that great a side. The early goal in the 1st leg should've seen us go for the throat and get a couple more, which we were well capable of doing, but instead we sat back and allowed them into it. The mistake and subsequent goal made it difficult going away, but even then we had chances.

FH however were a better team than the Swedes. We got lucky over there, they could've been 3 up and finished it before we got back into it and we were on the path to utter pish under Hay. However, 2nd leg we were in control, especially when Dempsey scored. Then our defence, Skerla especially, decided to fanny about and lose 2 goals in the last 5 minutes.

I have never, ever been as sick after a Pars game.

Also, lol at the Wee Teamies. Diddy, diddy club.
QOS 1970
Thanks ,larbert par and sandboy .That was the kind of stuff I wanted to know.We have sold 650 tickets for the away leg so far.How many pars went over?.
Yoss
It's a shame you can't play it in Dumfries, I remember Starks Park buzzing even for the first round against Gotu Itrottarfelag (I think). And then the next round against Akranes was being shown live on Icelandic telly, so all the advertising hoardings were in Icelandic for the evening. Great days.

You might get something really memorable out of it. Or it might be shit. That's the beauty of footie, you just never know.
north_west_L52
QUOTE (QOS 1970 @ Aug 8 2008, 10:01) *
We have sold 650 tickets for the away leg so far.How many pars went over?.

think we took about 1300
Captain Tash
With the players and management we have got now, we would've beaten Hacken. They were nothing special, same as the Icelandic team. Queens will have a good chance of progressing I think.

Also, if Rovers fans want to recall old European glories ( if that what you call reaching the 3rd round) then please note that our proud European record is one of the most impressive in Scotland. Your once in blue moon showing in European competition 14 years ago is laughable compared to our European history. Thats one of many reasons that you will always be the wee team in our eyes. laugh.gif
washsacks
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 8 2008, 09:11) *
McKenzie (Murdoch 9), Shields, Wilson, Young, Bamba, Scott Thomson (Scott Morrison 45), Simmons (Owen Morrison 78), Burchill, Hamilton, Harper, Glass.
Subs Not Used: McManus, McGuire, Crawford, Phinn.

There's 3. Plus Shields, Young, Bamba, Scott Morrison, Harper, McManus and McGuire(?) all have under 21 experience or B caps. Plus Scott Wilson has Champions league experience and Harper Premiership exeperience.

We were more than capable of giving Hacken a bit of a doing.
parslad
QUOTE (QOS 1970 @ Aug 7 2008, 20:06) *

I have to say its an amazing experience watching your team abroad.Despite playing in 2 very expensive countries we had something like 800 fans in Iceland and over 1000 in sweden.Pretty dire performances but for atmosphere and the shher joy of being there you cant beat it.Good luck
gingapar
seems to me, if you want a positive experience regardless of the outcome, go to the away leg. I was only at the home legs of both ties and as a result, the mere mention of the Uefa cup leaves a sour taste in my mouth and sends shivers of shame up my spine. especially the first time round, driving home from perth that night, the four of us in the car agreed that it was the worst any of us had ever felt as pars fans and two have barely been to a game since!
Grant228
It was horrid right enough sad.gif
EastFootball
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 7 2008, 20:08) *
Chris dont even remind me !

Who's Chris?
north_west_L52
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 9 2008, 00:40) *
Who's Chris?

ment to put Christ

changed now though
Stoo61
Brilliant experience, loved every second, apart from the hour and a half of football. We went over and played some Hacken fans at their home ground and they were great with us, taking us to their local and spending the next few days with us. Very friendly....have fun!!