doulikefish
Aug 7 2008, 05:32
the first battle of the fish takes place at stadio della balmooro!
can the bloo toon live with the league leaders or will it be a rout for the champions elect?
thoughts???
I think Arbroath will flounder and it will be a trout for Peterhead who will keep their rightful plaice at the top of the league
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 7 2008, 08:27
QUOTE (Robbo @ Aug 7 2008, 09:16)

I think Arbroath will flounder and it will be a trout for Peterhead who will keep their rightful plaice at the top of the league
Keep? They are second at the moment.
lichtie36nilhello
Aug 7 2008, 08:35
QUOTE (Robbo @ Aug 7 2008, 09:16)

This is the biggest test of the season, I am very wary of the Peterhead form at the mo (6-0 v the Mo too!) and it is the hardest plaice to get a good result. We will need cod on our side and the luck that deserted us verses Forfar and Stirling to appear.
JimLichtie
Aug 7 2008, 08:49
*inserts fish related pun*
Saw big Neale Cooper at Gayfield last night. No doubt after witnessing us lose two set piece goals he'll be trying to exploit that.
Regardless of the result I just hope we continue with the attacking play, building possession in midfield and pushing forward as a unit. And with the combined pace of Gates and Scott we will always have chances to spring a quick break.
Really looking forward to it tho, hoping for a third week at the top of the league!
SmokedHaddock
Aug 7 2008, 15:08
I think it'll be a draw, i would take that aswell.
I heard Sky Sports are picking up the coverage for this title decider
I think this is Arbroath's first visit to Peterhead since they joined the League or am i wrong.Looking forward to the game and my first visit to Peterhead.There's a bus load of Arbroath fans heading up dressed in beach wear.Something which seems to happen first away game of every season.
Mel Hutchwright
Aug 7 2008, 21:08
QUOTE (WHM @ Aug 7 2008, 21:46)

I think this is Arbroath's first visit to Peterhead since they joined the League or am i wrong.
It is indeed, and I'm fair looking forward to visiting some new surroundings.
On the back of the previous couple of games we should go into this match with our confidence up, but I don't think there's any question that this is going to be an extremely tough game for us to take anything from. I'd also be more than happy with a draw.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 8 2008, 00:32
I was saying on the predictions thread that I think after the CIS results Arbroaths confidence will be higher and have a good chance in this game.
Whatever, its a top of the table clash, and should be exciting.
lichtie36nilhello
Aug 8 2008, 09:15
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Aug 8 2008, 01:32)

I was saying on the predictions thread that I think after the CIS results Arbroaths confidence will be higher and have a good chance in this game.
Whatever, its a top of the table clash, and should be exciting.
I think you are a secret admirer of the super Lichties

Just come out of the closet/lino factory and sing it load and proud
lichtie36nilhello
Aug 8 2008, 09:17
QUOTE (Mel Hutchwright @ Aug 7 2008, 22:08)

It is indeed, and I'm fair looking forward to visiting some new surroundings.
On the back of the previous couple of games we should go into this match with our confidence up, but I don't think there's any question that this is going to be an extremely tough game for us to take anything from. I'd also be more than happy with a draw.
Ah, Mel the ship of reason in this sea of fools, i salute you sir

Also he supports the super Lichties too!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 8 2008, 10:57
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Aug 8 2008, 10:15)

I think you are a secret admirer of the super Lichties

Just come out of the closet/lino factory and sing it load and proud

Before the start of the season I said on here a few times to all those thinking Arbroath were relegation fodder that Arbroath are a much better team than they think and that I thought you'd do well this season.
lichtie23
Aug 8 2008, 18:04
Difficult test for the table toping Lichties, but one we should go into with real confidence!
No doubting Peterhead are a decent outfit but we seem to be playing with a real swagger about us.
We seem to have cut out the long ball and are happy to build from the back.
The midfield has really impressed me this season with both Sellars and Lunan looking really sharp!
Im on the nightshift tonight so il be making a bleary eyed apperance at the stadio della balmoor tommorow but one im looking forward too.
Iv heard great things about there social club and will hopefully be able to sink a few before 3PM
How much is admission at Balmoor?
Peterhead Dave
Aug 8 2008, 23:27
We'll fucking rape those fish shagging diddies.
Please play Raeside to allow Bav and Gunny the freedom of... well, it might as well be the planet, really
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 8 2008, 23:39
QUOTE (Peterhead Dave @ Aug 9 2008, 00:27)

We'll fucking rape those fish shagging diddies.Please play Raeside to allow Bav and Gunny the freedom of... well, it might as well be the planet, really

Says the kettle to the pot.
Anyway, its a bit early in the season you to get triumphalist.
King Kebab
Aug 9 2008, 00:00
Could be an uneventful scoreless draw!!!
I think they'll both be herring on the side of caution!!!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 9 2008, 01:29
QUOTE (King Kebab @ Aug 9 2008, 01:00)

Could be an uneventful scoreless draw!!!
I think they'll both be herring on the side of caution!!!
They cod be floundering at the foot of the table before ling. It all depends on them finding a good kipper wi a saithe pair o hands. Otherwise, if one of them takes first plaice at the tope of the table it'll be a mackerel.
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Aug 9 2008, 02:29)

They cod be floundering at the foot of the table before ling. It all depends on them finding a good kipper wi a saithe pair o hands. Otherwise, if one of them takes first plaice at the tope of the table it'll be a mackerel.
Some folk have too much time on their hands!
Cliche Guevara
Aug 9 2008, 08:08
This could be a supper game!
dreamteamer
Aug 9 2008, 08:30
cod w...eel be
Cliche Guevara
Aug 9 2008, 08:33
That's not even a pun - that's your real accent!
Lichtielegend
Aug 9 2008, 09:55
This is the worst thread in the history of the internet.
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Aug 9 2008, 10:55)

This is the worst thread in the history of the internet.
Its worse than that...... its cod awful!
Sorry sorry, couldn't resist!
Was a bit worried about this game, thought Peterhead would have been all over us from what I'd heard. Decent away performance from the super lichties, just a pity we didn't sneak the win at the end. Shame on all those who predicted a 4/5 to nil thrashing.
Gates didn't have a good game after playing so well midweek.
What about the penalty claim, looked a stone waller from where I was sitting 355yards away
Nice ground, great bar, decent pie, wind and rain..... was like home from home!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 9 2008, 17:12
QUOTE (b ross @ Aug 9 2008, 17:58)

wind and rain..... was like home from home!

PS - pity about losing that late goal
QUOTE (Peterhead Dave @ Aug 9 2008, 00:27)

We'll fucking rape those fish shagging diddies.
Please play Raeside to allow Bav and Gunny the freedom of... well, it might as well be the planet, really

lichtie36nilhello
Aug 9 2008, 17:26
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Aug 9 2008, 18:12)

PS - pity about losing that late goal
I hope that hasn't ruined your weekend now BBTH

Cheer up we may win at Ayr next week
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 9 2008, 19:29
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Aug 9 2008, 18:26)

I hope that hasn't ruined your weekend now BBTH

Cheer up we may win at Ayr next week

Hopefully
First visit to Peterhead good social club,nice wee ground.
1st half mainly all Peterhead,apart from right on half-time,when Arbroath should have been awarded a penalty,for a terrible tackle on Brian Scott in the box,which ment the end of his game,but we should have know Euan Norris was the ref (see Forfar game).A more even game 2nd half with a great finish from young Terry Masson to put Arbroath 1up,both teams had chances with Peterhead hitting the post,and just when you thought we had done enough,Peterhead get a wee bit of luck with a clearance hitting another Peterhead player and the ball falls to McKay on edge of the box and he finishes well.Then with the last kick of the match Barry Sellars breaks into the box and his shot comes back of the inside of the post.
Mel Hutchwright
Aug 9 2008, 20:08
A pleasing performance all in all, although it was disapointing to be denied what would have been a fantastic win by such a late equaliser. Couldn't really begrudge Peterhead a point on the balance of play mind you, despite the rather fortuitous break of the ball that led to the goal.
We never really got going in the first half, and we were a little fortunate to go in on level terms as it was one way traffic for the most part. We did have that credible penalty claim just before half time, but the referee thought otherwise more's the pity.
The second half was a far more open and entertaining game of football, and it was a lovely shot from Masson to open the scoring. We had further opportunities countering on the break when Peterhead were pushing for the equaliser, but failed to capitalise on them. Just about sneaked it right on full time through that Sellars shot that came back off the woodwork, but it was not to be.
Still, it's a very good away point, although I hope Scott recovers from that hefty challenge and isn't going to be missing through injury again. He did look to be in some degree of discomfort though.
lichtie36nilhello
Aug 9 2008, 20:37
QUOTE (WHM @ Aug 9 2008, 20:45)

First visit to Peterhead good social club,nice wee ground.
1st half mainly all Peterhead,apart from right on half-time,when Arbroath should have been awarded a penalty,for a terrible tackle on Brian Scott in the box,which ment the end of his game,but we should have know Euan Norris was the ref (see Forfar game).A more even game 2nd half with a great finish from young Terry Masson to put Arbroath 1up,both teams had chances with Peterhead hitting the post,and just when you thought we had done enough,Peterhead get a wee bit of luck with a clearance hitting another Peterhead player and the ball falls to McKay on edge of the box and he finishes well.Then with the last kick of the match Barry Sellars breaks into the box and his shot comes back of the inside of the post.
What Norris gave us fcuk all

, when we had a stonewall penalty claim

. Groundhog day!

Well Mr Norris at least you didn't beat us this time
Great draw super Lichties

We are miles better than Ehburdean and Scumtrose! Fact!
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 9 2008, 21:16
I thought Norris was one of the few good refs last season.
Blazes Boylan
Aug 9 2008, 22:55
Well impressed with Peterhead's set-up; it's a tidy ground, excellent and spacious social club (Stenny, take note) good pitch, 'challenging' weather system going on (not strictly under Peterhead's control, obviously), and the best pie I've had at football in ages. Arbroath caterers seem to be 'between chefs' at the moment and that 'third division snack at premier league prices' they call a pie is an abomination in comparison.
As for the football it was a pretty engaging game, certainly in the second half, and probably a fair result in the end. Slightly galling in that we almost got away with it in a cheeky rascal style by riding our luck on a couple of occasions only to get caught out with an unlucky/fortuitous (depending on your allegiance) break of the ball. Barry's effort at the end COULD have been a sweet moment but there you go. Happy to come away with a point against a team that looked pretty impressive today. Left and right backs were both well handy.
Bobby Mann is a big lad, isn't he!? (Information taken from the Ministry of Outrageous Understatement)
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 10 2008, 01:36
QUOTE (Blazes Boylan @ Aug 9 2008, 23:55)

Arbroath caterers seem to be 'between chefs' at the moment and that 'third division snack at premier league prices' they call a pie is an abomination in comparison.
I actually bought a pie last week for the first time in about 3 year. I ordered a steak pie, and it was fantastic! Steak pies are the way to go!
edinlichtie
Aug 10 2008, 08:13
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 10 2008, 02:36)

I actually bought a pie last week for the first time in about 3 year. I ordered a steak pie, and it was fantastic! Steak pies are the way to go!

Not at 2 quid tho, crazy prices
BlueToonTV
Aug 10 2008, 15:56
Match highlights now available on the Peterhead website...
Peterhead v Arbroath
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 10 2008, 16:38
QUOTE (BlueToonTV @ Aug 10 2008, 16:56)

Peterhead v ArbroathPretty good game
danlichtie
Aug 10 2008, 16:51
Top marks to Peterhead for those highlights.
Masson's goal was a beast!
Peterhead Dave
Aug 10 2008, 16:53
QUOTE (WHM @ Aug 9 2008, 20:45)

Arbroath should have been awarded a penalty,for a terrible tackle on Brian Scott in the box

Perfect challenge, actually, and not a hope of a penalty kick.
Was disappointed with us yesterday. After a promising opening 25 minutes un which we played good football and should have been a goal or two up, the final ball from midfield became woeful and we all too often tried to go over the Arbroath defence rather than round them.
In the second half we invited Arbroath onto us and were punished when Masson curled home a beauty of a strike from the edge of the box, leaving Kula with no chance.
To be honest, we were so poor going forward that I didn't think the equaliser would come, but the introduction of Davie Ross and switching McKay and Sharp gave us a fresh impetus. Kaiser was unlucky to hit the post after cutting inside Rennie, and Hill then made a good save from a similar move before Kaiser finally earned us a point.
Mel Hutchwright
Aug 10 2008, 17:20
QUOTE (Peterhead Dave @ Aug 10 2008, 17:53)

Perfect challenge, actually, and not a hope of a penalty kick.
I wasn't certain myself, although I seem to be in the minority of Lichties in thinking that it wasn't quite the stonewaller that most of our fans would suggest. It would certainly fall under the
'I've seen them given' category though.
They're really good quality highlights.
b ross
Aug 10 2008, 18:17
Have to agree, great highlights.
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 10 2008, 20:57
As the others have said, those highlights are of a truly excellent quality. Peterhead deserve praise for producing them! We looked good enough in those highlights to let me continue to purr with contentment about being an Arbroath fan.
Shibuya
Aug 10 2008, 21:20
Much better now the 'tasteful' backing tracks have been dropped.
smokiejoe
Aug 11 2008, 06:20
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 10 2008, 21:57)

We looked good enough in those highlights to let me continue to purr with contentment about being an Arbroath fan.

An "Arbroath fan" who spends his Saturday at Stirling v East Fife
VVank.
lichtie36nilhello
Aug 11 2008, 08:35
QUOTE (BlueToonTV @ Aug 10 2008, 16:56)

Peterhead v ArbroathThank you for the match high"Lichties"! What a peach Mr Masson! Great draw too!
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.