Full Version: Stirling V East Fife
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
the_russian
Albion must fancy their chances now?

Id like to think there will be a backlash, and we'll finally get off the mark, but excuse my lack of confidence/optimism at the moment.

Good job its a home game for the Bino's though, wouldn't want any bus related disasters in Methil following the national emergency in Brechin high street last weekend.

SmokedHaddock
Good chance for the Fifers to bounce back, Stirling were quite lucky to escape with a 1 goal defeat tonight.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 6 2008, 22:16) *
Good chance for the Fifers to bounce back, Stirling were quite lucky to escape with a 1 goal defeat tonight.

Alloa looked a far better side than Stirling tbh ohmy.gif And we took four off of them!
SmokedHaddock
We're so arrogant because of our start we're invading other teams threads, literally swaggering with arrogance tongue.gif
the_russian
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 6 2008, 22:27) *
We're so arrogant because of our start we're invading other teams threads, literally swaggering with arrogance tongue.gif

It reminds me of my glory days, last season laugh.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Aug 6 2008, 22:23) *
Alloa looked a far better side than Stirling tbh ohmy.gif And we took four off of them!

I actually thought Stirling looked a bit better than Alloa, both sides weren't too bad though. Stirling just had a gash keeper (and thats the opinion of the Albion fans too).
Gnash
QUOTE (the_russian @ Aug 6 2008, 22:14) *
Albion must fancy their chances now?

Id like to think there will be a backlash, and we'll finally get off the mark, but excuse my lack of confidence/optimism at the moment.

Good job its a home game for the Bino's though, wouldn't want any bus related disasters in Methil following the national emergency in Brechin high street last weekend.

Could say the say about us..... 0-0 guaranteed.
The Phoenix
QUOTE (Gnash @ Aug 6 2008, 23:21) *
Could say the say about us..... 0-0 guaranteed.

It won't be Nil if Christie is playing. sad.gif

He won't be though - Allan Moore will surely have recovered from the concussion he is evidently suffering from currently? unsure.gif
Ladyfan
sad.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Aug 6 2008, 23:42) *
sad.gif

Xbass Threepwood
We're the wee diddy team, and without spending any questionable money, we got a win over Stirling that could have been considerably bigger. I think the differences between the two teams can be summed up thusly:

Arbroath - we knew that the second was a different kettle of whelks to the third, and so we bought one or two new players and changed our style. We also signed a couple guys during last season with an eye to bedding them in before the start of the second division.

East Fife - They didnt look THAT good in the league, but were consistent and strong. They bought lots of players solely to win the third without thinking about the second division at all. When they did get promoted, they simply went "more of the same", and that is why they fail.
SmokedHaddock
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 23:53) *
We're the wee diddy team, and without spending any questionable money, we got a win over Stirling that could have been considerably bigger. I think the differences between the two teams can be summed up thusly:

Arbroath - we knew that the second was a different kettle of whelks to the third, and so we bought one or two new players and changed our style. We also signed a couple guys during last season with an eye to bedding them in before the start of the second division.

East Fife - They didnt look THAT good in the league, but were consistent and strong. They bought lots of players solely to win the third without thinking about the second division at all. When they did get promoted, they simply went "more of the same", and that is why they fail.

Their hoofball tactics don't work at this level and they are being found out, they need to play silky soccer like the Lichties.

Drug money doesn't buy wins in Division 2 laugh.gif
magambo1
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Aug 6 2008, 23:42) *
sad.gif

StewartyMac
Gotta laugh at Arbroath fans, they obviously don't get out much laugh.gif

Anyway, Saturday will be a tough yin, no doubt about it. I fear for our defence up against the Fife frontline. Unless Moore has the brainwave of playing them in their proper positions, and dropping Lowing and Christie. My hopes aren't high.
SmokedHaddock
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 7 2008, 00:05) *

Anyway, Saturday will be a tough yin, no doubt about it. I fear for our defence up against the Fife frontline. Unless Moore has the brainwave of playing them in their proper positions, and dropping Lowing and Christie. My hopes aren't high.

Out indeed

Outclassed by the fisherman. biggrin.gif
The Phoenix
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 7 2008, 00:08) *

We've got a goalkeeper who is better at filling his net than any of your lot. sad.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 7 2008, 00:08) *
Out indeed

I noticed you only joined up here in June.

People, is this the first ever glory hunting Arbroath fan? laugh.gif
rw89
East Fife'll come good. Their fans will look back and laugh at this thread...most notably the fans who think they are doomed after 2 games. rolleyes.gif
Gordon EF
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 23:53) *

Oh Jesus Christ, give it a break eh?

We were not just a functional, hunt and punt, team last year. Arbroath were probably the team that we performed worst against (maybe Stenhousemuir) but look at the facts, we scored far more goals than anyone else, we conceded very, very few, coming close to breaking/equalling the 3rd division record and were miles ahead of the rest. Only Gretna ever got more 3rd division points in a season.

The players we signed last season - Steven Tweed, Dougie Cameron, Paul Stewart, Paul McManus, Bobby Linn, Chris Templeman. By what possible measure would you call them '3rd division players'?

We've been fairly dire in the last two games (after a decent win at Brechin) but it's pretty clear what the problems are and they are certainly fixable. It hasn't been the EF fans who've been trumpeting us up the loudest so most 2nd divsion fans obviously think we have a good squad so we can definitely turn this round and make an impact in this league.

Fair comment about Arbroath, they've started very well but we've all seen excellent starts turn to shit and remeber you were knocked out the CC by a 3rd division side.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Aug 7 2008, 00:27) *

We were not just a functional, hunt and punt, team last year. Arbroath were probably the team that we performed worst against (maybe Stenhousemuir) but look at the facts, we scored far more goals than anyone else, we conceded very, very few, coming close to breaking/equalling the 3rd division record and were miles ahead of the rest. Only Gretna ever got more 3rd division points in a season.

The players we signed last season - Steven Tweed, Dougie Cameron, Paul Stewart, Paul McManus, Bobby Linn, Chris Templeman. By what possible measure would you call them '3rd division players'?

Fair comment about Arbroath, they've started very well but we've all seen excellent starts turn to shit and remeber you were knocked out the CC by a 3rd division side.

Not sure about the rest of them but Tweed will be found out this season due to his lack of pace alongside his superstar partner Smart wink.gif
Gordon EF
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 7 2008, 00:29) *
Not sure about the rest of them but Tweed will be found out this season due to his lack of pace alongside his superstar partner Smart wink.gif

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
SmokedHaddock
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 7 2008, 00:12) *
I noticed you only joined up here in June.

People, is this the first ever glory hunting Arbroath fan? laugh.gif

Oh aye, hunting that glory to the max.

130 years 0 trophys, im demanding 1 in the next 50 years or ill support the Arbroath Vics.
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 7 2008, 00:05) *

i wouldn't worry, crawford doesn't look interested...
Ladyfan
QUOTE (a_n_d_o @ Aug 7 2008, 00:37) *
i wouldn't worry, crawford doesn't look interested...

I think it would be unfair to single out any one player to blame for last night. Crawford and McManus had no service whatsoever and had to try and create their own chances. We had no midfield. It is something that needs sorted and rather quickly. Stanic and Cameron should be swapped around. Cameron would be better suited in midfield than Stanic. Our defence was missing Kaizer. It would seem that we have mucked about with last seasons brilliant defence to a point where players don't know where they are supposed to be.

I could rant alot about how bad we were but I am an optimist. I have to be.

Oh and Ruski boy, we have identified this seasons jinx - Forest Fifer! You're safe this year if you ever decide to stop supporting Arbroath. I know that you are a big Arbroath fan and have been for 50 years but we would miss ya! wink.gif
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 7 2008, 00:37) *
Oh aye, hunting that glory to the max.

130 years 0 trophys, im demanding 1 in the next 50 years or ill support the Arbroath Vics.

Me too! rolleyes.gif
lichtie36nilhello

We've been fairly dire in the last two games (after a decent win at Brechin) but it's pretty clear what the problems are and they are certainly fixable. It hasn't been the EF fans who've been trumpeting us up the loudest so most 2nd divsion fans obviously think we have a good squad so we can definitely turn this round and make an impact in this league.

You spend a shed load of dosh doing all of the above! Fact. We lost to Fofar in the CC cup, you lost to Forfar in the league after spending a shed load of dosh. See the pattern?! Without the money East Fife would NOT be in Div 2 but another Cowden! Shit team, small support.

East Fifes' problems are fixable.....Mr Gray.....Mr Gray! Where's your cheque book! laugh.gif

Success for the super Lichties is staying in Div 2, what is East Fife's aim? Hail the new Gretna, hail the new Mileson! rolleyes.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Aug 7 2008, 10:02) *
You spend a shed load of dosh doing all of the above! Fact. We lost to Fofar in the CC cup, you lost to Forfar in the league after spending a shed load of dosh. See the pattern?! Without the money East Fife would NOT be in Div 2 but another Cowden! Shit team, small support.

East Fifes' problems are fixable.....Mr Gray.....Mr Gray! Where's your cheque book! laugh.gif

Success for the super Lichties is staying in Div 2, what is East Fife's aim? Hail the new Gretna, hail the new Mileson! rolleyes.gif

They have spent loads of money and still have a shit support and shit team wink.gif
Xbass Threepwood

I would call them signings to get you out of the third division. They were signs of short term thinking. An example of a signing for the second division was when we signed Lunan at christmas, despite him having an 8 match ban. We had him on a pre contract for next season, but we signed him early to bed him into the team and allow us to start with an integrated squad.

You didnt think like this at all. You signed a ton of players purely to make sure the third division was won, and now you are paying for it.

Oh and just because you were successful, doesnt mean you werent efficient and basic. I compared you to Chelsea and I think it still stands. Functional, dull, unspectacular, generally successful, but limited. And now you pay the price.
JimLichtie
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 10:26) *
And now you pay the price.

You do realise that there are still 35 games to go in the league?

I'm delighted that we have started well, and it's nice to have some confidence in the team but we've played one good game - we've achieved nothing yet.

And your constant East Fife obsession is boring.
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (JimLichtie @ Aug 7 2008, 11:12) *

I'm delighted that we have started well, and it's nice to have some confidence in the team but we've played one good game - we've achieved nothing yet.

And your constant East Fife obsession is boring.

Really? I thought the season was over! ohmy.gif
rw89
I would call them signings to get you out of the third division. They were signs of short term thinking. An example of a signing for the second division was when we signed Lunan at christmas, despite him having an 8 match ban. We had him on a pre contract for next season, but we signed him early to bed him into the team and allow us to start with an integrated squad.

You didnt think like this at all. You signed a ton of players purely to make sure the third division was won, and now you are paying for it.

Oh and just because you were successful, doesnt mean you werent efficient and basic. I compared you to Chelsea and I think it still stands. Functional, dull, unspectacular, generally successful, but limited. And now you pay the price.

Words cannot describe the ripping you will recieve from the East Fife fans when your team are getting fucked over in the middle of january.The way i see it is Arbroath are 3 points off the bottom and East Fife are 3 from the top as with any other teams. Even in the space of 2 weeks you could be eating your words. Enjoy.
Lichtielegend
I would like to take this opportunity to collectively distance every Arbroath fan from xbl's comments.
Ladyfan
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 7 2008, 11:32) *
Words cannot describe the ripping you will recieve from the East Fife fans when your team are getting fucked over in the middle of january.The way i see it is Arbroath are 3 points off the bottom and East Fife are 3 from the top as with any other teams. Even in the space of 2 weeks you could be eating your words. Enjoy.

Wow, that is inspirational stuff! I wish more East Fife fans could adopt your attitude! You would honestly think that the league is over the way some are going on. Thank you! smile.gif

I'm not going to go into any of xbl's posts coz I have to go back to watching the paint dry in my kitchen.
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 7 2008, 11:32) *

I'd get the ripping anyway, such is the life of a football fan. Success is fleeting, may as well enjoy it while you can! biggrin.gif
the_russian
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Aug 7 2008, 11:46) *
I would like to take this opportunity to collectively distance every Arbroath fan from xbl's comments.

Indeed, the crisp eating mental is nowt to do with us.
RedWeb
QUOTE (JimLichtie @ Aug 7 2008, 11:12) *

Most sensible thing any Arbroath fan has said on this thread. Perhaps XBL should cast his mind back to SFL2 2 seasons ago. Cowdenbeath played like the real Brazil for a month and ended up nearly getting relegated. A few seasons before that we won the first 5 games after promotion before fading away. The promoted side can often have a great start before reality bites. But I'm sure he knew that huh.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Aug 7 2008, 13:08) *
Most sensible thing any Arbroath fan has said on this thread. Perhaps XBL should cast his mind back to SFL2 2 seasons ago. Cowdenbeath played like the real Brazil for a month and ended up nearly getting relegated. A few seasons before that we won the first 5 games after promotion before fading away. The promoted side can often have a great start before reality bites. But I'm sure he knew that huh.gif

See my post above:
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 12:38) *
Success is fleeting, may as well enjoy it while you can! biggrin.gif
a_n_d_o
QUOTE (Ladyfan @ Aug 7 2008, 08:32) *
I think it would be unfair to single out any one player to blame for last night. Crawford and McManus had no service whatsoever and had to try and create their own chances. We had no midfield. It is something that needs sorted and rather quickly. Stanic and Cameron should be swapped around. Cameron would be better suited in midfield than Stanic. Our defence was missing Kaizer. It would seem that we have mucked about with last seasons brilliant defence to a point where players don't know where they are supposed to be.

I could rant alot about how bad we were but I am an optimist. I have to be.

Oh and Ruski boy, we have identified this seasons jinx - Forest Fifer! You're safe this year if you ever decide to stop supporting Arbroath. I know that you are a big Arbroath fan and have been for 50 years but we would miss ya! wink.gif

i don't think EF played any better when you beat us in the challenge cup, except maybe the defence was better organised. i agree your midfield looks by far the weakest part of your team, but i'd expect crawford with the experience and quality he has/had would be barking at his team mates for service. he looked bright the first ten mins of challenge cup game and thats it, really didn't look interested at any point last night. not that i think any EF player in particular is to blame, as it was just an excellent performance from brechin, but was just trying to ease a SA fans fears smile.gif
King Kebab
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 6 2008, 23:55) *
Their hoofball tactics don't work at this level and they are being found out, they need to play silky soccer like the Lichties.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
King Kebab

Eeehhh no we didn't!!!

Think you'll find that we pumped them four times in the League last season, just like we pumped you three times but with one more pumping thrown in for good measure!!!
Gordon EF

We beat Forfar four times in the league last season you fucking idiot.

Without Arbroath's money, they wouldn't be in the 2nd division either. I'm sure your player don't play for free. Also, our money bought us a league championship. Still waiting on that are you?

We've also had a bigger crowd at our league game and our cup game than Arbroath, probably with less away fans at each.

You're a fucking idiot and I'll love it when we overtake Arbroath.
Gordon EF

This really is one of the biggest piles of shite I've ever read on PnB. What exactly was the difference between Arbroath siging Lunan at Christmas and us signing Linn?

Even your fellow Arbroath fans think you're talking shite. And we'll still finish above Arbroath. wink.gif
SmokedHaddock
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Aug 7 2008, 14:48) *
This really is one of the biggest piles of shite I've ever read on PnB. What exactly was the difference between Arbroath siging Lunan at Christmas and us signing Linn?

Even your fellow Arbroath fans think you're talking shite. And we'll still finish above Arbroath. wink.gif

We can say for sure though that we do it with clean money, can you? biggrin.gif
Gordon EF
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 7 2008, 16:13) *

Couldn't give a shit to be honest.
Stevo Fife
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 12:38) *
I'd get the ripping anyway, such is the life of a total fucking cockend that i am! biggrin.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Aug 7 2008, 13:08) *
Most sensible thing any Arbroath fan has said on this thread. Perhaps XBL should cast his mind back to SFL2 2 seasons ago. Cowdenbeath played like the real Brazil for a month and ended up nearly getting relegated.

That's a terrific comparison. Cowden humped us 4-0 in one of the early games playing superb football, before it all started to go pear shaped. Seeing as we're in Olympics month, Arbroath are showing all the signs of the classic 'pacemaker'.

That said, we're showing all the signs of the classic Sunday League team. Well, Sunday League defending anyway.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 7 2008, 16:13) *

Nothing wrong with Wullie Gray's cash - some of its mine smile.gif
Monster
low life basturt
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 7 2008, 21:32) *
That's a terrific comparison. Cowden humped us 4-0 in one of the early games playing superb football, before it all started to go pear shaped. Seeing as we're in Olympics month, Arbroath are showing all the signs of the classic 'pacemaker'.

Spot on, one of the promoted sides always gets off to a flyer in the 1st quarter.

2006/7 - Cowdenbeath
2007/8 - Queens Park
2008/9 - Arbroath ?

the_russian
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Aug 8 2008, 09:10) *
Spot on, one of the promoted sides always gets off to a flyer in the 1st quarter.

2006/7 - Cowdenbeath
2007/8 - Queens Park
2008/9 - Arbroath ?

Also, when we were last promoted to Div2 we came flying out the traps, can't remember exactly how it went but we won a load of games in the first quarter and were in 2nd place, before falling apart and being relegated on the last day of the season.