Muddy Feet
Aug 6 2008, 20:40
Great win and Twigg scores again despite what most were writing.
Javier Mascherano
Aug 6 2008, 20:42
Fantastic result. Great to see Ward and White scoring too.
Muddy Feet
Aug 6 2008, 20:44
QUOTE (Fernando Torres @ Aug 6 2008, 21:42)

Fantastic result. Great to see Ward and White scoring too.
Very unusaul for either of them to score at all let alone in the same game! Does this suggest we had lots of corners therfore lots of attacking play therefore played well?
fifepup
Aug 6 2008, 21:03
Wasn't at the game but congratulations City. That's a humping.
Mebbe we should put the superstars on the bench for a few weeks,
we did better against you when we were in the 3rd!
Why do Brechin get an "FC" but East Fife don't?
I'm not outraged, just intrigued...
the_russian
Aug 6 2008, 21:05
QUOTE (Dunc @ Aug 6 2008, 22:04)

I'm not outraged, just intrigued...
We lost ours on the ferry.
FC tends to stand for football club, doesn’t look like East Fife were playing any football tonight.
Cliche Guevara
Aug 6 2008, 21:17
F 'n C seems to be synonymous with EF these days
MonTheRovers!!
Aug 6 2008, 21:17
Oh hoh hoh hoh!
That's a fucking doing.
Monster
Aug 6 2008, 21:20
Thanks Brechin for introducing me to a genuinely new emotion - feeling well disposed toward you!
Great result!
Surely Baikie will be the first to be sacked (when he sobers up enough to leave the ferry)?
Big Fifer
Aug 6 2008, 21:25
Baikie got it all wrong again. Stanic looks out of position, as well as Lloyd Young. He makes the changes too late.
Like I said last season, I dont think Baikie is a good manager.
Finally, Willies money is no longer covering up the cracks of Baikies poor.......ness!
the_russian
Aug 6 2008, 21:27
QUOTE (Big Fifer @ Aug 6 2008, 22:25)

Baikie got it all wrong again. Stanic looks out of position, as well as Lloyd Young. He makes the changes too late.
You posted at 8.45pm on AFTN, were you on t'internet at game?
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 21:31

Finally, Willies money is no longer covering up the cracks of Baikies poor.......ness!
The Walter Smith of the Second Division..........
Found out at long last
Lichtielegend
Aug 6 2008, 21:51
I believe I have pointed out Baikie's record at senior clubs before East Fife.
Off the top of my head;
Cowdenbeath under Baikie - 47 points off the 3rd Division Champions
Cowdenbeath 1 year after Baikie - 3rd Division Champions
Arbroath under Baikie - struggling near the bottom of the 2nd Division
Arbroath 1 year after Baikie - holding our own in the 1st
Conclusion: Sack that thug, and you'll definitely be in 1st division next season.

I don't usually go in for all this slagging East Fife rubbish, but looking at East Fife's line-up from the opening two games, Baikie is clueless. Fotheringham and Stanic in the same team fills me with dread at the ridiculous lack of pace, but to play them both in the same
midfield, when they're actually left back's, is just completely stupid.
Not that I'm complaining though. For what it's worth, I still East Fife will be challenging for the league, they've just had a poor start...
Good result for Brechin...thank f**k that we didn't get Baikie as was being suggested when Dalziel was sacked. As Paco said, playing Stanic and Fozzy in midfield and playing Cameron who can play in midfield in defence is odd. Hope these tactics continue onto when we meet.
QUOTE (Monster @ Aug 6 2008, 22:20)

Thanks Brechin for introducing me to a genuinely new emotion - feeling well disposed toward you!Great result!
Surely Baikie will be the first to be sacked (when he sobers up enough to leave the ferry)?
**checks the date**
**checks crack pipe**
**check up fae the neck up**
wtf?
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 22:00
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 6 2008, 22:59)

**checks the date**
**checks crack pipe**
wtf?
QUOTE (the_russian @ Aug 6 2008, 22:27)

I used to do that until I got a fackin LG Viewty, it takes ages for P&B to download pages, even in text only mode
pollymac=
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 23:00)

The Deil's front porch has indeed hit 32F
Big Fifer
Aug 6 2008, 22:03
QUOTE (the_russian @ Aug 6 2008, 22:27)

I left at HT cos ma family were at ma hoose cos its ma bday. Yeh.
I was straight on the Laptop wen I went in!
Forgot to ask, is it jus my comp or does it say that ur a supporter of arbroath underneath ur name everytime u post?
Monster
Aug 6 2008, 22:06
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 6 2008, 22:59)

**checks the date**
**checks crack pipe**
wtf?
I'm getting soft in my old age.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 6 2008, 22:09
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 22:31)

The Walter Smith of the Second Division..........
Found out at long last

I didnt expect East Fife to lose this one, never mind so heavily, tho I knew Brechin would make it a hard game. Baikie is obviously a fud - his proper level is the juniors. Wullie Gray will have him on the scrapheap in no time at this rate.
Well done Brechin - a stormin' result.
QUOTE (Big Fifer @ Aug 6 2008, 23:03)

Forgot to ask, is it jus my comp or does it say that ur a supporter of arbroath underneath ur name everytime u post?
Its not just your computer.
QUOTE (Monster @ Aug 6 2008, 23:06)

How's the missus handling that? fnarr
Stevo Fife
Aug 6 2008, 22:12
QUOTE (bring_back_the_twa_hoops @ Aug 6 2008, 23:09)

I didnt expect East Fife to lose this one, never mind so heavily, tho I knew Brechin would make it a hard game. Baikie is obviously a fud - his proper level is the juniors.
Wullie Gray will have him on the scrapheap in no time at this rate.
Well done Brechin - a stormin' result.
Correct. Too much money invested to suffer results at home. 2 home games that matter, no goals scored and shipped 5.
Go figure Mr Baikie.
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 22:12
QUOTE (Monster @ Aug 6 2008, 23:06)

Try these
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 22:15
QUOTE (Cliche Guevara @ Aug 6 2008, 23:10)

New and improved Cup a Soup
I would delete that as I'm not sure it will be allowed under the new rules
MonTheRovers!!
Aug 6 2008, 22:16
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 23:15)

Agreed. Not exactly what i wanted, or expected to see when reading a match thread. f**k sake.
Monster
Aug 6 2008, 22:21
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 6 2008, 23:11)

How's the missus handling that? fnarr
Same as she always does - with difficulty.
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 23:12)

Try these

I suppose you'll have plenty to spare now that Ting Ting's escaped back to The Phillipines.
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 22:24
QUOTE (Monster @ Aug 6 2008, 23:21)

I suppose you'll have plenty to spare now that Ting Ting's escaped back to The Phillipines.
Magda is Polish and unlike you I'm not impotent
ARoverinLeeds
Aug 6 2008, 22:25
To be honest i didn't expect that, wtf happened. Serious question's must be asked, IS BAIKIE UP TO THE JOB? I'm gobsmacked.
Big Fifer
Aug 6 2008, 22:25
Cliche, do you want me to delete my quote aswell?
Stevo Fife
Aug 6 2008, 22:27
QUOTE (Monster @ Aug 6 2008, 23:21)

Same as she always does - with difficulty.

thats funny, even for you.
Ladyfan
Aug 6 2008, 22:41
We were f'kin rotten. That is all.
Just back from the game, we were very good, East Fife were absolutely woeful.
Baikie should be getting better results with the squad he has at his disposal, they were made to look a very ordinary side tonight.
Their lack of pace is defence is evident, the likes of Smith, Byers, Nimmo, Twigg and Diack were running riot all night and City pretty much dominated the entire 90 minutes. It took until a minute before half time to open the scoring but we always looked like we were going to break the deadlock.
Twigg's finish was a delightful one into the far corner of the net on the full volley, whilst it was two good, dominant headers from centre back pairing White and Ward to put the icing on the cake.
It could have been a lot more.
City were unfortunate to be beaten in the Challenge Cup game, and based on that and tonight, I can see East Fife being no-where near the title race unless they buck up their ideas immediately.
SmokedHaddock
Aug 6 2008, 22:59
QUOTE ('Steve @ Aug 6 2008, 23:55)

Just back from the game, we were very good, East Fife were absolutely woeful.
Baikie should be getting better results with the squad he has at his disposal, they were made to look a very ordinary side tonight.
Their lack of pace is defence is evident, the likes of Smith, Byers, Nimmo, Twigg and Diack were running riot all night and City pretty much dominated the entire 90 minutes. It took until a minute before half time to open the scoring but we always looked like we were going to break the deadlock.
Twigg's finish was a delightful one into the far corner of the net on the full volley, whilst it was two good, dominant headers from centre back pairing White and Ward to put the icing on the cake.
It could have been a lot more.
City were unfortunate to be beaten in the Challenge Cup game, and based on that and tonight, I can see East Fife being no-where near the title race unless they buck up their ideas immediately.
I think people were somehow lured into thinking they were good because they won the 3rd by so many points in reality they played some of the worst football on the eye in the whole league last year, absolute punt and run merchants.
This really doesn't shock me.
Stevo Fife
Aug 6 2008, 23:00
QUOTE (SmokedHaddock @ Aug 6 2008, 23:59)

I think people were somehow lured into thinking they were good because they won the 3rd by so many points in reality they played some of the worst football on the eye in the whole league last year, absolute punt and run merchants.
This really doesn't shock me.
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 6 2008, 23:03
QUOTE (Stevo Fife @ Aug 7 2008, 00:00)

He's right though, you didnt look that good at all last season. It was efficient football, but it was not pleasing on the eye at all. You were consistent, physical, and generally did what was needed. I am also totally unsurprised that your team has been found out.
SmokedHaddock
Aug 6 2008, 23:04
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 00:03)

He's right though, you didnt look that good at all last season. It was efficient football, but it was not pleasing on the eye at all. You were consistent, physical, and generally did what was needed. I am also totally unsurprised that your team has been found out.
They're in denial, the league table won't lie at the end of the season when they are in the bottom half despite paying ridiculous wages.
Better get shifting those ounces to buy better quality players
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 23:07
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 00:03)

I believe that, David Baikie is a manager who should be in the juniors and I always suspected he would be found out
Like Walter Smith has found out that when they are actually given a challenge people find out limited and useless you really are.......
StewartyMac
Aug 6 2008, 23:11
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 23:15)

It's not.
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 6 2008, 23:11
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 7 2008, 00:07)

I believe that, David Baikie is a manager who should be in the juniors and I always suspected he would be found out
Like Walter Smith has found out that when they are actually given a challenge people find out limited and useless you really are.......
To be fair to Baikie, I dont think he's that bad a manager, and I dont have anything against him. After all, Mourinho was a good manager, but his Chelsea team were not exactly a joy to watch. East Fife were the same. Dull, unspectacular, did the job with long balls.
However, he blatantly took a short term approach to transfers, and its shown. The standard of football so far this season has been night and day to last year. Both Alloa and Stirling represented far better opposition than anyone in division 3, and we have raised our game massively thanks to our managers long term squadbuilding strategy. We played godawful football in order to get out of the division, but realised we had to change.
East Fife will figure this out eventually, but will it be too late by then?
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 23:14
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 00:11)

To be fair to Baikie, I dont think he's that bad a manager, and I dont have anything against him. After all, Mourinho was a good manager, but his Chelsea team were not exactly a joy to watch. East Fife were the same. Dull, unspectacular, did the job with long balls.
However, he blatantly took a short term approach to transfers, and its shown. The standard of football so far this season has been night and day to last year. Both Alloa and Stirling represented far better opposition than anyone in division 3, and we have raised our game massively thanks to our managers long term squadbuilding strategy. We played godawful football in order to get out of the division, but realised we had to change.
East Fife will figure this out eventually, but will it be too late by then?
That implies it's him who is signing the players and I highly doubt it
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 6 2008, 23:14
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Aug 6 2008, 23:16)

Agreed. Not exactly what i wanted, or expected to see when reading a match thread. f**k sake.
Could have said that myself - disgraceful.
a_n_d_o
Aug 6 2008, 23:15
really good performance from brechin, thought we were better in every department tonight. play like that every week and title challenge for sure
as for EF they lacked energy and leadership, and crawford was awful i thought!
ps. anyone else spot the guy watching from the trees outside the ground?
Xbass Threepwood
Aug 6 2008, 23:15
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 7 2008, 00:14)

That implies it's him who is signing the players and I highly doubt it

Some of the players he signed are "his" sort of players, the sort of guys I would expect him to buy, based on previous form. I think he has control over 99% of his transfers.
Javier Mascherano
Aug 6 2008, 23:16
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 00:11)

Both Alloa and Stirling represented far better opposition than anyone in division 3, and we have raised our game massively thanks to our managers long term squadbuilding strategy. We played godawful football in order to get out of the division, but realised we had to change.
In all fairness, Stirling were in the 1st last season and Alloa were as close as you can get to being in the 1st this season without actually being there. That said, Things aren't looking good for East Fife, and I'm loving it.
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 23:17
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 7 2008, 00:15)

Some of the players he signed are "his" sort of players, the sort of guys I would expect him to buy, based on previous form. I think he has control over 99% of his transfers.
I suppose but too many are ex Rovers players for it to be a fluke and it just so happens the guy pumping the money into the club was a former Rovers director
Gordon EF
Aug 6 2008, 23:19
We were garbage tonight. I don't think Dave Baikie is the man to take us to where we should be, given Gray's investment in the team. Tactics and team selection were all wrong once again. Baikie's watching the same game as all of us and everybody is saying the same things about where we're going wrong, so why isn't he changing things?!
Before the season started, I thought top 4 was a reasonable aim for us, the way things are going, I'll be happy to avoid relegation.
Results need to change...fast. Or the manager needs to change...fast.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.