Full Version: Dunfermline V Queens
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Grant228
I think this could be a very good game im hopeful that Bayne and Kirk will start together as towards the end of the Peterhead game they seemed to be linking up well together.
We also have a very decent record against Queens smile.gif
I would say our strongest line up would be
------------Galacher-----------
-Woods-Thomson-Wilson-McCann
--Harper--Holmes--Phinn--Glass
---------Kirk-------Bayne-----
north_west_L52
--Harper--Glass--Phinn--Burke

Maca wont drop burke.
19QOS19
If QoS play 4-4-2 I think they can get a result, if it's 4-3-1-2 we could be asking for trouble.

Idealy :-

---------Halliwell

--Barr-Aitken--Reid-Harris

-Kean-Tosh-MacFarlane-Burns

---Dobbie-----O'Connor

Kean out wide may be weird but I think that's the only way we could accomodate for all 3 of our strikers. That starting 11 wont happen but I'd like to see how it would get on. If Chis plays 442 I'll go for 1-1 or a 2-1 QoS win. (obviously being biased!)
kirkyblue2
Halliwell

-Burns-Tosh-MacFarlane-McQuilken/McGowan
---Dobbie-----Kean

Don't think he play that team but if he plays anything other than 4-4-2 and we lose then the red nose and the big shoes will be coming back into fashion.
dumfries.....boys
If Queens don,t play 4-4-2 then we have not got a hope in hell
of even a draw. Kean must drop 2 bench they seem 2 have changed
the way we play 2 suit him.

Flash
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 6 2008, 16:36) *
Kean out wide may be weird but I think that's the only way we could accomodate for all 3 of our strikers. That starting 11 wont happen but I'd like to see how it would get on. If Chis plays 442 I'll go for 1-1 or a 2-1 QoS win. (obviously being biased!)

And why exactly do we have to accommodate all three strikers?
We then have to play one of them in midfield, which you say should be Kean, which also means Burns plays on the left. So we play a striker out of position and a midfield player on the left instead of the right, just so all the strikers are happy? Is it not more important that we win the game?
Why not just play the same team, as far as possible, that did well in the second half of last season? Or have all three strikers got it in their contract that they have to start every week?
Chisholm has started this nonsense of handicapping the team with 4-3-1-2 (which has already cost us two points) but he doesn't have to continue with it. And if we play 4-4-2, the 4 in midfield should be midfield players. Amazing as that might seem.

4-4-2 and we might still lose. Anything else and defeat is a certainty.
aggie#11
kirky blue everytime we dont play big sean we lose. he's just as valuable in our front two as Dobbie is. I would drop Kean and start with McGowen on the left..MQuilkan is past it.
Mr X
QUOTE (kirkyblue2 @ Aug 6 2008, 16:50) *
Halliwell

-Burns-Tosh-MacFarlane-McQuilken/McGowan
---Dobbie-----Kean

Don't think he play that team but if he plays anything other than 4-4-2 and we lose then the red nose and the big shoes will be coming back into fashion.

I was almost agreeing with you again there laugh.gif

Dobie and O'Connor up front for me, with McQuilken on the left.

Chisholm has said on the OS that there will be changes.
kirkyblue2
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 6 2008, 17:00) *
I was almost agreeing with you again there laugh.gif

Dobie and O'Connor up front for me, with McQuilken on the left.

Chisholm has said on the OS that there will be changes.

He'll probably go with Kean and O'Connor if he plays 4-4-2.
north_west_L52
Have QOS signed Bryn halliwell!!!!??

weve won already smile.gif
LTP
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 6 2008, 17:26) *
Have QOS signed Bryn halliwell!!!!??

weve won already smile.gif

Aye right then. Geri will no doubt have a stormer against us!
MB
Continuity from last season is key:

---------Halliwell

-Burns-Tosh-MacFarlane-McQuilken

---Dobbie-----O'Connor

It'd be good if Adams is fit enough to make an appearance from the bench. Other subs may be Bell (gk), Kean, McGowan and Arbuckle.
DAFC
I think that this game is a must win if we are to put down a marker for any intention of challenging for promotion.
Not happy about facing Dobbie and Kean with the possibility of Wilson being out injured.
Distant Doonhamer
---------------Halliwell--------------
Barr------Reid-----Aitken-----Harris
Burns--Tosh--Macfarlane--McQuilken.
-------O`Connor----Dobbie.

Subs. Bell, Adams, Kean, Arbuckle and McGowan.
QosLoyal
we desperatey need 2 left mids
Skyline Drifter
Back four picks itself really with JT suspended. It'll be Barr, Reid, Aitken and Harris (provided he's fit). McQuilken would be extraordinarily unlucky to miss out having been just about man of the match for me last week and I think away from home to a decent side he won't. I don't think we'll be playing three strikers away from home. It'll surely be 4-4-2 with McQuilken restored to the left of midfield. I would be astonished if O'Connor didn't start. One from two for his partner and it would always be Dobbie for me though Kean is a fine option to have from the bench and he might even prefer to use last year's occasional tactic of letting Kean (John Stewart) run the legs off the opposition defence before Dobbie appears from the bench.

I'd take a point and be pretty happy with it, though after a disappointing home draw last week a win would be most welcome. It's probably even more important to the Pars though having lost their first game.
19QOS19
QUOTE (Flash @ Aug 6 2008, 16:53) *
And why exactly do we have to accommodate all three strikers?
We then have to play one of them in midfield, which you say should be Kean, which also means Burns plays on the left. So we play a striker out of position and a midfield player on the left instead of the right, just so all the strikers are happy? Is it not more important that we win the game?
Why not just play the same team, as far as possible, that did well in the second half of last season? Or have all three strikers got it in their contract that they have to start every week?
Chisholm has started this nonsense of handicapping the team with 4-3-1-2 (which has already cost us two points) but he doesn't have to continue with it. And if we play 4-4-2, the 4 in midfield should be midfield players. Amazing as that might seem.

4-4-2 and we might still lose. Anything else and defeat is a certainty.

F*ck me, I'd better not post anything again unless it's fact, because I obviously can't have an opinion!!!

I wouldn't want that team line up, but up until now it's been made perfectly clear that Chisholm wants all 3 of our strikers (deduct Arbuckle) to be starting.

And by the way, incase you haven't noticed, we don't have an outright left sided midfielder so playing Burns there is no different than playing anyone else there!

Ideally I'd like:-

Halliwell
Barr Reid Aitken Harris
Burns MacFarlane Tosh McGowan
Dobbie O'Connor

Does Aitken prefer the right hand though Flash or is it ok to leave his name on the left???
north_west_L52
many Queens fans you rekon are comming up?
19QOS19
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 7 2008, 00:57) *
many Queens fans you rekon are comming up?

I know there are at least two travel club coaches. Usually a decent amount of cars as well. Taking into account we never gubbed Airdrie last week (which some expected) then I'd guess around 250-350.
FC_1919
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Aug 7 2008, 00:42) *
F*ck me, I'd better not post anything again unless it's fact, because I obviously can't have an opinion!!!

I wouldn't want that team line up, but up until now it's been made perfectly clear that Chisholm wants all 3 of our strikers (deduct Arbuckle) to be starting.

And by the way, incase you haven't noticed, we don't have an outright left sided midfielder so playing Burns there is no different than playing anyone else there!

Halliwell
Barr Reid Aitken Harris
Dobbie O'Connor

Does Aitken prefer the right hand though Flash or is it ok to leave his name on the left???

Since Aitken is left footed and Reid right, it explains itself.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 6 2008, 16:30) *
--Harper--Glass--Phinn--Burke

Maca wont drop burke.

Why should he? By all accounts, he played well last weekend and again on Tuesday night. Why make changes if the team are going well?

Hopefully Wilson will make it, but if he doesn't then Shieldsie can slot in beside Nipper and Callum Woods can be restored at full back.

I'm encouraged at the start Kirk and Bayne have made, especially with the former scoring on his first start on Tuesday. I hope I don't jinx it, but I'm reasonably confident we'll get a good result on Saturday.

It will obviously now be a 3-1 gubbing by Queens.
north_west_L52
Everyone eeps saying , why hould we drop burke, because hes playing well, but, it doesnt matter how good he is playing , if there is a better player that can come on and play EVEN better than burke is (steven bell) then ,yes, he should be droped
!
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 7 2008, 10:18) *
Everyone eeps saying , why hould we drop burke, because hes playing well, but, it doesnt matter how good he is playing , if there is a better player that can come on and play EVEN better than burke is (steven bell) then ,yes, he should be droped
!

That, to me, is ridiculous.

Shields on the official site alluded to that last season- if he was fit and deemed a better player, he'd be in the team, regardless of other people's form. That got us far rolleyes.gif

Also, where would the motivation for the players to work hard and play come from? The ones who play would think "Aye, we don't need to bother our arse, we'll play anyway" (again, see last season) while others will think whats the point? I'm not going to force my way in.

If a player is playing well and the team is going well, then changes should be kept to a minimum. Yes I think Bell is a very good player and I look forward to seeing him play for us, but if Burke is doing the business then he should keep his place.

It merely seems to me that Burke is on the verge of becoming this season's scapegoat. Pars fans love a good scapegoat (and I do realise that could be perceived as hypocritical, but in my defence, Simmons WAS mince).
Grant228
Really i think that alot of fans are just waiting to rip into Glass and Harper.
It will be interesting to see how Holmes and Bell fit into this and how do they get there shot.. to me when Holmes came on he looked quite dangerous and had quite a nice shot on him..
north_west_L52
Nah i dont think harper is in for it this season , hes clicked on to hat we expect of him

as for glass? couldnt tell you lol
SteamingparBoz
Whats with the fucking witch hunt against Burke and wanting him dropped? He's not put a goddam foot wrong this season and has played extremely well. Yes, Holmes and Bell are good players but why should they automatically put into the team at his expense? Away and shite an angry pineapple, Alex is playing well, the team is playing well and until otherwise, we shouldn't drop anyone in form, especially the likes of Burke who can keep posession.

north_west_L52
QUOTE (SteamingparBoz @ Aug 7 2008, 10:38) *
Yes, Holmes and Bell are good players but why should they automatically put into the team at his expense?

because there better than him = better play = better results = more points = more chance of promotion
SteamingparBoz
There's no guarantee that they'll play better than him or anyone in the team just now. I rate Bell and from what I've seen of him, Holmes too, but you just cannot drop someone when he's playing well.
Distant Doonhamer

To be fair even pre-season I don`t think Chisholm tried to play all 3 (except at Annan) until Bob Harris got injured.
Playing Kean right mid and Burns left mid would be playing 2 players out of position rather than one when Burns stays right so in my view there is a difference. Just my opinion though no more or less valid than your own wink.gif
DAFC
Whats with the fucking witch hunt against Burke and wanting him dropped? He's not put a goddam foot wrong this season and has played extremely well. Yes, Holmes and Bell are good players but why should they automatically put into the team at his expense? Away and shite an angry pineapple, Alex is playing well, the team is playing well and until otherwise, we shouldn't drop anyone in form, especially the likes of Burke who can keep posession.

Well said, Burke has been great this season now that he is in his best position.
He was highlighted by the Dunfermline Press as MOTM against Stirling.
Some pars fans need a scapegoat it seems?
Distant Doonhamer
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 7 2008, 12:12) *
Well said, Burke has been great this season now that he is in his best position.

Good few years ago but Alex Burke was a superb player for us. Probably still smoking too many ciggies though. ohmy.gif
DAFC
He's not going to win the men's 100m at The Olympics but he holds the ball up well and has a good touch.
Stoo61
I agree, I dont want to be nasty about Burke (like i did about Ian Campbell for instance, they are poles apart) BUT he looks quite uncomfortable on the ball, hasnt really got any pace, doesnt push forward as much as is perhaps needed....I think if we stuck Bell or Holmes in when they are fit you would see a marked improvment, maybe im wrong.....and dinnae go getting on at me for thinking this its my club n all and this is what ive seen.
Chazz Michael Michaels
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 7 2008, 10:44) *
because there better than him = better play = better results = more points = more chance of promotion

What a load of fucking shite, considering Bell hasnt kicked a ball for the team yet and holmes was injured over in Austria. Your basing it on them playing for Stirling and Airdrie last season?? Daft c**t.
Flash

Halliwell
Barr Reid Aitken Harris
Dobbie O'Connor

What are you getting so animated about? I never said you weren't entitled to an opinion, I only wondered why you chose the team you did. You could have explained that without the histrionics.
You have now set out your ideal team, which is what I thought you had done in the first place.
And, yes, Aitken is left footed so I agree he is better on the left. If Harris is playing, we could play McQuilken in left midfield. Like he did last season. Not ideal, but better than having Burns there.
SteamingparBoz
Stoo it's just frustrating reading so many people wanting Burke to be dropped. If he was worth dropping, Mac would have done it.
TeeMan
QUOTE (DAFC @ Aug 7 2008, 12:12) *

Are you still playing him out on the wing? Was brilliant at Queens a few years ago playing as a striker, he never did anything for us out wide.
Distant Doonhamer
QUOTE (TeeMan @ Aug 7 2008, 15:28) *
Are you still playing him out on the wing? Was brilliant at Queens a few years ago playing as a striker, he never did anything for us out wide.

Very true. Not a wide player even then so can`t imagine he could play there now.
north_west_L52
QUOTE (Distant Doonhamer @ Aug 7 2008, 15:29) *
Very true. Not a wide player even then so can`t imagine he could play there now.

Aye , hes been on the wing - would be intresting to see him play as a forwad though
Stoo61
Cant think that ive seen him run UP the wing once during pre-season or so far this season. Ive got nothing against the man, he can do a job but smacks of squad player, not first team. For me this isnt a witch hunt, just a preference. Compare say Calum Woods to Alex Burke......
Grant228
QUOTE (Stoo61 @ Aug 7 2008, 12:23) *
I agree, I dont want to be nasty about Burke (like i did about Ian Campbell for instance, they are poles apart) BUT he looks quite uncomfortable on the ball, hasnt really got any pace, doesnt push forward as much as is perhaps needed....I think if we stuck Bell or Holmes in when they are fit you would see a marked improvment, maybe im wrong.....and dinnae go getting on at me for thinking this its my club n all and this is what ive seen.

That is what I was thinking...
DAFC
Sick of the Burke pish, I predicted it on the .net forum that this would happen weeks ago.
FFS he was played out of position but still managed to score one of our best goals of the season against Livvy last season.
He was arguably MOTM against Stirling and had good games against Hearts and United.
What more does he have to do??

rolleyes.gif
Grant228
How was he MOTM against Stirling?
north_west_L52
get a bit of pace

north_west_L52
Grant - I was in the norrie for that game , and to be honest you cant see a thing!! so i dont reallyu know if he was pash or not
DAFC
Scott Thomson, Phinn and Williamson all had efforts saved as Albion gave up the ghost but the most impressive performer by far was Burke, who never wasted a ball all day.

http://www.dunfermlinepress.com/articles/2/26681

Grant228
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 7 2008, 19:41) *
Grant - I was in the norrie for that game , and to be honest you cant see a thing!! so i dont reallyu know if he was pash or not

It all depends on where you sit in the Norrie from my seat i have a perfect view (imo)
But if you sit right down the front of the Norrie then your going to see absolute **** all.
Larbert_Par
QUOTE (north_west_L52 @ Aug 7 2008, 10:44) *

Naive at best.

If Burke is playing well, the same as any player, and the team are also playing well, then changes should be kept to a minimum.
Mak QOSFC
Got to be:

---------Halliwell---------

Barr---Reid---Aitken---Harris

Burns---Tosh---MacFarlane---McQuilken

-------Dobbie---O'Connor-------

I'd settle for a draw.
Stoo61
Well, Burke or no Burke I still think we'll stuff Queens at East End. Kirk and Bayne to score. PLEASE give Bayne a goal! Add Phinn to that too. 3-1