Hopefully John McGlynn will tell the team to shoot on sight on Saturday. The Ayr game was very frustrating due to our players trying to walk the ball into the net.
Raith Rovers 2 Queens Park 0. Campbell & Weir.
MonTheRovers!!
Aug 6 2008, 13:01
I've said 2-2 on the predictions page, so i stick by that. Ferry and Walker to get the goals.
Whistle Blower
Aug 6 2008, 13:09
1st cry of 'this is fucking pish rovers' timed at 15.03.
QUOTE (Whistle Blower @ Aug 6 2008, 14:09)

1st cry of 'this is fucking pish rovers' timed at 15.03.
That's generous
Whistle Blower
Aug 6 2008, 13:24
QUOTE (renton @ Aug 6 2008, 14:10)

That's generous

1st home game, so a bit of leeway will be given.
St. Starko
Aug 6 2008, 13:34
0-0 or a scrappy 1-0 victory to either team.
Feed The Dunn
Aug 6 2008, 13:37
Got the win both times last season against the odds, who says we can't again?
2-1 Queens, Cairney and Harkins with the goals.
raith1919
Aug 6 2008, 13:58
raith have to start scoring at some point and a think after the ayr and the albion game the manager will be working on shooting in training so a think we could win 2.0 as we r at home and a think queens park may get relegated
QUOTE (raith1919 @ Aug 6 2008, 14:58)

raith have to start scoring at some point and a think after the ayr and the albion game the manager will be working on shooting in training so a think we could win 2.0 as we r at home and a think queens park may get relegated
Seriously, no offence mate, but this is an internet forum, not a text message. Is there any chance you could type in English?
Onto the game, and I'll go for a 2-1 victory for Rovers. I can't see us keeping a third consecutive clean sheet, nor can I see us not scoring for the third consecutive game. It'll be very difficult though, harder than some may expect.
Kevin Smith and Allan Walker with the goals. I'd go with a team of:
McGurn
Wilson
Cook
Ellis ©
Campbell
Walker
Dunbar
Ferry
Smith
Weir
Sloan
I don't know whether or not Davidson is suspended, but he shouldn't play anyway.
Michael W
Aug 6 2008, 14:24
Hopefully we manage to keep things water tight at the back, because I can't see us scoring more than one goal, two at a push maybe. I'd also like to see Dunbar start and Sloan played on the left or in the middle where he's supposed to play!
I realise that leaving Davidson out may be unpopular with many of the fans. Personnally, I've never been a fan of him, but I feel it's right to leave him out after his red card. McGlynn has to put it too him that such behaviour will not be tolerated.
My selection would be:
McGurn
Wilson
Cook
Ellis
Campbell
Walker
Dunbar
Sloan/Ferry*
Ferry/Sloan
Smith
Weir
*Any confirmation on that Spanish trialist we had? has he signed or was that a load of pish?
Aztec Rover
Aug 6 2008, 15:41
Any confirmation on that Spanish trialist we had? has he signed or was that a load of pish
My guess would be a load of pish. Surely if we had him he would be playing.
ARoverinLeeds
Aug 6 2008, 16:00
What's happened to Bryce, is he injured. I mean if our striker's aren't scoring surely Bryce should get his turn, as for Davidson no way should he step onto Stark's park again. Laurie Ellis for the Captaincy, if we're also talking about cash, i think Andy Tod and Todd Lumsden should leave by mutual consent. Anyhoo 0-0 for me.
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Aug 6 2008, 16:28
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Aug 6 2008, 17:00)

What's happened to Bryce, is he injured. I mean if our striker's aren't scoring surely Bryce should get his turn, as for Davidson no way should he step onto Stark's park again. Laurie Ellis for the Captaincy, if we're also talking about cash, i think Andy Tod and Todd Lumsden should leave by mutual consent. Anyhoo 0-0 for me.
I wouldn't go that far! I wouldn't acually be suprised if he did get a game.
So we should let go of 3 centre backs?
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Aug 6 2008, 17:00)

The consent being yours rather than theirs, presumably?
Anyone know if Davo's suspension applies to the league game or to the next round of the cup?
ARoverinLeeds
Aug 6 2008, 16:43
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Aug 6 2008, 17:28)

I wouldn't go that far! I wouldn't acually be suprised if he did get a game.
So we should let go of 3 centre backs?
Lumsden still injured, Tod long term injury. Davidson fecking psycho and supposedly Captain, btw your having a laugh. Alright i've never liked the wee basturt fae day wan
QP are (or at least were) a decent team that are dangerous going forward. I'll settle quite happilly for a 1 goal win and I reckon we will get it.
As for the Davo thing, does anyone else not really care? He's a player who got sent off for 2 yellows not battering an opposition player.
Whilst I agree that I don't want to see our players making 'gestures' to fans, assuming that the issue is dealt with by the club I'm happy to see him in a Rovers shirt on Saturday and in future. The hypocrisy shown by a set of fans in constantly tearing into one or two players for showing poor judgement while giving a free pass to thugs like McManus and flashers like Fotheringham is just bizarre.
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 17:29
QUOTE (lzreid @ Aug 6 2008, 18:26)

QP are (or at least were) a decent team that are dangerous going forward. I'll settle quite happilly for a 1 goal win and I reckon we will get it.
As for the Davo thing, does anyone else not really care? He's a player who got sent off for 2 yellows not battering an opposition player.
Whilst I agree that I don't want to see our players making 'gestures' to fans, assuming that the issue is dealt with by the club I'm happy to see him in a Rovers shirt on Saturday and in future. The hypocrisy shown by a set of fans in constantly tearing into one or two players for showing poor judgement while giving a free pass to thugs like McManus and flashers like Fotheringham is just bizarre.
I can't speak for everybody else but I was never a major fan of McManus anyway and felt he let us down a number of times as for Fozzy what did he do while at Starks to make him a thug?
QUOTE (lzreid @ Aug 6 2008, 18:26)

Agree with that about Davo. I couldn't give a f**k now. People like a Roverinleeds are taking it so personally that you'd think Davo has done something which deeply offended him. It isn't like he burned your house down and killed your family. I think that once we score it'll help the team a lot more. People are commenting on that but where the f**k is the praise for keeping 2 clean sheets in a row both in preseason and the league and cup?
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 17:33
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 6 2008, 18:32)

Agree with that about Davo. I couldn't give a f**k now. People like a Roverinleeds are taking it so personally that you'd think Davo has done something which deeply offended him. It isn't like he burned your house down and killed your family. I think that once we score it'll help the team a lot more. People are commenting on that but where the f**k is the praise for keeping 2 clean sheets in a row both in preseason and the league and cup?
So you think it's okay he constantly lets the club down?
Is he the kind of person you want as captain of your club?
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 18:29)

I can't speak for everybody else but I was never a major fan of McManus anyway and felt he let us down a number of times as for Fozzy what did he do while at Starks to make him a thug?

I was never McManus's biggest fan either but we - as a set of fans - were prepared to overlook the incident in Perth becuse we needed his goals that year. I feel we need Davidson on the pitch just as much as we needed McManus.
As for Fotheringham, he wasn't a thug but the incident wher ehe got his cock out in a team photo pointed to a history of misjudgement and bad behaviour. The very thing that Davidson gets slated for.
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 18:33)

He doesn't constantly let the club down. He gets booked a few times a season. So do most people who play in defence or defensive midfield it comes with the position. Where he used to pick up bookings for dissent, he doesn't anymore.
I'm not sure I want him as captain and I never did. I believe Laurie Ellis should be captain and have done since he was last at the club. However, not having him as captain is a long way from not having him in the team.
ARoverinLeeds
Aug 6 2008, 17:43
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 6 2008, 18:32)

Okay i maybe do take thing's a wee bit seriously, i just want the club to do well. My mate's call me a tool sometime's coz i get a wee bit wired at the game, as for not liking Davo, i think it's a personal choice. He's let the club down too much imo
Davidson has a disciplinary issue that goes a bit beyond the usual run-of-the-mill handful of bookings per season, and it needs to be sorted, but some of the "shouldn't play for the club again" stuff is way over the top.
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 17:46
QUOTE (lzreid @ Aug 6 2008, 18:35)

I was never McManus's biggest fan either but we - as a set of fans - were prepared to overlook the incident in Perth becuse we needed his goals that year. I feel we need Davidson on the pitch just as much as we needed McManus.
As for Fotheringham, he wasn't a thug but the incident wher ehe got his cock out in a team photo pointed to a history of misjudgement and bad behaviour. The very thing that Davidson gets slated for.
QUOTE (lzreid @ Aug 6 2008, 18:39)

He doesn't constantly let the club down. He gets booked a few times a season. So do most people who play in defence or defensive midfield it comes with the position. Where he used to pick up bookings for dissent, he doesn't anymore.
I'm not sure I want him as captain and I never did. I believe Laurie Ellis should be captain and have done since he was last at the club. However, not having him as captain is a long way from not having him in the team.
How many times has Davidson been booked/sent off for stupid incidents? Most of his bookings are for mouthing off and doing stupid bloody things like kicking the ball away (or kicking the ball at players when lying on the deck)
How many times is "once too often" ?
CALDERON
Aug 6 2008, 17:47

Exactly. Club captain should be somebody who leads by example both on and off the field.
I'm of the opinion that last night aside, it has mostly been sorted.
Since McGlynn got the job Davidson's behaviour on the pitch has improved immensely. There was a time when he was an embarrasment to the club. Arguing with referees, reacting to little niggly fouls and generally getting too wound up to do his job. Since McGlynn took over that has changed dramatically and whilst last night indicates there's more to be done lets not just deny the progress.
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
Aug 6 2008, 18:45
Davo showed serious contempt towards the fans, which is much worse than his stupidity in letting the team down unecessarily. I think both players and fans will have lost a lot of confidence in him regarding his attitude to both the team and the club. Its regretable; I think he's one of our better players.
Whilst I agree that his behaviour was regretable I still struggle to care that much.
I'm not having a go but frankly, some of our fans deserve contempt and while i would have preferred him not to react to our fans I can understand why he would. That's if it was towards our fans. If it was towards Albion's fans I couldn't care less if he holds them in contempt.
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 18:54
QUOTE (lzreid @ Aug 6 2008, 19:50)

Whilst I agree that his behaviour was regretable I still struggle to care that much.
I'm not having a go but frankly, some of our fans deserve contempt and while i would have preferred him not to react to our fans I can understand why he would. That's if it was towards our fans. If it was towards Albion's fans I couldn't care less if he holds them in contempt.
Sorry but that's a pretty poor attitude to have, he's meant to be the captain for Christs sake
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 19:54)

Sorry but that's a pretty poor attitude to have, he's meant to be the captain for Christs sake

It is a pretty poor attitude I agree. Still, it's how I feel.
And without wanting to have an argument I'd be far more embarassed if I was a Man Utd fan. Did you demand that Keane be kicked out of the club? Cantona? Or how about Rooney? Rooney is a bigger embarassment to his club than Davo will ever be to the Rovers.
I've already stated I don't want him to be captain because of this and other reasons.
Raith_Raver
Aug 6 2008, 19:03
Just back from hols so I havent seen Rovers play yet, so Im looking forward to Saturday. I'm hearing that we're good in defence but pretty poor up front. We need to win games like this at home which we couldnt manage last season so I'm hoping we can get the result and score two or three goals to get the confidence and enthusiasm going, and of course get our promotion push going.
QUOTE (lzreid @ Aug 6 2008, 18:49)

Arguing with referees, reacting to little niggly fouls and generally getting too wound up to do his job.
Just like last night you mean?
Davidson is a complete and utter twat, there's no getting round that, whether you like him or not. He showed what a petulant child he is last night, and I do not want a player like that to be captaining the club. I do agree that punting him out of the club is a step too far, but it wouldn't actually bother me to be honest. I see no place in the team for him.
He's let us down tme and time again. I can only imagine the reaction of fans on here if say, Robert Sloan had let the club and his team mates down as often as Davidson does. Some need to see past this 'I went on the piss with Davo oce. He's fae Kirkcaldy, he tries' pish - he's an absolute moron.
Anyway, this has nothing to do with the Queens Park match. I'm not particularly confident, but the return of Smith should see us have a bit more skill and pace up top than we did last night. Hope we can get the win as we don't want to be falling behind, even this early.
QUOTE (Paco @ Aug 6 2008, 20:26)

Just like last night you mean?
Davidson is a complete and utter twat, there's no getting round that, whether you like him or not. He showed what a petulant child he is last night, and I do not want a player like that to be captaining the club. I do agree that punting him out of the club is a step too far, but it wouldn't actually bother me to be honest. I see no place in the team for him.
He's let us down tme and time again. I can only imagine the reaction of fans on here if say, Robert Sloan had let the club and his team mates down as often as Davidson does. Some need to see past this 'I went on the piss with Davo oce. He's fae Kirkcaldy, he tries' pish - he's an absolute moron.
Anyway, this has nothing to do with the Queens Park match. I'm not particularly confident, but the return of Smith should see us have a bit more skill and pace up top than we did last night. Hope we can get the win as we don't want to be falling behind, even this early.
Yes, just like last night. But the rest of my post acknowledged that last night was a recurrence of the old pish.
I've never so much as met Davo, I don't care where he was born and I don't perticularly care that he tries. I do care that recently he's been arguably our best player recently and that some fans refuse to acknowledge the improvement 'cos they think he's an absolute moron.
QUOTE (lzreid @ Aug 6 2008, 20:32)

Yes, just like last night. But the rest of my post acknowledged that last night was a recurrence of the old pish.
I've never so much as met Davo, I don't care where he was born and I don't perticularly care that he tries. I do care that recently he's been arguably our best player recently and that some fans refuse to acknowledge the improvement 'cos they think he's an absolute moron.
The second highlighted part of the post wasn't aimed at you.
Davidson was our best player towards the end of last season, and he's clearly improved, but where is the place for him in the team? Ellis and Campbell have formed an excellent partnership in defence, looking very solid. Cook is doing very well at left back, and anybody can see he's not the answer in midfield. It's also in midfield where we see his temper starting to get the better of him. Walker and Sloan/Ferry would be a much better midfield partnership IMO.
I'd happily keep Davidson as back-up to the defence, but that's all. He is good in defence, just not as good as Campbell or Ellis.
QUOTE (Paco @ Aug 6 2008, 20:39)

The second highlighted part of the post wasn't aimed at you.
Davidson was our best player towards the end of last season, and he's clearly improved, but where is the place for him in the team? Ellis and Campbell have formed an excellent partnership in defence, looking very solid. Cook is doing very well at left back, and anybody can see he's not the answer in midfield. It's also in midfield where we see his temper starting to get the better of him. Walker and Sloan/Ferry would be a much better midfield partnership IMO.
I'd happily keep Davidson as back-up to the defence, but that's all. He is good in defence, just not as good as Campbell or Ellis.
I agree with all of that. He doesn't play well in midfield and for now he should be back up to the defence. The problem is that both of those centre backs aren't particularly young. Plus, Campbell gets closer every year to giving up on the commute and I don't see him sticking around for much longer. Therefore, unless we can find some money to invest in the near future Davidson is very close to being the best option we're going to have.
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 18:33)

When was the last time Davo actually let the club down before last night?

I thought you'd become disillusioned with football anyway?
MonTheRovers!!
Aug 6 2008, 21:20
Paco, have you got longish red (not ginger, red) hair? You're views seem very similar to a guy who was sitting a few rows down from me...
Rovers_Lad
Aug 6 2008, 21:22

He gets booked a few times a season.
2005/6-13 bookings
2006/7-8 bookings
2007/8-9 bookings
Where he used to pick up bookings for dissent, he doesn't anymore.
Was his fist booking last night not for kicking the ball away and his 2nd booking for throwing the ball at an Albion player?
I believe Laurie Ellis should be captain and have done since he was last at the club.
Agree
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 21:25
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Aug 6 2008, 22:20)

Paco, have you got longish red (not ginger, red) hair? You're views seem very similar to a guy who was sitting a few rows down from me...
No he was in the terracing
Feed The Dunn
Aug 6 2008, 21:29
Do you guys not have your own forums where you can talk about disciplinary records? Or all your other pish for that matter.
I counted 7 posts (not including this one) that actually mention the game.
QUOTE (Feed The Dunn @ Aug 6 2008, 22:29)

Do you guys not have your own forums where you can talk about disciplinary records? Or all your other pish for that matter.

Oh for f**k sake! We're not allowed to post on threads concerning our team now?
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Aug 6 2008, 22:20)

I'm deeply offended you'd accuse me of having red hair. I'm a normal person.
And aye, I was on the terracing as Steven said.
'Feed the Dunn' is correct in a sense, but as this Davdson argument directly affects Saturday's team line-up, then there's nothing wrong with talking about it. Not that it actually matters, anyway. We could start posting on a thread about Stranraer, if you'd prefer?
Feed The Dunn
Aug 6 2008, 22:20
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 6 2008, 22:35)

Oh for f**k sake! We're not allowed to post on threads concerning our team now?

I never said that. I said keep it relevant to the match the thread is about. Talking about whoever it is you're talking about's booking over the past 3 seasons is irrelevant.
Duracell Bunny
Aug 6 2008, 22:25
QUOTE (Feed The Dunn @ Aug 6 2008, 23:20)

I never said that. I said keep it relevant to the match the thread is about. Talking about whoever it is you're talking about's booking over the past 3 seasons is irrelevant.
For fucks sake, every thread goes off course now again and you have actually made it worse by bringing it up!!!
QUOTE (Feed The Dunn @ Aug 6 2008, 23:20)

We're talking about Davo, who is relevant as he may be out of the game for saturday. People don't even want him to be in the team. I'd say that is relevant.
Michael W
Aug 6 2008, 22:56
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 6 2008, 22:06)

When was the last time Davo actually let the club down before last night?

Play-offs.
QUOTE (Michael W @ Aug 6 2008, 23:56)

Play-offs.
I didn't mean in terms of playing. Also, the playoffs were more to do with mistakes from Fahey than Davo.
Michael W
Aug 6 2008, 23:09
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 6 2008, 23:57)

I didn't mean in terms of playing. Also, the playoffs were more to do with mistakes from Fahey than Davo.
The first goal was 50/50 between Davidson and Fahey. Davidson also handed Airdries's second goal to them on a plate in the second leg. Overall, I'd say they were as bad as each other.
I thought Davidson had cut out the petulant, childish behaviour towards the end of last season. I was actually starting to stop doubting him. I was very disappointed about his red card last night, and had I witnessed the incident first hand, I probably would have been quite angry too. That sort of spit the dummy behaviour is ridiculous from any member of the squad, let alone the club captain. Two bookings which were both needless and both stupidly earned. He deserved every ounce of abuse he took for that red card.
I'm sorry, but in my eyes, the guy is a tube.
QUOTE (Feed The Dunn @ Aug 6 2008, 22:29)

Feel free to post something relevent about Queens Park....
[quote name='Rovers_Lad' date='Aug 6 2008, 22:22' post='2673346']
Was his fist booking last night not for kicking the ball away and his 2nd booking for throwing the ball at an Albion player.
te]
Are you kidding me? I've said about 3 times that this red card was a recurrence of previous pish.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.