Full Version: Prices At Gayfield
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
speccy1984
Any Lichties fans enlighten me as to the cost to get into the game with Stirling Albion would be?

Tried to visit the website but was restricted for some reason. Cheers
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (speccy1984 @ Aug 6 2008, 12:48) *
Any Lichties fans enlighten me as to the cost to get into the game with Stirling Albion would be?

Tried to visit the website but was restricted for some reason. Cheers

IIRC, its £12 for adults and £6 for students (unless they bump the prices up for the cup, which I doubt).
RedWeb
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 12:54) *
IIRC, its £12 for adults

Fecking disgrace...12 quid to stand...shocking mad.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Aug 6 2008, 13:01) *
Fecking disgrace...12 quid to stand...shocking mad.gif

Its the same prices as the rest of the league, whats so shocking?

I did just look it up, and apparently its down to £10 and £5 for this game.
drs
Um, it was £10 to sit and stand at Brechin on Saturday.
RedWeb
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 13:05) *
Its the same prices as the rest of the league, whats so shocking?

Oh deary me laugh.gif
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (drs @ Aug 6 2008, 13:06) *
Um, it was £10 to sit and stand at Brechin on Saturday.

And how about the prices at Forthbank? huh.gif

I could be wrong about the £12, I thought it was, but the memory isnt so good these days, might be £11. Tonight though, its £10. And for that you get into the best stadium in the division.
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Aug 6 2008, 13:11) *
Oh deary me laugh.gif

Again, how much does it cost to get into your plastic ground? huh.gif

To help you, I went round to have a look at what I could find off the websites:

East Fife - £13 and £7
Raith £12 and £6
Stirling £12 and £8
Ayr £12 and £6
Brechin - £12 £6 allegedly
QP - £11 and £2

Arbroath - Couldnt find anything
Alloa - Couldnt find anything
Peterhead - Couldnt find anything
Stranraer - couldnt find anything

speccy1984
Cheers for the quick response guys

Think i'll head through as theres F all else to do tonight
RedWeb
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 13:19) *

£12 to sit in our plastic seats. I'd say that's fair enough. £12 to stand on crumbling Gayfield terraces in a force 9 gale is disgraceful. No wonder Brechin are the biggest team in Angus.
StewartyMac

Do you still have wooden seats in the stands at Gayfield? ohmy.gif
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (RedWeb @ Aug 6 2008, 13:23) *
£12 to sit in our plastic seats. I'd say that's fair enough. £12 to stand on crumbling Gayfield terraces in a force 9 gale is disgraceful. No wonder Brechin are the biggest team in Angus.

£12 for a choice of view and a choice of sitting or standing > £12 for no standing option and limited choice of view.
glasgow loon
We were £12 at gayfield in the challenge cup but only £10 at firhill last night in the cis cup.

Says it all about arbroath.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Aug 6 2008, 13:26) *
£12 for no standing option and limited choice of view.

If you bring enough fans, the terracing will be open.

What exactly do you mean by limited choice of view? Virtually everywhere you sit at Forthbank, you have an excellent view of the game. And given league matches are never all ticket, you can pretty much choose where you want to sit and what type of view you want.

What an utterly bizarre post.
SmokedHaddock

Stay at home in your Stirling slums then and watch the game on teletext tongue.gif

No wonder Alloa are the biggest team in the area, you don't see their fans complaining about prices.
Xbass Threepwood

You are talking pish.

QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 6 2008, 13:23) *
Do you still have wooden seats in the stands at Gayfield? ohmy.gif

No, we upgraded back in 2001 or so and built an entirely new stand!

£12 for a choice of view and a choice of sitting or standing > £12 for no standing option and limited choice of view.

Agreed! I prefer to stand rather than sit, and it is the best stadium in the division.

QUOTE (glasgow loon @ Aug 6 2008, 13:30) *
Says it all about arbroath.

What, that we charge the same as Partick Thistle in the CIS Cup? huh.gif
ARoverinLeeds
That's not too bad, it's only the Raith that get pumped £14 to see their own team blink.gif
StewartyMac
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 13:40) *
No, we upgraded back in 2001 or so and built an entirely new stand!

Seats are plastic now are they?
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 6 2008, 14:07) *
Seats are plastic now are they?

Aye, but we still have an uninterrupted bowl of terracing round the stadium, meaning that you can sit if you want, but you can stand wherever you like as well.
JimLichtie

The post of a simpleton.
Ladyfan

You do have to chose your spot carefully at Gayfield. There's a big bloody stansion in the way that restricts the view to the right. Having said tho, it is easy enough to move (one foot in front of the other type stuff) and stand somewhere else.

I'd have a ground like Gayfield over our stadium any day. sad.gif
terracingtam

Don,t take exception to plastic seats, crumbling terracing(which is not true), or the force nine gale (which is true at times), what I do take exception to is the "Brechin being the biggest team in Angus bit" !!! Have you never heard of FORFAR ?
Javier Mascherano
You mean the Forfar that's full of Brechin rejects?
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 6 2008, 13:30) *
If you bring enough fans, the terracing will be open.

What exactly do you mean by limited choice of view? Virtually everywhere you sit at Forthbank, you have an excellent view of the game. And given league matches are never all ticket, you can pretty much choose where you want to sit and what type of view you want.

What an utterly bizarre post.

I've only been to Forthbank once, when McGlashan single handedly put us through in the Scottish Cup. As I remember, our fans were along one touchline, and yours along the other. I don't even recall any terracing, but that may be wrong or have changed since then. Back then, there was certainly no option to stand behind the goals which you can do at Gayfield.
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Aug 6 2008, 15:03) *
I don't even recall any terracing, but that may be wrong or have changed since then.

The terracing was there that day and had been for a few years.
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (miketheheadlesschicken @ Aug 6 2008, 16:04) *
The terracing was there that day and had been for a few years.

Whereabouts is it? I certainly don't recall seeing any, I can just remember 2 stands facing each other.
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE (Lichtielegend @ Aug 6 2008, 16:22) *
Whereabouts is it? I certainly don't recall seeing any, I can just remember 2 stands facing each other.

Behind both goals
drs
...it was certainly there the day Stevie Mallan got sent off for the smokies for the hideous crime of cupping his hand to his ear and on the last day of 98-99 when your Goalie helped us to stay up.
Lichtielegend
QUOTE (miketheheadlesschicken @ Aug 6 2008, 16:33) *

I looked on the site, and I honestly couldn't remember seeing them when I was there. I'd tend to stand on the terracing for the game, but the weather was so bad on that day, I would have sat.

I still actually can't visualise it in my head though biggrin.gif
edinlichtie
QUOTE (miketheheadlesschicken @ Aug 6 2008, 16:33) *

That's a stonking backdrop in the 2nd pic there.

Shame about the monstrosity in the foreground...
Beren

East Fife - £13 and £7
Raith £12 and £6
Stirling £12 and £8
Ayr £12 and £6
QP - £11 and £2

Fuxxake, we undercharged 12,0001 people on Saturday by £2. No wonder we're in debt mad.gif

1. © Simon Rothman Lichties Football Yearbook, this season edition
farflung lichtie
Hadn't realised it was so damn cheap to get into the best stadium in all four divisions. Nirvana with air conditioning.

And one of few real grounds left. Surely it should command a premium.

...of course the fitba's generally poor, but you can't have everything
blueone

East Fife - £13 and £7
Raith £12 and £6
Stirling £12 and £8
Ayr £12 and £6
QP - £11 and £2

Peterhead £12 and £6 for ground or second stand. Main stand £2 extra.
Duracell Bunny

East Fife - £13 and £7
Raith £12 and £6
Stirling £12 and £8
Ayr £12 and £6
QP - £11 and £2

Raith have been £14 & £7 since last season.........
Xbass Threepwood
Aye, I was just going by what prices I could find!

For the record, it appears that despite what the Stirling Albion website said, it was £12 and £6 tonight. So those are definately our normal prices, which tie in with most of the division.
ecto
I hear it is 12 quid is 2nd div prices,cup games are different as the gate is split between the two teams,i heard that forfar refused a request to reduce the prices for the challenge cup game sad.gif

seems to me that 1 or 2 have not been to gayfield for some time, it is not in many ways the worst in the league,we were at east fife think it was last season or the season before part of the only stand was closed because of corrision and its much newer

Robbo
QUOTE (ecto @ Aug 8 2008, 15:45) *
I hear it is 12 quid is 2nd div prices,cup games are different as the gate is split between the two teams,i heard that forfar refused a request to reduce the prices for the challenge cup game sad.gif

seems to me that 1 or 2 have not been to gayfield for some time, it is not in many ways the worst in the league,we were at east fife think it was last season or the season before part of the only stand was closed because of corrision and its much newer

Looking forward to visiting Gayfield its a lot of years since I was last there.A real football ground,terracing etc if a tad windy.
JimLichtie
QUOTE (Robbo @ Aug 8 2008, 15:55) *
Looking forward to visiting Gayfield its a lot of years since I was last there.A real football ground,terracing etc if a tad windy.

The wind acts as a leveller so you may have a chance of stealing a point.

(No emoticon required)
Beren
Anyone enlighten me as to the prices of the adult and kid gate this year at Arbroath?
speccy1984
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 8 2008, 21:21) *
Anyone enlighten me as to the prices of the adult and kid gate this year at Arbroath?

It's £12 and £6
Beren
QUOTE (speccy1984 @ Aug 8 2008, 21:44) *
It's £12 and £6

Nah, they've got a specific gate that you get both for much cheapness. Or they did last season. Think it was £11 or £12 for me and the bairn together.
StewartyMac
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 8 2008, 21:21) *

On Wednesday night it was £15.
Monster
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 9 2008, 00:04) *

Did you go in with a scan picture or something? huh.gif
ecto
there is a parent and child gate at gayfield £15,me thinks

Beren
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Aug 9 2008, 00:04) *

Cheers. Did you drive up then?

We didn't go, Alex is a (literally) fair weather fan and the rain and wind together she does not like. The little shit decided this just as we were heading out, so I couldn't even drive down to Methil and I was facked if I was going to see Arbroath on my lonesome puke.gif