bopolopoluss1
Aug 5 2008, 19:22
Dave Mackay is signing for Motherwell in the next few days, is he any good livi fans or anyone else thats seen him recently?
EdinburghLivi
Aug 5 2008, 19:24
According to who?
That's a shock
In my opinion the best right back in the league.
Juan Sara
Aug 5 2008, 19:27
f**k! Hes in my dream team.
snorkie
Aug 5 2008, 19:34
AWNAW !!! cannae be true

Pleeeeez
Defo the best right back in the league
bopolopoluss1
Aug 5 2008, 19:44
Its not 100% and i'm not trying to claim some kind of exclusive, it just seems to be the chat around Fir Park and i know the player himself is keen to come. We'v bid for him today and the only stumbling block would be the Livi board.
thommohawk
Aug 5 2008, 19:45
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Aug 5 2008, 19:27)

f**k! Hes in my dream team.
Yeah mine too, are we allowed to change? I'm almost plum last anyway so doubt it'll help much!
EdinburghLivi
Aug 5 2008, 19:48
I'm going to go out on a limb and say he won't sign. The board have said previously that we are no longer a "selling club" which suggests to me that the only changes we will have at the club are new people signing.
Perhaps he will sign but I'd imagine you'd have to pay some money to get him because his contract runs out in 2010 and he is arguably the best right-back in this division. I don't think £50k is out of the question to be honest.
strathbrock
Aug 5 2008, 19:50
QUOTE (bopolopoluss1 @ Aug 5 2008, 20:44)

Its not 100% and i'm not trying to claim some kind of exclusive, it just seems to be the chat around Fir Park and i know the player himself is keen to come. We'v bid for him today and the only stumbling block would be the Livi board.
If Pearse was still in charge he would have bitten the hands off your Board for the money. As for the new boys I'm not so sure they would want to annoy the fans so early. However if the player wants to go then that could be a deciding factor. I'd like him to stay though. He is an important player for us.
Dariusz
Aug 5 2008, 20:24
Unless he's improved dramatically since he left Dens he's no better than average. I didnt lose too much sleep when he left us.
Do you want to swap him for Tom Parratt?
Must admit I am disappointed to see Parratt go and think he would be a good buy for any 1st division team.
Bonksy+HisChristianParade
Aug 5 2008, 21:31
Dave Mackay is the best right back in the first division!
Bonksy+HisChristianParade
Aug 5 2008, 21:31
ginge123
Aug 5 2008, 21:36
QUOTE (Bonksy+HisChristianParade @ Aug 5 2008, 22:31)

So true you had to post it twice.
Wouldn't want to see Dave go but I don't think he's very happy at Almondvale under the new regime.
Couldn't blame him waning to go up to the SPL and better wages either.
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 5 2008, 20:48)

I'm going to go out on a limb and say he won't sign. The board have said previously that we are no longer a "selling club" which suggests to me that the only changes we will have at the club are new people signing.
Perhaps he will sign but I'd imagine you'd have to pay some money to get him because his contract runs out in 2010 and he is arguably the best right-back in this division. I don't think £50k is out of the question to be honest.
At the moment, our board will say anything that makes themselves popular. Whether their actions back up their words remains to be seen.
If I was Dave Mackay I would move to Motherwell. They are a bigger club than us who pay better.
It would be a foolish board which would stand in his way and the same goes for McPake if St Mirren or someone else comes back in for him.
Radford
Aug 5 2008, 22:32
I'd concur with those who say he's the best right back in the league. I'd take him at Saints in a flash. Whether he'd improve the current Motherwell side is more open to debate though. No doubt it'd be a great move for the guy though. Livi would struggle to replace him with a player of similar quality.
clyde4ever
Aug 5 2008, 22:35
He was a sub tonight.
Didn't get on though.
SuperTommy
Aug 5 2008, 22:37
QUOTE (Dariusz @ Aug 5 2008, 21:24)

Unless he's improved dramatically since he left Dens he's no better than average. I didnt lose too much sleep when he left us.
Dave was a better than average when he was at Dens and in the games he's played against us since he left he's always looked good.
Apart from him making an arse out of himself during the pen shoot out in the cup last year he's alright.
Would be a good signing for Motherwell.
bopolopoluss1
Aug 5 2008, 23:25
Right, updates are that we'v made a bid but the livi board have yet to decide if they will accept or not. The player has already decided 100% that if the board accept the offer he will sign for us on slightly improved terms and a 2 year deal. Lets hope hes a player.
Like the rest of the league, we are a selling club. The right bid comes in and any player will be away. He would be a big loss.
el bawbag
Aug 6 2008, 00:45
FUUUUCK!!!!
wattie_rojas
Aug 6 2008, 06:49
Decent at defending and attacking. Would be a good signing for Well IMO.
QUOTE (MCL @ Aug 5 2008, 22:53)

Wouldn't want to see Dave go but I don't think he's very happy at Almondvale under the new regime.
How do you know this? Or is it idle speculation?
QUOTE (LLD @ Aug 5 2008, 23:04)

At the moment, our board will say anything that makes themselves popular. Whether their actions back up their words remains to be seen.
"...but like the Murphy's..."

If I was Dave Mackay I would move to Motherwell. They are a bigger club than us who pay better.
Hard to argue against that. 1st Div vs SPL - hmm - tough choice.

It would be a foolish board which would stand in his way and the same goes for McPake if St Mirren or someone else comes back in for him.
It surely depends what our new glorious leaders are really looking to do with the club. If they do want to do what they claim they want to do then they'd be mad to agree to sell McKay or McPake. One has to assume that this season, at least, they've budgeted to bring in players and are not looking to get a quick cash in by selling the club's assets. Of course, I could be wrong in which case, we're all fucked.
Darkblueyonder
Aug 6 2008, 09:41
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Aug 5 2008, 20:25)

That's a shock
In my opinion the best right back in the league.
Would rather have Paton in my team, he is good though.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Aug 6 2008, 10:03
Might be fishing but unfortunately it does sound plausable.
We couldn't replace him unless all the money we receive is used to buy a new right back. That kind of negates the point of the transfer in the first place.
It depends if he really wants to go and by all accounts things down Almondvale aren't as rosy as they could be so who knows??
QUOTE (jqlr @ Aug 6 2008, 09:27)

How do you know this? Or is it idle speculation?
It's the impression I got when I spoke to him. Might be idle speculation though...
QUOTE (jqlr @ Aug 6 2008, 09:34)

One has to assume that this season, at least, they've budgeted to bring in players and are not looking to get a quick cash in by selling the club's assets. Of course, I could be wrong in which case, we're all fucked.
Quick question, and one I'm hoping to get an answer to as I've asked it before. Did your new owners promise a £1m transfer kitty? If so, has there been any evidence of this being in existance?
FTOF_PTFC_1
Aug 6 2008, 11:28
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 6 2008, 12:22)

Quick question, and one I'm hoping to get an answer to as I've asked it before. Did your new owners promise a £1m transfer kitty? If so, has there been any evidence of this being in existance?
Ohhhh yes, The signings of Tony McParland, Rafeal De Vita, Cuenca et al blew that £1 Million transfer kitty right out of Livingston rumoured to be in the region of £2 Million
ginge123
Aug 6 2008, 11:47

I may be wrong but that might have been the fat business man that probably had no money but decided yo try to buy shares, then was found out by Flynn.
QUOTE (MCL @ Aug 6 2008, 11:49)

It's the impression I got when I spoke to him. Might be idle speculation though...

Thanks - I wasn't aware of the conversation so was looking for some provenance.
QUOTE (jqlr @ Aug 6 2008, 13:34)

Thanks - I wasn't aware of the conversation so was looking for some provenance.

Maybe you can answer my question.
bopolopoluss1
Aug 6 2008, 12:56
Its really not a fishing trip, just looking for some information on him as i cant ever really remember seeing him play.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Aug 6 2008, 13:23

To my certain knowledge there has been no mention of any budget/kitty call it what you will.
Conversely they have talked about returning to the SPL and the chairman recently, publicly said that he wants a top three finish THIS season. Now unless Landi is the best manager in the world and can get the current players to out perform the rest of the league, there needs to be a transfer budget otherwise it's all out of contract players for us.
My belief is that Livi won't shell out a penny for another player.
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 6 2008, 13:55)

Maybe you can answer my question.
I could but unfortunately, my answer would be "I don't know." which is why I didn't in the first place. Sorry.
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 6 2008, 14:23)

To my certain knowledge there has been no mention of any budget/kitty call it what you will.
Any idea where the information relating to the "£1m to spend on players" that's mentioned in
this article came from?
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Aug 6 2008, 14:44
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 6 2008, 15:14)

Any idea where the information relating to the "£1m to spend on players" that's mentioned in
this article came from?
No sir.
It's a touch ambiguous though. Is that spend on buying players or wages for players? If it's wages then we've probably budgeted most of that for this years salaries. £1m doesn't go far these days, even in Division 1
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 6 2008, 15:44)

It's a touch ambiguous though. Is that spend on buying players or wages for players?
They are the kind of questions I'd have been asking at the recent Q&A. No offence to you, my man, but quite a few of the Livi fans on this site seem a tad easy pleased.
el bawbag
Aug 6 2008, 15:36
as far as i'm aware the apparent £2 million was just for investment in the club so that will be on marketing, doing up the bar, new ground covering etc.
also in that article there is no direct quote about actual figures
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 6 2008, 15:44)

No sir.
It's a touch ambiguous though. Is that spend on buying players or wages for players? If it's wages then we've probably budgeted most of that for this years salaries. £1m doesn't go far these days, even in Division 1
£1m a year would pay a squad of 20 players over £900 a week each! I'd doubt that any Div 1 clubs are doing that.
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Aug 6 2008, 16:36)

So the journalist pulled the part about £1m being spent on players out of his arse, then? It must have come from somewhere.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Aug 6 2008, 16:56
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 6 2008, 16:16)

They are the kind of questions I'd have been asking at the recent Q&A. No offence to you, my man, but quite a few of the Livi fans on this site seem a tad easy pleased.
Correct. I had a good reason for keeping my head below the parapet which I would happily discuss but not on a public forum. There was indeed much licking of each others cornettos going on, so to speak
QUOTE (Mr X @ Aug 6 2008, 17:09)

£1m a year would pay a squad of 20 players over £900 a week each! I'd doubt that any Div 1 clubs are doing that.
Hey dude, this is central belt living, not for easily pleased fermers
bopolopoluss1
Aug 6 2008, 17:25
So aye, Mackay? Hes gid then.
I think hes being signed for backup but sounds decent enough.
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Aug 6 2008, 16:36)

as far as i'm aware the apparent £2 million was just for investment in the club so that will be on marketing, doing up the bar, new ground covering etc.
Not to mention paying big wages to the webteam.
oh, wait a minute...

Funny that the guys lavishing praise on the new owners for doing up The Lion's Den and trying to get people to frequent it find out the money used to do it up was theirs
EdinburghLivi
Aug 6 2008, 19:12
QUOTE (bopolopoluss1 @ Aug 6 2008, 18:25)

So aye, Mackay? Hes gid then.
I think hes being signed for backup but sounds decent enough.
I'd be really disappointed if he left to be Motherwell's backup right back. He deserves far better than that.
Regardless of that, I'd still wish him if he were to go though and would hold no grudges. A great servent for the club.
el bawbag
Aug 6 2008, 22:14
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 6 2008, 17:14)

So the journalist pulled the part about £1m being spent on players out of his arse, then? It must have come from somewhere.
i could now quote countless instances of shitty, lazy or simply incorrect journalism about LFC but i can't be arsed. Even the BBC makes factual f**k ups in match reports almost every week!(ie Cammy McDonald apparently scoring for saints on saturday)
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Aug 6 2008, 23:14)

i could now quote countless instances of shitty, lazy or simply incorrect journalism about LFC but i can't be arsed. Even the BBC makes factual f**k ups in match reports almost every week!(ie Cammy McDonald apparently scoring for saints on saturday)
True, the Cameron McDonald reference was an inaccuracy, but it wasn't completely made up. Someone at Livi must have been talking about figures for the journalist to have mentioned the £1m budget.
Drooper
Aug 7 2008, 09:16
Apologies for stalking this thread, but I understand that neither McKay nor McPake featured last night. Contrary to what a Livi fan on Livilions posted last night, St Mirren haven't signed a centre half and we really could be doing with one. We had the guy Shimmin on trial for the best part of a fortnight but that didn't materialise and he has signed for our friends in Greenock.
If Mckay does indeed move to 'Well, how would your squad withstand another defensive departure (ie - if we are back in for McPake as I strongly suspect we might be)? I hear £100K might be the fee. Do you reckon your new owners would accept that kind of money, or are they genuine in their claim that they'll hold on to the clubs best assets?
QUOTE (Drooper @ Aug 7 2008, 10:16)

Apologies for stalking this thread, but I understand that neither McKay nor McPake featured last night. Contrary to what a Livi fan on Livilions posted last night, St Mirren haven't signed a centre half and we really could be doing with one. We had the guy Shimmin on trial for the best part of a fortnight but that didn't materialise and he has signed for our friends in Greenock.
If Mckay does indeed move to 'Well, how would your squad withstand another defensive departure (ie - if we are back in for McPake as I strongly suspect we might be)? I hear £100K might be the fee. Do you reckon your new owners would accept that kind of money, or are they genuine in their claim that they'll hold on to the clubs best assets?
There's no way they would turn down an offer like that. We don't take enough through the turnstiles to be able to reject a 6 figure offer for a player that cost us nothing.
When you factor in the debt that the new board inherited (300k rent due, etc) any that can be recovered in this fashion would make sense.
Jamsie was another that gave the impression he would rather be away from Almondvale and the SPL would be a step up in quality and wages so you couldn't blame him.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.