Full Version: Walter's 'useless' Tactis
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2
oneunited
Listen to the radio post match report after the game and they reckon unless Walter changes his tactics, he won't be at Ibrox much longer.

Absolute joke of a start to the season

Starting to believe along with the majority of fans that Walter's tactics are to blame for the constant poor showings!

Any other opinions?
markomilano
QUOTE (oneunited @ Aug 5 2008, 20:02) *
Listen to the radio post match report after the game and they reckon unless Walter changes his tactics, he won't be at Ibrox much longer.

Starting to believe along with the majority of fans that Walter's tactics are to blame for the constant poor showings!

Any other opinions?

WALTER MUST STAY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA
JUMPURS
starting with half a striker up front in a must score European qualifying game against an amateur team and it took them till the final result to realize his tactics where pish?
LordHawHaw
I thought Whittaker and Clubfoot did incrediblely good innat
TheGucci
QUOTE (oneunited @ Aug 5 2008, 20:02) *

Any other opinions?

what was your belief previously?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (TheGucci @ Aug 5 2008, 20:33) *
what was your belief previously?

He has systematically stripped Rangers of all of their talented footballers, and has replaced them with talentless workhorses.

Rangers have a worse squad than when Smith took over, despite spending a significant amount of money.

Tonight's result would never have happened under Paul Le Guen.
JohnMac
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Aug 5 2008, 21:16) *
Tonight's result would never have happened under Paul Le Guen.

Possibly. But we were never going to compete with Celtic for the SPL title under Le Guen.

We are going to win the title this year, especially now that this is all Smith has to concentrate on.
Butterfield
QUOTE (JohnMac @ Aug 5 2008, 21:20) *
Possibly. But we were never going to compete with Celtic for the SPL title under Le Guen.

We are going to win the title this year, especially now that this is all Smith has to concentrate on.

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
MC Pee Pants

didn't really get much of a chance before chairman barry sacked him
Michael W

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

I'd settle for 3rd place if I was you tongue.gif
Casper Rose
OHHH THE WEE HEARTS ARE GREAT laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
TheGucci
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Aug 5 2008, 20:34) *

laugh.gif laugh.gif
gav-ffc

Walter must stay.
macdaddy 87

i think you may struggle to finish 3rd. although you don't have to play in europe, barry is out for a fair wee while and rangers are absolutely gash without him. expect murray to sell any players that are wanted by other clubs aswell.

all smith had to concentrate on tonight was beating kaunas and he failed due to bad tactics that let him down in the end last season.
ohphuq
I honestly don't think the tactics are all that bad. The only thing I would change would be to sign and play a box-to-box midfielder who can support the forward from the centre (like Petrov the role Petrov used to play at Celtic) as opposed to constantly relying on the wide players to do that job.

The problem we've got is the alarming lack of quality within the squad at present, I genuinely think the results would be the same if we played 4-4-2 or 4-3-3 with these players. The big worry is that several players are realising they're not good enough and that inferiority complex is causing the trouble. These players are being out-played not only by Celtic but by so-called diddy clubs like Motherwell and Falkirk on a regular basis now. Walter's solution is to flood the midfield, which is the correst thing to do, but when your players realise that the team needs a numerical advantage in midfield against teams with a fraction of the budget the result is crushing.

I'm pretty realistic, I know we can't afford top players, but we need midfielders who can put a foot on the ball and pick a pass and wide men who can provide quality crosses, you know simple stuff. These things alone would reap more rewards than any change of system.
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (ohphuq @ Aug 6 2008, 04:16) *
I'm pretty realistic, I know we can't afford top players, but we need midfielders who can put a foot on the ball and pick a pass and wide men who can provide quality crosses, you know simple stuff. These things alone would reap more rewards than any change of system.

What you need is a striker who can put the ball in the back of the net more often than not, and preferably one who has the best goals to minutes ratio in Scotland (if not the British Isles). Thats a problem with Rangers, you dont have a goalscorer.

Oh wait..
Coventry Saint
QUOTE (ohphuq @ Aug 6 2008, 04:16) *
The only thing I would change would be to sign and play a box-to-box midfielder who can support the forward from the centre.

You can have Andy Dorman for £12m. You have got £12m to spend, haven't you?
Whistle Blower
Steven Davis for £3.5m doesn't seem too pricey now.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 08:48) *
What you need is a striker who can put the ball in the back of the net more often than not, and preferably one who has the best goals to minutes ratio in Scotland (if not the British Isles). Thats a problem with Rangers, you dont have a goalscorer.

Oh wait..

ChampionsElect
Auntie Football not working for Uncle Walter sad.gif

shizzlemanizzle
Walter Smith is a one trick pony, he literally has no clue whatsoever! Why on earth does he persist with the lone striker in all situations. And what a legacy he is leaving for the next installment, an ageing squad with very little talent. At the weekend I had a Rankgers fan try to tell me that Walter is the best manager in the world & funny enough he's still not answering my calls just now. I really don't think its outwith the realms of possibility for Dundee Utd, Aberdeen, Hearts & Hibs to all finish above this Rankgers side. Oh how I would rejoice. beerchug.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (shizzlemanizzle @ Aug 6 2008, 19:59) *
Walter Smith is a one trick pony, he literally has no clue whatsoever! Why on earth does he persist with the lone striker in all situations. And what a legacy he is leaving for the next installment, an ageing squad with very little talent. At the weekend I had a Rankgers fan try to tell me that Walter is the best manager in the world & funny enough he's still not answering my calls just now. I really don't think its outwith the realms of possibility for Dundee Utd, Aberdeen, Hearts & Hibs to all finish above this Rankgers side. Oh how I would rejoice. beerchug.gif

He done that the last time as well laugh.gif wink.gif
vikingTON

Aye, he has all the time in the world to vacillate between 5-4-1 or 4-5-1 and he still won't put a prolific striker on until the 87th minute.
He's a laughably limited manager.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 6 2008, 22:17) *
Aye, he has all the time in the world to vacillate between 5-4-1 or 4-5-1 and he still won't put a prolific striker on until the 87th minute.

He always has been, he was just lucky in his first spell that nobody really challenging Rangers for the title, this is the guy who played Dave McPherson at right back.......... huh.gif laugh.gif
jupe1407
Surely even the most ardent of Smith supporters amongst the huns must have seen right through him by now.

His only long term success was his early 90s stint when he had players like Laudrup and Goram. Now that cash is that bit tighter he's been well and truly found out. Made an arse of it at Goodison, made Scotland terminally boring, and now has done the same with the huns. For a manager of Smith's alleged "stature" in the game to leave the most prolific striker in the country over the last 3/4 years on the bench for 88 minutes, and lose, is hilariously incompetent.

I feel near-sympathy for his replacement. How the hell does one sort out the stunning array of shite that Smith has accumulated at Ibrox?

PS: Not seen much of the posters who wanted Wattie knighted before the quadruple hunt imploded last season

The Hun
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 6 2008, 22:17) *

Sure!........if he had resigned from the national team when he did and taken over at Cappielow you would have welcomed him with open arms! And before you reply back, don't, you know I'm right.

Every club fan ( apart from Celtic's ) would have taken him in a minute if he had left Scotland to go to their club! But as he didn't, you all went down the Judas route even though he had given Scotland some self respect back after the Vogts debacle. Fuckin' laughable!
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (The Hun @ Aug 6 2008, 23:41) *
Sure!........if he had resigned from the national team when he did and taken over at Cappielow you would have welcomed him with open arms! And before you reply back, don't, you know I'm right.

Every club fan ( apart from Celtic's ) would have taken him in a minute if he had left Scotland to go to their club! But as he didn't, you all went down the Judas route even though he had given Scotland some self respect back after the Vogts debacle. Fuckin' laughable!

He would be found out in a matter of weeks at a club like Raith with his limited tactical knowledge!!! rolleyes.gif
Millfield Marksman

I think most people would have thought 'if he can walk out on Scotland, he can walk out on us'.
The Hun
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 6 2008, 23:42) *
I think most people would have thought 'if he can walk out on Scotland, he can walk out on us'.

I think most of them would have been over the moon if he became manager of their club Millfield! They wouldn't have given a shit about the national team if it was for their clubs benefit!
That's reality with the fickle football fan.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (The Hun @ Aug 6 2008, 23:45) *
I think most of them would have been over the moon if he became manager of their club Millfield!

No. I'm serious. Walter Smith is a Rangers man. Fans of every club are aware of this. They'd think 'Why bring in someone who ain't gonna last - and probably doesn't really want to be there'.
Xbass Threepwood
QUOTE (jupe1407 @ Aug 6 2008, 23:04) *
...made Scotland terminally boring.....

So you preferred the excitement of the Vogts era? He stabilised Scotland and stopped the rot, thats what he is best at, and he did it well for Scotland. Lets not revise history! The rest of your post is spot on though.
The Hun
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Aug 6 2008, 23:54) *
No. I'm serious. Walter Smith is a Rangers man. Fans of every club are aware of this. They'd think 'Why bring in someone who ain't gonna last - and probably doesn't really want to be there'.

Would that be the same for every other manager of clubs that are Rangers men? Such as John Brown at Clyde or Alex Rae at Dundee or ............
Do all these teams fans think, why is there current manager here when he isn't gonna last?
coyletonfan
Laughable to think that Smith would ever go to smaller teams from national coach.... oops wait a minute...

His tactics suited scotland against better teams. Against france and italy he is not expected to get anything, so one up to and anti football suits. Also in uefa cup when over 2 legs against "the best in europe (who didnt get into CL or got knocked oot!!) Found out in a one off game.

Now lets look at the evidence against weaker teams when gers should be coming out and beating...dundee u (sorry arabs) st johnstone, QOS, Kaunas, Belarus at hampden. One up top and founding wanting when questions asked.
Tactically he is inflexible. How many times has he waited until too late and the tactic is throw on extra strikers and get the ball in the box.
I watched an old everton game when he was managing on espn classics. Frightening stuff. HOOF!!! Big guys....you get the drift.

This is not my view alone. Talking to bro in law, a gers diehard season ticket holder who went to all away games and he spoke of the horrible tactics after thomson scored against shellik and again today.
Pals at football training who are gers fans also spoke in similar way.

Q. why was hemdani not on in place of dailly? Charlie Adam? purpose?

A lot of awkward questions for gers fans to mull over.

Smith is NOT the best manager in the world. Infact tactically he is very very limited.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (jupe1407 @ Aug 6 2008, 23:04) *
Surely even the most ardent of Smith supporters amongst the huns must have seen right through him by now.

Nope a hun in my work said to me 'Ahh don't think you can blame Walter for that last night' Even when i asked about him playing 4-1-4-1, and that very formation caused the free kick i got it 'Ah dunno if you could call that formation 4-1-4-1'
Then i got how great they where in Europe last season, until i pointed out they didn't get by with winning games but penalties. I also got how great Rangers where defensively last year, until pointed out that Celtic conceded less goals than them last season.
The biggest laugh was when he tried to blame PLG, i almost fell over and walked away at that point.
jupe1407
QUOTE (xbl @ Aug 6 2008, 23:56) *
So you preferred the excitement of the Vogts era? He stabilised Scotland and stopped the rot, thats what he is best at, and he did it well for Scotland. Lets not revise history! The rest of your post is spot on though.

Where in my post did i say i preferred Vogts? Almost ANYONE could have come in after Vogts and done better. Surely you cannot seriously tell me Scotland under Walter were anything but murder to watch?
khenny

It's laughable just how big a blindspot gers fan(nie)s have when it comes to Smitty. Granpa tWatty took over the Souness team at a time when Andy Cameron cudda managed them to 9 in a row!
There was zero challange coming from a Celtic side in disarray and more often than not their biggest challenge came from an average Aberdeen team.
The fact that tWatty had to spend tens of millions during that time in order to secure the title year after year kinda says just how bad he was, and is!!

ps How good was Caddis last night!!
The Hun
This new breed of Celtic fan is highly amusing. They look at the manager and think it's all his fault. They think the players should be exonerated for their actions and get off free without fault. They think football is all about the manager and if it goes tits up, its all his fault. Even if the tactics aren't followed proper by dim fucks nodding there head in a changing room or prima donna footballers who don't have the balls to rise to the challenge! No wonder wee Strachan has had pelters from you lot. No fuckin' loyalty at all!

Oh...and what is also laughable since Tuesday, this new breed of Celtic fan holds serious concern for Rangers well being!
Fuckin' laughable indeed!

However, stick around Bhoys, the best is yet to come! wink.gif
JUMPURS
QUOTE (The Hun @ Aug 7 2008, 08:19) *
This new breed of Celtic fan is highly amusing. They look at the manager and think it's all his fault. They think the players should be exonerated for the actions and get off free without fault.

Who bought the players?? A player can't help it if they are just pish tongue.gif
The Hun
QUOTE (JUMPURS @ Aug 7 2008, 08:23) *
Who bought the players?? A player can't help it if they are just pish tongue.gif

Yeh...but as a team they were good enough to achieve two months ago. They might not be the greatest but they are better than what you saw on Tuesday night. The players are to blame in my book and when they get the finger out, Rangers will improve.
jupe1407
QUOTE (The Hun @ Aug 7 2008, 08:19) *
This new breed of Celtic fan is highly amusing. They look at the manager and think it's all his fault. They think the players should be exonerated for the actions and get off free without fault. They think football is all about the manager and if it goes tits up, its his fault. Even if the tactics aren't followed proper by dim fucks nodding there head in a changing room or prima donna footballers who don't have the balls to rise to the challenge! No wonder wee Strachan has had pelters from you lot. No fuckin' loyalty at all!

Oh...and what is also laughable is since Tuesday, this new breed of Celtic fan holds serious concern for Rangers well being!
Fuckin' laughable indeed!

However, stick around Bhoys, the best is yet to come! wink.gif

Don't ALL Football fans blame the manager when it goes tits up? Its happened everywhere for as long as i can remember. Who did your lot blame for the PLG experiment going wrong? Ferguson or Le Guen?

The best is most definitely yet to come. The spectacular train wreck that is Rangers 2008-2009 season can only become more amusing.
JUMPURS
QUOTE (The Hun @ Aug 7 2008, 08:26) *
Yeh...but as a team they were good enough to achieve two months ago. They might not be the greatest but they are better than what you saw on Tuesday night. The players are to blame in my book and when they get the finger out, Rangers will improve.

They where not good enough to achieve two months ago though. They barely won the Scottish cup by scraping by with a 3-2 win over QoS!

Who is to blame for praying Kaunas didn't score and not putting on another striker after an hour?? The dark sinister hand that permiates through Scottish football? Or Uncle Walter?
khenny

Another shining example of the blinkered view the gers fan(nie)s take when it comes to gramps tWatty. It really is just toooooooo funny! laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif laugh.gif
khenny
Shouldn't the name of this thread be edited by removing the word "TACTICS" from it and going with the remaining two words only. I think it would make more sense that way.

Hmmm just a thought. wink.gif
Duracell Bunny
Yeh...but as a team they were lucky enough to achieve two months ago. They might not be the greatest but they are better than what you saw on Tuesday night. The players are to blame in my book and when they get the finger out, Rangers will improve.

Fixed it for you wink.gif
QUOTE (khenny @ Aug 7 2008, 09:32) *
Shouldn't the name of this thread be edited by removing the word "TACTICS" from it and going with the remaining two words only. I think it would make more sense that way.

Hmmm just a thought. wink.gif

I would go along with that biggrin.gif
SON76
FOR ANYONE WHO MISSED IT. Is this you 'The Hun'?

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=V6ioVkARO7o
stpatty
4-5-1 works when you have the right people, which Walter doesn't. No width which renders the formation useless.
Jim Pansy
Yet again the shit doesn't stick to Sir Smiffy. Honestly, that result is as laughable as it is dire, and because people on here have been derided for predicting it. Rangers now are as bad as they were ever under Le Guen, but for some reason Sir Smiffy gets away with barely a scratch. He should be out of a job. He has ruined the club, which is great for most of us, but what is weird is that so few Rangers fans can see it.
Beyemystic
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 6 2008, 22:59) *
He always has been, he was just lucky in his first spell that nobody really challenging Rangers for the title, this is the guy who played Dave McPherson at right back.......... huh.gif laugh.gif

Remember he played Duncan Ferguson at left back rolleyes.gif And then when he went to Everton he fannied about with John Collins at right back.

As soon as Celtic were able to mount any sort of challenge in the mid 90s he began to flounder. The best efforts of the Jim Farry's and Willie Young's could only indulge him for a couple of seasons before he managed to lose 10-in-a-row to a transitional Celtic team. A weak Celtic team with an oddball coach which was itself rocked by infighting and turmoil.

He is a John Barnes of a manager - although to my knowledge John never went about thumping the YTS boys like Walter ohmy.gif
vikingTON

No, our manager is capable of playing players in their natural positions and playing 3 up front. ohmy.gif
Walter Smith's managerial record is boosted only by years of financial dominance while Celtic were in the shits.
Alex McLeish is a better manager than Wattie, and he's not exactly a genius himself.