The Rebel Piper
Aug 5 2008, 13:20
who we reckon will come out on top?
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
Aug 5 2008, 13:23
nae idea....and nae chance i'm going up.....i'd need to leave now.
airdrieman
Aug 5 2008, 13:39
i think it will be county but i dont really care about the cis cup
WindaeLicker
Aug 5 2008, 13:47
Don't think it'll be us anyway. Most teams struggle to win up there.
staggy4life
Aug 5 2008, 16:35
I've heard the Airdrie bus has broken down. Any Airdrie fans heard anything?
thejailender
Aug 5 2008, 17:33
QUOTE (staggy4life @ Aug 5 2008, 17:35)

I've heard the Airdrie bus has broken down. Any Airdrie fans heard anything?
The replacement bus also broke down
I believe a third bus has been dispatched to get the team to the game on time.
Pesadilla
Aug 5 2008, 19:18
1-0 Airdrie. Di Gwacamole!
thediamonddude
Aug 5 2008, 19:21
Looks like we showed up in time after all
Mon the Diamonds!
Pesadilla
Aug 5 2008, 19:35
1-1 Daal
Juninho
Aug 5 2008, 20:02
Dyron!
19QOS19
Aug 5 2008, 20:04
QUOTE (Juninho @ Aug 5 2008, 21:02)

Dyron!

The next Barrowman?
Pesadilla
Aug 5 2008, 20:30
2-1 County. Hart. Fuckin' Booooo!
Pesadilla
Aug 5 2008, 20:35
2-2. Noble. looks like the booing worked.
diamondman
Aug 5 2008, 21:22
Yipeeedooo!
Pesadilla
Aug 5 2008, 21:31
I think this could be quite a one sided match report coming up...don't think many Airdrie would have made it tonight.
Still, good to get through!
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 5 2008, 21:45
i think it will be pesadilla . . . .
how county played a weakened team and dictated all the play but Airdrie sneaked 3 lucky goals, but Derek Adams doesn't care anyway coz he wasn't bothered bout the co-op cup!!
or something to that effect!!!!
am not really gonnae bother with this much and not really into the wind up wi County fans, usually get an honest report and a bit of banter with zero arrogance.
The better team won. Airdrie played slick football and Di Giacomo is far superior to Alan Russell. Airdrie were gifted the first goal as Golabek missed an easy clearance and Lynch nipped in top cross it to Di Giacomo with a neat sliding finish beyond Bullock. Airdrie continually threatened with their long threaded balls between the defenders for their forwards to run onto, and I felt County tried to be a little too nice at times and weren't direct enough. Steven Watt made some great crucnhing tackles but drifted out of position too much.
Dyron Daal had a very effective game as Airdrie continually had one person marking him and one coming in to win the second ball. So when Daal did win the header Steven Craig was found in space, and he setup Daal to get his second goal of the season. This was right before half time.
After the break County were the better side but Airdrie always looked threatening on the counter. However a nice flowing move resulted in Richie Hart taking a nice touch to beat a defender powering past him and smashing it into the net. At this point we lost the game. We took both Daal and Craig off and replaced them with Winters and Higgins. Daal should have remained on the park and only one of Winters or Higgins should have been subbed on.
County weren't overtly direct before the switch, and this switch seen alot more possesion with little end product. Both Airdrie goals (the equaliser and the winner) were at the other end of the park so didn't see them properly. But they had threatened constantly throughout the game, and the win was probably just deserved.
If County continue to defend like that it will be two seasons all over again. Midfield and Attack look potent, but the defence is letting us down.
Good luck Airdrie in the next round.
HardingsHamstring
Aug 5 2008, 22:02
I just voted Airdrie.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 5 2008, 22:03
^^^ proves my point
however if that was Dundee or Raith we had beaten, we would have been getting done for robbery
cheers for the lowdown Loki!
thejailender
Aug 5 2008, 22:15
No point in giving more of a match report as Loki pretty much summed it up.
The winning goal though came from a County piece of play in which we tried to pass the ball into the net at the Jailend, then Airdrie broke free, and hit with a lightening counter attack.
Steven Watt was said to be not match fit on Saturday, yet he was left to play the full 120 minutes tonight, he simply didn't have the legs to catch Di Giacomo on the counter attack..
Talking about Paul Di Giacomo, is he the live child of Owen Coyle ?? They look very similar !
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 5 2008, 22:17
QUOTE (thejailender @ Aug 5 2008, 23:15)

No point in giving more of a match report as Loki pretty much summed it up.
The winning goal though came from a County piece of play in which we tried to pass the ball into the net at the Jailend, then Airdrie broke free, and hit with a lightening counter attack.
Steven Watt was said to be not match fit on Saturday, yet he was left to play the full 120 minutes tonight, he simply didn't have the legs to catch Di Giacomo on the counter attack..
Talking about Paul Di Giacomo, is he the live child of Owen Coyle ?? They look very similar !
this has been discussed a few times, if he scores as many goals, there'll be no complaints!!
staggy4life
Aug 5 2008, 22:31
Watt looks like a good signing once he gets fully fit. His positioning was poor but in the air and his tackles were excellent.
Anyway Airdrie fully deserved the win.
Hopefully a better game on saturday.
_dolphin_
Aug 6 2008, 08:05
Not much to add, Airdrie deserved it, hustled and never gave us time in midfield, and attacked with pace and got in behind our defence.
Taking Daal off was a major mistake by Adams.
Our crossing/dead balls are very poor and need major improvement.
We will improve considerably when Dean Shields comes back.
Aug 6 2008, 08:07
cheers Loki.....as per a fair assessment.
Di Jackanory.......the re-incarnation of Coyle ....... I too had a discussion with someone wondering why Killie swapped us a better player ....... bizarre.
I'm feeling gutted i'm away on saturday....if we hump thistle and I don't get to gloat i'll be very angry.
Anyhoo's i'm off to see the Kenny Black fan club on the stomp.
Evil Jim Fenner
Aug 6 2008, 08:51
Many Airdrie up ?
MonTheRovers!!
Aug 6 2008, 09:01
QUOTE (++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Aug 5 2008, 23:03)

^^^ proves my point
however if that was Dundee or
Raith we had beaten, we would have been getting done for robbery
cheers for the lowdown Loki!
You are actually obsessed, eh!?
ss..schlecht
Aug 6 2008, 09:15
QUOTE (thejailender @ Aug 5 2008, 23:15)

QUOTE (_dolphin_ @ Aug 6 2008, 09:05)

Not much to add, Airdrie deserved it, hustled and never gave us time in midfield, and attacked with pace and got in behind our defence.
Taking Daal off was a major mistake by Adams.
Our crossing/dead balls are very poor and need major improvement.
We will improve considerably when Dean Shields comes back.
Is this Airdrie we're talking about
Saturday is going to be my 1st game this season and I cannae fookin wait.
Diamonds 666
Aug 6 2008, 09:24
Great result for us last night!
Wasn't able to make it up as I would probably only be getting home now but how was the game?
Hopefully some Ross County fans will give a fairly objective response.
They have been our bogey team so very happy going into this Saturdays game against Thistle.
Should give the team some confidence for 2 tough home games coming up.
Aug 6 2008, 09:29
they already have......on the other thread.......seems like we can break with pace now.....wowsers.
oh dear...maybe airdrie are not so bad after all.
Aug 6 2008, 09:46
it's a bit early for mutual masturbation but things seem a helluva lot moe positive than the doom n' gloom merchants were making out.
airdrieman
Aug 6 2008, 09:56
was suprised and happy at this result as everyone expected us to get beat perhaps we won't be so bad after all

although saying that it is early in the season but if we get a good result against thistle i could see us being suprise packages this seasons
WindaeLicker
Aug 6 2008, 10:25
I was quite impressed with us last night. Quick and fairly direct at times and big boaby was back to himself. Daal caused problems but after wasting 2 very good chances I couldn't see him scoring anything but a complete sitter, which he did. He's a handful to say the least. Loki basically summed it all up but County are a bit more physical than last season I'd say which is probably needed in the 1st. I think there must have been about 80 or something up, no more than that. It's the smallest crowd I've seen up there tbh but it was to be expected. A positive 120 minutes and a good win was kinda worth the trip, I think.
wearealldoomed
Aug 6 2008, 10:29
QUOTE (Loki @ Aug 5 2008, 23:00)

Airdrie continually threatened with their long threaded balls between the defenders for their forwards to run onto
Forwards. Plural.
I didn't expect that on a ground where we have a honking record. Proof of a young manager beginning to mix things up as he learns his trade or pot luck?
Time will tell, but the early signs are good..
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 6 2008, 10:36
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/footbal...86908-20686059/daily records match report there, couldn't believe it when I seen .... "Airdrie"..."Counter Attacking Play" and "superb" all in the same sentence
1993staggie
Aug 6 2008, 11:34
Ross County was frustrating none the less, The attacking force and the Midfield were fine, but some times we did just miss the whole midfield by just playing the Long ball into no where for no reason, The back four were rubbish, Golabek was getting out played down that left side and same for Muculloch on the right, Steven Watt was definatly not fit and was getting played for he full 120 mins also was poor in my eyes. Dowie though i thought was pretty good, Commanding the back because he wasn't getting much help. Airdie was much better this year than they were last year. Seemed fitter and more confident in there plays.
good luck in next round
diamonds2002
Aug 6 2008, 11:51
QUOTE (Aufc @ Aug 6 2008, 10:41)

oh dear...maybe airdrie are not so bad after all.
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Aug 6 2008, 10:46)

it's a bit early for mutual masturbation but things seem a helluva lot moe positive than the doom n' gloom merchants were making out.
No no - remember we are terrible and certainties for relegation. It helps if we lull them into a false sense of security!
Aug 6 2008, 11:56
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Aug 6 2008, 12:51)

No no - remember we are terrible and certainties for relegation. It helps if we lull them into a false sense of security!

oopsies...we have not strenthened since Clyde gave us a harsh lesson and there is nothing to see here.
Juninho
Aug 6 2008, 12:13
I like Airdrie, not the town or even particularly their stadium but they seem to have a resilience about them. They also played good football last season and by the sound of it, they did too last night.
Kenny Black is a good coach too, credit to them.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 6 2008, 13:40
QUOTE (Juninho @ Aug 6 2008, 13:13)

I like Airdrie, not the town or even particularly their stadium but they seem to have a resilience about them. They also played good football last season and by the sound of it, they did too last night.
Kenny Black is a good coach too, credit to them.
I think this is a mutual thing, even last year when you romped that division there wasn't really a bad word said between the 2 sets of fans . . . . . GOURANGA!
diamonds2002
Aug 6 2008, 16:46
QUOTE (++Ammo - Airdrie++ @ Aug 6 2008, 14:40)

I think this is a mutual thing, even last year when you romped that division there wasn't really a bad word said between the 2 sets of fans . . . . . GOURANGA!
Does noone else think that Adams is abit of an arse?
weigh cider
Aug 6 2008, 17:08
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Aug 6 2008, 17:46)

Yes I do as well. Not the most dignified in defeat I would say and doesn't seem to give the opposition enough respect as it's always RC's mistakes rather than the ability/performance of the opponents.
Would be well advised to consider his responses more carefully especially immediately post match.
The RC fans though are generally fair and unbiased. Although it's a long way to get there you still get one of the best receptions in the League at Victoria Park.
Juninho
Aug 6 2008, 19:19
That's harsh, he's learning his way in the game just like Kenny Black and will make mistakes. He's a genuinely nice guy and I hope he can lead us to good things. This is his first test though, will be interesting to see how he himself and our coaches (Ross Jack, Stewart Petrie) react to our start. I guess no-one will be panicking however I'm sure our DOF will be assesing the squad and preparing to strengthen if neccessary come January. Right now though I think we have good players and we play good football, hopefully the results will soon follow.
diamonds2002
Aug 7 2008, 08:25
QUOTE (Juninho @ Aug 6 2008, 20:19)

That's harsh, he's learning his way in the game just like Kenny Black and will make mistakes. He's a genuinely nice guy and I hope he can lead us to good things. This is his first test though, will be interesting to see how he himself and our coaches (Ross Jack, Stewart Petrie) react to our start. I guess no-one will be panicking however I'm sure our DOF will be assesing the squad and preparing to strengthen if neccessary come January. Right now though I think we have good players and we play good football, hopefully the results will soon follow.
Fair play he is still learning the game but he is a very ungracious victor and even worse in defeat. KB never says a bad word against the opposition (abit a change from his playing days when he used to kick the shit out of them

)
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Aug 7 2008, 13:10
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Aug 7 2008, 09:25)

Fair play he is still learning the game but he is a very ungracious victor and even worse in defeat.
KB never says a bad word against the opposition (abit a change from his playing days when he used to kick the shit out of them

)
that we know of.
_dolphin_
Aug 7 2008, 13:39
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Aug 7 2008, 09:25)

Fair play he is still learning the game but he is a very ungracious victor and even worse in defeat.
Not true, in his local radio interview on Wednesday morning he said that Airdrie had played very well and he wished them luck in the next round..
Aug 7 2008, 13:45
QUOTE (_dolphin_ @ Aug 7 2008, 14:39)

Not true, in his local radio interview on Wednesday morning he said that Airdrie had played very well and he wished them luck in the next round..
we'll send him a fruit basket.
Juninho
Aug 7 2008, 20:03
Fair play he is still learning the game but he is a very ungracious victor and even worse in defeat. KB never says a bad word against the opposition (abit a change from his playing days when he used to kick the shit out of them )
He wants to win!
Shooter McGavin
Aug 7 2008, 20:54
QUOTE (Juninho @ Aug 7 2008, 21:03)

He wants to win!
Fair enough, the last game between the 2 teams last season saw some very ungracious comments from Adams. Thats what has rankled so many Airdrie fans.
Wanting to win is not a bad thing, but he needs to learn to have a bit of respect aswell.
diamonds2002
Aug 8 2008, 08:07
QUOTE (_dolphin_ @ Aug 7 2008, 14:39)

maybe he is learning abit of humility.
I have a lot of time for County and their fans. I just think that your manager is an erse
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.