Full Version: Raith Fans Chant "dirty Orange b*****ds" At Scotlands Shame
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Ghod
Sectarian ?

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=4pdLvLxU6NI
Raith Rovers Football Club are to have discussions with Police and Stewards over their fans sectarian chanting in the recent friendly against Rangers.

Vile abuse such as “go home ya huns” and “dirty orange b*stards” was clearly heard coming from large sections of the home support. It was also captured on YouTube (click here)

This may have been the first you have heard of it, because even though the mainstream media see bigotry as, among other things disliking a player because they played for Celtic (click here) and patterns on a football pitch that everyone else can use without comment but with Rangers it must be a sash - they seem to see no bigotry if it is directed towards Rangers fans, children included.

Not only did the journalists at the game fail to hear what was audible to everyone else, but even when it was pointed out to them afterwards, it was too hard for them to send an email to Raith Rovers to enquire about what happened.

Thank goodness it was not directed towards Raith Rovers by Rangers fans or we would have the General Secretary of the United Nations pleading for no more emails from Scottish journalists asking for sanctions against Govan. The attitude seems to be that if it happens against Rangers fans it doesn’t count. This in itself is the epitome of bigotry - projecting group hatred on individuals who have many diverse attitudes and beliefs. Simply put, not seeing them as people like themselves.

It is particularly sad because many Rangers fans were treated well by Raith Rovers and their fans and it has to be stated in plain English that what happened is not the fault of Raith Rovers FC as an organisation. The club, like every other football club, is subject to the prejudices of society as a whole. Religious sectarianism did not start with football, nor will it end with football much as the puppet-masters would like you to believe.

However, Raith Rovers as a football club are aware of what happened and as yet have not publicly condemned it. This is something they do have control over and if they fail to make any statement of condemnation then that would be their fault. They have a responsibility to try and educate their support or else many will not realise what they did was wrong and possibly continue to perpetuate it.

It would also mean they would have turned a blind eye to bigotry and would be another story of those shouting from the rooftops on how they hate sectarianism, only to fall silent when they are the perpetrators.

I think not
Booker_d
I think so.
Rangers90
If it was Rangers fans singing dirty feniene(sp) b*****ds at Celtic fans would it be sectarian? Answer - Yes
If it was Celtic fans singing dirty orange b*****ds at Rangers fans would it be sectarian? Answer - Yes
So Raith fans signing this at rangers fans is different to when it happens at an OF game? No. Yes it is sectarian. End of.
SON76
Weren't they singing against sectarianism i.e. the Orange Order and its sympathisers?
Surely they should be congratulated...
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (SON76 @ Aug 4 2008, 23:49) *
Weren't they singing against sectarianism i.e. the Orange Order and its sympathisers?
Surely they should be congratulated...

Indeed the orange order are generally and correctly known as dirty basterd
Swampy
QUOTE (Rangers90 @ Aug 4 2008, 21:08) *
If it was Celtic fans singing dirty orange b*****ds at Rangers fans would it be sectarian? Answer - Yes

bzzt
Michael W
I'm quite surprised it took so long for this to be dragged up. Ghod - what was the original source of you're quote?

I'm not trying to make excuses here, or even divert the blame, but the sad matter is that this would never have happened if Rangers fans had bought tickets for the correct end as was requested.

Some of the youtube video comments are hilarious, like the guy who bleated he was the victim of sectarian abuse and ended his comment with "NO SURRENDER". What a cock.

I did not take part in this chanting, and although I do not believe the chant "go home ya huns" is sectarian, I was deeply uneasy about it being chanted, knowing full well the Rangers fans would be bleat about sectarianism. As for "Dirty orange bastards", well I'm afraid that one may be deemed sectarian.

I feel our fans let us down a bit tbh.
Swampy
I was deeply uneasy about it being chanted, knowing full well the Rangers fans would be bleat about sectarianism.

Don't let idiots silence you. "Huns" isn't sectarian. Nor is DOB, although I don't think it should be shouted at people who aren't members of the OO.
JUMPURS
If the orange order can be deemed a political movement, then yeah, it would be sectarian.
The Hun
QUOTE (Swampy @ Aug 5 2008, 02:20) *
Don't let idiots silence you. "Huns" isn't sectarian. Nor is DOB, although I don't think it should be shouted at people who aren't members of the OO.

Like I said yesterday, me thinks you have an 'other' agenda!
rw89
laugh.gif I thought they were talking about phone companies. tongue.gif Anyway, like Swampy said, if they aren't members of the OL then it isn't sectarianism. If the rangers fans had purchased tickets at the right end it would have never happened. Our club are partly responsible for this.
H_B
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 5 2008, 08:04) *
if they aren't members of the OL then it isn't sectarianism

It's actually the opposite.

If they were members of the OO it would be fair comment. Their membership of that vile organisation entitles them to be called bastards, and much more besides.

Calling people who have no relationship at all with the OO "Orange bastards" is sectarian abuse.
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
pah...if we did that it would not even warrant a one star rating on Youtube.

Must try harder Rovers fans.
Vloon
You ken what?

This is exactly how the rest of scottish football fans feel about the old firm, and thats why its happening at lower division clubs, because they dont get the chance to do it on a regular occurance so it comes out like that. Most Football fans, other than Celtic and Rangers fans (obviously) hate the Old firm, and despise what they stand for!

Not me though, I think you guys are just . . . . super thumbup2.gif dry.gif
Butterfield
QUOTE (Ghod @ Aug 4 2008, 21:41) *

What's the source of the quote? Follow Follow?
Paco
I'm not going to comment on what is sectarian or not, as I'll be honest I don't actually know, but why is it unacceptable to call someone a 'dirty orange b*****d', but it's perfectly OK to say to someone 'your a dirty, minky, fat, ginger, ugly, specky b*****d and I hope your Mother gets raped by 75 year old with AIDS'?

Not that anyone has ever said that to me, before some pedant says so. wink.gif

Edit - the source of the original quote.
H_B
QUOTE (Paco @ Aug 5 2008, 10:06) *
but it's perfectly OK to say to someone 'your a dirty, minky, fat, ginger, ugly, specky b*****d and I hope your Mother gets raped by 75 year old with AIDS'?

Is it?
Whistle Blower
sad.gif
Paco
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 5 2008, 10:10) *
Is it?

I've heard worse tbh, and nothing ever gets brought up about it. I'm sure if you did in front of a police officer in the street, you'd get done for it, but do it in a football ground it's all good.

The song could refer to the colour of the Rangers fans skins. laugh.gif

But seriously, is DOB sectarian? I don't think 'huns' is, but I'm not excusing the singing... no need for it.
H_B
QUOTE (Paco @ Aug 5 2008, 10:18) *
But seriously, is DOB sectarian?

I think so. I also don't think Huns is.

There isn't a hard and fast list of terms which are and are not though. Quite open to debate.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (H_B @ Aug 5 2008, 10:10) *
Is it?

According to some people on this forum it's more than acceptable rolleyes.gif

As for that game Rangers fans were far from angels but the blame for creating the mess in the first place has to go with Raith for selling tickets to the home end to people who obviously away fans. Putting money before crowd safety and it was just asking for trouble.......
Monster
Poor little Rangers and Celtic, getting nasty things said about them at football grounds.

Aww.....to think all they do to deserve it is completely f**k the country's football clubs over, and take advantage of the sectarian nature of the majority of retard Scots in order to exploit them culturally and financially.

I feel so sorry for the pair of them. Next time they come to Somerset I won't be screaming 90 minutes of abuse - I'll be heartily thanking them for ruining the entire game and making sectarian bigotry appear okay.
rw89
It is quite ok. Am i right in saying that "no surrender" is a song based around sectarianism? If so then the Rangers fans were guilty of singing it at Starks. I'm not going to get too upset over this anyway. The game was handled poorly by both the club, the stewards and the police and the Rangers fans should never have been allowed in the south stand. At the end of the day, "go home you huns" would never have been sung had the Rangers fans bought their tickets at Ibrox for the away end.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (rw89 @ Aug 5 2008, 11:00) *
At the end of the day, "go home you huns" would never have been sung had the Rangers fans bought their tickets at Ibrox for the away end.

Any idea if Rangers were only selling tickets to Season Ticket holders? unsure.gif
CALDERON
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 5 2008, 11:02) *
Any idea if Rangers were only selling tickets to Season Ticket holders? unsure.gif

Nae sure, although Rangers fans were specifically told NOT to buy tickets for the home end and they did. I dont for one second condone any sectarian behaviour on behalf of either set of supporters, but what did Rangers fans expect, going into the home end?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (CALDERON @ Aug 5 2008, 12:05) *
Nae sure, although Rangers fans were specifically told NOT to buy tickets for the home end and they did. I dont for one second condone any sectarian behaviour on behalf of either set of supporters, but what did Rangers fans expect, going into the home end?

Did people in the office at Starks think it was a good idea sending hundreds of Rangers fans into the home end? My brother was at the game and his safety along with everybody else in the stand was put at risk and for that I'm pretty pissed off with.

It was bloody stupid and all it would have took was one person to start it off and it could have caused a mass brawl.

You can't stand up in the bloody South Stand due to it being against "spectator safety" but it's okay to sell tickets to hundreds of away fans when it's fairly obvious it could create a problem rolleyes.gif

Also why were they not all ejected from the ground as Raith indicated any away fan in the home end would be ejected!!! could it be that because they willingly took the money they knew they were in the wrong also they had an idea how many away fans were in the home end.........
Bobby
Rangers fans were in the Rovers end.....who says Celtic fans, or any other fans werent in the Rovers end for that matter. Could have been anyone, who says it was raith fans dry.gif
Enigma
The singing was not sectarian, had it been celtic playing chants of the same non-sctarian ilk would have been sung. The fact of the matter is this is Rangers fans trying to divert the attention away for thier own glaring problems. The singing was ANTI-sectarian and no worse than chants that we would sing at Dunfermline, East Fife etc. etc.
KTID05AND4EVER
QUOTE (Michael W @ Aug 5 2008, 01:59) *
I'm quite surprised it took so long for this to be dragged up. Ghod - what was the original source of you're quote?

I'm not trying to make excuses here, or even divert the blame, but the sad matter is that this would never have happened if Rangers fans had bought tickets for the correct end as was requested.

Some of the youtube video comments are hilarious, like the guy who bleated he was the victim of sectarian abuse and ended his comment with "NO SURRENDER". What a cock.

I did not take part in this chanting, and although I do not believe the chant "go home ya huns" is sectarian, I was deeply uneasy about it being chanted, knowing full well the Rangers fans would be bleat about sectarianism. As for "Dirty orange b*****ds", well I'm afraid that one may be deemed sectarian.

I feel our fans let us down a bit tbh.

Surely dirty orange b*****ds is only sectarian if you are indeed a dirty orange b*****d-Rangers (according to their board and the RST) are in no way associated to orangeness or any that pish so why would the fans get upset.

Go home ya huns is not sectarian-and is very very funny
Bobby
Anyone seen the youtube video of the quote, RAITH fan punching a RANGERS fan....who says he's a Raith fan, wasnt wearing any Raith merchandise. Damn those Gers and thinking the whole world is against them
Dunc
Wisnae us, it was Dundee United fans.
Whistle Blower
QUOTE (Bobby @ Aug 5 2008, 12:47) *
Rangers fans were in the Rovers end.....who says Celtic fans, or any other fans werent in the Rovers end for that matter. Could have been anyone, who says it was raith fans dry.gif

Cut and pasted from the OF excuse book laugh.gif
djn
QUOTE (Bobby @ Aug 5 2008, 12:47) *

Behind enemy lines? ohmy.gif
ARoverinLeeds
What if the role's were reversed and it was Raith fan's were in the home end at IBROX, there would be a fucking uproar. So stop your whinging, Rangers fans were told not to buy ticket's for the home end but no. Imo you got what you deserved, i thank you.
Swampy
QUOTE (The Hun @ Aug 5 2008, 06:55) *
Like I said yesterday, me thinks you have an 'other' agenda!

I don't think that, in the strictest sense of the word, the OO is a sect. Perhaps some people do use it with sectarian connotations - I have no idea.

I do think that calling someone who is not a member of the OO an Orange b*****d is an absolutely terrible thing to do, though - it's one of the worst things you can shout at the football without getting punished, IMO, and should not be done.
H_B
QUOTE (Swampy @ Aug 5 2008, 16:54) *
I do think that calling someone who is not a member of the OO an Orange b*****d is an absolutely terrible thing to do, though - it's one of the worst things you can shout at the football

Exactly. It is a shocking slur.
CALDERON
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 5 2008, 12:18) *
Did people in the office at Starks think it was a good idea sending hundreds of Rangers fans into the home end? My brother was at the game and his safety along with everybody else in the stand was put at risk and for that I'm pretty pissed off with.

It was bloody stupid and all it would have took was one person to start it off and it could have caused a mass brawl.

You can't stand up in the bloody South Stand due to it being against "spectator safety" but it's okay to sell tickets to hundreds of away fans when it's fairly obvious it could create a problem rolleyes.gif

Also why were they not all ejected from the ground as Raith indicated any away fan in the home end would be ejected!!! could it be that because they willingly took the money they knew they were in the wrong also they had an idea how many away fans were in the home end.........

Exactly!

The club made a big song and dance about ejecting away fans in the home end etc, yet people were queing up in Rangers shirts, scarves etc and getting tickets no problem!
macdaddy 87
QUOTE (KTID05AND4EVER @ Aug 5 2008, 12:58) *
Surely dirty orange b*****ds is only sectarian if you are indeed a dirty orange b*****d-Rangers (according to their board and the RST) are in no way associated to orangeness or any that pish so why would the fans get upset.

Go home ya huns is not sectarian-and is very very funny

go on home ya huns imo is not sectarian as huns is a widely used and accepted term by everyone. as has been said earlier dirty orange b*****ds is sectarian if it is used to describe a large group of people. however if you call to one person a dirty orange b*****ds and they are member of the OO then this is not sectarian. the reaason for this is they are.
abner doubleday
I remember after Maurice Johnston signed for Hearts in the 1990s a Raith fan shouting:

'Johnston - ya fenian orange b'stard'

Is that sectarian or a double negative? huh.gif
MarvMarvSuperMarv
Are we Scotland's shame now? rolleyes.gif
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (MarvMarvSuperMarv @ Aug 7 2008, 11:00) *
Are we Scotland's shame now? rolleyes.gif

Apparently huh.gif