Full Version: Who Do We Want In The Cl Draw
The Pie Shop > The Cups > Scots in Europe
SirRogerCasement
Real would be great

biggrin.gif

glasnost
Yes it is a draw I have wanted for ages now that we have done Barcelona to death. I have plenty of anti-fascist stickers which would be spread over their stadium.

Werder Bremen from pot 2. An excellent city that’s only an hour away from Hamburg. So best of both worlds if our trip to Bremen would enable a St Pauli home game to be taken in.

Pot 4 I am not bothered about as long as it isn’t Shakhtar. The Romanian team would do or Fenerbahce.
Steven
It's a pitty you can't draw that diddy team Rangers (if they get through) as they look pretty pish from what I've seem of them so far laugh.gif wink.gif

But seriously how do you fancy your chances this year?
glasnost
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 4 2008, 14:22) *
It's a pitty you can't draw that diddy team Rangers (if they get through) as they look pretty pish from what I've seem of them so far laugh.gif wink.gif

But seriously how do you fancy your chances this year?

I don’t at the moment given the lack of incoming players. God knows how we managed to get through last season and I doubt we will be as fortunate this time around.
Steven
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 4 2008, 14:27) *
I don't at the moment given the lack of incoming players. God knows how we managed to get through last season and I doubt we will be as fortunate this time around.

I think luck played a big part last season and we all know how much luck Rangers had in the diddy cup. Celtic need to defend better away from home as apart from AC Milan away two years ago they have been shocking away from home.

On an aside I really think the standard of Scottish football is at an all-time low, the fact that the top two teams have players like Caldwell & Broadfoot playing for them sums up how bad the rest are...........
glasnost
QUOTE (Steven @ Aug 4 2008, 14:31) *
I think luck played a big part last season and we all know how much luck Rangers had in the diddy cup. Celtic need to defend better away from home as apart from AC Milan away two years ago they have been shocking away from home.

Our performances certainly didn’t merit three home wins but alas we got them. Away from home is just an absurdity now though we have in the past deserved to get more out of games and not just in the one you mention above.
JBM
QUOTE (SirRogerCasement @ Aug 4 2008, 13:14) *
Real would be great

biggrin.gif

seconded. I cant wait to see them get beaten biggrin.gif
KnightswoodBear
If I cross my fingers and close my eyes and think really hard about what, at the moment, is a piss poor chance of us actually getting to the group stages, now we've had Barca, I'd like Madrid. Wouldn't mind Bremen as I missed our trip there lat time and I've heard it's fantastic for the footy.

We can all dream though. sad.gif
Gallacticos
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 4 2008, 14:21) *
Yes it is a draw I have wanted for ages now that we have done Barcelona to death. I have plenty of anti-fascist stickers which would be spread over their stadium.

Werder Bremen from pot 2. An excellent city that's only an hour away from Hamburg. So best of both worlds if our trip to Bremen would enable a St Pauli home game to be taken in.

Pot 4 I am not bothered about as long as it isn't Shakhtar. The Romanian team would do or Fenerbahce.

Those are ridiculous reasons for wanting particular teams in a draw. Firstly, I'm sure if you did enact your nefarious plan of vandalising the Bernabeu, Real would realy feel like they've been taken to the cleaners and issue an immediate apology concerning their links to Franco and the Spanish crown.

Second, why any Celtic fan would prefer a draw that allows them to watch another team is beyond me. Whatever links we have with St. Pauli (whoever they are) are purely at a supporters group level. I, for one, feel no particular affiliation to any this German mob.

Lastly, on topic, I would love to play Real Madrid as well, just for the novelty of it. A trip to the Santiago Bernabeu would be fantastic. Other than them, I would like the easiest possible draw, preferably FBK Kaunus tongue.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (Gallacticos @ Aug 4 2008, 18:52) *
Those are ridiculous reasons for wanting particular teams in a draw. Firstly, I'm sure if you did enact your nefarious plan of vandalising the Bernabeu, Real would realy feel like they've been taken to the cleaners and issue an immediate apology concerning their links to Franco and the Spanish crown.

So long as the super-adhesive stickers leave their mark, that's all I would be concerned about.

Second, why any Celtic fan would prefer a draw that allows them to watch another team is beyond me. Whatever links we have with St. Pauli (whoever they are) are purely at a supporters group level..

Well not quite. Sadly, the plc have decided to jump onto the bandwagon and sell St Pauli merchandise through our official club shops but other than that you are correct, the link is between the supporters.

I, for one, feel no particular affiliation to any this German mob.

I couldn't care less whether you feel any affiliation with St Pauli.

Seanaldinho
Why are Celtic supposedly linked with this German mob?
Marsh
To my knowledge, I think its because they are a Socialist club. Does Tommy Sheridan have a season ticket for them ?
Colin M
The path of the righteous man is marked on all sides by the multitude of anti-fascist stickers.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (Colin M @ Aug 5 2008, 13:02) *
The path of the righteous man is marked on all sides by the multitude of anti-fascist stickers.

Do you reckon you'd have to be a special dedicated hard-line sort of anti-facist to apply adhesive stickers?
glasnost
Would also be a good opportunity in the Bernabeu of course to fly the Catalan flag and Ikurriña.

Oh and to get our money back of some street shyster who robbed us of our hard earned cash when we were there on the way to Sevilla.

Yes, it looks the favourite from pot 1 by a wee distance.
Colin M
Please tell me you didn't play cards or dice with a Spanish street guy? tongue.gif
glasnost
QUOTE (Colin M @ Aug 5 2008, 13:46) *
Please tell me you didn't play cards or dice with a Spanish street guy? tongue.gif

Aye something like that. In our defence, we were steamboats, in holiday mood and the weather was scorching adding to our general sense of invincibility! laugh.gif
Eönwë
Kaunas from pot 4 if they qualify. How pish are they?
glasnost
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 6 2008, 12:52) *

Certinaly the winners of their game we would be looking to get or Cluj for Romania.
Steven
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 6 2008, 12:52) *

Not half as pish as Rangers by the look of it laugh.gif wink.gif
ChampionsElect
Lyon
Psv
Celtic
Cluj/Kaunas

Would be good.

Chelsea or Real Madrid just for the atmopshere also.
glasnost
QUOTE (ChampionsElect @ Aug 6 2008, 16:50) *
Lyon
Psv
Celtic
Cluj/Kaunas

Would be good.

Chelsea or Real Madrid just for the atmopshere also.

It would be interesting to see what happens with tickets if we drew Chelsea.
ChampionsElect
QUOTE (glasnost @ Aug 6 2008, 16:51) *
It would be interesting to see what happens with tickets if we drew Chelsea.

laugh.gif There would probably be a 'few' extra rows of segregation to say the least.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.