Full Version: Chris Millar
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
Radford
It's very early days and I'm not making any big boasts about him being the best midfielder in the league or anything like that but he's been our best player in our opening two games IMO and I'm really impressed with him. I was excited by the feedback from the Morton fans ahead of his arrival and it's easy to understand why they rated him so highly. First player we've had since Phizzy Scott that breaks beyond the strikers and he did so to great effect today to win us a PK in the last minute.

Any other Saints fans equally as impressed?
SaintSam
He's super.

The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Radford @ Aug 2 2008, 17:45) *
It's very early days and I'm not making any big boasts about him being the best midfielder in the league or anything like that but he's been our best player in our opening two games IMO and I'm really impressed with him. I was excited by the feedback from the Morton fans ahead of his arrival and it's easy to understand why they rated him so highly. First player we've had since Phizzy Scott that breaks beyond the strikers and he did so to great effect today to win us a PK in the last minute.

It,s not often your wrong Radford, and your right agian....Looks the business
Dee4Life1893

How is the "best player in Scotland" Jody Morris getting on??
port-ton
sad.gif

although part of me is smile.gif as im glad he's making a good impression, since he's a port boy like me, except i have more talent.
Kyle
Humble pie has been eaten. Looks a very good player. Hard working as well as fast and his breaks beyond the strikers are excellent to watch. He'll be very hard to shift out of that midfield.
SaintSam
QUOTE (Kyle @ Aug 2 2008, 17:50) *
Humble pie has been eaten. Looks a very good player. Hard working as well as fast and his breaks beyond the strikers are excellent to watch. He'll be very hard to shift out of that midfield.

*wibble*

"He's shite"

*wibble*

port-ton
QUOTE (Kyle @ Aug 2 2008, 17:50) *

He'll have phases where he is anonymous for a few games but you have to stick with him as he comes through it, although even if left out he will get himself back into the team. Excellent player with Excellent attitude.
Baiggers
QUOTE (Dee4Life1893 @ Aug 2 2008, 17:47) *
How is the "best player in Scotland" Jody Morris getting on??

He's injured but thanks for your concern. Who said he was the "best player in Scotland"?

Agree with the general opinion on Chris Millar, looks to be a quality signing. It really is a joy to finally have someone breaking beyond the strikers from the midfield and he was certainly willing to get stuck in and challenge for the ball on the ground and in the air. Frightening to think that Jody Morris, Liam Craig and Gavin Swankie could all be trying to get into the midfield! I thought Sheerin was also class today and the assumption that he won't play as much this season seems to have been very far from the truth. I think it definitely helps his game when he plays with better players on the same wavelength (the reason for his partnership with Stanic being so good).
BluebirdTon
A double leg break in training this week would be just perfect.
port-ton
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Aug 2 2008, 18:22) *

huh.gif

wishing that on yourself seems a bit silly.
Kyle

Hardly crime of the century trying to further his career rolleyes.gif
WendyWho?

You're a swirling vortex of bad karma. If you get torn asunder by wild animals at some point this week you'll have no one to blame but yourself.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Kyle @ Aug 2 2008, 18:30) *
Hardly crime of the century trying to further his career rolleyes.gif

Don't play the w****r. I was refering to the fact I don't want to play him next week.

QUOTE (WendyWho? @ Aug 2 2008, 18:33) *
You're a swirling vortex of bad karma. If you get torn asunder by wild animals at some point this week you'll have no one to blame but yourself.

My family are generally quite nice people.
vikingTON
Does Perth/surrounding townships have a nightlife?
If so you can wave goodbye to good boy Chris and say hello to Mr Big-Fish in deflated kids paddling pool.
port-ton
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 2 2008, 19:35) *
If so you can wave goodbye to good boy Chris and say hello to Mr Big-Fish in deflated kids paddling pool.

have you ever seen him in a Nightclub in Greenock?
vikingTON
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 19:39) *
have you ever seen him in a Nightclub in Greenock?

Several scores of sources. wink.gif
port-ton
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 2 2008, 19:41) *
Several scores of sources. wink.gif

Sure he's been seen in Word Up before, but it wasn't like he was there every week and he's more than entitled to have fun like everyone else on a Sunday.

Infact considering how fit he is and how hard he works i'd let him go out every night of the week if he wanted to. He puts players who don't drink to shame in terms of fitness and hard work.
Steak & Barley
He's always had ability it's just consistency and application he's lacked at times.
Denji

dry.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 19:45) *
Infact considering how fit he is and how hard he works i'd let him go out every night of the week if he wanted to. He puts players who don't drink to shame in terms of fitness and hard work.

Is this speaking from the October-January hot streak last year or the 18 months of ineptitude and shitebaggery beforehand?
port-ton
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 2 2008, 19:51) *
Is this speaking from the October-January hot streak last year or the 18 months of ineptitude and shitebaggery beforehand?

All i mentioned was his Fitness and Hardwork, something that could never be questioned in the whole time he was at Morton. Sure he had hot and cold streaks but those had nothing to do with him going to Word Up occassionaly.
Steve McQueen
For a player who I wasn't sure would be a 1st team regular he did really well. Hopefully he'll have the same impact in wintery midweeks in the Weedgie Triangle.

A midfield of Millar, Morris & Hardie could be very very good.
bandeye
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 2 2008, 19:35) *

Where did you get this pish from . Yes Chris did enjoy himself on a saturday night went out for a drink and went home with his girlfriend now his wife.he has a daughter and is very settled . Its pish like you are sprouting without justification that gets players bad reps. For all his bad boy antics accoring to you he has only missed 4 games in his time a Morton and been picked a first choice by all the managers that were there during his time at the club. Maybe he nicked your bird hence the hostile post or should I say posts you have slated him on several occasions .
port-ton
QUOTE (bandeye @ Aug 2 2008, 21:03) *
Where did you get this pish from . Yes Chris did enjoy himself on a saturday night went out for a drink and went home with his girlfriend now his wife.he has a daughter and is very settled . Its pish like you are sprouting without justification that gets players bad reps. For all his bad boy antics accoring to you he has only missed 4 games in his time a Morton and been picked a first choice by all the managers that were there during his time at the club. Maybe he nicked your bird hence the hostile post or should I say posts you have slated him on several occasions .

If he nicked his bird then he'd be in prison just now, at least then VT could talk shit about him and call him a paedophile. laugh.gif
Tonsilitis
Chris Millar was the consumate professional when he was at Morton and St Johnstone fans should not believe the sh1t which is being talked about him by some 'sour grapes' Morton fans. I did post when he signed for you that he was better than anyone you already had on the books (to some ridicule) and I stick by that. He is one of the best midfielders in this league and he was a great servant to our club. I therefore wish him well in all hsi games for St Johnstone except for at least 4 this season!!
Nizzy
I seem to remember a certain Partick Thistle fan singling Millar out for praise and assuring St Johnstone fans that they had a real player on their hands following our final two games against Morton last season... rolleyes.gif
The Naitch
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 2 2008, 21:41) *
I seem to remember a certain Partick Thistle fan singling Millar out for praise and assuring St Johnstone fans that they had a real player on their hands following our final two games against Morton last season... rolleyes.gif

Wonder who that was then? rolleyes.gif tongue.gif
port-ton
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Aug 2 2008, 21:41) *

Was nice of The Arch to do that aswell, he obviously has an eye for a player.
SaintSam

I think VikingTon is probably one of the Morton fans that saw St.Johnstone as a sideways step to Morton and as a result were convinced that he would pledge his future to the Greenock club. Now completely consumed by disbelief and bitterness at Chris' decision to make the move to further his career. His posts smack of "he was never that good anyway". laugh.gif
Tonsilitis
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Aug 2 2008, 21:50) *
I think VikingTon is probably one of the Morton fans that saw St.Johnstone as a sideways step to Morton and as a result were convinced that he would pledge his future to the Greenock club. Now completely consumed by disbelief and bitterness at Chris' decision to make the move to further his career. His posts smack of "he was never that good anyway". laugh.gif

He was right about one thing....it was most certainly a sideways step! The thing is, both Chris and his Mrs's family come from the Greenock area and he has decided to stay here as he has a young family and the family support network is all here. That means a round trip commute to Perth every day of around 170 miles and I just wonder how long it will take him to get sick of doing that for significantly less wages than Morton were offering him? Will it affect his form?

He might get to the SPL with Saints but we are looking in that direction too, maybe not this season, but, given Saint's record of escaping the first division, he might have done it just as soon!

One thing he may get is a chance to move to a bigger club than both of us though, if he keeps playing as he has.
SramTon

There's no question that Millar was one of our top performers (and probably our best) last season, from October onwards.

However, for most of the 2006/7 season there was, with some justification, a clamour for him to be dropped (he never was). When he was dropped after a poor start to last season, few complained.

When it came to contract renewals, several players had already agreed and signed extensions before the Club even set a date to sit down with Millar. With hindsight this was a mistake, but indicates how (un)bothered the Club were about keeping him only 8 months ago.

My own feeling is that the fact he was dropped and didn't receive an automatic contract extension prompted the improvement in his form. Fair play to the guy, he turned it around and gave his all till the last kick of last season.

I think the criticism he is getting from some Morton fans is just a reaction to the glowing testimonials of others. Normally the truth is in the middle, but in Millar's case I think the truth depends on which phase of his Morton career you are talking about.

port-ton
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Aug 2 2008, 22:13) *
He was right about one thing....it was most certainly a sideways step! The thing is, both Chris and his Mrs's family come from the Greenock area and he has decided to stay here as he has a young family and the family support network is all here. That means a round trip commute to Perth every day of around 170 miles and I just wonder how long it will take him to get sick of doing that for significantly less wages than Morton were offering him? Will it affect his form?

He might get to the SPL with Saints but we are looking in that direction too, maybe not this season, but, given Saint's record of escaping the first division, he might have done it just as soon!

One thing he may get is a chance to move to a bigger club than both of us though, if he keeps playing as he has.

St Johnstone are a bigger club than us in every way except we throw more silly money about than they do. Even if we somehow won promotion this season ahead of St Johnstone they would still be a bigger club than us. A lot of that is down to how excellently run they are compared to us.

I think on day we may be a bigger club than St Johnstone, but its a long way off in the future yet.
Tonsilitis
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 22:42) *
St Johnstone are a bigger club than us in every way except we throw more silly money about than they do. Even if we somehow won promotion this season ahead of St Johnstone they would still be a bigger club than us. A lot of that is down to how excellently run they are compared to us.

I think on day we may be a bigger club than St Johnstone, but its a long way off in the future yet.

Chris Millar moved to club which

1) Is paying him less money than we were prepared to, albeit at the eleventh hour
2) Has only a comparable support

I concede that they have better facilities than we do and maybe even administration but it remains a sideways move for Chris. We will just have to agree to differ on that.

A move to a bigger club for me would have meant an established SPL side.
port-ton
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Aug 2 2008, 23:28) *
Chris Millar moved to club which

1) Is paying him less money than we were prepared to, albeit at the eleventh hour
2) Has only a comparable support

I concede that they have better facilities than we do and maybe even administration but it remains a sideways move for Chris. We will just have to agree to differ on that.

A move to a bigger club for me would have meant an established SPL side.

i agree they arent a much bigger club, but they have better facilities, and are geared towards SPL football, and they have been for years...infact since they came back down. We are nowhere near close enough to being ready for the SPL and even if by some miracle we won the league this year AND got our stadium sorted out etc we'd come straight back down, which would be pointless.

Chris moved for a chance to play SPL football, something that he'll have more chances of doing in the 5 or 6 years he still has left of his prime than we at Morton could have offered him.
cappiecat
Here's the real scoop-Chris Millar, in your squad=jammie b*****ds
The Naitch
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 23:38) *
i agree they arent a much bigger club, but they have better facilities, and are geared towards SPL football, and they have been for years...infact since they came back down. We are nowhere near close enough to being ready for the SPL and even if by some miracle we won the league this year AND got our stadium sorted out etc we'd come straight back down, which would be pointless.

Chris moved for a chance to play SPL football, something that he'll have more chances of doing in the 5 or 6 years he still has left of his prime than we at Morton could have offered him.

I agree with this post. ohmy.gif
port-ton
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Aug 3 2008, 00:11) *
I agree with this post. ohmy.gif

ohmy.gif * faints *

i'll get right back onto being a complete idiot right away.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 23:38) *

Right, so what you're saying is they're not really a much bigger club than us at all, they just have better facilities and are utilising their potential far more successfully than ourselves at this moment in time?

Better run does not equate to bigger.
port-ton
QUOTE (HardingsHamstring @ Aug 3 2008, 00:15) *
Right, so what you're saying is they're not really a much bigger club than us at all, they just have better facilities and are utilising their potential far more successfully than ourselves at this moment in time?

Better run does not equate to bigger.

Better facilities, SPL compliant stadium. Better run, better recent history, played more european games than us.

Spending more money on players does not make you a bigger club, that is all we offer. You can say we have bigger crowds but we never even break 3000 crowd at home now so that doesn't even come into it.

you need to get out of cuckoo land if you think Morton are a big club, we are not. We're on a par with Partick and Raith and we're not even the most successful club out of those three.

We should be trying to catch up on Partick before even thinking about teams like St Johnstone.
Steak & Barley
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Aug 2 2008, 21:21) *
Chris Millar was the consumate professional when he was at Morton and St Johnstone fans should not believe the sh1t which is being talked about him by some 'sour grapes' Morton fans. I did post when he signed for you that he was better than anyone you already had on the books (to some ridicule) and I stick by that. He is one of the best midfielders in this league and he was a great servant to our club. I therefore wish him well in all hsi games for St Johnstone except for at least 4 this season!!

Take your tinted specs off. If by consumate professional you mean a guy with talent who frequently disappears from games then I'd agree. His game did not progress with us over the past 3 seasons and his potential was largely unfulfilled due to his inconsistency. I hope the challenge of moving to a club like St Johnstone will rekindle his desire as he's not a bad lad, but lets not eulogise about a guy who never delivered on his early promise.

As for the nonsense about St Johnstone being a sideways move, I've really got to laugh. St Johnstone are significantly ahead of us in all departments and are likely to be so for sometime to come.
RosscoTon

He had a few arguements with the wrong people in nightclub stated for attitude. Don't even attempt to deny this.

His attitude on the park thought was excellent and I'd have him back at Cappielow in a second, he's well missed.
EdinburghLivi
He was one of the players that really stood out in your team yesterday. If he gets a good run in the team (Swankie deserves it as well) he will become a very good player for your club.
Silver Blue
QUOTE (Tonsilitis @ Aug 2 2008, 22:13) *

Loads of people commute to work starting a lot earlier than Chris will. Not so far to travel next week though for him or me. biggrin.gif Plus he's returning to Greenock as one of the league leaders best players. Not exactly sideways.

Mebbe aye mebbe naw.

No rush

Think we're all agreed he's a damn good signing.
JonaTon
Chris Millar was my player of the year last season.

I was gutted to see him go. You can already see how big a miss he is for us.

Tonsilitis, I've also heard Chris is moving to Glasgow to knock some time off his daily commute.
vikingTON

No, i've just never rated him that highly: his best season for us was the 2003-04 collapse season IMO (IIRC).
Irons is attempting to build a strong powerful central midfield, and Millar does not at all fit into that bracket, not to mention his inconsistency.
In all honesty I'm not missing him at all from our side, although we certainly would have done last year.

Its amusing that a single disparaging opinion on SaintSam's new obsession can be dismissed as petty bitterness though. 1eye.gif
SaintSam
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 3 2008, 18:12) *
No, i've just never rated him that highly: his best season for us was the 2003-04 collapse season IMO (IIRC).
Irons is attempting to build a strong powerful central midfield, and Millar does not at all fit into that bracket, not to mention his inconsistency.
In all honesty I'm not missing him at all from our side, although we certainly would have done last year.

Its amusing that a single disparaging opinion on SaintSam's new obsession can be dismissed as petty bitterness though. 1eye.gif

Lets be smart about this - I didn't actually start this thread so he's not "SaintSams new obsession". Your opinion on Chris Millar is bitterness, pure and simple. He may well not fit into Irons' strong, powerful midfield but he fits perfectly into the one at the top of the league. biggrin.gif
vikingTON
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Aug 3 2008, 18:42) *
Lets be smart about this - I didn't actually start this thread so he's not "SaintSams new obsession". Your opinion on Chris Millar is bitterness, pure and simple. He may well not fit into Irons' strong, powerful midfield but he fits perfectly into the one at the top of the league. biggrin.gif

Since when were the two mutually exclusive?
Still, itrs funny to note that SaintSam's opinion based upon two competitive matches is supposed to hold more credence than 5 and a half years of watching him play week in week out.
Women should never be allowed to the fitba I tell you. rolleyes.gif
SaintSam
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 3 2008, 18:55) *
Since when were the two mutually exclusive?
Still, itrs funny to note that SaintSam's opinion based upon two competitive matches is supposed to hold more credence than 5 and a half years of watching him play week in week out.
Women should never be allowed to the fitba I tell you. rolleyes.gif

My opinions generally hold more credence than yours.
vikingTON
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Aug 3 2008, 18:58) *
My opinions generally hold more credence than yours.

Yes, keep telling yourself that. 1eye.gif