The ghost of Jim Morton
Nov 15 2008, 19:37
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Nov 15 2008, 19:24)

Stephen Finnie
What an awful referee. He made terrible decisions for both teams and was determined to ruin the game. Too many bookings and stupid fouls for my liking.
2/10
Steven Fanny
I completely agree with your summation
You have unfortunately given him 2 points more than he deserved. 0/10
David W
Nov 16 2008, 00:03
Where do you start?
Am I the only one that saw us win a corner in the first half when Holmes headed another corner out of play, only for St Johnstone to be awarded a throw-in? This then led to the linesman arguing with our dugout for the next 10 minutes and caused him to miss a blatant offside against Clarke.
Or the one on the far side where our player blootered the ball out of play with no Saintee near him and we picked up the throw-in ourselves?
Or the fact he managed to go most of the game without any yellow cards and then somehow produced 6/7 in the remaining 25 minutes? The fact 3 or 4 were for dissent tells its own story, Hutton's in particular coming after a smashing tackle from Higgins was penalised by a linesman who couldn't see him take the ball 4 yards away from him. Higgins, Hardie's; both not really justified. Kettlewell's was smart play by Samuel, possibly meritted a yellow.
He also missed Hardie leading with his elbow consistently (I appreciate a couple of our palyers got away with this as well, albeit they weren't as consistent). Given the events of last week, I thought they'd be stamping down on this.
Mental performance. 1/10 as he got the penalty spot on.
EastFootball
Nov 29 2008, 17:45
Dundee v St Johnstone - Brian Winter
Utter, utter shite. No more needs said.
1/10. And that's for awarding our goal.
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Nov 29 2008, 17:45)

Dundee v St Johnstone - Brian Winter
Utter, utter shite. No more needs said.
1/10. And that's for awarding our goal.
I agree. What an incompetent "referee". A shambles in every sense of the word. He wasn't helped by his assistants either, but they were just an embarrassment.
1/10, I would agree with.
David W
Nov 29 2008, 19:00
Steven McLean - Clyde vs Montrose.
Made it up as he went along. Managed to miss Clarke kicking the ball out to gift us a corner and from the resultant delivery missed Gibson being shoved over in the box. The penalty we did get was incorrect. A whole other series of daft free kicks and he didn't play advantage at any point in the match.
2/10 and that's for not wearing a Montrose strip like the guy last year.
EastFootball
Nov 29 2008, 21:29
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 29 2008, 19:00)

Made it up as he went along. Managed to miss Clarke kicking the ball out to gift us a corner and from the resultant delivery missed Gibson being shoved over in the box. The penalty we did get was incorrect. A whole other series of daft free kicks and he didn't play advantage at any point in the match.
Diddy round of the cup ref watch thread for this pish.
Mon The Clyde
Nov 30 2008, 23:55
QUOTE (David W @ Nov 29 2008, 19:00)

Also the infringement of slipping on the turf = free kick, happened a number of times.
I laughed out loud when McKay dived and he awarded us with the penalty, laughable decision
Radford
Dec 1 2008, 12:32
I thought Winter was terrible as well and rivals Nicholls (Livi vs Saints - CoOp Cup) as our worst of the season. I've seen Saints fans try to play things down and say he was terrible for both sides but I thought he was in the main just terrible for us. He was poor so of course there were bad decisions that went in our favour as well but it seemed every one of our challenges was a foul. I said after the game at McDiarmid that we could have little complaint with collecting so many bookings but I didn't think we were overly physical on Saturday. The booking of Moon was one of the worst decisions I've seen this season, he played the whole ball before even touching the man. I've seen Dundee fans complaining about not booking James for the foul on Deasley but IMO it shouldn't even have been that, it was another occasion where he took the ball before the man.
The Derry linesman was also terrible. He got numerous throw-in decisions wrong and also let play continue on a several occasions when the ball looked out of play.
Matches Nicholls' score of 2/10.
QUOTE (Radford @ Dec 1 2008, 12:32)

I thought Winter was terrible as well and rivals Nicholls (Livi vs Saints - CoOp Cup) as our worst of the season. I've seen Saints fans try to play things down and say he was terrible for both sides but I thought he was in the main just terrible for us. He was poor so of course there were bad decisions that went in our favour as well but it seemed every one of our challenges was a foul. I said after the game at McDiarmid that we could have little complaint with collecting so many bookings but I didn't think we were overly physical on Saturday. The booking of Moon was one of the worst decisions I've seen this season, he played the whole ball before even touching the man. I've seen Dundee fans complaining about not booking James for the foul on Deasley but IMO it shouldn't even have been that, it was another occasion where he took the ball before the man.
The Derry linesman was also terrible. He got numerous throw-in decisions wrong and also let play continue on a several occasions when the ball looked out of play.
Matches Nicholls' score of 2/10.
Radders, it's still a foul if you take the ball first then crunch the man.
Jamie_Beatson
Dec 1 2008, 22:17
Mooner's was an inch perfect tackle, and his booking virtually took him out of the match. You could see him pulling out of tackles he would otherwsie have made because he knew he would have walked.
The Derry linesman was also woeful. The throw in he gave Dundee when the guy booted it out of the park literally one yard away from him was incredible.
The ghost of Jim Morton
Dec 3 2008, 17:57
I'm gonna try something here....St.Johnstone v QoS....6/12/08
Mike Tumilty, Assisted by James Bee, Frank Connor .
Tumilty was a joke and his linesmen were pretty useless as well.As usual the ref wanted to be the centre of attention. The first goal was clearly off-side and the two shouts for a penalty were stonewallers.Whistl fucking happy idiot. He was shit for both sides and before the ordering off he had clearly lost the plot. 8 booking and a sending off in a match that hardly had a bad tackle in it. When the f**k is this gonna end....Things are getting so bad I'm thinking of starting a campaign for the return of that stiff arsed old barstard Wille Young....
4/10 and that's me being generous..
See how close I get....
EastFootball
Dec 3 2008, 21:18
Mon The Clyde
Dec 13 2008, 21:16
Clyde vs Dundee..
Calum Murray?Thought he did pretty well, kept the game flowing. Two red cards I felt were correct.
Didn't agree with him with the 'play must stop while McHale(?) tied his shoe lace' rule though

7/10
The ghost of Jim Morton
Dec 13 2008, 21:24
Saints v Morton....Stevie O'Riley...Was like an old bloody woman. Far to picky and inconsistent. No major decisions to make but that's probably just as well.....I've seen worse this season but all the refs need to try and let games flow.
5/10
GypsyTillIDie
Dec 13 2008, 22:20
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Dec 13 2008, 21:16)

Clyde vs Dundee..
Calum Murray?Thought he did pretty well, kept the game flowing. Two red cards I felt were correct.
Didn't agree with him with the 'play must stop while
McHale(?) tied his shoe lace' rule though
7/10
I think it was Shinnie. Sorry to be pedantic.

Anyway, I didn't think Murray was that bad. Bit stop and start in the second half but not the worst I've seen this season.
6/10
Mon The Clyde
Dec 14 2008, 00:39
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Dec 13 2008, 22:20)

Anyway, I didn't think Murray was that bad. Bit stop and start in the second half but not the worst I've seen this season.
6/10
Aye I wasn't sure that's why the (?) bit was in there
G_Man1985
Dec 14 2008, 00:43
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Dec 13 2008, 22:20)

6/10
Could agree with this, time added on maybe a bit more, linesman was shocking though
EdinburghLivi
Dec 14 2008, 16:45
Anthony Law Vs. Ross County
This was the second time I've seen Mr. Law referee a match to my recollection and the second time I've said he did a great job. He wasn't overly fussy and let the play go on most occasions despite how loud my biased yelps were and the woman in front of me moaned. Davidson went flying into a few challenges but they were clean and he didn't blow his whistle. He had a word eventually but that was really it. Handled Innes' set of challenges very well.
My only moan was that the free-kick that lead to their goal seemed a bit soft from where I was. I might be wrong but it certainly didn't look like a yellow card or even perhaps a free-kick. I may have been much further away than he was, but that was just how I saw it.
8/10
Virtual Insanity
Dec 15 2008, 22:27
Thistle v Airdrie
Mike McCurry
Worst refereeing performance I've seen this season despite having no major calls to make.
goodevening
Dec 15 2008, 22:40
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Dec 13 2008, 21:24)

Saints v Morton....Stevie O'Riley...Was like an old bloody woman. Far to picky and inconsistent. No major decisions to make but that's probably just as well.....I've seen worse this season but all the refs need to try and let games flow.
5/10
I think 5/10 is a bit generous Jim
To be fair his linesman were even worse.
GypsyTillIDie
Dec 17 2008, 20:03
Clyde vs Airdrie - Chris Boyle
Further reinstating what an absolute cock he is.
1/10
David W
Dec 17 2008, 20:27
Last night was probably the best I've seen Boyle referee; he didn't get too many decisions wrong as such. That said, he missed hundreds of foul throws, didn't play the advantage at any point and his attitude stinks; you're refereeing a bunch of professionals, not poodles. There's no need to toot your whistle 78 times at each decision, or storm around pointing at people for sneezing.
Smurph
Dec 29 2008, 20:14
Partick v Ross County 27/12/08
We may have lost two nil down to a terrible performance, but Stephen Finnie.. dear god.
The red card to Mark Twaddle may have been a little harsh, I didn't see the first yellow card, and for what I could see it was a bit of a late challenge to get his second, but Stephen seems to think that if you push a player out of the way to header the ball it's not a foul. I mean push. Ross County deserved a few yellow cards during the match, and as far as I can remember they didn't get a single one.
It was horrible, fair enough sometimes the referee makes the wrong decision, but it was just too far.
Assistants weren't much better, and make a few wrong calls, but overall it was disgusting.
BluebirdTon
Dec 31 2008, 10:52
John McKendrick, Morton v Partick Thistle.
4/10.
Some of the desisions he made were completely baffling. Paticularly the blatent and deliberate handball in the box - that he never saw despite the fact he was standing just feet away.
Smurph
Dec 31 2008, 17:11
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Dec 31 2008, 10:52)

John McKendrick, Morton v Partick Thistle.
4/10.
Some of the desisions he made were completely baffling. Paticularly the blatent and deliberate handball in the box - that he never saw despite the fact he was standing just feet away.

I didn't see that handball to be honest, there was a large pole in my way..
But he wasn't up to much, and again, the linesmen weren't up to much either.
garymcc1874
Jan 3 2009, 17:35
Nicholls
0/10
Never seen such a poor display of cheating. Bet he was raging when we scored, the c**t. GIRUY
BluebirdTon
Jan 3 2009, 20:46
Steven Nicholls, Morton v Queen Of The South.
2/10. Bias and generally pathetic.
GypsyTillIDie
Jan 3 2009, 20:49
Mike Tumilty - Clyde vs Partick Thistle
I think both sets of fans will agree that he was fucking atrocious. Got the thistle penalty call right, but got ours wrong.
2/10
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Jan 3 2009, 20:49)

Mike Tumilty - Clyde vs Partick Thistle
I think both sets of fans will agree that he was fucking atrocious. Got the thistle penalty call right, but got ours wrong.
2/10
Agreed, the linesman on our side was terrible, number 11 (Mc something?) dived for Archibald's yellow card, no way a foul, the ball was going out so he decided to jump on the floor. And he deserved at least a yellow for the first half. One for diving maybe, and then smiling at our fans and the linesman when the referee gave Archie the yellow. He also made gestures to make our fans boo him more, and make a horrible tackle to Rowson I think.

Worst linesperson ever
blairgowriedee
Jan 4 2009, 06:48
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jan 4 2009, 00:10)

Worst linesperson ever
Please explain, or are you still bitter
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jan 4 2009, 00:10)

Worst linesperson ever
She is now an International (FIFA listed) Womans Referee.
AyrshireTon
Jan 4 2009, 21:07
Nicholls - 1/10.
I'd heard in the Norseman that he allowed the club to do some work on the pitch in order to let it pass the pitch inspection (total contrast from Mr Richmond last season). I then hoped that we had a decent ref for a change.
Sadly it was not to be - a complete clown. I gave him 1 since he saw through the dreadful timewasting tactics and actually added on the correct amount of stoppage time.
Otherwise he was useless - couldn't count out 10 yards without the help of the Cowshed.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.