Full Version: Clyde 1-1 Morton
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Mon The Clyde
Thought a draw was a fair enough result, referee totally ruined the game with petty fouls everywhere. Stand side linesman tried his best to give Morton the three point but GIRUY biggrin.gif
SavotheGreat
Clyde will walk ALL OVER Morton this season.
port-ton
QUOTE (Mon The Clyde @ Aug 2 2008, 17:17) *
Thought a draw was a fair enough result, referee totally ruined the game with petty fouls everywhere. Stand side linesman tried his best to give Morton the three point but GIRUY biggrin.gif

John Brown didn't think a draw was a fair result.
StooCFC
Was good to see that wee fanny Irons taking a hissy on the touchline when Clyde scored smile.gif .
Morton goal offside, boy ran between two defenders and when the ball was played he was offside. Was right in line with it.
Clyde showed good signs in the first half, were poor for the majority of the second. Never gave up though. Morton run a tight ship at the back, though unimpressive up front. Mainly stifled by the Clyde defence.
'Mon the Bully! biggrin.gif

scottp96
Have to say it wasn't sad.gif

Edited to add GIRUY Irons laugh.gif
Radford
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 17:20) *
John Brown didn't think a draw was a fair result.

John Brown is the most honest manager in the league IMO. The way he comes across totally contradicts what my opinion of him was when he was a player.
Mon The Clyde
We were poor, very poor, but I didn't feel we were in any danger of losing a second.
port-ton
QUOTE (StooCFC @ Aug 2 2008, 17:39) *
Was good to see that wee fanny Irons taking a hissy on the touchline when Clyde scored smile.gif .
Morton goal offside, boy ran between two defenders and when the ball was played he was offside. Was right in line with it.
Clyde showed good signs in the first half, were poor for the majority of the second. Never gave up though. Morton run a tight ship at the back, though unimpressive up front. Mainly stifled by the Clyde defence.
'Mon the Bully! biggrin.gif

Celebrating a draw at home against a team most Clyde fans think will finish at least 3 places below Clyde.

I thought Clyde would win today, but we'd finish ahead of you in the league. Now i know, Morton will draw and finish ahead of you in the league.
BullyWee1878
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 17:43) *
Celebrating a draw at home against a team most Clyde fans think will finish at least 3 places below Clyde.

I thought Clyde would win today, but we'd finish ahead of you in the league. Now i know, Morton will draw and finish ahead of you in the league.

To be fair I would expect your team to finish ahead of Clyde as you have a bigger budget than us. No way could we afford to offer any players over £1k like you did with Innes.

Listening to Duffy on the radio it didnt sound like we played all that well but we nicked a goal and will take the point, most games like that last season we probably wouldnt have picked up the point.
StooCFC
QUOTE (port-ton @ Aug 2 2008, 17:43) *

Nae bother wink.gif
monthebullywee
Its was nice to see the dirty unwashed scruffy b*****d wake was send off his elbows were flying everytime he went for the ball.

and GIRFUY Irons his fit was so funny at the end laugh.gif
GypsyTillIDie
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

We were awful today! No way in hell did we deserve a draw this afternoon.

Trouten and Kettlewell were piss poor, as was Ohnesorge. Willie McLaren was immense today, he looks a smashing player.

Morton on the other hand, well, I thought they were brilliant. No.7 (Jim McAllister?) was taking Gibson apart and looks destined to play at a higher level. Graecen(sp?!) was terrific in the heart of defence, while Brian Wake completely destroyed us. They hit the bar twice and Clyde only threatened two or three times.

A game completely ruined by the referee. So many stupid free-kicks awarded to both sets of teams and awful decisions like sending Wake off.

...And also, GIRFUY Irons!
port-ton
QUOTE (BullyWee1878 @ Aug 2 2008, 17:46) *
To be fair I would expect your team to finish ahead of Clyde as you have a bigger budget than us. No way could we afford to offer any players over £1k like you did with Innes.

Listening to Duffy on the radio it didnt sound like we played all that well but we nicked a goal and will take the point, most games like that last season we probably wouldnt have picked up the point.

We spend sill money on players though, its always been our thing. One of the biggest budgets in the league and most Morton fans expect us to finish 7th or 8th, it says it all.

it seems like more of the same as last season for us, being unable to hold onto a lead.

Hope we stick with three up front though as we look like a much better team with it.

I think Morton vs Clyde games should be made to last a mandatory 89 minutes and then blow the whistle right on time.
Wonko the Sane
Fine performance from the Ton. Clyde should be ashamed of the point they got from the worst refereeing performance I've seen in many a year. Ridiculous sending off, unjustified time added on, every assistance to the home team in the last few minutes and I'm absolutely certain he showed Jim McAllister two yellows and didn't send him off. This is going to be a tight league and god-awful referees just aren't acceptable.
Mushroom
QUOTE (Wonko the Sane @ Aug 2 2008, 17:52) *
Fine performance from the Ton. Clyde should be ashamed of the point they got from the worst refereeing performance I've seen in many a year. Ridiculous sending off, unjustified time added on, every assistance to the home team in the last few minutes and I'm absolutely certain he showed Jim McAllister two yellows and didn't send him off. This is going to be a tight league and god-awful referees just aren't acceptable.

Hi Davie, did you pick up all your toys.

The ref was shocking for both teams, but the sending off was correct, I've never seen a clumsier player than Wake. I bet he could burn down a house by making cereal.

There were quite a few stoppages, but I can't say I paid enough attention to give a definite right/wrong opinion.

We struggled mainly in midfield today, I can't help but feel a 451 would have worked better, giving us an extra man in midfield and making better use of Mortons lack of full backs.
GreenOak_Ton
Worst refereeing performance ive seen.Wake's sending off was a disgrace as he didnt even see the defender coming across him due to fact he'd just turned from another defender. Four minutes of injury time......where did he get that from as i only remember physio on once for a few seconds.
Well said GypsyTilIDie.You got it spot on.Maybe its just justice for that goal Clyde got disallowed at cappielow in first game of last season.
Agree with Radford too regarding John Brown.Comes over really honest.Basically seems a decent bloke but doesnt take away that i despised him as a durty b of a player.
As for Irons taking a fit(didnt see it myself due to the fit i was having)it shows hes passionate and that will do for me after waxwork McInally with his folded arms and his shrug of shoulders if we lost a goal. All a bit of a disjointed rant but still seething from that refereeing performance. mad.gif
StooCFC
QUOTE (Wonko the Sane @ Aug 2 2008, 17:52) *

Ashamed is not the right word, relieved is a more appropriate emotion. As for this ridiculous sending off. How did Wake expect to get away with those challenges? Obviously you disagree cos you're a Morton, but Wake is a reckless clumsy b*****d.

I counted just over 5 minutes added on, which I wouldn't say was unjustified considering the amount of times the ref was pullin folk up which delayed play for 30 seconds at least each time. And every assistance to the home team!?! What a cheek! Considering your goal was offside!

port-ton
As annoying as this result is at least we can take from it an away point and the fact we were the better side against a team that will probably be one place above/below us at the end of the season.

Plus i doubt that goal will count half as much as the disallowed one in the first game last season that kept us out the play-offs smile.gif
BluebirdTon
Clyde deserved nothing.

The End.
CK
The amount of added time was correct. The referee had to stop the game at several points to book/talk to Morton players for their hooligan-esque behaviour, adding to their persistent time wasting, three substitutions, McGregors injury and the fact it took Brian Wake about a minute to walk off the park. As for Wake, he should have went sooner. Always jumping for the ball with he elbows flying around, had a kick at McGregor and his "challenge" on Brown should have seen a straight red for serious foul play.

I thought that Kettlewell and Trouten had poor games, Hutton should have done better with their goal. Gemmill was unlucky to be hooked at half time, McLaren was probably our best player. Gibson, Brown and Higgins also had solid games.

As for Morton, Colin Stewart is a bomb scare, if he is kept in the team he will cost the team several points. Kevin Finlayson is a donkey of the highest order, he just hits the ball as hard as he can and hopes for the best. McAllister had a good game on the left, and Newby looked decent during his spell on the park. The conduct of several players was alarming. Ryan McGuffie tried to referee the game, and the tackling by several players was bad, hardly surprising if they are led by uber-thug Irons. His antics at the end were brilliant.
Stevie Aitken's Love Child
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Aug 2 2008, 17:59) *
I've never seen a clumsier player than Wake. I bet he could burn down a house by making cereal.

laugh.gif Outstanding!

Onto the game, I felt we more than deserved to win the match. After a shaky start in which Clyde were on top without really doing much, we came into the game and scored a very well worked goal. Shades of off-side on Jon Newby but he was composed enough to slot the ball home after Hutton had made a good initial save. In the 2nd half I felt we completely dominated, with Iain Russell proving a thorn in the Clyde defence but wasting a few good chances, one of which crashing off the bar from a tight angle. Then Wake was sent off for a 2nd booking, a bit harsh if you ask and you could see that the players agreed as McAlister and McGuffie were booked for dissent. Clyde then threw everything forward, getting a few corners but doing nothing with them. I thought we had weathered the storm but the ref for some reason decided to give over 4 minutes of stoppage time for nothing at all. Clyde won a corner, Stewart came for it but got nowhere near it, and it scraped over the line.

Still a positive showing, plenty of plusses to take from the game. The performances of Stewart Greacen, Erik Paartalu, Brian Wake and Iain Russell were very promising for the season ahead, and we still have a few players to come back from injury.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (CK @ Aug 2 2008, 18:16) *
The amount of added time was correct. The referee had to stop the game at several points to book/talk to Morton players for their hooligan-esque behaviour, adding to their persistent time wasting, three substitutions, McGregors injury and the fact it took Brian Wake about a minute to walk off the park. As for Wake, he should have went sooner. Always jumping for the ball with he elbows flying around, had a kick at McGregor and his "challenge" on Brown should have seen a straight red for serious foul play.

I thought that Kettlewell and Trouten had poor games, Hutton should have done better with their goal. Gemmill was unlucky to be hooked at half time, McLaren was probably our best player. Gibson, Brown and Higgins also had solid games.

As for Morton, Colin Stewart is a bomb scare, if he is kept in the team he will cost the team several points. Kevin Finlayson is a donkey of the highest order, he just hits the ball as hard as he can and hopes for the best. McAllister had a good game on the left, and Newby looked decent during his spell on the park. The conduct of several players was alarming. Ryan McGuffie tried to referee the game, and the tackling by several players was bad, hardly surprising if they are led by uber-thug Irons. His antics and the end were brilliant.

Boo fucking hoo.

You got a point you didn't deserve.

Get over it.

Edit: Says it all about the refs performance.
HardingsHamstring
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Aug 2 2008, 17:51) *

We were awful today! No way in hell did we deserve a draw this afternoon.

Trouten and Kettlewell were piss poor, as was Ohnesorge. Willie McLaren was immense today, he looks a smashing player.

Morton on the other hand, well, I thought they were brilliant. No.7 (Jim McAllister?) was taking Gibson apart and looks destined to play at a higher level. Graecen(sp?!) was terrific in the heart of defence, while Brian Wake completely destroyed us. They hit the bar twice and Clyde only threatened two or three times.

A game completely ruined by the referee. So many stupid free-kicks awarded to both sets of teams and awful decisions like sending Wake off.

...And also, GIRFUY Irons!

Agree with all of the above. Well done Sir.

Except the Irons part, I'm with him, inept w**k of a referee took 2 points away from us today.
Garrowhillclyde
The controvertial decisions:

Mortons Goal, offside, in my opinion.

The Wake sending off - very very harsh. I think it was certainly a foul, but not a booking for that particular offence. He put it about quite a bit during the game and I cant help but think that influenced the decision.

Time added on, yes 5 mins seemed OK, given the number of subs and the number of bookings, including wake trudging off. Ref was far to quick with his bookings and as well as wakes thought he was harsh with a couple of the ton ones at the end.

We did create chances and looked ok in the first half hour or so, but fell apart. Was quite dissapointed at the lack of movement at times. A few clyde players had dreadful games.
sydney
We got out of jail today big time. Morton deserved the points, plain and simple. And I missed the bloody equaliser- left just before it as I just couldn't see us scoring-that'll teach me !
Crazy number of bookings in what was not really a dirty game. A few robust challenges but nothing dirty in my view, just some late challenges. Wake's was never a sending off. First was a booking, fair enough but second was clumsy in my view- nothing much in it.
Glad to take the point- no doubt there will be time when we deserve more and don't get it, so nice to get a bit of luck.
GypsyTillIDie
Was it Brown or McGregor that scored our goal?

The radio said it was Brown but from my angle it looked like it was Neil.

Anyone got some confirmation?

port-ton

As for Morton, Colin Stewart is a bomb scare, if he is kept in the team he will cost the team several points. Kevin Finlayson is a donkey of the highest order, he just hits the ball as hard as he can and hopes for the best. McAllister had a good game on the left, and Newby looked decent during his spell on the park. The conduct of several players was alarming. Ryan McGuffie tried to referee the game, and the tackling by several players was bad, hardly surprising if they are led by uber-thug Irons. His antics at the end were brilliant.

Remind me, who is your manager again?
Clyde4life

Apart from the comments on Wake - thats the biggest pile of pish I have ever seen!
I would like to add that Neil McGregor (your number 2?) is a dirty cheating bassa. The amount of times he had his arms wrapped around our player when jumping for a header was ridiculous, and he didn't half fall over at the slightest touch. For a guy that's naturally a centre half I thought it was embarrassing to watch.
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Aug 2 2008, 18:22) *
Was it Brown or McGregor that scored our goal?

The radio said it was Brown but from my angle it looked like it was Neil.

Anyone got some confirmation?

Chris Boyle.
sydney
meant to say that I was interested to see Morton totally losing their discipline in the last 15 minutes, even before Wake's sending off- what was that all about ? 2 or 3 players booked for dissent.
StooCFC
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Aug 2 2008, 18:17) *
laugh.gif Outstanding!

Onto the game, I felt we more than deserved to win the match. After a shaky start in which Clyde were on top without really doing much, we came into the game and scored a very well worked goal. Shades of off-side on Jon Newby but he was composed enough to slot the ball home after Hutton had made a good initial save. In the 2nd half I felt we completely dominated, with Iain Russell proving a thorn in the Clyde defence but wasting a few good chances, one of which crashing off the bar from a tight angle. Then Wake was sent off for a 2nd booking, a bit harsh if you ask and you could see that the players agreed as McAlister and McGuffie were booked for dissent. Clyde then threw everything forward, getting a few corners but doing nothing with them. I thought we had weathered the storm but the ref for some reason decided to give over 4 minutes of stoppage time for nothing at all. Clyde won a corner, Stewart came for it but got nowhere near it, and it scraped over the line.

Still a positive showing, plenty of plusses to take from the game. The performances of Stewart Greacen, Erik Paartalu, Brian Wake and Iain Russell were very promising for the season ahead, and we still have a few players to come back from injury.

You must be having a fucking laugh! Stop complaining about the injury time, you know it was justified the amount of times the ref stopped the game, spoke to players, the substitutions, Wake taking a lifetime to come off the park. The referee was an absolute disgrace, he irritated me so much. He never let the game just go, which I think would have made for a much more exciting encounter. Clyde were poor, but Morton has as about the same amount of chances going forward
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (sydney @ Aug 2 2008, 18:21) *
We got out of jail today big time. Morton deserved the points, plain and simple. And I missed the bloody equaliser- left just before it as I just couldn't see us scoring-that'll teach me !
Crazy number of bookings in what was not really a dirty game. A few robust challenges but nothing dirty in my view, just some late challenges. Wake's was never a sending off. First was a booking, fair enough but second was clumsy in my view- nothing much in it.
Glad to take the point- no doubt there will be time when we deserve more and don't get it, so nice to get a bit of luck.

Well said.
Garrowhillclyde
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Aug 2 2008, 18:23) *
I would like to add that Neil McGregor (your number 2?) is a dirty cheating bassa. The amount of times he had his arms wrapped around our player when jumping for a header was ridiculous, and he didn't half fall over at the slightest touch. For a guy that's naturally a centre half I thought it was embarrassing to watch.

He was really pushing his luck with the ref. I reckon he was one foul away from a second yellow.

BluebirdTon
QUOTE (sydney @ Aug 2 2008, 18:24) *
meant to say that I was interested to see Morton totally losing their discipline in the last 15 minutes, even before Wake's sending off- what was that all about ? 2 or 3 players booked for dissent.

The referee was completely on the wind up.

He booked McGuffie for sarcasticly applauding a rare correct desision from the ref.
QUOTE (StooCFC @ Aug 2 2008, 18:24) *
You must be having a fucking laugh! Stop complaining about the injury time, you know it was justified the amount of times the ref stopped the game, spoke to players, the substitutions, Wake taking a lifetime to come off the park. The referee was an absolute disgrace, he irritated me so much. He never let the game just go, which I think would have made for a much more exciting encounter. Clyde were poor, but Morton has as about the same amount of chances going forward

The injury time was caused by the general fuckwittery of the referee, why should that influence the game? There should have been 3 minutes tops.
GypsyTillIDie
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Aug 2 2008, 18:23) *
Chris Boyle.

port-ton
thats our defence of the best disciplinary record last year wiped out by one ref in the first game of the season. Was the only thing we had a chance of winning this year aswell. sad.gif
StooCFC
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Aug 2 2008, 18:26) *
The injury time was caused by the general fuckwittery of the referee, why should that influence the game? There should have been 3 minutes tops.

That doesn't even make sense. The ref makes the decisions, therefore adds on what injury time he sees fit.
QUOTE (StooCFC @ Aug 2 2008, 18:30) *
That doesn't even make sense. The ref makes the decisions, therefore adds on what injury time he sees fit.

The stoppages in that game should have amounted to an additional 3 minutes of injury time. Is that more clear for you blink.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (StooCFC @ Aug 2 2008, 18:30) *

Fuckwitted desisions though ?
Toma_BullyWee
Usually when i don't go to Clyde games we win.

You can imagine how gutted i was to see a dirty big draw.

BluebirdTon
QUOTE (GypsyTillIDie @ Aug 2 2008, 18:27) *

He would have been aswell to have done.
StooCFC
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Aug 2 2008, 18:32) *
The stoppages in that game should have amounted to an additional 3 minutes of injury time. Is that more clear for you blink.gif

Not if it didn't amount to three minutes injury time to the ref wacko.gif
Mushroom
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Aug 2 2008, 18:23) *
Chris Boyle.

Christ, was it him refereeing!?

That explains alot.

Got to love the hissy fits from Morton fans on this thread.
CK
Do they teach Maths in Greenock?
StooCFC
QUOTE (BluebirdTon @ Aug 2 2008, 18:32) *
Fuckwitted desisions though ?

Ah for sure, for both sides. The game never really got goin because of pernickity decisions by the ref. He really irritated me today. However IMO Wake's sending off was just because of the second booking factor.
QUOTE (CK @ Aug 2 2008, 18:36) *
Do they teach Maths in Greenock?

Of course. Where do you think I learned how to divide my Heroin into enough tenner bags to make a healthy profit in order to cover my child support for my 4 kids to different mothers?
StooCFC
QUOTE (Stevie Aitken's Love Child @ Aug 2 2008, 18:39) *
Of course. Where do you think I learned how to divide my Heroin into enough tenner bags to make a healthy profit in order to cover my child support for my 4 kids to different mothers?

Lmao, ok I concede that was funny laugh.gif
BluebirdTon
QUOTE (Mushroom @ Aug 2 2008, 18:36) *
Christ, was it him refereeing!?

That explains alot.

Got to love the hissy fits from Morton fans on this thread.

As did we last time round.

Any decent fan would be angry when they are cheated out of 3 points.