Full Version: Do Away With The Second Division...
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
SavotheGreat
...Or at least stop mediocre pish, Morton-like sides from winning promotion to the promised land. What actual purpose does it serve? How exactly does it improve the standard of the first division? Season-after-season the promoted side drops back down to where they belong. Season-after-season we have to make compromises and go and visit these shitty little grounds so that we can give the little clubs their shot in the spotlight.

Disband the damn thing. Throw it on the scrapper and prevent diddy sides from spending above their means; every one of these sides is just ANOTHER Gretna waiting to happen.
The Phoenix
I'm willing to bet that within a short period of time someone will tell SavotheGrate to F**k off because he's a tedious c**t.

Just a hunch.
dirty dingus
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Aug 2 2008, 17:00) *
...Or at least stop mediocre pish, Morton-like sides from winning promotion to the promised land. What actual purpose does it serve? How exactly does it improve the standard of the first division? Season-after-season the promoted side drops back down to where they belong. Season-after-season we have to make compromises and go and visit these shitty little grounds so that we can give the little clubs their shot in the spotlight.

Disband the damn thing. Throw it on the scrapper and prevent diddy sides from spending above their means; every one of these sides is just ANOTHER Gretna waiting to happen.

you are right, well done, now go stand outside the offices of scottish footballs governing bodies till monday morning and present them your sparkling future vision. I'm sure loads o village idiots would love to steal your idea.

I love Savo, he makes me feel clever biggrin.gif
p.s a fresh season needs fresh bait.
RCR
QUOTE (dirty dingus @ Aug 2 2008, 17:19) *

Is he not a wean though? I thought for some reason he was still in school, hence the stupid comments.
The Phoenix
Savo was special at School. biggrin.gif
The Phoenix
Sorry that should have read "Savo was at a special school".

Apologies for any confusion caused.
19QOS19
What a completely pointless thread. Fud. What makes me laugh is that 12 people have actually participated in the vote!
mortonman
IMO its the spl that needs a wake-up call.
Dr Koop
Escape to Victory's on More 4 if anyone's bored.
Fast_Action
QUOTE (dirty dingus @ Aug 2 2008, 17:19) *
you are right, well done, now go stand outside the offices of scottish footballs governing bodies till monday morning and present them your sparkling future vision. I'm sure loads o village idiots would love to steal your idea.

p.s a fresh season needs fresh bait.

This is one of Savo's better wind-ups. laugh.gif

And the word on the street is that Greenock does not have a village idiot; rather it has a rota.
EdinburghLivi
There are a few decent teams down there, it wouldn't be fair on them.
Stainrod's Fedora
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 3 2008, 12:09) *
There are a few decent teams down there, it wouldn't be fair on them.

Thinking of supporting a few of them are you?
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Aug 3 2008, 12:44) *

rolleyes.gif

Of course, my reasoning was completely unacceptable for changing clubs...
rw89
Savo, seriously, do yourself a favour and get some fishing lessons. Terrible wind-up! sad.gif rolleyes.gif
SuperTommy
QUOTE (The Phoenix @ Aug 2 2008, 17:03) *
I'm willing to bet that within a short period of time someone will tell SavotheGrate to F**k off because he's a tedious c**t.

Just a hunch.

F**k off Savo, you tedious c**t. biggrin.gif
Fife Saint
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Aug 3 2008, 12:44) *

I think Savo is more clever than you lot would imagine.
rab sav
He's right. get rid of the second division its a shambles and a disgrace to scottish football. Its clearly at the root of all our problems. We should merge the first and third division to create the "super scottish inter-city championship" where the winners get an automatic intertoto cup spot -that would show the spl we mean business!. The second division clubs can go and play in the juniors, and they can bugger off out our challenge cup as well.
AldoLeon
No way, I would love to see Livi back in the SPL and enjoy seeing Dundee go down ha ha ha (yeah I'm dreaming)
Swampy
QUOTE (Fife Saint @ Aug 3 2008, 14:56) *

I think Savo is more clever than you lot would imagine.

Gareth's mediocre university career would suggest otherwise tongue.gif
Bigmouth Strikes Again

The most ironic part of this post is that Morton are a far bigger side than the 'mickey mouse' St Johnstone could ever be.
vikingTON
No award Savo: not even worth the average 0.345/10 your fishing trips have amassed over long, exceptionally tedious months.
It appears you have failed in yet another aspect of your sad, delusional little life. biggrin.gif
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Bigmouth Strikes Again @ Aug 3 2008, 19:07) *
The most ironic part of this post is that Morton are a far bigger side than the 'mickey mouse' St Johnstone could ever be.

There's nothing ironic about it.

Ok, I concede, "doing away" with the Second Division is a bit on the extreme side. But let's look at the situation objectively. Every side that has won promotion from the Second Division in recent years has been absolutely garbage.

Stirling: straight back down.

Morton: Barely survived.

Gretna: laugh.gif

The simple alternative would be to replicate the system in the SPL and ENSURE that only one side comes up (and likewise ENSURE that the superior team replacing the mediocre champions of the Second Division in the Second Division, stays up). Looking at the league as it is, there are only a few sides in this league that rightfully belong in the second division (Clyde, Ross County and perhaps Morton); the rest should stay where they are.
chico

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

great stuff, but no mention of the perth fermers choking promotion er..

Season-after-season?
Lando Griffin
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Aug 2 2008, 16:00) *

Hello Geoff Brown <waves at Geoff Brown>
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Aug 3 2008, 19:10) *
No award Savo: not even worth the average 0.345/10 your fishing trips have amassed over long, exceptionally tedious months.

Oh wind your neck in! Paranoia personified.
vikingTON
This is the wind-up equivalent of cooking Christmas dinner using nothing more than a match.
Minus the friction pad.