O'Rourke
Aug 2 2008, 09:15
Excuse me but how can anyone honestly claim to have changed their loyalties from one club to another?
Fair enough if you were a fan of Third Lanark, Clydebank or Gretna in the past (or even Dundee in the future if they can't dislodge their heads from the sand), but surely you can't change clubs with any sincerity?
St Johnstone 'til I die!
Noticed that, strange one, i mind on the old official saints forums there was a regular poster called Barry (??Radford would maybe back me up) who was from Livi and tried to get up to McD often but always bemoned needing to get a lift from his old man, he then strangely totally disappeared, could this be the guy who jamp ship?
Mad Cyril
Aug 2 2008, 09:57
I was brought up supporting Celtic, but switched to St Johnstone "full time" in the early eighties although I used to go to Muirton regularly years before that and Celtic Park occasionally when my older brother could afford to take me.
I'm just wondering if the Livi fan is the young Ryan Giggs lookalike that used to got to McDiarmid Park 12-15 years ago? He was from Livingston.
A_dee4life
Aug 2 2008, 10:27
Dundee FC Will Never Die!!!!!!
He is now supporting his local team which everyone wants people to do anyway. Is it really that big a deal?
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
Aug 2 2008, 10:54
QUOTE (Loki @ Aug 2 2008, 11:53)

He is now supporting his local team which everyone wants people to do anyway. Is it really that big a deal?
perhaps we need a sex offenders style register to keep these vile beasts in check........how can they live with themselves.
el bawbag
Aug 2 2008, 11:01
My dad was a hearts fan

when he was younger but then went off football in the 80s and 90s but when i started wanting to go when i was about 8 we went to 1 hearts game... i hated it so we went to livi and we have never looked back!
don't think i could ever support another scottish team though...
EdinburghLivi
Aug 2 2008, 17:52
Oh I feel so important

I've already stated in previous threads my reason for changing clubs and if you're that interested, you can go and find it yourself. I have a lot of happy memories from my time as a Saints fan but I was only a fan when I was very young (8/9). When I moved over to Livingston, I was at the age when I finally became a football "supporter" and I've stuck with them because of that.
Is that entirely unreasonable?
QUOTE (Mad Cyril @ Aug 2 2008, 10:57)

I was brought up supporting Celtic, but switched to St Johnstone "full time" in the early eighties although I used to go to Muirton regularly years before that and Celtic Park occasionally when my older brother could afford to take me.
I'm just wondering if the Livi fan is the young Ryan Giggs lookalike that used to got to McDiarmid Park 12-15 years ago? He was from Livingston.
Nope not me my friend.
Radford
Aug 2 2008, 18:00
QUOTE (Watty @ Aug 2 2008, 10:57)

Noticed that, strange one, i mind on the old official saints forums there was a regular poster called Barry (??Radford would maybe back me up)
Yeah, still see Barry at a lot of games though.
mortonman
Aug 2 2008, 18:45
anyone who changes what team they support is and always will be a part timer.
why choose a worse club than u "supported" in the first place. stick with st johnstone mate.
silvery tay
Aug 2 2008, 18:57
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Aug 2 2008, 10:15)

Excuse me but how can anyone honestly claim to have changed their loyalties from one club to another?
Fair enough if you were a fan of Third Lanark, Clydebank or Gretna in the past (or even Dundee in the future if they can't dislodge their heads from the sand), but surely you can't change clubs with any sincerity?
St Johnstone 'til I die!
Was he a cardboard cutout at Mc DIREmid in a previous life
QUOTE (mortonman @ Aug 2 2008, 19:45)

why choose a worse club than u "supported" in the first place. stick with st johnstone mate.
By your logic I should still be a Celtic fan. But having rejected the evil ways and stopped going to football. A few years later I found Livi through a sponsorship deal and fell back in love with football again. Have probably missed less than 20 games home and away in 6 or 7 seasons. Not bad for a part timer.
EdinburghLivi
Aug 3 2008, 11:15
QUOTE (mortonman @ Aug 2 2008, 19:45)

Wait I thought Part-Timers were people who hardly ever go to games?
Why does that matter? I moved clubs because a player close to me moved clubs. However irrelevant that is, Livi were actually a better team at the time when I moved.
true blue
Aug 3 2008, 12:36
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 3 2008, 12:15)

Why does that matter? I moved clubs because a player close to me moved clubs. However irrelevant that is, Livi were actually a better team at the time when I moved.
So your a part time glory hunter
Exuberant
Aug 3 2008, 12:40
For some, they will not take a very keen interest in football, only going to a couple of games. Then when they move house or get more interested courtesy of a third party, they get more involved and from supporting one team loosely, they take an active role in supporting someone else.
Is it really that hard to grasp?
I used to loosly follow Raith Rovers when I was in Fife, and supported Aberdeen for a couple of seasons when I was interested in football in Primary School. By secondary school I was more into Rugby and I only got back into football when talking to a friend who was a Jag. Now I'm Thistle till I die!
true blue
Aug 3 2008, 12:50
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Aug 3 2008, 13:40)

For some, they will not take a very keen interest in football, only going to a couple of games. Then when they move house or get more interested courtesy of a third party, they get more involved and from supporting one team loosely, they take an active role in supporting someone else.
I used to loosly follow Raith Rovers when I was in Fife, and supported Aberdeen for a couple of seasons when I was interested in football in Primary School. By secondary school I was more into Rugby and I only got back into football when talking to a friend who was a Jag. Now I'm Thistle till I die!
whos next on your list? how many teams can one person support?
dundee till i die
Stainrod's Fedora
Aug 3 2008, 13:18
QUOTE (Exuberant @ Aug 3 2008, 13:40)

By secondary school I was more into Rugby and I only got back into football when talking to a friend
It's quite easy to grasp now!
Broon_100
Aug 3 2008, 13:34
I think its possible when you're young, and not been supporting a team for long. I switched from Rangers to St Johnstone when I was 8 and have never looked back since. I also think there is a big difference supporting a team that you actually go to watch. I never went to the Rangers games as a child, so after about 2 Saints games my allegiance was won.
partick_twinny
Aug 3 2008, 13:38
As a wee guy I liked Rangers because everyone in my school did. I'd never gone to a game, and never bought a top, but would have said I supported Rangers. Then when I was 11 a mate (who is a Celtic/Thistle fan) brought us to Firhill, and I immediately developed a hate for all things OF.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Aug 3 2008, 13:39
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 3 2008, 12:15)

You are getting it tight today
Personally I have no problem with your actions. If you move from Perth to Livingston at a young age it can hardly be expected for you to hike up the M90 every second weekend. Through your love of football you started to support your local team. Otherwise you would have been one of these apparently despised part timers.
I might add that part timers still contribute many ponds to the finances of Scottish clubs and no fan should bemoan them. Don't judge others lest you be judged.
Aplogies for the
DundeeBoy
Aug 3 2008, 14:15
QUOTE (Loki @ Aug 2 2008, 11:53)

What about those "local" celtic fans who come over every week for the game.
EdinburghLivi
Aug 3 2008, 17:32
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Aug 3 2008, 14:39)

You are getting it tight today

While this has been bad, I've had worse when I revealed the truth about Brittain leaving the club. Man, I took some punishment that day

It's unbelievable that people are giving me stick for this however.
Stainrod's Fedora
Aug 3 2008, 17:37
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Aug 3 2008, 18:32)

It's unbelievable that people are giving me stick for this however.
It's unbelievable that you find it unbelievable.
AldoLeon
Aug 3 2008, 17:42
Actually I'm just as disloyal, in a way. My girlfriend from Linlithgow, and a big Rose supporter. So I said I would switch my loyalies in junior football from Whitburn to Linlithgow if we get really serious (but I will still support Whitburn secertly ssshhhh lol).
But will always be Livi until I die!!! (or until Livi die)
EdinburghLivi
Aug 3 2008, 18:09
QUOTE (Stainrod's Fedora @ Aug 3 2008, 18:37)

It's unbelievable that you find it unbelievable.
Go on then, explain how you think following a player who is close to my family from club to club is bad? Bare in mind I was about 9/10 at the time.
strathbrock
Aug 3 2008, 18:42
The only way Dundee (or other older clubs) fans could understand this would be if they had no senior club in the immediate area and kind of supported St Johnstone, Forfar or one of the OF for whatever reason and then one day Dundee FC came into being. That's what happened in West Lothian and football minded folk were happy to have a local team.
I'd say most of the Livi fans either had no particular loyalty to anyone or were OF supporters in which case it is far better that they gave that up and supported their local team.
In my case I had a bit of an affinity for Celtic but I never felt for them the way I do for Livi.
Now if the present die hard Livi fans were to change their team loyalty for a team outwith the area, that, I would not understand. I couldn't do it.
QUOTE (Broon_100 @ Aug 3 2008, 13:34)

I think its possible when you're young, and not been supporting a team for long. I switched from Rangers to St Johnstone when I was 8 and have never looked back since. I also think there is a big difference supporting a team that you actually go to watch. I never went to the Rangers games as a child, so after about 2 Saints games my allegiance was won.
That's almost the exact same as me, only I was 9 or 10 (I forget the exact age) and it was, of course, Morton and not St. Johnstone.
I've been to Ibrox once, and it was in the Morton end
Yellow Army Faithful
Aug 4 2008, 06:50
When i was five i was given an ultimatum, go with my Uncle, a Diehard Rangers fan to a game v Aberdeen away, Or Go with my Dad and cousin to Saints V. Stirling, I chose the Latter, and never looked back
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.