Tomorrow Radio Scotland have decided to have no live matches on commentary and on top of that they are making they're featured matches the friendlies at Ibrox and Easter Road. Of course though Radio Scotland give the lower leagues such fantastic coverage as people like that fat tosser Jim Traynor always say.
veteran
Aug 1 2008, 22:36
QUOTE (MTJ @ Aug 1 2008, 23:26)

Tomorrow Radio Scotland have decided to have no live matches on commentary and on top of that they are making they're featured matches the friendlies at Ibrox and Easter Road. Of course though Radio Scotland give the lower leagues such fantastic coverage as people like that fat tosser Jim Traynor always say.

Don't be so negative.
Market research has shown BBC Scotland that green paint drying in Parkhead or blue paint drying in Govan is much more interesting to listeners than SFL football.
You are too kind to Traynor.What the man actually knows about football wouldn't come near to filling the back of a stamp.
TheDoctor
Aug 1 2008, 22:40

I've got to say I'm very disappointed to hear that. But you'll be lucky to hear anything on Radio Old Firm (Clyde) about anything other than the game at Ibrox, bear in mind Partick and Queen's Park are both at home.
The Naitch
Aug 1 2008, 22:43
QUOTE (TheDoctor @ Aug 1 2008, 23:40)

I've got to say I'm very disappointed to hear that. But you'll be lucky to hear anything on Radio Old Firm (Clyde) about anything other than the game at Ibrox, bear in mind Partick and Queen's Park are both at home.
That mob are still on their holidays, so no coverage whatsoever tomorrow.
Disappointing from Radio Scotland not to do any live matches from the SFL, given that there's no other competitive football on in the country. Still, they are doing the 'open mic' thing for the afternoon, so most matches will be covered in some form.
EastFootball
Aug 1 2008, 22:44

Are they?
Their website says different:
The Scottish Football League kicks off and our open mics format at 1500 BST will keep you up to date on what's happening around the grounds, including news from the friendlies between Rangers and Liverpool, and Hibs v Middlesbrough.
No mention of commentaries, but they didn't mention commentary on Ross County v St Johnstone last weekend either. So perhaps they haven't finalised what games they're covering yet (it's been known to happen).
Caledonian
Aug 1 2008, 22:46
I can remember Radio Clyde breaking off in the middle of their classified scores because thay had Dick Advocaat trackside at Fir Park.
lianne_fae_ptfc.net
Aug 1 2008, 23:12
aye but they widnea dare dae it tae me. Ahm pure important, so ah um.
Ludo *1
Aug 2 2008, 02:17
QUOTE (lianne_fae_ptfc.net @ Aug 2 2008, 00:12)

aye but they widnea dare dae it tae me. Ahm pure important, so ah um.

Someones got a vendetta against Lianne!
Reynard
Aug 2 2008, 06:41
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Aug 1 2008, 23:43)

That mob are still on their holidays, so no coverage whatsoever tomorrow.
Disappointing from Radio Scotland not to do any live matches from the SFL, given that there's no other competitive football on in the country. Still, they are doing the 'open mic' thing for the afternoon, so most matches will be covered in some form.
I prefer the open mike coverage to any of their normal commentaries. It's normally quite exciting.
highlandcowden
Aug 2 2008, 07:43
QUOTE (Caledonian @ Aug 1 2008, 23:46)

I can remember Radio Clyde breaking off in the middle of their classified scores because thay had Dick Advocaat trackside at Fir Park.
i can remember a couple of years back getting to the roundabout just on the outskirts of greenock,at 230pm, to be told that my game was off,leaving me with not enough time to go anywhere else.Radio Scotland knew before 2 but it was more important to broadcast an interview with Alex Mcleish than delay it by the 10 seconds or so it would have taken to keep travelling supporters up to date.
Both give shite coverage of anything outside the Bigots but at least Clyde 1 tell you the goals scored at SFL games. Radio Scotland ignore them completely and sometimes don't even read out the full time scores.
AyrshireTon
Aug 2 2008, 08:13
I would not be so harsh - their coverage of the diddy cup in recent years has been pretty good.
Even Bill Leckie has turned up to co-commentate on Cowdenbeath v Morton, and most of us who could not be bothered making the journey midweek were very greatful that Peterhead v Morton was broadcast live last season.
The Naitch
Aug 2 2008, 08:14
QUOTE (P45 @ Aug 2 2008, 08:49)

Both give shite coverage of anything outside the Bigots but at least Clyde 1 tell you the goals scored at SFL games. Radio Scotland ignore them completely and sometimes don't even read out the full time scores.

You sure you've not got that the wrong way round?
Radio Scotland go through all the results, and tables, before they start Your Call at 5.15. Clyde do a results round up, if they can be arsed, at round 5.30/5.45...and that's only if they've ran out of OF morons to call them up and talk shite about their team.
At least RS have the balls to cover the SFL when they can. Their Challenge Cup coverage over the last few years has been pretty good as well.
The Arch
Aug 2 2008, 08:22
If anyone wants decent coverage of the lower leagues, they should check out the divisional previews in today's Herald.
Excellently written, and really enjoyable reading.
AyrshireTon
Aug 2 2008, 08:27
QUOTE (The Arch @ Aug 2 2008, 09:22)

If anyone wants decent coverage of the lower leagues, they should check out the divisional previews in today's Herald.
Excellently written, and really enjoyable reading.
CODE
I've written a piece for the Herald
Stadio Delle Almondvale
Aug 2 2008, 08:33
We are being slightly hypocritical here are we not? Moaning that there is no coverage of the SFL when really you mean Division 1. Would anyone be bothered if Division 1 had the weekend off and there was no coverage of the second or third? Please be sensible. Old Firm v SPL also rans will interest far more people than St. Johnstone v Livi or any other game.
As Reynard says, the "open mic" session they have is far more entertaining and informative than a single match commentary and is what they should have every week.
The Arch
Aug 2 2008, 08:35
QUOTE (AyrshireTon @ Aug 2 2008, 09:27)

CODE
I've written a piece for the Herald
Can't a man inform his peers about a beautifully written transcript, without being accused of writing for the best Scottish newspaper?
The SPL preview's really good as well.
QUOTE (The Naitch @ Aug 2 2008, 09:14)

You sure you've not got that the wrong way round?
Radio Scotland go through all the results, and tables, before they start Your Call at 5.15. Clyde do a results round up, if they can be arsed, at round 5.30/5.45...and that's only if they've ran out of OF morons to call them up and talk shite about their team.
At least RS have the balls to cover the SFL when they can. Their Challenge Cup coverage over the last few years has been pretty good as well.
IMO Clyde is better.
At least if someone scores a goal in SFL one of the guys at least tells you in amongst the OF wankfest.
RS just dingy it completely.
I must admit I'm biased though. I hate the BBC.
Bundesliga Boy
Aug 2 2008, 09:17
P45 - you are dead right, no idea what the other guy is on about. Every goal in the lower league is announced alomost right away on Radio Clyde. Derek Johnstone also goes through all the divisions scores on regular occasions. Radio Scotland on the other hand are pathetic.
Infact, bearing in mind that Radio Clyde is a Glasgow station, they could have been forgiven for only giving Glasgow based scores, but fortunately they don't, but Radio SCOTLAND - supposedly covering the entire nation, just ignore the other scores completely until they round up the scores at 5.10ish. Shameful!
ClydeSI
Aug 2 2008, 09:32
if radio scotland were to give constant score updates, would it not disrupt the commentary?
The Naitch
Aug 2 2008, 09:47
QUOTE (ClydeSI @ Aug 2 2008, 10:32)

if radio scotland were to give constant score updates, would it not disrupt the commentary?
Yep, and it's why Clyde can give score updates during the 90 minutes ... they don't have any commentary games since RS got exclusive rights.
Jim McL
Aug 2 2008, 13:05
QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 1 2008, 23:44)

Are they?
Their website says different:
No mention of commentaries, but they didn't mention commentary on Ross County v St Johnstone last weekend either. So perhaps they haven't finalised what games they're covering yet (it's been known to happen).
Just said it would be open all mikes and then featuring the Thistle and Clyde matches. Seems fair.
Richard Gordon sounds really cut up over Bob Crampsey
QUOTE (Jim McL @ Aug 2 2008, 14:05)

Just said it would be open all mikes and then featuring the Thistle and Clyde matches. Seems fair.
What is this 'open all mikes' concept?
QUOTE (Jim McL @ Aug 2 2008, 14:05)

Would be interesting to see how they decided Clyde v Morton should be a featured game.
SavotheGreat
Aug 2 2008, 15:06
QUOTE (7-2 @ Aug 2 2008, 15:25)

Would be interesting to see how they decided Clyde v Morton should be a featured game.
Eeny, meeny, miny, moe?
Or more likely would be the "I smell shit" game, Greenockians excel at it. Bound to be some chav Greenockian executive on the board.
The Naitch
Aug 2 2008, 16:38
QUOTE (7-2 @ Aug 2 2008, 15:25)

It wasn't a 'featured' game. All five games were covered, as was East Fife vs Peterhead and Cowdenbeath vs Annan.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.