So guy's we have alot of derby day excitement to enjoy

RAITH V EAST FIFE

BRECHIN V ARBROATH

STIRLING V ALLOA

QUEENS PARK V oh wait a minute tongue.gif
ARoverinLeeds
Okay i'll start thing's off.

RAITH V EAST FIFE
I think this will be a tight affair, both team's want to claim the bragging right's.

ARBROATH V BRECHIN
Brechin will be too strong i'm afraid, if Arbroath don't start off well it could be a struggle.

STIRLING V ALLOA
Personally i think Alloa will have the upper hand, Stirling will have to adapt quickly or fall away.

See what you think.........
loyal-blue
Does Stranraer against Ayr not count?
Monster
No.
Beren
Me boifday's on the 10th and we play Scumbroath on the 13th if I mind right (September). Daughter's an Arbroath fan, and this will be the first time we've played each other competitively since I started taking her to games - can't wait.

4-3 us and Simon to go home crying like a school-kid again maketh pollymac: smile.gif

It'd also give me bragging rights in the McC household as my wife is also a skankbroath native smile.gif smile.gif
Monster
QUOTE (pollymac @ Aug 1 2008, 22:53) *
Me boifday's on the 10th and we play Scumbroath on the 13th if I mind right (September). Daughter's an Arbroath fan, and this will be the first time we've played each other competitively since I started taking her to games - can't wait.

4-3 us and Simon to go home crying like a school-kid again maketh pollymac: smile.gif

It'd also give me bragging rights in the McC household as my wife is also a skankbroath native smile.gif smile.gif

Probably the only household where an Arbroath fan can claim bragging rights......
Beren
QUOTE (Monster @ Aug 1 2008, 22:55) *
Probably the only household where an Arbroath fan can claim bragging rights......

That's no a lol, it's half yawn - gods you're so tiresome, my jaw muscles have zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!!!!!!
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Aug 1 2008, 21:09) *
Does Stranraer against Ayr not count?

No there's a new law being brought into place to stop that term being said again incase it upsets Ayr fans that they couldn't possibly care about thier mighty team playing against a ''diddy' team full of farmers from the south coast.

wink.gif
Monster
QUOTE (BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!& @ Aug 1 2008, 23:17) *
blah blah blah

Nah, we just don't care.
BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!!!!!!
QUOTE (Monster @ Aug 1 2008, 23:18) *
Nah, we just don't care.

rolleyes.gif

if you hate the Ayshire Killie clap your hands...... cool.gif

tongue.gif
ARoverinLeeds
2 weeks to go, with the way thing's are going in the league and respective position's. How do you see the derbies going, me personally i'm a lot more confident than i was at the start of the season.
Andyboy
We play Peterhead on the SFL's designated "Derby Day".

ROFLcopter.
rw89
QUOTE (Andyboy @ Aug 31 2008, 13:26) *
We play Peterhead on the SFL's designated "Derby Day".

ROFLcopter.

rolleyes.gif Well, there is a southwest derby, an Angus derby, A fife derby and a stirlingshire derby and both queens and peterhead have no local derbies. Common sense really. rolleyes.gif
Andyboy
Well done, you must be good with maps.
rw89
QUOTE (Andyboy @ Aug 31 2008, 14:20) *

biggrin.gif Indeed. You must be good with stating the obvious like me. rolleyes.gif
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Andyboy @ Aug 31 2008, 14:20) *

QUEEN'S PARK V Oh wait a minute, now you get the point. Phew laugh.gif
danlichtie
Is the Angus derby still on for 3pm or is it being moved to 12.45pm for live TV coverage?
Michael W
QUOTE (danlichtie @ Aug 31 2008, 16:26) *
Is the Angus derby still on for 3pm or is it being moved to 12.45pm for live TV coverage?

I heard it had been moved to the "no-one will watch this pish anyway" slot at 4.30AM
Andyboy
What i've established from this thread is that Raith Rovers fans are really, really, really funny...
lzreid
QUOTE (Andyboy @ Aug 31 2008, 17:38) *
What i've established from this thread is that Raith Rovers fans are really, really, really funny...

You're all a bit slow over in weegie land eh?
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Aug 1 2008, 20:24) *
STIRLING V ALLOA
Personally i think Alloa will have the upper hand, Stirling will have to adapt quickly or fall away.

Adapt quickly to what?
rw89
QUOTE (Andyboy @ Aug 31 2008, 17:38) *

I've established that there is no reason for a Queens Park fan to post in here as they don't have any derbies. tongue.gif
lichtie36nilhello

We live in a democratic society and you are out voted 2-1 mate so move over to the licht side and get out of the shadow of the hedge laugh.gif

We are not Scumbroath bty and if i were you i would HEDGE my bets on a away win rolleyes.gif Scum=Scumtrose.......... dry.gif
Gaviano
QUOTE (miketheheadlesschicken @ Aug 31 2008, 17:56) *
Adapt quickly to what?

Things.
1320Lichtie
Brechin will beat us and in my books i dont really count it as a derby ,
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Aug 31 2008, 19:40) *
Brechin will beat us and in my books i dont really count it as a derby ,

Hmmmm in the absense of the Scumtrose and the Fermers in the 2nd Div, and the fact it is only 15 mile away............DERBY! wink.gif Aye and Brechin will beat us tae rolleyes.gif
rw89
I'd love it if we won. I firmly believe that if East Fife play the tactics they have been playing this year then we have a strong enough defence to cope and a midfield which can keep the ball on the deck. Nonetheless, East Fife are a good team who haven't had the results going their way...in the words of Mr Dalziel they haven't been getting the rub of the green. 2-0 to the Rovers: Campbell and Smith with the goals. smile.gif wink.gif
bring_back_the_twa_hoops
In the past we've been vulnerable to teams with the direct approach at Stark's. I think we'll dominate the Fife in midfield, which they'll try to bypass, but we'll need solid defending and sharpness in attack; I think Smith and Weir can cause them problems and hope that Campbell and Ellis cope with the battering ram tactics I expect them to employ up front.
Ever the Optimist
Ayr will destroy Stranraer wink.gif

And we fans will provide £5k at the turnstiles to the save Stranraer fund.

Still doesn't feel like a derby these games, but I suppose geographically speaking we are closer to Stranraer than any other league team. Regardless of what it is I am sure we will enjoy it all the same. Not often we lose at Stair Park. We've been beaten 10 times at Stair Park in the league and 6 of them were in the 50's and 60's, including a 7-2 humping embarassingly enough mad.gif

4-0 to Ayr. OK I'm being harsh on Stranraer...4-1 to Ayr.

I hope this post doesn't come back to haunt me!!!
doulikefish
the players and fans will be really fired up for our derby against close rivals queens park!!!
we hate queens park so much i refuse to buy a sweeper in there social club,can any other fans beat that for some derby tension rolleyes.gif

ps ill be buying sweepers biggrin.gif
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Aug 31 2008, 20:00) *
Hmmmm in the absense of the Scumtrose and the Fermers in the 2nd Div, and the fact it is only 15 mile away............DERBY! wink.gif Aye and Brechin will beat us tae rolleyes.gif

Tbh im not sure why but i see East Fife as more of a derby than Brechin.
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Sep 1 2008, 08:57) *

Probably cos Scumtrose made it to easy for us laugh.gif That and Relegating them, Baikie, 1990's Cup ties for the right to play Rangers. A fair bit of needle there mate!
a_n_d_o

maybe cause we've hardly been in the same division in past decade. depends really if you look at rivalry or location when you consider derbys, i personally go more by location...
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (a_n_d_o @ Sep 1 2008, 10:18) *
maybe cause we've hardly been in the same division in past decade. depends really if you look at rivalry or location when you consider derbys, i personally go more by location...

Yeah i suppose it is a derby and it is probably that weve been in the 1st and yopuve been in the 3rd and weve sort of went right past each other , us goin right down to the 3rd and yous going up to the 1st so were sort of just meeeting up again. The thing is though i like Brechin as a place (even though its a shithole) and i like there club aswell , and at the same time i despise Montrose , Forfar and East Fife.
MarvMarvSuperMarv
It expect 10.4 million posts!!!11
kaiser
raith will finish above east fife this year. east fife are long ball merchants and cant change their 1 dimentional way, Gareth Wardlaw to bag the winner when the 2 sides meet biggrin.gif
loyal-blue
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 1 2008, 04:04) *
Ayr will destroy Stranraer wink.gif

Still doesn't feel like a derby these games, but I suppose geographically speaking we are closer to Stranraer than any other league team. Regardless of what it is I am sure we will enjoy it all the same. Not often we lose at Stair Park. We've been beaten 10 times at Stair Park in the league and 6 of them were in the 50's and 60's, including a 7-2 humping embarassingly enough mad.gif

We're grateful. Shame you'll all be leaving upset! sad.gif
How many do you think will come down?
MarvMarvSuperMarv
QUOTE (kaiser @ Sep 1 2008, 15:41) *
raith will finish above east fife this year. east fife are long ball merchants and cant change their 1 dimentional way, Gareth Wardlaw to bag the winner when the 2 sides meet biggrin.gif

You talk sense.

Wardlaw after Smith and Wier. cool.gif
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 1 2008, 04:04) *
Still doesn't feel like a derby these games, but I suppose geographically speaking we are closer to Stranraer than any other league team.

Ayr to Stranraer 52 miles
Ayr to Glasgow 35 miles

We are closer to QP than Stranraer, although with Peterhead also not having a natural derby game in this league, i recon it would be pretty cruel to dump them with Stranraer as thier derby team.
Nocturnal Groove
QUOTE (loyal-blue @ Sep 1 2008, 16:45) *
We're grateful. Shame you'll all be leaving upset! sad.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif I recon the 3 points from this game are pretty safe for us tongue.gif

I wont be heading down this time as i shall be getting rather drunk at a festival that weekend, although i usually do enjoy a trip to Stranraer.
the_russian

The Gay Ghost went mental when I suggested there was rivalry between EFFC and AFC.
farflung lichtie

Sincere condolences to your wife and daughter - clearly the mature and sensible side of the family. Are you par of some care in the community scheme?
Ever the Optimist
Still doesn't feel like a derby these games, but I suppose geographically speaking we are closer to Stranraer than any other league team.

Ayr to Stranraer 52 miles
Ayr to Glasgow 35 miles

We are closer to QP than Stranraer, although with Peterhead also not having a natural derby game in this league, i recon it would be pretty cruel to dump them with Stranraer as thier derby team.

I meant that we are Stranraer's closest team in Scotland. QP at Hampden on derby day would be far more appealing to me and I am sure most other honestmen and women

QUOTE (Ever the Optimist @ Sep 1 2008, 04:04)
Ayr will destroy Stranraer

Still doesn't feel like a derby these games, but I suppose geographically speaking we are closer to Stranraer than any other league team. Regardless of what it is I am sure we will enjoy it all the same. Not often we lose at Stair Park. We've been beaten 10 times at Stair Park in the league and 6 of them were in the 50's and 60's, including a 7-2 humping embarassingly enough

We're grateful. Shame you'll all be leaving upset!

We appreciate that you will be eternally grateful to us.

I doubt we'll be leaving disappointed, unless of course we get another Jim O'Hare type refereeing performance. Put the shackles on Tade and that will be you screwed. Easy three points. After your straight red last Saturday will you have enough players?

Going by previous recent encounters I recon you can expect a lot at this game. anything 500 upwards. Might be worth employing the turnstile police, if you know what I mean.

Beren
QUOTE (farflung lichtie @ Sep 1 2008, 21:48) *
Sincere condolences to your wife and daughter - clearly the mature and sensible side of the family. Are you par of some care in the community scheme?

I'm part of the "Three Angus clubs have actually won League Championships" collective. Are you?
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Sep 2 2008, 11:30) *
I'm part of the "Three Angus clubs have actually won League Championships" collective. Are you?

Does it really matter weve not won the league , i as an Arbroath fan personally dont give a f**k. Anyways to more serious matters anyone else here in the " 1 Angus club with a world record in senior football" club. tongue.gif
lichtie36nilhello
QUOTE (1320Lichtie @ Sep 2 2008, 17:21) *
Does it really matter weve not won the league , i as an Arbroath fan personally dont give a f**k. Anyways to more serious matters anyone else here in the " 1 Angus club with a world record in senior football" club. tongue.gif

That record is worth 10 3rd Div titles to us super Lichties........... cool.gif Unless it is the SPL title wink.gif
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (lichtie36nilhello @ Sep 2 2008, 18:49) *
That record is worth 10 3rd Div titles to us super Lichties........... cool.gif Unless it is the SPL title wink.gif

We ARE world famous aswell , i know this as i moved to Australia a few years ago when i was around 12 , when i said to my 'soccer' team i was playing for i was from Arbroath and a few of them who obviously know the best teams in football tongue.gif said 36 - 0 in an instant. biggrin.gif
Beren
Except you don't really have the world record - it has been beaten on a number of occasions, it's just fortunate for Arbroath that the Guinness book of Records views a game between a cricket club and a football club as being more legitimate than a game between two actual football clubs.

A cricket club lololol
1320Lichtie
QUOTE (Eärendil @ Sep 2 2008, 19:47) *
Except you don't really have the world record - it has been beaten on a number of occasions, it's just fortunate for Arbroath that the Guinness book of Records views a game between a cricket club and a football club as being more legitimate than a game between two actual football clubs.

A cricket club lololol

So your saying the most bought book in the world with millions of facts and records is wrong laugh.gif Even if it is do we care . We like i said are known by alot of football fans around the world ,and well ,are Brechin ?
Michael W
I'd like to point out that we hold the British record for the most league goals in one season. All the Rovers fans on P&B will be delighted to wheel this out and not care if we don't win the league or get promoted this year. The fact we have a record means that league titles mean fuck all rolleyes.gif

Records do not disguise failure.