Full Version: Raith Cup Result
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
roy of the rovers
I was at the Burntisland Shipyard (we humped them 8-0 in the Scottish Cup last season) v Raith Rovers (we play them next week in the Co-operative Insurance Cup) and Raith ran out 3-0 winners although I'm sure it wasn't their first team.

A decent performance and good goals although a Raith scorer did get carried away when he took his shirt off and threw it to the ground, receiving a yellow card for it!
danelder89
This is the diddiest of all the diddy cups rolleyes.gif

It would have been our under 19's playing apart from Gareth Wardlaw up front as he needs match practice (suspended for the first two league games), he scored as well I think.

Still good to hear we won though.

danelder89
QUOTE (roy of the rovers @ Jul 31 2008, 00:03) *
A decent performance and good goals although a Raith scorer did get carried away when he took his shirt off and threw it to the ground, receiving a yellow card for it!

laugh.gif What was the attendance roughly?
roy of the rovers
Something like 150 I'd guess. A couple of lads were approaching the entrance as we did and said £5 to see that shite no way, and they walked off!
Monster
Did Gareth Wardlaw score and why not?
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Monster @ Jul 31 2008, 00:42) *
Did Gareth Wardlaw score and why not?

He did actually, scored the first goal smile.gif
roland sausage
The second goal was a belter.
Daniel
Did Gareth Wardlaw not used to play for Shipyard?
MonTheRovers!!
Aye, Wardlaw got the first, through ball from Tam Graham, although it may have been Jamie Mackie, and an emphatic finish to the goalkeeper's right hand side.

Second goal, Scotty Adamson cut in from the left hand side onto his weeker side and fired a 30 yarder into the keeper's right hand side, he went reeling away taking his shirt off and throwing it on the ground. Belter of a finish from the dude.

Third was more tired legs from Shippy than anything else although still a good finish from Bev. The ball got shifted from the left all the way across to the right, and he let it roll across his body before lashing it away into the far corner.

Plenty of very good performances from the Rovers last night, especially Danny Main and Craig Wedderburn, who hit the post in the first half with a header incidentally, who were absolutely solid at the back and let nothing past them. Only thing with those two is that they have not a lick of pace between them and are susceptible to the ball played on the ground, as was shown in the last game of the season versus Peterhead.

A good performance from all of our young guys, and pretty glad i went! smile.gif
Monster
Wardlaw scored.....a goal......in a football match. ohmy.gif

I suggest we evacuate the planet immediately. Something has clearly ruptured in the time/space continueum, leading to horrendously unlikely events. I might be going on a diet soon, that's how wild things have got. sad.gif
renton
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jul 31 2008, 10:14) *
Aye, Wardlaw got the first, through ball from Tam Graham, although it may have been Jamie Mackie, and an emphatic finish to the goalkeeper's right hand side.

Second goal, Scotty Adamson cut in from the left hand side onto his weeker side and fired a 30 yarder into the keeper's right hand side, he went reeling away taking his shirt off and throwing it on the ground. Belter of a finish from the dude.

Third was more tired legs from Shippy than anything else although still a good finish from Bev. The ball got shifted from the left all the way across to the right, and he let it roll across his body before lashing it away into the far corner.

Plenty of very good performances from the Rovers last night, especially Danny Main and Craig Wedderburn, who hit the post in the first half with a header incidentally, who were absolutely solid at the back and let nothing past them. Only thing with those two is that they have not a lick of pace between them and are susceptible to the ball played on the ground, as was shown in the last game of the season versus Peterhead.
A good performance from all of our young guys, and pretty glad i went! smile.gif

It was the same when they played against edinburgh uni, they really don't look that comfortable when the ball is on the ground, and I seriously doubt that either will make the grade eventually.....

Mackie has impressed me everytime he's played and Tam graham looks like a player. Wasn't that impressed with beveridge when I saw him but at least he got a goal last night.
roland sausage
Wardlaw played quite well actually and was unlucky not finish with a hat-trick. There were some meaty tackles going on last night, the shippy were a right bunch of hatchet men.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (philpy @ Jul 31 2008, 11:36) *
Wardlaw played quite well actually and was unlucky not finish with a hat-trick. There were some meaty tackles going on last night, the shippy were a right bunch of hatchet men.

Aye your right about that, dirty get's. I was at last years game and one of their players broke Lee Bryce's leg, i was shouting my head off "f**k SAKE HE'S JUST A BAIRN". laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif . How did Wardlaw get on btw.
Lang Toun Lad
Did they ever stop moaning at the ref? Any decision against them was like a signal for all the players and management team to let off steam at the ref!
raith_94
QUOTE (Monster @ Jul 31 2008, 11:15) *
Wardlaw scored.....a goal......in a football match. ohmy.gif

I suggest we evacuate the planet immediately. Something has clearly ruptured in the time/space continueum, leading to horrendously unlikely events. I might be going on a diet soon, that's how wild things have got. sad.gif

In case photographic evidence is required in order to believe!

MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 31 2008, 13:42) *
Aye your right about that, dirty get's. I was at last years game and one of their players broke Lee Bryce's leg, i was shouting my head off "f**k SAKE HE'S JUST A BAIRN". laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif . How did Wardlaw get on btw.

I'm pretty sure it was Danny Main, and it was his ankle.

It was - http://raithroversfc.com/cgi-bin/matchdetails.cgi?id=750 - he got subbed after 14 mins.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jul 31 2008, 16:29) *
I'm pretty sure it was Danny Main, and it was his ankle.

It was - http://raithroversfc.com/cgi-bin/matchdetails.cgi?id=750 - he got subbed after 14 mins.

Sorry mate, when i was at the match. Someone asked which player went down, they said it was Bryce. Oop's cool.gif
MonTheRovers!!
Nah, Brycey came on on 79 mins for Gary Thomson and scored i think.
Monster
That photo just shows Wardlaw shooting. That doesn't prove anything. He once missed an open goal against the Rovers from one yard out. I'm still dubious that he scored. It's a sin against nature.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Monster @ Jul 31 2008, 17:03) *
That photo just shows Wardlaw shooting. That doesn't prove anything. He once missed an open goal against the Rovers from one yard out. I'm still dubious that he scored. It's a sin against nature.

I'm not sure if he started in the Dundee Utd game or Hibs game, but he started v Stenny - scored. Started v Shippy - scored.

That's a good ratio in anyone's book.
Michael W
Where is jack_bauer when you need him?
Monster
QUOTE (MonTheRovers!! @ Jul 31 2008, 17:06) *
I'm not sure if he started in the Dundee Utd game or Hibs game, but he started v Stenny - scored. Started v Shippy - scored.

That's a good ratio in anyone's book.

Oh aye, Third Division and non-league, great stuff.

That's assuming he actually scored, and it isn't just a complete lie.
MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (Monster @ Jul 31 2008, 17:12) *
Oh aye, Third Division and non-league, great stuff.

That's assuming he actually scored, and it isn't just a complete lie.

Your just jealous cause he's already scored 2/3rds of his whole season tally last year! tongue.gif