Full Version: Stranraer In Crisis
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 2nd Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
ARoverinLeeds
SSN this morning has stated Stranraer are struggling. WTF.
qos_75
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 30 2008, 11:00) *
SSN this morning has stated Stranraer are struggling. WTF.

A 4-0 pumping away is not a good result, but I am sure they will be looking to start better in the league.
Ross
Remortgaging the social club to pay off debts, another Gretna?
Sanny's army
Not quite!

There’s another thread on this a few pages down - here. Our Committee, who usually post on forums on a daily basis, have been conspicuous in their absence since this came out. Incredibly, their line appears to be “if you couldn’t make it to Stranraer on a Monday night in the middle of holiday season to hear our excuses then we’re not going to mention it any more”.

Don’t worry, we’re in safe hands. unsure.gif
ARoverinLeeds
I alway's thought Stranraer were pretty much a steady ship(so to speak). huh.gif
Clayhole Blue
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 30 2008, 12:35) *
I alway's thought Stranraer were pretty much a steady ship(so to speak). huh.gif

We were until some eejit had the bright idea that a club with very few assets should run up a debt!
The American
So there's 2 "another gretna's" in this league now rolleyes.gif

MonTheRovers!!
QUOTE (The American @ Jul 30 2008, 12:48) *
So there's 2 "another gretna's" in this league now rolleyes.gif

3, cause according to Steven Twatt we've spent more than East Fife.
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Clayhole Blue @ Jul 30 2008, 12:40) *
We were until some eejit had the bright idea that a club with very few assets should run up a debt!

Shite eh!
the gub
I think that the financial problems have been well documented locally and nationally.I was on the committee until 21st July and wasn't aware of the financial position of the club until the last month,which is a disgrace.
I asked numerous times but the correct answer was never given and when the true situation was discovered we had very few options left.The wages are far too high,but we are stuck with them at that level for another season.Hopefully we can have a good season,get more money in from various sources and keep our head above water until we get it sorted-but we can't continue spending at the current level.
As I'm no longer on the committee I don't have any real say in the matter,but I reckon they are thinking the same way.
miketheheadlesschicken
QUOTE (Sanny's army @ Apr 20 2007, 23:07) *
Hey, even with all the crap that goes on in running our club - and believe me I'm a big critic - we still do pretty well. Stack Stranraer's and Stirling's P&L's and Balance Sheets beside each other and we'll see what a joke club you are.
Sanny's army
Still rings true! We're small time compared to you guys! biggrin.gif
drs
Oh yes, we're total small time compared to:

Well run local lottery

and

Barney Duffy, nuff said.

marf-1870
QUOTE (qos_75 @ Jul 30 2008, 10:08) *
A 4-0 pumping away is not a good result, but I am sure they will be looking to start better in the league.

You could ask your chairman to pay up whatever he owes for Gerry McGlaughlin.
the gub
QUOTE (marf-1870 @ Jul 30 2008, 14:47) *

Don't go there.
MIFTHEBINO
QUOTE (Sanny's army @ Jul 30 2008, 13:47) *
Still rings true! We're small time compared to you guys! biggrin.gif

Like I said on the other thread, despite you laughing at our situation and happy to see us going out of business, I hate seeing any club going out of business and hope your club pull through this.

PS. Our debt is all owed to our owner who said he wont put us out of business! It seems you guys are in a worse situation than ourselves, despite us having a larger debt.

PSS.It looks like we made a profit from last season so feel free to put the P&L Sheets next to each other! Maybe you'd be better putting the Balance Sheets together instead?
MIFTHEBINO
QUOTE (drs @ Jul 30 2008, 13:52) *

Well run local lottery

and

Barney Duffy, nuff said.

Fucking hell laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
MIFTHEBINO
QUOTE (the gub @ Jul 30 2008, 12:54) *
I think that the financial problems have been well documented locally and nationally.I was on the committee until 21st July and wasn't aware of the financial position of the club until the last month,which is a disgrace.
I asked numerous times but the correct answer was never given and when the true situation was discovered we had very few options left.The wages are far too high,but we are stuck with them at that level for another season.Hopefully we can have a good season,get more money in from various sources and keep our head above water until we get it sorted-but we can't continue spending at the current level.
As I'm no longer on the committee I don't have any real say in the matter,but I reckon they are thinking the same way.

I know there isn't many people from Stranraer who go to the games, but you will probably find that there is a lot of people who have an association with your club and will want to keep it alive. If the fans (trust if you have one) rally round to do some fundraising, then I'm sure these type of people will chip in.
babemagnet
hope Stranraer are OK.
APART FROM THE TADE CRAP, WHICH NO ONE WILL EVER KNOW THE TRUTH OF, I HAVE ALWAYS HAD A GOOD TIME AT STRANRAER...EVEN THOUGH THEIR SUPPORT IS CRAP!

Why are Rovers fans good swimmers?
Cos shit floats! laugh.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (babemagnet @ Jul 30 2008, 18:22) *
hope Stranraer are OK.
APART FROM THE TADE CRAP, WHICH NO ONE WILL EVER KNOW THE TRUTH OF, I HAVE ALWAYS HAD A GOOD TIME AT STRANRAER...EVEN THOUGH THEIR SUPPORT IS CRAP!

Why are Rovers fans good swimmers?
Cos shit floats! laugh.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif

FANNY, talking about the support. Yours is just as bad, see when your shite come to SAN STARKO. I can bet you'll bring about 250 max. tongue.gif
Jimmy MCcabe
I joined the committee only recently and obviously was not privy to previous decisions but wages are a concern given the crowds, regardless of what league we are in but as a fan you always want to see the best possible team on the park. So it is all about trying to get a competitive team and balance the books at the same time. For obvious geographical reasons the club has had to pay slightly higher wages than similar sized clubs to attract players down to the south west but the same people who criticise this thinking would be the same people who would throw a wobbly if the team were rooted to the bottom of div 3. No one person would buy the club because their is very little to buy bar a name if this sensible idea to give the club a fighting chance is not successful Arbroath had a member buy out that as far as I am aware has proved a winner but not surprisingly the people in charge changed very little because they were the ones willing to put their money where their mouth is.
cmontheloknow
Sad to see Stranraer in the shit and I sincerely hope things take a turn for the better pretty quickly.
Sanny's army
QUOTE (drs @ Jul 30 2008, 13:52) *

Well run local lottery

and

Barney Duffy, nuff said.

We're just adding a bit of glamour to the lower leagues, what's wrong with that tongue.gif

QUOTE (MIFTHEBINO @ Jul 30 2008, 16:40) *
PS. Our debt is all owed to our owner who said he wont put us out of business! It seems you guys are in a worse situation than ourselves, despite us having a larger debt.

Right enough, when Mileson got ill his family were beating down the administrator's door to forget about the money owed. Oh wait...

QUOTE (Jimmy MCcabe @ Jul 30 2008, 21:33) *
regardless of what league we are in but as a fan you always want to see the best possible team on the park..... the same people who criticise this thinking would be the same people who would throw a wobbly if the team were rooted to the bottom of div 3.

Cosmo, with all respect, this is the root of what is wrong. When you're in the financial muck, forget a decent team for a few years, forget the fan's perspective of wanting a winning team, it's all about paying off the debt. Just make it clear to fans. As it is, we're overspending on a the same squad this season that only got out of the 3rd by default, we're in for a pumping on and off the park.

QUOTE (Jimmy MCcabe @ Jul 30 2008, 21:33) *
No one person would buy the club because their is very little to buy bar a name

Do you not think it's come a time to ask the question before mortgaging our one asset for the next 25 years? You may find people who actually think they could make a bit of profit and improvement to an 850k revenue business. The committee should act in the interests of the club, not just say "they'll no be interested" as they button up their blazer and tuck in to a few freebies.
farflung lichtie
QUOTE (Sanny's army @ Jul 31 2008, 08:07) *
Cosmo, with all respect, this is the root of what is wrong. When you're in the financial muck, forget a decent team for a few years, forget the fan's perspective of wanting a winning team, it's all about paying off the debt.

I always think survival rather than success should be a primary objective for lower league team. I'd rather see my team around in 25 maybe 50 years rather than see it go down the toilet. Having said that, Gretna had a great run AND have survived or been reborn, albeit at a lower level. So maybe finanical prudence is over-rated.

Sounds like Stranraer's committee have been a bit negligent but it can be tough for volunteer governors. Few lower league teams have had such a good run in the past 10 years so the general public in the town has to bear some of the blame for not supporting a successful team

Assets?: the name alone, repeated nationwide on a regular basis is a huge asset. I often wonder what it would cost to advertise your town's name so prominently compared with the free advertising that comes merely with having a senior team
The Other Chairman
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 30 2008, 18:35) *
FANNY, talking about the support. Yours is just as bad, see when your shite come to SAN STARKO. I can bet you'll bring about 250 max. tongue.gif

ARoverinLeeds
Can't turn down an opportunity and you asked for a bet so how about £20 on the EF support at Starks. I will even make it 300+ for me to win. Up for it ?
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (The Other Chairman @ Jul 31 2008, 10:42) *
ARoverinLeeds
Can't turn down an opportunity and you asked for a bet so how about £20 on the EF support at Starks. I will even make it 300+ for me to win. Up for it ?

I'm not a betting man as my mate's would atest, i'm just going by what Cowden brought to there own home match against us. We took over 1500 to that shite house, and started the game before everyone got in. You were lucky if they brought 300 for a home match. Okay i was maybe a wee bit hasty with 250, i'll be generous and say 400+. £20 seems a fair bet to me. wink.gif
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 31 2008, 11:06) *
I'm not a betting man as my mate's would atest, i'm just going by what Cowden brought to there own home match against us. We took over 1500 to that shite house, and started the game before everyone got in. You were lucky if they brought 300 for a home match. Okay i was maybe a wee bit hasty with 250, i'll be generous and say 400+. £20 seems a fair bet to me. wink.gif

I would be surprised if they didn't bring 500+ wink.gif
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Steven @ Jul 31 2008, 11:07) *
I would be surprised if they didn't bring 500+ wink.gif

Shoosh, i was using a strategy. I'd be happy if they brought a strong crowd, and more than happy to pay £20 to be proved wrong. I hope East Fife have a contingency plan for the amount we bring along. Anyway we're getting off topic. ohmy.gif
Gordon EF
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 31 2008, 11:06) *

Behave yourself!!
Gordon EF
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 31 2008, 11:16) *
Shoosh, i was using a strategy. I'd be happy if they brought a strong crowd, and more than happy to pay £20 to be proved wrong. I hope East Fife have a contingency plan for the amount we bring along. Anyway we're getting off topic. ohmy.gif

What sort of contingency plan could there be? The away end is ~1000 seats, that's the absolute most that will get in.

Unless Raith want to move one of their stands over to Bayview, they'd get more use out of it.
Duracell Bunny
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Jul 31 2008, 11:19) *
What sort of contingency plan could there be? The away end is ~1000 seats, that's the absolute most that will get in.

Unless Raith want to move one of their stands over to Bayview, they'd get more use out of it.

Wouldn't surprise me if Willie didn't want to try and sign one for East Fife............
ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Jul 31 2008, 11:19) *

Well i reckon for a start, East Fife are our main rivals historically anyway. Fat boy should have realised early on that you lot would get promoted, so you should built a stand of your own and no quibbled about having to pay extra for a roof on a temporary stand. Alot of fan's would be pissed of if they couldn't get in, you might think i'm talking shite but we'd bring nigh on 2000.
Gordon EF
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 31 2008, 11:41) *
Well i reckon for a start, East Fife are our main rivals historically anyway. Fat boy should have realised early on that you lot would get promoted, so you should built a stand of your own and no quibbled about having to pay extra for a roof on a temporary stand. Alot of fan's would be pissed of if they couldn't get in, you might think i'm talking shite but we'd bring nigh on 2000.

So East Fife should build an extra stand so that 1000 Rovers fans don't have to miss out on the games? blink.gif

I'd love Bayview to have a bit of terracing to accomodate bigger crowds and I do have sympathy for anyone who'll miss out on these games.
The Other Chairman
400+ starts to depend a bit on how well we are playing but worth the risk.
Bet on at £20 for a 400+ EF crowd at Starks ?
Jimmy MCcabe

Cosmo, with all respect, this is the root of what is wrong. When you're in the financial muck, forget a decent team for a few years, forget the fan's perspective of wanting a winning team, it's all about paying off the debt. Just make it clear to fans. As it is, we're overspending on a the same squad this season that only got out of the 3rd by default, we're in for a pumping on and off the park.

Do you not think it's come a time to ask the question before mortgaging our one asset for the next 25 years? You may find people who actually think they could make a bit of profit and improvement to an 850k revenue business. The committee should act in the interests of the club, not just say "they'll no be interested" as they button up their blazer and tuck in to a few freebies.
[/quote]

Your first point 100% correct and the team will have to stand or fall on a much reduced budget.

your second unfortunately time for discussion and debate on the subject was unavailable to members as some things required attention yesterday but if in the near future an alternative solution is put forward and is more palatable there is no reason that the mortgage can not be paid off and the secondary plan put into action.

ARoverinLeeds
QUOTE (Gordon EF @ Jul 31 2008, 11:53) *
So East Fife should build an extra stand so that 1000 Rovers fans don't have to miss out on the games? blink.gif

I'd love Bayview to have a bit of terracing to accomodate bigger crowds and I do have sympathy for anyone who'll miss out on these games.

Stands to reason doesn't it, you have a chairman with ambitious plan's for East Fife. But instead of developing Bayview he's spending "his money" on players, it just reeks of disaster to me. I firmly believe he want's revenge on Raith and what happens if we end up beating you. he'll probably walk away and leave you in the preverbial. I hope i'm wrong, East Fife seem to be getting alot of stick with the Fife Gretna tag. And to be honest that tag is justified, Gray is doing a Mileson. That's what i mean about a contingency plan. Anyway this is way off topic.
davidkennedyshand
QUOTE (Jimmy MCcabe @ Jul 31 2008, 12:39) *
Your first point 100% correct and the team will have to stand or fall on a much reduced budget.

Sounds similar to what we had to go through in the past 6 years.Only this season and some of last did we manage to pay some decent wages.
Gordon EF
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 31 2008, 13:03) *
Stands to reason doesn't it, you have a chairman with ambitious plan's for East Fife. But instead of developing Bayview he's spending "his money" on players, it just reeks of disaster to me. I firmly believe he want's revenge on Raith and what happens if we end up beating you. he'll probably walk away and leave you in the preverbial. I hope i'm wrong, East Fife seem to be getting alot of stick with the Fife Gretna tag. And to be honest that tag is justified, Gray is doing a Mileson. That's what i mean about a contingency plan. Anyway this is way off topic.

Aye cos the sign of a healthy club is to rush to build a massive white (or blue) elephant they don't need.
the_russian
QUOTE (ARoverinLeeds @ Jul 31 2008, 13:03) *
East Fife seem to be getting alot of stick with the Fife Gretna tag.

I've never heard East Fife and Gretna mentioned in the same post yet on here.
Big_Andy
Have to say, it is getting very tedious. If EF are without debt, and own the ground and the substantial ground around it, then they will at least have that to sell and pay off any debt that Gray left them (if he ever did). Therefore EF would survive no matter what. Time for some to get a grip. Hurts to admit it, but East Fife are much more financially secure than the Rovers.
Hampden Diehard
Another thread inevitably tumbles into the tedium of EF v RR.
Paco
QUOTE (Hampden Diehard @ Jul 31 2008, 22:21) *

Yep, it's embarrassing to be honest.
19QOS19
QUOTE (marf-1870 @ Jul 30 2008, 14:47) *

He should be paying us for getting him away fae that sihthole! laugh.gif .

I hope Stranraer get through this. It's Queens' proper Derby and it would be sad to never get to go to Stair Park again. Even when Gr£tna were in the league those games still didn't come close to a QoS Stranraer match.
Gordon EF
QUOTE (Hampden Diehard @ Jul 31 2008, 22:21) *

They started it.
zupa
QUOTE (Jimmy MCcabe @ Jul 31 2008, 12:39) *

your second unfortunately time for discussion and debate on the subject was unavailable to members as some things required attention yesterday but if in the near future an alternative solution is put forward and is more palatable there is no reason that the mortgage can not be paid off and the secondary plan put into action.

Its next season when the big budget cuts will come in.Fergusson will go at the end (or before) of this season.Stranraer should then fill the team with youngsters and pay what they can afford.
I think that acceptance of the clubs dire financial situation, has to sink in to the fans heads.
I hate to say it but 3rd division football season after this would not be a bad thing.The club could be revamped and reality would be realised.You simply cannot pay out what you dont have.
StewartyMac
Maybe Stranraer could do themselves a favour financially by sacking the stewards who pocket reduced entry fees and let people in the gates. Two for a fiver was not an uncommon occurrence.

I've been the benefit of this 'generosity' in the past. Also for many years, I never actually paid to get into Stair Park, as there would always be some chump outside giving away comps. What's all that about?
Gary
QUOTE (farflung lichtie @ Jul 31 2008, 10:13) *
Sounds like Stranraer's committee have been a bit negligent but it can be tough for volunteer governors. Few lower league teams have had such a good run in the past 10 years so the general public in the town has to bear some of the blame for not supporting a successful team

When i was on the Committee last season we were all aware of the fact that we were in severe financial strife, not the exact amount though but we all had an underlying guesstimate of how much the exact figure was although it was never completely totted up. There were occasions though where we just couldnt drag people in, we needed the floodlights in which cost a fortune and there were a sh*t load of bills that needed paying with very little coming through the gate. You can't magic up money out of thin air but you can better manage the outstanding monies that you have due, I dont think the club can honestly say they received every £ that was oweing to them for last seasons Sportsmans dinner yet for example.

Good crew on there at the moment and im sure they will do what's best to keep us afloat, Fergie was quoted on Sky the other day questioning how ambitious the club want to be after slashing his budget, I would suggest ambitious enough to save the club if they're starting to concentrate more on the finances than overpaying players and going for too big a squad.
MIFTHEBINO
QUOTE (StewartyMac @ Jul 31 2008, 22:47) *
Maybe Stranraer could do themselves a favour financially by sacking the stewards who pocket reduced entry fees and let people in the gates. Two for a fiver was not an uncommon occurrence.

I've been the benefit of this 'generosity' in the past. Also for many years, I never actually paid to get into Stair Park, as there would always be some chump outside giving away comps. What's all that about?

Spot on mate. They always give away too many comps away and the "security" at the gate is very dodgy. Get this sorted and you will probably bring in a few grand more a season!
tuckersloan
QUOTE (Gary @ Aug 1 2008, 07:59) *
Fergie was quoted on Sky the other day questioning how ambitious the club want to be after slashing his budget, I would suggest ambitious enough to save the club if they're starting to concentrate more on the finances than overpaying players and going for too big a squad.

When I heard what Ferguson said on Sky I thought it was totally innapropriate. I mean it ain't about being ambitious - its about saving the club. Thats all that really matters! The truth is that he cares a lot more about his own image and his real team than he does about the existance of SFC. Lets hope he doesn't get another penny that we can't afford again. If he even had the cheek to hint at getting extra funds I would send him straight back where he belongs.

ohmy.gif I think I have just agreed with you there Gary huh.gif Well a valid point is a valid point even if it does come from somebody that would like to see me deported. wink.gif laugh.gif
BOOB Stranraer Loyal!!!!!!!
Ferguson is more intrested in Rangers TV and making a good CV than Keeping Stranraer alive rolleyes.gif