Full Version: Rangers Vrs Kaunus
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
rfcgav
I think Rangers are going to be struggling with Kaunus I cant believe Smith has not
strentghened in key areas i.e midfield and defence infact with the loss of Davis, Ferguson,
Naismith and Beardsley still out and now Cuellar i think we are far worse of than last
season??? All very well buying so many strikers (average ones at that) but what kind
of formation is he going to be playing? Is he seriously still thinking of one upfront again with
so many strikers bought and if so why hasnt he strengthend elsewhere??

Not looking forward to this season at all. I know we cant splash cash but surely a couple
of midfielders and a defender are more needed than the strikers he has brought in?

sad.gif
Kincardine
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Jul 27 2008, 10:37) *
I think Rangers are going to be struggling with Kaunus I cant believe Smith has not
strentghened in key areas i.e midfield and defence infact with the loss of Davis, Ferguson,
Naismith and Beardsley still out and now Cuellar i think we are far worse of than last
season??? All very well buying so many strikers (average ones at that) but what kind
of formation is he going to be playing? Is he seriously still thinking of one upfront again with

Not looking forward to this season at all. I know we cant splash cash but surely a couple
of midfielders and a defender are more needed than the strikers he has brought in?

sad.gif

Scots in Europe for this pish.

However, I agree. I'm not at all optimistic.
Gypsy till I die
Whatever the result, it at least gives Hearts fans the chance to see what their team will look like after the January transfer window.
Makoliunas
QUOTE (Gypsy till I die @ Jul 27 2008, 10:54) *
Whatever the result, it at least gives Hearts fans the chance to see what their team will look like after the January transfer window.

LMAO TEEHEE
ballymoneyyin

sad.gif

when did peter beardsley sign for rangers? laugh.gif
rw89
If Rangers are as bad as they were yesterday Kaunas will have a field day. Cuellar looked decent when he was on but Smith and Ferry (our players) had a field day when Broadfoot an Daily were playing in defense. Miller, Boyd and Darcheville were all utterly terrible, and Rangers were require to sub all 3, and even then Velicka didn't have much going for him. Itwas only when Lafferty and Novo were brought on that Rangers were successful in scoring into a team made up of freebies an youth players. What can you say, Mark Campbell is just too much to handle! tongue.gif
The Hun

sad.gif

Gav...your point brings me nicely on to the topic I posted on here about attracting decent players. Why are we not searching and finding bargain basement quality across Europe when the likes of Levein can do it and most Coca Cola Championship teams can?

How many in that Zenit team would be attracted to play for us.....none probably!

Personally, I still think the squad we have is good enough to win the league but with Celtic especially dilly dallying on improving their over rated squad, Walter could have stole a march on them during the close season and set us up nicely for the season starting.

Unfortunately we have wasted time as well now and given the rest of the SPL decent hope and Celtic limited hope on competing with us for the league title in the new season. We'll probably win the title by less than 10 points now when I really wanted us to win it by Christmas. Oh well...never mind. sad.gif
sev
QUOTE (The Hun @ Jul 27 2008, 14:57) *
Gav...your point brings me nicely on to the topic I posted on here about attracting decent players. Why are we not searching and finding bargain basement quality across Europe when the likes of Levein can do it and most Coca Cola Championship teams can?

How many in that Zenit team would be attracted to play for us.....none probably!

Personally, I still think the squad we have is good enough to win the league but with Celtic especially dilly dallying on improving their over rated squad, Walter could have stole a march on them during the close season and set us up nicely for the season starting.

Unfortunately we have wasted time as well now and given the rest of the SPL decent hope and Celtic limited hope on competing with us for the league title in the new season. We'll probably win the title by less than 10 points now when I really wanted us to win it by Christmas. Oh well...never mind. sad.gif

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

seamus
I cant beleive the coverage this game is getting Im pleasantly suprised that Rangers appear to be shitting it.

Come on Vladimar get your troops up for it!!
stevenston saint
QUOTE (seamus @ Jul 27 2008, 17:32) *
I cant beleive the coverage this game is getting Im pleasantly suprised that Rangers appear to be shitting it.

Come on Vladimar get your troops up for it!!

You're a betting man Seamus-What price Kaunus?
seamus
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Jul 27 2008, 17:37) *
You're a betting man Seamus-What price Kaunus?

Kaunus have got to be 7/1 at Ibrox next week.
To qualify I would say 7/2 , Rangers must be 1/6 im guessing though.
stevenston saint
QUOTE (seamus @ Jul 27 2008, 17:43) *
Kaunus have got to be 7/1 at Ibrox next week.
To qualify I would say 7/2 , Rangers must be 1/6 im guessing though.

Got to be worth a fiver.

Sorry offtopic.gif
seamus
QUOTE (stevenston saint @ Jul 27 2008, 17:44) *
Got to be worth a fiver.

Sorry offtopic.gif

Kaunas are as large as 12/1 to win at Ibrox which will not happen but I will be sticking a cheeky fiver on them qualifying though.
Swampy
Rangers will sail through. Kaunas are a poor side from an extremely poor league.
seamus
QUOTE (Swampy @ Jul 27 2008, 17:54) *
Rangers will sail through. Kaunas are a poor side from an extremely poor league.

I would think so but its still worth a fiver.
stevenston saint
QUOTE (seamus @ Jul 27 2008, 17:48) *
Kaunas are as large as 12/1 to win at Ibrox which will not happen but I will be sticking a cheeky fiver on them qualifying though.

yep,0-0 at Ibrox wink.gif
Makoliunas
Kaunas have several genuinely world class players, which could never be said of Rangers (with the exception of Velicka and maybe Webster, but one's just in the door and one is a crock). I'd say probably 2-0 to Kaunas, although Rangers might be able to do what they did against Barcelona and shut them out at Ibrox.
KnightswoodBear
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 27 2008, 18:16) *
Kaunas have several genuinely world class players, which could never be said of Rangers (with the exception of Velicka and maybe Webster, but one's just in the door and one is a crock). I'd say probably 2-0 to Kaunas, although Rangers might be able to do what they did against Barcelona and shut them out at Ibrox.

LMAO TEEHEE
Makoliunas
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Jul 27 2008, 18:24) *
LMAO TEEHEE

Laugh all you want. You won't be laughing when Linas Pilibaitis gets a hold of your team.

Seriously, I hope that Kaunas beat Rangers but somehow manage to do it without any of their individual players giving anything other than a terrible performance.
seamus
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 27 2008, 18:16) *

Great post biggrin.gif
glasnost
I remember post Seville Celtic played Kaunas at this same stage and the game was a mere formality, as games at this stage should be ideally be for clubs with ambitions that ourselves and the huns have.

It's ironic that after their own UEFA Cup final defeat, the huns now face the same opposition at the same stage.
JBM
hope kaunus will be to rangers what bratislava was to celtic biggrin.gif
glasnost
The chances of the huns being led to their must humiliating and embarrassing result in Europe are very slim I’d say.

Of course, for Scottish footballs sake it would be ideal if it did happen.
rfcgav
QUOTE (ballymoneyyin @ Jul 27 2008, 13:06) *
when did peter beardsley sign for rangers? laugh.gif

f**k i keep doing at......... laugh.gif

Does anyone know if its on tv?
the jambo-rocker
3-0 kaunas pilibatis hat-trick tongue.gif
raith_94
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jul 28 2008, 10:42) *
I remember post Seville Celtic played Kaunas at this same stage and the game was a mere formality, as games at this stage should be ideally be for clubs with ambitions that ourselves and the huns have.

It's ironic that after their own UEFA Cup final defeat, the huns now face the same opposition at the same stage.

Coincidence
---------

Anyone know if this colossal match being televised by anyone?
The Hun
QUOTE (glasnost @ Jul 28 2008, 11:00) *
The chances of the huns being led to their must humiliating and embarrassing result in Europe are very slim I'd say.

Of course, for Scottish footballs sake it would be ideal if it did happen.

Why bigot bhoy?
LordHawHaw
Easy win for the huns
Beren
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Jul 28 2008, 18:54) *
Easy win for the huns

Ye cannae say huns.

Agreed though, the dobs should walk this one.
craigkillie
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 27 2008, 18:38) *
Laugh all you want. You won't be laughing when Linas Pilibaitis gets a hold of your team.

Seriously, I hope that Kaunas beat Rangers but somehow manage to do it without any of their individual players giving anything other than a terrible performance.

It worked for Rangers last year.

QUOTE (pollymac @ Jul 28 2008, 19:07) *
Ye cannae say huns.

Agreed though, the dobs should walk this one.

Makoliunas
QUOTE (craigkillie @ Jul 28 2008, 19:26) *
It worked for Rangers last year.

Yeah, but Kaunas are too proud an institution to play that kind of football.
The Hun
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 28 2008, 20:52) *
Yeah, but Kaunas are too proud an institution to play that kind of football.

Now now Mako, your hardly in a position to criticise......better served worrying about your own club than worrying about the club that's won more major trophies than any other. Yes Glasgow Rangers are indeed that football club and it is only fair to remind those who criticise us.

When your up there along side us then maybe you will have earned the right to have a dig!

Until then....you can but only dream. rolleyes.gif
Makoliunas
QUOTE (The Hun @ Jul 28 2008, 21:20) *
......better served worrying about your own club than worrying about the club that's won more major trophies than any other...

You're right. I hereby promise never to criticise Linfield again.
The Hun
QUOTE (Makoliunas @ Jul 28 2008, 21:25) *
You're right. I hereby promise never to criticise Linfield again.

Now now Mako...you know that ain't true. Although to be fair to Linfield they have done well themselves and you were right to recognise they have won many trophies.

However, through the following link under the sub heading of `Success` it does state that only Rangers FC of Scotland have won more trophies.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linfield_F.C.#Honours
westcoast
QUOTE (The Hun @ Jul 28 2008, 21:48) *
Now now Mako...you know that ain't true. Although to be fair to Linfield they have done well themselves and you were right to recognise they have won many trophies.

However, through the following link under the sub heading of `Success` it does state that only Rangers FC of Scotland have won more trophies.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linfield_F.C.#Honours

Yes Yes Yes. All very interesting. Context is the thing though. Over what period have Rankers won more trophies than anyone else elsewhere ever. How does the recent record compare with real football teams who maybe weren't around in 1860 - 1890? Anyway as a simple point that covers most general views - stop being such a self centred, patronising twat. You pontificate (deliberate choice of words, by the way) endlessly as if your voice opinion and view was somehow the gold standard. You have a single voice and opinion - you are not the be all and end all of football/cultural/social wisdom, no guru status for you, I'm afraid. Having said that I'm sure you don't bite at parties or anything like that.
raith_94
Wikipedia? huh.gif I could go on there and update the Rangers page to read "Glasgow Rangers are a species of Indian elephant". Doesn't make it true though.
LordHawHaw

I love the way some Glasgow Rangers fans say they are the most successful team in the world laugh.gif
IXI THE ONE IXI
http://www.rsssf.com/miscellaneous/rangers-100trophies.html

Try checking the References on wikipedia once in a while. As for editing it willy nilly, it is semi-protected, try it and see.
MC Pee Pants
nothing would make me happier than an emphatic victory for kaunus
Disraeli
QUOTE (LordHawHaw @ Jul 29 2008, 10:47) *
I love the way some Glasgow Rangers fans say they are the most successful team in the world laugh.gif

Being the most successful Scottish team, success being measured in domestic trophies won, is good enough.
rfcgav
Just got ma tickets, Wouldnt normally be overly worried about this game but with injuries
and so far and poor transfers (not the players but the positions) am really nervous about this
one. Still we can surely overcome kaunus or theres no point going to the champs league.
2-0 gers.
Millfield Marksman
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Jul 29 2008, 12:43) *
Still we can surely overcome kaunus or theres no point going to the champs league.

Eh?
LordHawHaw
QUOTE (rfcgav @ Jul 29 2008, 12:43) *
Just got ma tickets, Wouldnt normally be overly worried about this game but with injuries
and so far and poor transfers (not the players but the positions) am really nervous about this
one. Still we can surely overcome kaunus or theres no point going to the champs league.
2-0 gers.

I reckon you'll get 4 or 5, you should
rfcgav
QUOTE (Millfield Marksman @ Jul 29 2008, 12:50) *
Eh?

What? huh.gif
The Hun
QUOTE (westcoast @ Jul 28 2008, 23:18) *
Anyway as a simple point that covers most general views - stop being such a self centred, patronising twat. You pontificate (deliberate choice of words, by the way) endlessly as if your voice opinion and view was somehow the gold standard. You have a single voice and opinion - you are not the be all and end all of football/cultural/social wisdom, no guru status for you, I'm afraid.

Your right Westcoast. I do have a single voice and opinion..........is that any less than yours?

In saying that, you do realise that you have just demonstrated how to form opinion of a character through the analysis of text words submitted onto an internet forum. For all you know I could be Robbie the fuckin` Robot sitting at a keyboard and being worked by 10 guys intent on taking the piss.........however, in case you started to doubt your obvious skills in determining the mind set of an anonymous internet poster, allow me to take this moment of my selfish centered nature and share it with you in order to gain appeasement for any acts of folly I may have committed in your eyes.

Noticing your obvious disdain for the original subject matter, allow me to point out it was actually harmless banter between two posters........and although my point clearly wound you up...which I can understand as you support Celtic and reading once more about Rangers successful history might not please you.......allow me to point out it was just banter!

Please accept my apologies if I offended you. You hadn't even entered my head...sorry large metal head shaped like a medicine ball, when I replied to Mako so please understand I didn't set out to offend you personally in any way.

All I said was Rangers FC have won more major trophies than any other football club in history.
I was just stating fact during banter. Harmless facts. smile.gif
zenith st.petersburg
WHEN RANGERS GET SPANKED BY VLADS MOB AULD SMIDDY WILL USE THE LACK OF EUROPEAN FOOTBALL THIS SEASON TO HELP GUIDE RANGERS INTO 2ND PLACE THIS SEASON AND POSSIBLY RETAIN THE LEAGUE CUP . C'MON ALLU TEDDY BEARS ITS NOT ALL DOOM & GLOOM ! HAIL HAIL biggrin.gif
zenith st.petersburg
IN REPLY TO THE HUNS RANTINGS ABOUT RANGERS BEING THE MOST SUCCESSFUL CLUB IN TERMS OF TROPHIES I THINK HE NEEDS A HISTORY LESSON ON SUCCESS -
CELTIC HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN 6 EURO CUP Q-FINALS
4 EURO CUP SEMI-FINALS
2 EURO CUP FINALS
THEY EVEN WON IT ONCE
THE FIRST TEAM TO WIN 9 IN A ROW
CELTIC'S REPUTATION & FAME IN WORLD FOOTBALL IS FAR SUPERIOR THAN RANGERS DOMESTIC HISTORY. IT'S LIKE COMPARING PRIMARK TO HARRODS!
KnightswoodBear
Are we taking bets on who it is?
zenith st.petersburg
QUOTE (KnightswoodBear @ Jul 29 2008, 19:11) *
Are we taking bets on who it is?

ibrox will be empty for 9 bells tomorrow- laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
The Hun
QUOTE (zenith st.petersburg @ Jul 29 2008, 19:09) *
IN REPLY TO THE HUNS RANTINGS ABOUT RANGERS BEING THE MOST SUCCESSFUL CLUB IN TERMS OF TROPHIES I THINK HE NEEDS A HISTORY LESSON ON SUCCESS -
CELTIC HAVE BEEN INVOLVED IN 6 EURO CUP Q-FINALS
4 EURO CUP SEMI-FINALS
2 EURO CUP FINALS
THEY EVEN WON IT ONCE
THE FIRST TEAM TO WIN 9 IN A ROW
CELTIC'S REPUTATION & FAME IN WORLD FOOTBALL IS FAR SUPERIOR THAN RANGERS DOMESTIC HISTORY. IT'S LIKE COMPARING PRIMARK TO HARRODS!

No disrespect intended but I think you will find most people will believe Rangers to be the bigger of the two clubs and of course, the majority of football fans attending matches in this country today will be more aware of Rangers as the more dominant force due to the trophy laden Walter Smith management during the last 20 years or so and regard us as still the bigger scalp. IMO of course.

In saying that, history does show that outwith the great Jock Stein, Celtic's history is fairly inadequate in success terms to say the least. If you don't believe me, check back in your big Scottish football history book to pre Stein years and see where you come in relation to Rangers.

Hardly Harrods....although apparently Primark is more popular than Harrods when it comes to numbers through the door....like number of trophies through our door compared to yours! wink.gif