Full Version: Abolish The Old Firm
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > Rangers v Celtic, Celtic v Rangers
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
Angela
Rangers policy of not signing Catholics was abolished more than 20 years ago yet a sectarian sickness still blights Scottish football and the city of Glasgow.

Large sections of both the Rangers and Celtic supports are bigoted ignorant scum.

Religious and terrorist chants can still be heard from both sets of supports, especially on their travels.

Many Celtic fans still hark on about the 'Old Country' and at best have an indifferent attitude to the Scottish national team.

Isn't it time this sickness in our society was put to bed once and for all.

Isn't it time to abolish the Old Firm and form 2 new Glasgow teams whose supports will not be drawn from 2 different 'tribes'.
lzreid
Good topic. These 2 teams whilst not the cause of sectarian hatred in our land are certainly its focal point. Get rid of them ASAP.
wibblemonkey
i would say any team that is without sin in this respect should cat the first stone

so thats Hearts , Killie and Murderwell fans out of the eqation for a start laugh.gif
Angela
QUOTE (lzreid @ Jul 24 2008, 18:37) *
Good topic. These 2 teams whilst not the cause of sectarian hatred in our land are certainly its focal point. Get rid of them ASAP.

That is true. The Old Firm are not the cause of sectarianism in Glasgow. They are its symptoms and their existence has perpetuated the problem. The city of Liverpool used to have a worse sectarian problem than Glasgow. However, sectarianism is nearly unheard of in Mersyside these days, primarily because the 2 large football clubs there are not sectarian. As long as we have the Old Firm, we will have a sectarian problem in Glasgow. As you so aptly put it: they are its focal point.

http://lemming.mahost.org/classwar/orange.htm
wibblemonkey
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 18:53) *
That is true. The Old Firm are not the cause of sectarianism in Glasgow. They are its symptoms and their existence has perpetuated the problem. The city of Liverpool used to have a worse sectarian problem than Glasgow. However, sectarianism is nearly unheard of in Mersyside these days, primarily because the 2 large football clubs there are not sectarian. As long as we have the Old Firm, we will have a sectarian problem in Glasgow. As you so aptly put it: they are its focal point.

http://lemming.mahost.org/classwar/orange.htm

Liverpool still has a sectarian problem

not as big as ours but is still exists

any large city with high unemployment and poor education will have a problem with youth disaffected youth joining groups or gangs

Liverpool has seen a rise in sectariona and racist violence in the last 3 -5 years
Angela
Liverpool's sectarian problems used to be a lot worse than Glasgow's.

Glasgow has never had the large scale sectarian street riots which were once commonplace in Liverpool in the early 1900s.

I recently came across the following Blog on Glasgow's sectarian gangs of old. I enjoyed reading it as I am from the East End.

http://brigton-glesjack.blogspot.com/2008/...on-brigton.html
glasnost
QUOTE (wibblemonkey @ Jul 24 2008, 18:56) *
Liverpool still has a sectarian problem

not as big as ours but is still exists

any large city with high unemployment and poor education will have a problem with youth disaffected youth joining groups or gangs

Liverpool has seen a rise in sectariona and racist violence in the last 3 -5 years

Talking of Liverpool, I hear that the Orangies marched past Ned Kellys bar the other week where they w re confronted with rebel songs and abuse by some youths hanging around outside. A few scuffles took place.

At night, around 50 orangies/loyalists came back to Ned Kellys for retribution only to be met head on by double that number. Ned Kellys being where many of the Liverpool hooligans often drink.
killieman
QUOTE (wibblemonkey @ Jul 24 2008, 18:47) *
i would say any team that is without sin in this respect should cat the first stone

so thats Hearts , Killie and Murderwell fans out of the eqation for a start laugh.gif

what the f*ck has all that shit got to do with us ??

get over it you ain't our rivals and you never will be
Angela
I think you are missing the point. The Old Firm are the focal point for sectarianism in Glasgow. Everton and Liverpool are not the focal point for sectarianism in Merseyside. That is why today Glasgow has a much worse sectarian problem than Liverpool even though in the past Liverpool had a worse sectarian problem than Glasgow.
killieman
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 19:22) *
I think you are missing the point. The Old Firm are the focal point for sectarianism in Glasgow. Everton and Liverpool are not the focal point for sectarianism in Merseyside. That is why today Glasgow has a much worse sectarian problem than Liverpool even though in the past Liverpool had a worse sectarian problem than Glasgow.

it wasn't aimed at your post Angela .. it was aimed at that stoat the baw Monkey heid
Angela
And my reply was aimed at Glasnost
killieman
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 19:27) *
And my reply was aimed at Glasnost

oh kewl biggrin.gif
khenny
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 19:22) *

What are yer other alias's ya mad bint?
seamus
Women+Football=Danger
Butterfield
I'm with you Angie. biggrin.gif
Kincardine
This must rank as the most stupid thread in my brief 2 years on this forum.
Beren
I think they should abolish on-line polls that allow you to choose all available options. wink.gif
youroldda
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 18:03) *
Rangers policy of not signing Catholics was abolished more than 20 years ago yet a sectarian sickness still blights Scottish football and the city of Glasgow.

Large sections of both the Rangers and Celtic supports are bigoted ignorant scum.

Religious and terrorist chants can still be heard from both sets of supports, especially on their travels.

Many Celtic fans still hark on about the 'Old Country' and at best have an indifferent attitude to the Scottish national team.

Isn't it time to abolish the Old Firm and form 2 new Glasgow teams whose supports will not be drawn from 2 different 'tribes'.

I wish you and your other half (the hun) would f**k off and stop boring everycunt to death rolleyes.gif ...i would vote for that
Angela
QUOTE (Kincardine @ Jul 24 2008, 20:32) *
This must rank as the most stupid thread in my brief 2 years on this forum.

QUOTE (youroldda @ Jul 24 2008, 20:38) *
I wish you and your other half (the hun) would f**k off and stop boring everycunt to death rolleyes.gif ...i would vote for that

The Rangers Celtic love affair.

Brothers in sectarian arms.

What would you do without each other?
JBM
No.
You can't abolish a club.

END.
Centre Stand Hero
QUOTE (seamus @ Jul 24 2008, 20:26) *
Women+Football=Danger

JBM
QUOTE (seamus @ Jul 24 2008, 20:26) *
Women+Football=Danger

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Angela
QUOTE (pollymac @ Jul 24 2008, 20:38) *
I think they should abolish on-line polls that allow you to choose all available options. wink.gif

Just after fixing it.
Beren
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 20:45) *
Just after fixing it.

Abolish them just after fixing it. That makes sense. blink.gif
wibblemonkey
QUOTE (killieman @ Jul 24 2008, 19:18) *
what the f*ck has all that shit got to do with us ??

get over it you ain't our rivals and you never will be

because i have been at killie and heard yer fans singing the billy boys

and that wee ditty about being up to you knees in fenian blood

hence my comment - let he is without sin cast the first stone

and ps why the feck would i want to be the rivals of a wee diddy team from seaside land
wibblemonkey
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 19:05) *
Liverpool's sectarian problems used to be a lot worse than Glasgow's.

Glasgow has never had the large scale sectarian street riots which were once commonplace in Liverpool in the early 1900s.

I recently came across the following Blog on Glasgow's sectarian gangs of old. I enjoyed reading it as I am from the East End.

http://brigton-glesjack.blogspot.com/2008/...on-brigton.html

it used to be a lot worse i agree

but it does not mean it has gone away and recently it has been on the increase

you said in your second post that in Liverpool it was almost unheard off

that is way off the mark
Beren
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 20:45) *
Just after fixing it.

And why is there a 50/50 split between 18 votes when the poll says 17 votes?
Angela
QUOTE (pollymac @ Jul 24 2008, 20:55) *
And why is there a 50/50 split between 18 votes when the poll says 17 votes?

Because someone must have voted for both options before I fixed it. Probably 'youroldda'
The Hun
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 18:03) *

Angela....although I appreciate your reasoning to combat bigotry, may I suggest it would be easier to abolish the bigots instead of the clubs.

Much quicker as well and allows the more fair minded supporter to still follow his team.

You should remember not all OF fans are bigots....don't judge everyone just because of a few clowns polluting forums like this one!
Those bitter idiots have nothing better to do than massage the `chip` on their shoulders! wink.gif
Angela
QUOTE (The Hun @ Jul 24 2008, 21:04) *
Angela....although I appreciate your reasoning to combat bigotry, may I suggest it would be easier to abolish the bigots instead of the clubs.

Much quicker as well and allows the more fair minded supporter to still follow his team.

You should remember not all OF fans are bigots....don't judge everyone just because of a few clowns polluting forums like this one!
Those bitter idiots have nothing better to do than massage the `chip` on their shoulders! wink.gif

The problem is there are too many bigots attached to both clubs.

It is much simpler just to get rid of the clubs.

Do you honestly believe that one day there will be no sectarianism associated with the OF?

It is too deeply ingrained into the fabric of the 2 supports.
Beren
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 21:36) *
The problem is there are too many bigots attached to both clubs.

It is much simpler just to get rid of the clubs.

Do you honestly believe that one day there will be no sectarianism associated with the OF?

It is too deeply ingrained into the fabric of the 2 supports.

You really are funny. No seriously.
Angela
QUOTE (pollymac @ Jul 24 2008, 21:43) *
You really are funny. No seriously.

So who is it you support?

The Bigots or the Bhigots?

I've got a feeling it is the Bhigots.

They are very good at going into denial.
Beren
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 21:45) *
So who is it you support?

The Bigots or the Bhigots?

I've got a feeling it is the Bhigots.

Neither. I support Celtic. cool.gif

Next?
killieman
QUOTE (wibblemonkey @ Jul 24 2008, 20:51) *
because i have been at killie and heard yer fans singing the billy boys

and that wee ditty about being up to you knees in fenian blood

hence my comment - let he is without sin cast the first stone

and ps why the feck would i want to be the rivals of a wee diddy team from seaside land

open your ears dafty we sing "Killie boys" and "up to our knees in Ayr blood" because wether you like it or not Ayr Utd are still our rivals and you lot never will be hence you and yer pals from Govan are not mentioned in our songs

have a good day
Angela
QUOTE (pollymac @ Jul 24 2008, 21:47) *
Neither. I support Celtic. cool.gif

Next?

So my hunch was correct. You are a Bhigot.

It's all Rangers fault isn't it... wink.gif
wibblemonkey
QUOTE (killieman @ Jul 24 2008, 21:48) *
open your ears dafty we sing "Killie boys" and "up to our knees in Ayr blood" because wether you like it or not Ayr Utd are still our rivals and you lot never will be hence you and yer pals from Govan are not mentioned in our songs

have a good day

I heard Billy Boys and Fenian blood

maybe some of your fans sing a different version from unblemished you

and as i said why would i wish to be the rivals of a club that has won feck all since God was an alter boy and will will feck all for the rest of my life

have a good day yerself
seamus
QUOTE (killieman @ Jul 24 2008, 21:48) *

have a good day

Thats a ridiculous song to sing.

Why is it ok to be up to your neck in Ayr blood?Whers the boundarie between Ayr and Kilmarnock?What happens if you move from Ayr to Killie what happens then?Do Ayr supporters buy Seriously Strong Cheddar?

Beren
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 21:51) *
So my hunch was correct. You are a Bhigot.

It's all Rangers fault isn't it... wink.gif

What is?
Angela
QUOTE (pollymac @ Jul 24 2008, 21:55) *
What is?

Sectarianism in Glasgow today. It has got nothing to with the behaviour, songs and chants of many Celtic supporters? Right?
Beren
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 21:57) *
Sectarianism in Glasgow today. It has got nothing to with the behaviour, songs and chants of many Celtic supporters? Right?

What a strange interpretation of sectarianism you have. Are you related to Beyemystic?
killieman
QUOTE (wibblemonkey @ Jul 24 2008, 21:52) *
I heard Billy Boys and Fenian blood

trust me it wouldn't go down well with our support if those words were sung as a large portion of our support are catholics
Angela
QUOTE (pollymac @ Jul 24 2008, 21:59) *
What a strange interpretation of sectarianism you have. Are you related to Beyemystic?

Maybe. Who knows?

Have you got your head stuck so deeply in the sand that you can't see the bigoted behaviour of many of your fellow Celtic fans?
killieman
QUOTE (seamus @ Jul 24 2008, 21:53) *
Thats a ridiculous song to sing.

Why is it ok to be up to your neck in Ayr blood?Whers the boundarie between Ayr and Kilmarnock?What happens if you move from Ayr to Killie what happens then?Do Ayr supporters buy Seriously Strong Cheddar?

up to the early 70's it used to be "up to our knees in rangers blood" before Ayr Utd were our rivals

the thing is Ayr & Killie fans do not go around trying to kill each other ... its based on rivalry between the two main towns
wibblemonkey
QUOTE (killieman @ Jul 24 2008, 22:00) *
trust me it wouldn't go down well with our support if those words were sung as a large portion of our support are catholics

in ayrshire ????

you must be bussing them in from outside areas biggrin.gif
Beren
QUOTE (Angela @ Jul 24 2008, 22:03) *
Maybe. Who knows?

Have you got your head stuck so deeply in the sand that you can't see the bigoted behaviour of many of your fellow Celtic fans?

What makes you say that?
seamus
QUOTE (killieman @ Jul 24 2008, 22:03) *
up to the early 70's it used to be "up to our knees in rangers blood" before Ayr Utd were our rivals

the thing is Ayr & Killie fans do not go around trying to kill each other ... its based on rivalry between the two main towns

How do you know this?
vikingTON
I agree with the policy of abolishing the Bigot Brothers but not of replacing them with two new Glasgow teams, so I voted No.
Now I see the reason behing Salmond's multi-option referendum.
killieman
QUOTE (seamus @ Jul 24 2008, 22:07) *
How do you know this?

the older boys still brag about it
killieman
QUOTE (wibblemonkey @ Jul 24 2008, 22:04) *
in ayrshire ????

you must be bussing them in from outside areas biggrin.gif

obviously you don't know Ayrshire then laugh.gif
seamus
QUOTE (killieman @ Jul 24 2008, 22:10) *
the older boys still brag about it

How do you know that Ayr and Killie fans dont kill each other but old firm fans do?