Diamonds 666
Jul 21 2008, 15:45
I think Simon Lynch played for Dundee previously.
How did you rate him?
We have him on trial at the moment. Looked like he had a few nice touches but not fully fit.
Will he be playing in tonights game?
Diamonds 666
Jul 21 2008, 15:49
QUOTE (Fudge @ Jul 21 2008, 16:47)

Will he be playing in tonights game?
He is a trialist at the moment so probably.
Allstars #9
Jul 21 2008, 15:49
I would think so Fudge this is the last chance for trialists to impress
Günther
Jul 21 2008, 15:51
Good player. Wouldn't mind him at Clyde to be honest.
Looked a willing runner and intelligent player down in Blyth and also bagged a double. However, I'm led to believe he looked nothing short of woeful in his next two appearances. I'm pretty sure I read he missed an open goal in the game against Stirling from about eight yards. Not only did the ball clear the crossbar, it flew over the stadium's perimeter wall, too.
Diamonds 666
Jul 21 2008, 15:53
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 21 2008, 16:51)

Looked a willing runner and intelligent player down in Blyth and also bagged a double. However, I'm led to believe he looked nothing short of woeful in his next two appearances. I'm pretty sure I read he missed an open goal in the game against Stirling from about eight yards. Not only did the ball clear the crossbar, it flew over the stadium's perimeter wall, too.
I heard he turned down a move to Thistle last week, not sure if its true.
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Jul 21 2008, 16:53)

I heard he turned down a move to Thistle last week, not sure if its true.
We were told he wasn't offered a contract. I'm not sure if Airdrie would be offering more money, a longer deal or guaranteed first-team football, but I can't really see him rejecting an offer from us to go on trial at NB.
MAC-attack
Jul 21 2008, 16:12
He was a cracking player when he was at Dens, intelligent runs, good energy levels and scored a good few goals for us.
port-ton
Jul 21 2008, 16:15
i've never seen him play, so in conclusion...he's shit.
Dunning1874
Jul 21 2008, 16:34
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jul 21 2008, 17:15)

i've never seen him play, so in conclusion...he's shit.
Juan Sara
Jul 21 2008, 16:35
Proven goalscorer in a really shitty Dundee team.
Wouldn't mind him back at Dens TBH.
DundeeDerryBoy
Jul 21 2008, 17:05
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Jul 21 2008, 15:45)

I think Simon Lynch played for Dundee previously.
How did you rate him?
We have him on trial at the moment. Looked like he had a few nice touches but not fully fit.
As I said when Thistle had him on trial:
He's slow, doesn't put in much of a shift, can't pass and he has a first touch like a brick wall................. But give him a chance in the box and he'll take it.
He was excellent for us in our first season in this league and I'm sure he could do a good job for most clubs in this league.
I'm actually surprised Dunfermline haven't snapped him up. He's a proven goal scorer at this level.
Lynch was told by McCall he was surplus to requirements.
GypsyTillIDie
Jul 21 2008, 17:34
Didn't McCall not offer him a contract due to the fact that he was far too similar to Roberts? I'm sure I read that in the ET.
I wouldn't mind him at Clyde, though. Sounds the sort of striker we need.
dee4life
Jul 21 2008, 18:12
Was decent for us but not saw him for a few seasons,thought he was going to thistle but may do a job in this league.
wattie_rojas
Jul 21 2008, 19:38
Good finisher but not great in the build-up. Would take him at Dens though.
VitalDees
Jul 21 2008, 21:08
Decent player can score goals wouldn't take him back at the moment cause we have a better striker in negotiations.

Don't ask, I'm not telling.
SALTHILLCLYDE
Jul 22 2008, 06:27
QUOTE (Diamonds 666 @ Jul 21 2008, 16:49)

He is a trialist at the moment so probably.
He's fucken pish,he couldn't even get a start at Queensland Roar
gp1893
Jul 22 2008, 07:59
QUOTE (SALTHILLCLYDE @ Jul 22 2008, 07:27)

Would probably walk into the Clyde first team then.
I always liked him at Dundee and thought he was a really good player, i always thought he made the wrong decision in going accross there. I would still like to have seen him get a trial with us as one more forward wouldn't go a miss.
Skyline Drifter
Jul 22 2008, 08:10
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 21 2008, 16:51)

I'm pretty sure I read he missed an open goal in the game against Stirling from about eight yards. Not only did the ball clear the crossbar, it flew over the stadium's perimeter wall, too.
That sounds an awful lot worse than it is to anyone who has never been to Stirling. Given the closeness and lack of height in the perimeter wall half the shots that clear the bar also clear the wall!
Allstars #9
Jul 22 2008, 08:47
Signed, he was in the stand at stenny last night
Confirmedooh and more news to come
Hazelly next please
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
Jul 22 2008, 09:06
bloody hell...we're splashing the cash now.....
Francesc Fabregas
Jul 22 2008, 09:46
Airdrie will need all the help they can get, they were dismal last night as we routed them 5-0. Their team was a mixture of first team players and trialists, but even then they were brutal, they looked sluggish and shit.
Even Graham "Shergar" Gibson managed a double and he also hit the bar with a Van Basten-esque volley.
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
Jul 22 2008, 09:48
QUOTE (Francesc Fabregas @ Jul 22 2008, 10:46)

Airdrie will need all the help they can get, they were dismal last night as we routed them 5-0. Their team was a mixture of first team players and trialists, but even then they were brutal, they looked sluggish and shit.
Even Graham "Shergar" Gibson managed a double and he also hit the bar with a Van Basten-esque volley.
4 first team players and the rest were under 19's apparently......
Francesc Fabregas
Jul 22 2008, 09:59
That would explain a lot, the only names I recognised were Kevin Watt, Stuart Noble and David Gillies.
Some of Airdrie's passing was particularly woeful, their lack of ball retention was shocking. The keeper was the worst player there, some of the headers we scored were pretty saveable.
diamonds2002
Jul 22 2008, 10:02
QUOTE (Francesc Fabregas @ Jul 22 2008, 10:59)

That would explain a lot, the only names I recognised were Kevin Watt, Stuart Noble and David Gillies.
Some of Airdrie's passing was particularly woeful, their lack of ball retention was shocking. The keeper was the worst player there, some of the headers we scored were pretty saveable.
Watt is just breaking into the first team and David Gillies has only played a handful of games for the first team (most of them from the subs bench).
Hollis is indeed terrible but not to worry he is apparently excellent in training
weigh cider
Jul 22 2008, 10:08
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Jul 22 2008, 10:48)

4 first team players and the rest were under 19's apparently......
Only 2 recognised first team players Noble and Cardle in the team. Watt/Gillies (1st team squad players) also started. Defense in first half were all under 19's. The rest were a mixture of u 19's and a couple of no very good trialists - and yes we were absolutely crap I have to agree with Cesc on that

However with Lynch now signed and hopefully Hazely on the way I'm a bit more confident for the new season than I was 2 weeks ago. Ball winning midfielder now needed but probably too late as any decent ones will have been snapped up.
Francesc Fabregas
Jul 22 2008, 10:10
QUOTE (diamonds2002 @ Jul 22 2008, 11:02)

Watt is just breaking into the first team and David Gillies has only played a handful of games for the first team (most of them from the subs bench).
Hollis is indeed terrible but not to worry he is apparently excellent in training
That said, I'm pretty sure all the Diamonds fans there last night would agree that we were excellent
diamonds2002
Jul 22 2008, 10:32
QUOTE (weigh cider @ Jul 22 2008, 11:08)

Only 2 recognised first team players Noble and Cardle in the team. Watt/Gillies (1st team squad players) also started. Defense in first half were all under 19's. The rest were a mixture of u 19's and a couple of no very good trialists - and yes we were absolutely crap I have to agree with Cesc on that

However with Lynch now signed and hopefully Hazely on the way I'm a bit more confident for the new season than I was 2 weeks ago.
Ball winning midfielder now needed but probably too late as any decent ones will have been snapped up.
It looks like that ship has sailed - McKenna as first choice with MacLaughlin as back up
Skyline Drifter
Jul 22 2008, 10:35
QUOTE (weigh cider @ Jul 22 2008, 11:08)

Only 2 recognised first team players Noble and Cardle in the team. Watt/Gillies (1st team squad players) also started.
Defense in first half were all under 19's. The rest were a mixture of u 19's and a couple of no very good trialists - and yes we were absolutely crap I have to agree with Cesc on that

Liam Atkin is 21.
rumple
Jul 22 2008, 10:35
Excellent signing for Airdrie. In 2005/6 we were a mess and we relied heavily on his goals. Without them we'd have been in a relegation fight. It was a blow when he decided to move to Australia because we didn't really replace his goal threat till we got Curier and McMenamin in January. If we'd had him in the first half of last season he'd have been 1st choice as a striker. He was a good finisher, and I thought his build up play was good too (though some others disagreed).
I couldn't believe he didn't get a contract with Thistle. I can only imagine he wasn't really fit. If he's fit and on form then he should be one of the better strikers in the division.
BigAl024
Jul 22 2008, 10:44
Likewise, I'm surprised Fat Jobby Potter didnt offer him a contract. This could turn out to be an excellent piece of business by Airdrie. Like others have said, he really stood out in admittedly a very poor Dundee side, yet he still managed to score a fair few goals. Yes, he sometime had questionable workrate, but give him a chance in the box, and he'll put them away. Who is he likely to play along side up front? Has he got good pace?
Anyway, I'm not saying he'll be some kind of saviour, but he could make the difference this season.
weigh cider
Jul 22 2008, 10:51
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 22 2008, 11:35)

Liam Atkin is 21.
Is he - thanks for sharing that with us

. They all looked like young laddies (most people under 40 look that way to me anyway

) and because at least 2 of the back 4 were recognisable as Airdrie u 19's I assumed the rest were as well.
Doesn't detract from the fact that he in particular and the team in general were still CRAP.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 22 2008, 11:16
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 22 2008, 11:44)

Likewise, I'm surprised Fat Jobby Potter didnt offer him a contract. This could turn out to be an excellent piece of business by Airdrie. Like others have said, he really stood out in admittedly a very poor Dundee side, yet he still managed to score a fair few goals. Yes, he sometime had questionable workrate, but give him a chance in the box, and he'll put them away. Who is he likely to play along side up front? Has he got good pace?
Anyway, I'm not saying he'll be some kind of saviour, but he could make the difference this season.
Possibley because we have other options availible that would suit our style of play better
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Jul 22 2008, 12:16)

Possibley because we have other options availible that would suit our style of play better

I thought you only had two strikers? one being buchanen and the other being roberts.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 22 2008, 11:25
QUOTE (Aufc @ Jul 22 2008, 12:21)

I thought you only had two strikers? one being buchanen and the other being roberts.
Donnelly too, Buchanan will probably mis the start of the season too, but no, we have better options to choose from on the transfer front, C'mon, Steve Lovell was training with us, you do the maths..
And apparently are getting a loanee from Everton again..
wearealldoomed
Jul 22 2008, 11:28
I'm delighted with this singing. Lynch looked a decent player when he was with Dundee, and along with Di Giacomo, offers a hell of a lot of experience for his age.
There are still concerns with the squad (left back and central midfield in particular) but Lynch, Di Giacomo, Noble, Gilles and Watt look like the strongest group of forwards we've had in donkeys. Competition for places at Airdrie, whatever next.
Allstars #9
Jul 22 2008, 11:30
QUOTE (Francesc Fabregas @ Jul 22 2008, 11:10)

That said, I'm pretty sure all the Diamonds fans there last night would agree that we were excellent

I meant to text you this morning to let you know my releif that it was mostly our Under 19s and a couple of not very good trialists
but didn't want to detract from your excellent victory
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Jul 22 2008, 12:25)

Donnelly too, Buchanan will probably mis the start of the season too, but no, we have better options to choose from on the transfer front, C'mon, Steve Lovell was training with us, you do the maths..
And apparently are getting a loanee from Everton again..
But realistically are you actually going to get lovell? For the record i dont rate him from what ive seen, but still cannot see him ever going to thistle.
Diamonds 666
Jul 22 2008, 11:44
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 21 2008, 16:56)

We were told he wasn't offered a contract. I'm not sure if Airdrie would be offering more money, a longer deal or guaranteed first-team football, but I can't really see him rejecting an offer from us to go on trial at NB.
I must admit, I woud have been surprised if he knocked back a contract at Thistle to sign for Airdrie as I am sure he would get more money with Thistle. I think he is more likely to get first team football with us.
Overall the comments seem favourable and hopefully he will do a good job. He looked ok against Killie on Saturday however not fully fit. He does take the position of an out and out striker, tracking back was not his thing. We are looking good up front however left back is a real weekness at the moment.
wearealldoomed
Jul 22 2008, 12:04
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 22 2008, 11:44)

Who is he likely to play along side up front? Has he got good pace?
Missed this post earlier.
KB tend to err on the side of caution and play one up front in big games, but with 5 strikers in the pool this time, I imagine he'll go with 2 up this season.
I've not watched Di Giacomo yet, but from what I remember of him at Killie, he's skillful but not the quickest. Noble is very pacey and strong on the ball. He probably laid on around 10 of Allan Russell's goals last term.
The other two (Watt and Gilles) are likely to be used as cover or from the bench, rather then starters.
BigAl024
Jul 22 2008, 12:26
I cant see Lovell signing for Thistle. He has an offer on the table from Killie.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 22 2008, 12:27
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 22 2008, 13:26)

I cant see Lovell signing for Thistle. He has an offer on the table from Killie.
Killie probably arent any richer than us..
BigAl024
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 22 2008, 13:04)

KB tend to err on the side of caution and play one up front in big games, but with 5 strikers in the pool this time, I imagine he'll go with 2 up this season.
I've not watched Di Giacomo yet, but from what I remember of him at Killie, he's skillful but not the quickest. Noble is very pacey and strong on the ball. He probably laid on around 10 of Allan Russell's goals last term.
The other two (Watt and Gilles) are likely to be used as cover or from the bench, rather then starters.
Are Noble and Di Giacomo not wide players though?
thediamonddude
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 22 2008, 13:04)

Yep that seems about right, i'd imagine our first choice partnership is likely to either be Lynch & Di Giacomo or Lynch & Noble. KB seems to have a thing for Noble playing out wide left as well so there's every chance he will be deployed there if for any reason Cardle or McDougall can't fill those roles.
I think our squad is really starting to take shape now and im feeling a bit more positive about the season ahead, hopefully now Haz will sign on and that solves the left back issue and Lovering can just be used as cover. Not too worried about the central midfield area as we have McLaughlin, McKenna & even Smyth who can all cover the defensive mid area if its needed.
Still think 2 more players are needed after the left back to give us a bit of depth but really looking forward to Saturday now.
Oh and I defo wouldn't read anything into last night's game. Hollis & Gillies will be lucky to get anywhere near the team this season so we only reallu had 2 first team regulars in Carlde & Noble plus wee Watt who's only ever used as a sub. I doubt the game spells our imminent doom or anything.
EDIT - BigAl: Nah both Noble & Di Gac are out and out strikers but as far as I know they can be deployed out wide. Noble in particular frequently got played left mid at the end of last season.
BigAl024
Jul 22 2008, 12:29
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Jul 22 2008, 13:27)

Killie probably arent any richer than us..
Possibly. Depends on whether he wants to mince around in Div 1 for the next few seasons I'd imagine.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 22 2008, 12:31
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 22 2008, 13:29)

Possibly. Depends on
whether he wants to mince around in Div 1 for the next few seasons I'd imagine.

Killie or Thistle either way he is fucked
BigAl024
Jul 22 2008, 12:40
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Jul 22 2008, 13:31)

Killie or Thistle either way he is fucked

Well Killie seem to have developed the knack of being shite, but still managing to stay up. Just
Much like St Mirren.
VitalDees
Jul 22 2008, 12:46
I heard Thistle didn't sign Lynch because they couldn't afford him. Don't know if it is true but... you'll not be signing Lovell he's be signing for a better club than Thistle. He has more than just the offer from Kilmarnock, don't expect to see Lovell playing for Thistle, it won't happen.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.