Full Version: A League Of Two Halves
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
SavotheGreat
Anyone else starting to notice an EPL-type divide emerging in our little diddy league?

Five top sides:

Dundee
Dunfermline
St Johnstone
Partick
Queens

Relegation fodder:

Livvy
Clyde
Airdrie
Morton
County

Thoughts?

Fife Saint
Ask me in September.
vikingTON
Anyone else noticing threads on a tangent to predited final league table reproducing at a staggering arte of boredom?
Anyone else notice Savo's mysterious return yet again after vowing to resign when St Johnstone failed to win the league again?
Anyone else not really care?
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 20 2008, 20:14) *
Anyone else noticing threads on a tangent to predited final league table reproducing at a staggering arte of boredom?
Anyone else notice Savo's mysterious return yet again after vowing to resign when St Johnstone failed to win the league again?
Anyone else not really care?

Passive aggression? Is this because I labelled you "relegation fodder"?

And yes, I too am sick of all the prediction threads.

But this is not a prediction thread, this is merely an observation with the aim of encouraging some decent conversation...

YOU MISERABLE SHITE! rolleyes.gif
port-ton
i'm just glad you realise St Johnstone are the 3rd best team.
BigAl024
So by your observations, Partick Thistle are odds on to win the league then?
vikingTON
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jul 20 2008, 20:18) *
Passive aggression? Is this because I labelled you "relegation fodder"?

And yes, I too am sick of all the prediction threads.

But this is not a prediction thread, this is merely an observation with the aim of encouraging some decent conversation...

YOU MISERABLE SHITE! rolleyes.gif

No, its a piss poor fishing attempt. rolleyes.gif
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 20 2008, 20:20) *
So by your observations, Partick Thistle are odds on to win the league then?

No, I didn't say that.

I would say that they would finish some distance ahead of the bottom five, though.
DomDom
Not sure of anyone other than St. Johnstone and Dundee being classed as above the rest. The likes of Partick, Dunfermline and Queens could really finish anywhere from 3rd to 7th IMO. You can't discount Livvy untill we're finished with the transfer window and we have seen the full scale of their ambition.

I do think a couple of teams in each side are right. You will probably be right about Partick and Queens. I'm not convinced about Dunfermline. As for the bottom half, you're probably right about all of them apart from Lavvy, who MIGHT break the top half. Ross County might have a really good start, and get the confidence up and MAYBE break the top five but can't see it happening.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jul 20 2008, 20:18) *

Defensive bunch you Morton fans, eh?

Really, do you expect to break into the top five this season?

Can you honestly tell me that you hold any ambition other than fighting off relegation this season?

QUOTE (vikingTON @ Jul 20 2008, 20:21) *
No, its a piss poor fishing attempt. rolleyes.gif

My reputation precedes me.
DomDom

No.

I think we could get in touching distance if we do really well. I don't think the gap is as big as you think.
port-ton
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jul 20 2008, 20:25) *
Defensive bunch you Morton fans, eh?

Can you honestly tell me that you hold any ambition other than fighting off relegation this season?

where did i say we'd break into the top 5? huh.gif

we'll probably finish between 6th and 9th, the best we could hope for is finishing 5th but i certainly don't expect it. I'd be happy with us finishing 8th.

there are at least 5 teams in this league of 10 who's main aim this season is to avoid relegation, but any single one of them could have a good season and break into the top 5 easily.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jul 20 2008, 20:30) *
where did i say we'd break into the top 5? huh.gif

we'll probably finish between 6th and 9th, the best we could hope for is finishing 5th but i certainly don't expect it. I'd be happy with us finishing 8th.

there are at least 5 teams in this league of 10 who's main aim this season is to avoid relegation, but any single one of them could have a good season and break into the top 5 easily.

Do you figure this as some sort of personal attack on Morton FC?

I hate to tell you this, but the bigger sides in this league couldn't give two hoots about the non-entity that is Morton FC.

From the way I see it, the top and bottom five are already set. All that remains to be decided is exactly where everyone will finish.

THAT is all I was trying to put across, before being attacked from all angles by bitter "wish they were born in Paisley" Morton fans.
Juan Sara
Aye, I wouldn't really count Queens in though.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jul 20 2008, 20:11) *
Anyone else starting to notice an EPL-type divide emerging in our little diddy league?

Five top sides:

Dundee
Dunfermline
St Johnstone
Partick
Queens

Relegation fodder:

Livvy
Clyde
Airdrie
Morton
County

Thoughts?

I think that's quite unfair on a few teams actually. The way I see it, the league is breaking into three little groups.

Somewhere near the top:
St Johnstone
Dundee
Queen of the South

Mid-Table mediocrity:
Partick Thistle
Dunfermline
Ross County
Livingston

Relegation candidates:
Morton
Clyde
Airdrie

Call me optomistic all you like but I really don't see us finishing below any of the teams I've put in the relegation candidates. We have arguably one of the best backlines in the league, it looks like a little money is being put into the club and most importantly, the players on trial haven't looked like complete mugs.

Sure, our lack of depth could cost us at some point but you could also argue that most of the younger players who stepped in last season to help us out did a great job (considering the lack of experience) and I think that these will be some of our better players this year. These guys will be motivated to improve on good performances last year and finally try to cement a place in the starting line-up.

My prediction is that we will finish 6th. Quite clear of danger for the first time in a long time.
DomDom
From the way I see it, the top and bottom five are already set. All that remains to be decided is exactly where everyone will finish.

I'm not sure that's the case.

I don't know if Partick, Dunfermline or even Queens are good enough to ensure that they stay ahead of the bottom sides. I just don't think the quality gap is big enough. I reckon that St. Johnstone and Dundee are good enough to make a considerable gap. Whether they do so is another matter, but even if they don't safely make top two, they are bound to be top five.

Dunning1874
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jul 20 2008, 20:55) *
I think that's quite unfair on a few teams actually. The way I see it, the league is breaking into three little groups.

Somewhere near the top:
St Johnstone
Dundee
Queen of the South

Mid-Table mediocrity:
Partick Thistle
Dunfermline
Ross County
Livingston

Relegation candidates:
Morton
Clyde
Airdrie

I pretty much agree with that, but I'd add Livingston to the relegation candidates, and maybe Ross County too.
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jul 20 2008, 23:13) *
I pretty much agree with that, but I'd add Livingston to the relegation candidates, and maybe Ross County too.

That's a fair opinion to be honest.

I put Livi in the mid-table section because of the unpredictability of the situation (I know I'm sounding like a broken record). If things go well then who knows but there's always the prospect of relegation if things go tits-up.

Ross County I put in the mid-table section because they signed Richard Brittain who was immense for us in the season we went down. However, if players like Dahl and Craig don't perform (which isn't improbable) they'll be near the bottom.
el bawbag
Somewhere near the top:
St Johnstone
Dundee

Mid-Table mediocrity:
Partick Thistle
Dunfermline
Ross County
Queen of the South

Relegation candidates:
Morton
Clyde
Airdrie

Could finish fucking anywhere:
Livingston

From what i've seen though i reckon we'll be between 3rd-6th...but f**k knows
port-ton
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jul 20 2008, 20:49) *
Do you figure this as some sort of personal attack on Morton FC?

I hate to tell you this, but the bigger sides in this league couldn't give two hoots about the non-entity that is Morton FC.

THAT is all I was trying to put across, before being attacked from all angles by bitter "wish they were born in Paisley" Morton fans.

huh.gif did you even read the post that you quoted? hate to tell you, but its not us thats defensive. I said Morton would finish in the bottom 5, which is what you said we would. I'd hate to see you get brutally gang raped by a group of disease ridden hobos if you think this is an attack from all angles. Scratch that, i'd love to see that.

luckily the league isn't played on the basis of ' the way savo sees it '.

why would we be bitter anyway? there is no money in this league so there is really no difference between finishing 2nd and 8th. all the bigger sides in the league can go on not giving two hoots about us because we'll be in the same league as the majority of them next season.
a_mac
We won't get promoted, we are saving ourselves for the UEFA Cup biggrin.gif
Uncle Albert
I love the way every seaon everyone. but everyone has us down and every season we stay up, (ok so last seasaon was a struggle but we are still here! wink.gif )

Keep tipping us for the drop guys and gals, if it means we carry on staying in the first!!!
sonofjenova
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jul 20 2008, 20:11) *

Five top sides:

Dundee
Dunfermline
St Johnstone
Partick
Queens

Relegation fodder:

Livvy
Clyde
Airdrie
Morton
County

Thoughts?

I actually agree with this. It's hardly a brave or difficult observation to make, but it's probably the correct one.

QUOTE (port-ton @ Jul 20 2008, 20:18) *

2nd best team wink.gif

QUOTE (Uncle Albert @ Jul 21 2008, 09:01) *
I love the way every seaon everyone. but everyone has us down and every season we stay up, (ok so last seasaon was a struggle but we are still here! wink.gif )

Keep tipping us for the drop guys and gals, if it means we carry on staying in the first!!!

I don't like how well our pre-season is going...we seem to thrive on pre-season upheaval sad.gif
bishoptonbuddie
1. Dundee
2. St Johnstone
3. Livingston
4. Partick
5. Dunfermline
6. Clyde
7 Ross County
8. Queen of the South
9. Airdrie
10. Morton
DAFC
Someone will surprise everyone, like QOTS did last year.
Looking at their squad at the start of last season I thought that they looked impressive.
I think the same thing about County this year, maybe they will finish in the top five?

qos_75
QUOTE (bishoptonbuddie @ Jul 21 2008, 11:44) *
1. Dundee
2. St Johnstone
3. Livingston
4. Partick
5. Dunfermline
6. Clyde
7 Ross County
8. Queen of the South
9. Airdrie
10. Morton

David W
Not really sure that its a clear split to be honest.

Firstly, Livi are a total unknown so I've not really considered them. They could conceivably be top, bottom or mid-table.

Of the other 9, Dundee and St Johnstone will be in the top three. Queens are the other good tip but that's based on an excellent second half of the season when they didn't appear to accrue many injuries or suspensions. I'm not convinced they've got the strength in depth at the back of the other two.

Dunfermline will probably be fourth. They showed last season they're not bad enough to go down but they don't have much up front to be scared of.

After that, Airdrie will finish in the bottom two. Ross County, Clyde, Morton and Thistle; a couple will struggle badly and a couple will push on, possibly pushing into the top 5.
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jul 21 2008, 11:55) *
Someone will surprise everyone, like QOTS did last year.
Looking at their squad at the start of last season I thought that they looked impressive.
I think the same thing about County this year, maybe they will finish in the top five?

I don't think we particularly "surprised everyone" last year. Apart from with the cup progress of course. We finished 4th in the league which was roughly where we expected to be. Probably didn't expect to be above you but 4th - 6th was in line with expectations, though it wasn't achieved in a balanced fashion.
Allstars #9
we will walk it, Paul lovering to finish top scorer in the league wink.gif
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (port-ton @ Jul 21 2008, 02:33) *
why would we be bitter anyway? there is no money in this league so there is really no difference between finishing 2nd and 8th. all the bigger sides in the league can go on not giving two hoots about us because we'll be in the same league as the majority of them next season.

So you do accept there is little to no point in Morton's existence?

If all any side has to play for is 1st place, what the hell are you doing turning up to watch Morton every week?

While Morton fans may feel the need to fixate all their attention on Championship glory every season, I think you will find that supporters from other sides go along because they feel a sense of attachment to their club. Nice to know where you guys are at though.

QUOTE (Uncle Albert @ Jul 21 2008, 09:01) *

I actually believe Clyde will avoid relegation quite easily this year.

Ha, you're fucked now.
port-ton
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jul 21 2008, 14:45) *
So you do accept there is little to no point in Morton's existence?

If all any side has to play for is 1st place, what the hell are you doing turning up to watch Morton every week?

While Morton fans may feel the need to fixate all their attention on Championship glory every season, I think you will find that supporters from other sides go along because they feel a sense of attachment to their club. Nice to know where you guys are at though.

huh.gif that is three posts in a row i've had to do that face when quoting you, maybe that should tell you something.

I was going to places like Stranraer, Peterhead and Forfar while you were going to places like Ibrox and Parkhead. I was going to games every week when my team was plummeting down the leagues and out of existence almost, while yours was playing Monaco etc in Europe. But here we are, now in our second season back in the 1st division, and look...the mighty St Johnstone are still here with us.

You say i don't go out of attachment to my club, but you're the one who is nowhere to be seen for a week on here anytime St Johnstone lose a game.