Full Version: Big Jim
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2
young gun dee
dundee signed big old sack jim on a 1 year deal ....lets see (NO comment at the moment) on him until we see him. To be fair he was good in the frendlies , can only hope i suppose
SaltyTON
QUOTE (young gun dee @ Jul 20 2008, 14:49) *
dundee signed big old sack jim on a 1 year deal ....lets see (NO comment at the moment) on him until we see him. To be fair he was good in the frendlies , can only hope i suppose

Due to the uselessness of your post, I choose to believe that Dundee are signing Jim Leighton.
Dunning1874
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 20 2008, 14:59) *
Due to the uselessness of your post, I choose to believe that Dundee are signing Jim Leighton.

G_Man1985
Haha. Jim Lauchlan has signed for Dundee on a years contract. Not happy about his performances but he will do for now.
Szamo's_Ammo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rpFa_8E4tIw

He's scored winners at Dens before. smile.gif
Radford
I have to agree with Salty, can folk not at least try to give the smallest indication of what the thread is about in the title!
fabcab
I thought most people would have guessed seeing as Dundee have been getting ripped about having him on trial!!
SaltyTON
QUOTE (fabcab @ Jul 20 2008, 15:24) *
I thought most people would have guessed seeing as Dundee have been getting ripped about having him on trial!!

Most people don't care. Didn't know that, didn't want to.
fabcab
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 20 2008, 15:25) *

Enough people care 2 have a couple of threads on hear about it with numerous posts and not just Dundee fans!!
gatehouseqos

Unlucky biggrin.gif
Skyline Drifter
He's certainly not "big" either. He's fairly short for a centre half.

Still don't think this is the dreadful signing most people are making out it is though.
Telboy
I think it is a decent enough signing for Dundee, he is an average SFL1 player, not someone who could still cut it in the SPL though, I'm sure Dundee will get a few seasons out of him biggrin.gif
fabcab
QUOTE (Telboy @ Jul 20 2008, 16:08) *
I think it is a decent enough signing for Dundee, he is an average SFL1 player, not someone who could still cut it in the SPL though, I'm sure Dundee will get a few seasons out of him biggrin.gif

Exactly why he only got 1 year deal we will not need him after this season. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
19QOS19

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif My money is back on the Saints!
DAFC
He's pish.

Juan Sara
Hes going to have to prove himself.
dumfries.....boys
Big Jim two small for centre half . Is as slow as a snail.I have seen a bus turn quicker.
Apart from that he is fine.
Below average 1st div player thats why he is not a QUEENS player.

Muggy
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 20 2008, 15:50) *
He's certainly not "big" either. He's fairly short for a centre half.

Still don't think this is the dreadful signing most people are making out it is though.

Spot on. His approach to football is not oil-paintingesque, but he does his job, and today, against a very strong Wolves side, he was our best player, along with Eric Paton (what a player he is by the way). His no nonsense approach is warming to me. I'm happy to have him, as he has did little wrong in pre-season. Welcome to Dens.
Muggy
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jul 20 2008, 16:57) *
Hes going to have to prove himself.

How do you think he played today?
silvery tay
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 20 2008, 15:25) *

biggrin.gif Yet choose to post about it......strange and bizzare smile.gif
Reynard
I thought it was BIG JIM Hamilton you meant. I'd have been devastated if he had left on the eve of potentially his finest season.
SaltyTON
QUOTE (silvery tay @ Jul 20 2008, 18:02) *
biggrin.gif Yet choose to post about it......strange and bizzare smile.gif

Still not posted about it, posting about your signing of Jim Leighton. Was a good 'keeper back in the day, but I think he's a bit past it now!
Deeboy
He was awful again today. Looks far too laboured just jogging for the ball, god forbid when these games start to mean something! Would rather see this wage used elsewhere as Malone is more than capable filling in at CB with either Cowan or hopefully Forsyth given a shot a left back. Undoubtedly Alex Rae's worst signing of his tenure in my eyes.
SuperTommy
QUOTE (Deeboy @ Jul 20 2008, 20:04) *
He was awful again today. Looks far too laboured just jogging for the ball, god forbid when these games start to mean something! Would rather see this wage used elsewhere as Malone is more than capable filling in at CB with either Cowan or hopefully Forsyth given a shot a left back. Undoubtedly Alex Rae's worst signing of his tenure in my eyes.

Got to 100% disagree. In games up to now i'd say there has been a moment in each game that he's look a half yard out of position or slow covering but he's always recovered well and has played well for the rest of the matches. Today however he didn't put a foot wrong. Wolves are a far better side than we will face next season and with Iwelumo and Ebanks-Blake i feared Jim would have a terrible time but he sailed through it. Our best player today i'd say and for anyone to say he was awful today and for the even more riduculus statement of "Rae's worst signing" i'd say you had your mind made up before even seeing him and you've stuck to it.

I wouldn't of been a Lauchlan fan before he signed and when his named was being thrown about i wasn't sure he's good enough but based on apperances for us alone he is good enough to fill in at center back.
wattie_rojas
I thought he was ok 1st half but ropey as 2nd. Very slow and beaten in the air too much albeit Wolves were HUGE!
Deeboy
I respect your opinion SuperTommy, although in saying that he has impressed..anytime the ball came near him today it was just a hoof..no composure at all, very rarely won a header and was caught out with a turn of pace far too frequently. I know times are tight and we need cover but personally I beleive some junior defenders would do better than Lauchlan, from what I've seen of him.
19QOS19
QUOTE (Muggy @ Jul 20 2008, 17:37) *
Spot on. His approach to football is not oil-paintingesque, but he does his job, and today, against a very strong Wolves side, he was our best player, along with Eric Paton (what a player he is by the way). His no nonsense approach is warming to me. I'm happy to have him, as he has did little wrong in pre-season. Welcome to Dens.

And you think you are going to win the league?! Eric is a good signing for any team in this league no question, but he woouldn't cut it in the SPL so he would need to get the chop if you were to get promoted. The loss of Paton doesn't actually look to bad for us as we have Barr who is young and looks full of potential. I think QoS have had Paton's best years IMHO.

QUOTE (SuperTommy @ Jul 20 2008, 20:12) *
Got to 100% disagree. In games up to now i'd say there has been a moment in each game that he's look a half yard out of position or slow covering but he's always recovered well and has played well for the rest of the matches. Today however he didn't put a foot wrong. Wolves are a far better side than we will face next season and with Iwelumo and Ebanks-Blake i feared Jim would have a terrible time but he sailed through it. Our best player today i'd say and for anyone to say he was awful today and for the even more riduculus statement of "Rae's worst signing" i'd say you had your mind made up before even seeing him and you've stuck to it.

I wouldn't of been a Lauchlan fan before he signed and when his named was being thrown about i wasn't sure he's good enough but based on apperances for us alone he is good enough to fill in at center back.

If he is good enough for you then you really should be worrying if you think you can win the league! Laughlan is a decent 1st division player, but if you come up against a team that has quick striker you really are fcuked. What Laughlan lacks in pace he makes up in positioning and sometimes he gets that all wrong!

If I had to say something positive about Laughlan it would be that for his height he gets up well and wins a sh*tload of headers.

I'm glad he is not a QoS player as he is more a liability than anything else!
scottdeeuk
QUOTE (dumfries.....boys @ Jul 20 2008, 16:58) *
Big Jim two small for centre half . Is as slow as a snail.I have seen a bus turn quicker.
Apart from that he is fine.
Below average 1st div player thats why he is not a QUEENS player.

So y is Ronaldo not a Queens player??? Get tae, Queens fans seem to recon they r gonna go up and win the spl next season, dream on. We have all seen what happens to teams who bat above their weight!

Wish ppl wud get off Jims back, from what iv seen of him in Pre-season he has done well and certainly looks hungry, so give him a chance fellow dees, forget about the united connection!

Let the season begin!!!

SuperTommy
He's never going to be first choice though. I can't give an opinion on what he would be like next to Mckeown as i've not seen him play for us yet, however next to MacKenzie i'd be confident they would be solid as a partnership.

As i said though he'll not be first choice but i'm happy he'll be able to do a job when called upon.
Reynard
QUOTE (scottdeeuk @ Jul 20 2008, 20:27) *
So y is Ronaldo not a Queens player??? Get tae, Queens fans seem to recon they r gonna go up and win the spl next season, dream on. We have all seen what happens to teams who bat above their weight!

Wish ppl wud get off Jims back, from what iv seen of him in Pre-season he has done well and certainly looks hungry, so give him a chance fellow dees, forget about the united connection!

Let the season begin!!!

Aye. They end up stuck in the first division like Dundee.
19QOS19

Let the season begin!!!

What has Ronaldo got to do with QoS?! Find me one quote from a QoS fan that thinks they are going to win the league! With the squad Dundee have they wouldn't cope with the SPL either!

Laughlan's sh&te according to QoS fans , you cant change someone's opinion.

By the way, Laughlan started the season well for us a couple of years back and turned sh&t, you've been warned.
19QOS19
QUOTE (Reynard @ Jul 20 2008, 20:33) *
Aye. They end up stuck in the first division like Dundee.

Aye spot on! Gr$tna are he only team that have punched above their weight recently. ICT, St Mirren and Falkirk have been a credit to the 1st Division.
MAC-attack
I'm not happy with the idea of Jim playing for the Dee, but thought he didn't do to badly today,
Yes he's always likely to drop a bomb but today he kept it simple and just cleared his lines when needed.

Hopefully Rae will have someone else up his sleeve though..
FTOF_PTFC_1
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

DEES 4 LEAGUE !
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 20 2008, 20:24) *
If I had to say something positive about Laughlan it would be that for his height he gets up well and wins a sh*tload of headers.

I'd have to say I disagree with that entirely. Lauchlan is a decent centre half who makes up for his lack of pace and height with some tremendous positional play and is a very good organiser. He's not really much of a tackler (much more likely to jockey forwards away from goal than actually dispossess them) and I think he won about three headers in his entire two years at Palmerston but he does jump with attackers and make it very difficult for them to direct a useful header on anywhere.

I've said it already in this thread but there are worse centre halves out there than Jim Lauchlan. I don't suppose Dundee expect to start him as first choice but even if they did he'd be reliable enough if he stays fit. He could probably do with some pace alongside him though.
Skyline Drifter

I've yet to see any Queens fan predict on here that we would win the league. And we don't have a stadium that would let us play SPL football anyway.

Most Queens fans have said we have a good squad this year and ought to be capable of challenging if we avoid injuries to key players. (which is also true of Dundee, only St Johnstone in this league have a squad that might be big enough to sustain one or two key first choice long term injuries).
Reynard
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 20 2008, 21:03) *

I've yet to see any Queens fan predict on here that we would win the league. And we don't have a stadium that would let us play SPL football anyway.

Most Queens fans have said we have a good squad this year and ought to be capable of challenging if we avoid injuries to key players. (which is also true of Dundee, only St Johnstone in this league have a squad that might be big enough to sustain one or two key first choice long term injuries).

You can't be that far off it though. Gazebos are acceptable these days anyway.
qos1990
Gives his all, sometimes makes some amazing challenges but most of the time is an absolute bombscare

potter1919
QUOTE (qos1990 @ Jul 20 2008, 21:36) *
Gives his all, sometimes makes some amazing challenges but most of the time is an absolute bombscare
Make's great subway's though biggrin.gif
BigAl024
Way to go einstein.
RDR
sad.gif
Ludo *1
WOW What a great exclusive from the BBC as usual!
Muggy
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 20 2008, 20:24) *
And you think you are going to win the league?! Eric is a good signing for any team in this league no question, but he woouldn't cut it in the SPL so he would need to get the chop if you were to get promoted. The loss of Paton doesn't actually look to bad for us as we have Barr who is young and looks full of potential. I think QoS have had Paton's best years IMHO.

If he is good enough for you then you really should be worrying if you think you can win the league! Laughlan is a decent 1st division player, but if you come up against a team that has quick striker you really are fcuked. What Laughlan lacks in pace he makes up in positioning and sometimes he gets that all wrong!

I'm glad he is not a QoS player as he is more a liability than anything else!

Do I think we will win the league?

Yes, I do, but it will be very close. It will be a two horse race with us and, St. Johnstone.
Get over it people, Jim Lauchlan is for defensive cover. He does his job very well, and I would have no qualms about him playing. Eric Paton looks a superb player, and i'm sure all Dundee fans would agree. His distribution of the ball is fantastic, and he can make a tackle aswell. A fit Craig McKeown, Gary MacKenzie, Eric Paton and Eddie Malone is as good a defensive unit you are likely to see in the first division.

Midfield is ok at the moment with, Paul McHale, Colin Cameron, Darren Young, Mark Gilhaney, Freddie Dacquin, Eddie Mearns, and David O'Brien. Another creative player and, I think we have one of the strongest midfields in the league.

Antoine-Curier and Colin McMenamin - I don't need to explain.

So, all in all, I do believe we'll win the league. Jim Lauchlan will prove to be a loyal and reliable addition who will do the job when called upon.
Yellow Army Faithful
Cannae mind much about him really, Only queens defender i actually didnae like was Jim thomson, seemed to be like our Kevin James, But Not anywhere near as clumsy
Skyline Drifter
QUOTE (Yellow Army Faithful @ Jul 20 2008, 22:48) *
Cannae mind much about him really, Only queens defender i actually didnae like was Jim thomson, seemed to be like our Kevin James, But Not anywhere near as clumsy

He spent most of last season injured and never played against St Johnstone. He did play all four games the season before though, even got sent off in the last minute of the first of them.
Web
QUOTE (Muggy @ Jul 20 2008, 22:46) *

Yes, I do, but it will be very close. It will be a two horse race with us and, St. Johnstone.
Get over it people, Jim Lauchlan is for defensive cover. He does his job very well, and I would have no qualms about him playing. Eric Paton looks a superb player, and i'm sure all Dundee fans would agree. His distribution of the ball is fantastic, and he can make a tackle aswell. A fit Craig McKeown, Gary MacKenzie, Eric Paton and Eddie Malone is as good a defensive unit you are likely to see in the first division.

Midfield is ok at the moment with, Paul McHale, Colin Cameron, Darren Young, Mark Gilhaney, Freddie Dacquin, Eddie Mearns, and David O'Brien. Another creative player and, I think we have one of the strongest midfields in the league.

So, all in all, I do believe we'll win the league. Jim Lauchlan will prove to be a loyal and reliable addition who will do the job when called upon.

But we're not allowed to think our players are better than other teams!!
19QOS19
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 20 2008, 21:01) *
I'd have to say I disagree with that entirely. Lauchlan is a decent centre half who makes up for his lack of pace and height with some tremendous positional play and is a very good organiser. He's not really much of a tackler (much more likely to jockey forwards away from goal than actually dispossess them) and I think he won about three headers in his entire two years at Palmerston but he does jump with attackers and make it very difficult for them to direct a useful header on anywhere.

I've said it already in this thread but there are worse centre halves out there than Jim Lauchlan. I don't suppose Dundee expect to start him as first choice but even if they did he'd be reliable enough if he stays fit. He could probably do with some pace alongside him though.

I think that nearer the end of his time at Palmerston his positional play wasn't as good as what it had been and therefore he had become poor as the one thing he was good at disappeared!

QUOTE (Muggy @ Jul 20 2008, 22:46) *

Eric is a superb player. However, defensively he can be caught out. He is a great attacking minded fullback but I think you could find a better defensive fullback.

Another player who will again be found out if you do go up. As for Curier, when I saw him against QoS he looked average and was never off the ground. He must obviously be doing something right in other games though. Still wouldn't swap either of them for O'Connor or Dobbie, not by a long shot.
19QOS19
QUOTE (Webby @ Jul 20 2008, 22:58) *
But we're not allowed to think our players are better than other teams!!

If you had a player like Kieran McAnespie you would still argue that he would be the best left sided player in the league though laugh.gif .
Web
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 20 2008, 23:22) *
If you had a player like Kieran McAnespie you would still argue that he would be the best left sided player in the league though laugh.gif .

I would?