Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Jul 19 2008, 23:08
Ex Airdrie striker Gary Twigg has been released from his 18 month contract at Accies with a year still to go.
An Accies insider stated that Brechin,Morton and Thistle were interested.Rumours The Pars and his old club may also be interested.I can't see him giving up a full-time contract for a part-time one,so perhaps he may well find himself at one of the aforementioned clubs.
He only paid 4 games for us and never played again after his petulance at Broadwood when he was subbed after 30 minutes.He may well be a good striker,but the Offiong style one man role was not suited to him.He will have something to prove at his next club I would imagine.
South Lanarkshire Jag
Jul 19 2008, 23:19
twigg? isn't he a slow little midget?
if so no thanks cos we need a strong tall striker
what has he ever done at this level anyway that allowed accies to "inspire" to sign him?
Dunning1874
Jul 19 2008, 23:19
It won't be us, we already have four strikers.
QUOTE (South Lanarkshire Jag @ Jul 20 2008, 00:19)

twigg? isn't he a slow little midget?
if so no thanks cos we need a strong tall striker
what has he ever done at this level anyway that allowed accies to "inspire" to sign him?
Might get stick for this, but I think McKinley can play this role, but he ain't gonna get more than say 7 or 8 a season. Nonetheless still need good forwards and I don't think Twigg is someone who'd help us.
PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF
Jul 20 2008, 00:33
McCall was saying he had a striker in his office on thursday morning - i hope to god it isnt twigg
el bawbag
Jul 20 2008, 00:40
QUOTE (PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF @ Jul 20 2008, 01:33)

McCall was saying he had a striker in his office on thursday morning
i heard ian mccall was a bit that way inclined
The Naitch
Jul 20 2008, 01:20
As Dunning said, we've got enough strikers as it is...so don't see us putting in an offer for Twigg.
diamonds2002
Jul 20 2008, 08:39
He is absolutely terrible
YER SISTERS YER MAW
Jul 20 2008, 08:40
I personally wouldn't rate him as good enough for the 1st division,a 2nd division player at best.
Got to disagree with previous posts, i was dissapointed when Twiggy left the <>'s and would have him back in a min. Give him decent service and he'll score plenty, good finisher, good at holding the ball up, left footer, quite tall but should probably win more headers than he does.
The Naitch
Jul 20 2008, 10:10
Brechin are interested in him, according to the NotW.
++Ammo - Airdrie++
Jul 20 2008, 10:41
Brechin can have him, hes a clown of the highest order and pretty piss a football aswell!!
Virtual Insanity
Jul 20 2008, 10:49
We'll have him if he's going to be like that other ex-Airdrie striker we signed who everyone assured us was a dud.
PTFC27
Jul 20 2008, 11:57
QUOTE (Virtual Insanity @ Jul 20 2008, 11:49)

We'll have him if he's going to be like that other ex-Airdrie striker we signed who everyone assured us was a dud.
Juan Sara
Jul 20 2008, 13:04
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Jul 20 2008, 00:08)

I can't see him giving up a full-time contract for a part-time one
If hes offered enough money he will.
19QOS19
Jul 20 2008, 15:47
There was a rumour a while back that he was coming to us! I'd much rather have Arbuckle than this tool! Come on McCall work your magic!
BluebirdTon
Jul 20 2008, 16:19
I doubt we'll sign him but i wouldn't be dissappointed.
I don't think out strike force is up to much to be honest.Newby looks as if he'll run about a bit chasing loose ends and set up alot.Wake can finish the ball really fucking well at times but he's been arsing about with it a hell of alot in pre-season.Russell can't finish and Weatherson is obese hugely inconsistent.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 20 2008, 19:59
God, i hope McCall wasnt describing him as the striker he had in
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 20 2008, 16:47)

There was a rumour a while back that he was coming to us! I'd much rather have Arbuckle than this tool! Come on McCall work your magic!
What the fuck is going on today? First, we had a Dundee fan who seemed to think Jason Scotland still plays in the First Division. Now we appear to have a Queens fan who thinks Bunter is still the man in charge at Palmerston.
FFS considering the description McCall gave of him, it sure as hell wasn't Gary Twigg. The chances of us signing the mystery man are quite slim as well.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 20 2008, 20:07
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 20 2008, 21:02)

What the f**k is going on today? First, we had a Dundee fan who seemed to think Jason Scotland still plays in the First Division. Now we appear to have a Queens fan who thinks Bunter is still the man in charge at Palmerston.
EdinburghLivi
Jul 20 2008, 20:24

What the f**k is going on today? First, we had a Dundee fan who seemed to think Jason Scotland still plays in the First Division. Now we appear to have a Queens fan who thinks Bunter is still the man in charge at Palmerston.
Not to mention the Dundee fan who was looking forward to playing Stirling Albion away this season.
1000th Post!!~~~#~
Skyline Drifter
Jul 20 2008, 21:34

What the fuck is going on today? First, we had a Dundee fan who seemed to think Jason Scotland still plays in the First Division. Now we appear to have a Queens fan who thinks Bunter is still the man in charge at Palmerston.
It's perfectly obvious he meant for McCall to do his stuff and sign him for Partick instead of him ending up at Palmerston as he doesn't want him here.
But then you knew that.
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 20 2008, 22:34)

It's perfectly obvious he meant for McCall to do his stuff and sign him for Partick instead of him ending up at Palmerston as he doesn't want him here.
But then you knew that.
I didn't actually. I misread the post and thought he'd said that he'd rather have Twigg than Arbuckle - the player I thought he'd called a tool. Simple explanation.
Now, what was it I said a while back about your overuse of condescending smileys?
Skyline Drifter
Jul 20 2008, 21:47
QUOTE (Nizzy @ Jul 20 2008, 22:44)

I didn't actually. I misread the post and thought he'd said that he'd rather have Twigg than Arbuckle - the player I thought he'd called a tool. Simple explanation.
Now, what was it I said a while back about your overuse of condescending smileys?
I don't know but I expect you'll share it again.

And I genuinely thought you were being sarcastic in the first post and that the other Partick fan had missed it.
QUOTE (Skyline Drifter @ Jul 20 2008, 22:47)

And I genuinely thought you were being sarcastic in the first post and that the other Partick fan had missed it.
Well, this thread's proved that we're all capable of making mistakes.
19QOS19
Jul 20 2008, 22:29
Witt obviously not in favour with Partick fans I see.
wearealldoomed
Jul 20 2008, 22:49
I'd take him back in a second.
Anyone who can score 12 goals for a relegated side, as he did the season before last, will do for me. Some Airdrie fans are utter c***s, who wouldn't be happy if Kaka signed.
Alternatively, we can continue with Di Giacomo and Noble, with Watt as back up. That leaves us really well placed in times of injury or poor form...
19QOS19
Jul 20 2008, 23:08
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 20 2008, 23:49)

Anyone who can score 12 goals for a relegated side, as he did the season before last, will do for me. Some Airdrie fans are utter c***s, who wouldn't be happy if Kaka signed.
Alternatively, we can continue with Di Giacomo and Noble, with Watt as back up. That leaves us really well placed in times of injury or poor form...
I was actually quite surprised when I saw an Airdrie fan slating him. I thought he was good when he was at Airdrie, he seemed to score a fair few. Did he not score against Killie in a cup game? Or Motherwell?
wearealldoomed
Jul 20 2008, 23:33
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 21 2008, 00:08)

I was actually quite surprised when I saw an Airdrie fan slating him. I thought he was good when he was at Airdrie, he seemed to score a fair few. Did he not score against Killie in a cup game? Or Motherwell?
Nope. We lost 1-0 to the claret and amber vermin and 3-0 to Killie, after Twigg had left.
He struggled up front on his own and with Prunty, but played really well once Harty arrived towards the end of the season.
We appaer to be looking at Simon Lynch, but doubt we could afford his wage.
BigAl024
Jul 20 2008, 23:38
When will Lyle get released? 6 Months?
19QOS19
Jul 20 2008, 23:59
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 21 2008, 00:33)

Nope. We lost 1-0 to the claret and amber vermin and 3-0 to Killie, after Twigg had left.
He struggled up front on his own and with Prunty, but played really well once Harty arrived towards the end of the season.
My mistake.
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 21 2008, 00:38)

At least he'll get some SPhelL experience next season. What about McMenamince and Curier?
Ye Olde Hamiltonian
Jul 21 2008, 00:27
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 21 2008, 00:38)

Probably one of they fiscal fines Big Al......................oh.you're talking about the fitba.Perhaps,he will be one they stewards patrolling outside The Sainsbury's End to stop the financially bereft Accies fans from catching a free,long-distance game when they cannae afford the bargain £22 admission.
That fake tan and a yellow or blue stewarding coat isn't the best colour combo.
diamonds2002
Jul 22 2008, 09:28
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 20 2008, 23:49)

Lightweight and ineffectual as far as I was concerned. (he is also an erse)
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
Jul 22 2008, 09:33
Twiggy......just a big wage we do not need...well a big wage for us......
He was Airdries best player in our playoff win.
I'd take him.
BigAl024
Jul 22 2008, 10:50
QUOTE (Ye Olde Hamiltonian @ Jul 21 2008, 01:27)

Probably one of they fiscal fines Big Al......................oh.you're talking about the fitba.Perhaps,he will be one they stewards patrolling outside The Sainsbury's End to stop the financially bereft Accies fans from catching a free,long-distance game when they cannae afford the bargain £22 admission.
That fake tan and a yellow or blue stewarding coat isn't the best colour combo.
Will be interesting to see how many games he'll start. Who else have you guys got up front besides Offiong? Reckon He'll stick to 1 up front?
So which team will branch out for him?
Jul 22 2008, 11:55
QUOTE (drs @ Jul 22 2008, 10:59)

He was Airdries best player in our playoff win.
I'd take him.
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 22 2008, 11:56
QUOTE (The Ghost of Ron Burgundy @ Jul 22 2008, 12:55)

Not last season but the season before
thediamonddude
Jul 22 2008, 12:35
QUOTE (FTOF_PTFC_1 @ Jul 22 2008, 12:56)

Not last season but the season before

I think you'll maybe find that Ron's surprise comes from the fact it was suggested he was our best player in that playoff, nothing to do with when it was.
To be honest I didn't highly rate Twigg at the time but he did manage to bag 12 goals in what was a truly awful Airdrie side that season. Keep in mind that we played a 4-5-1 formation most of the season when KB took charge and our 5 man midfield very rarely supported the striker so he did well to get his goals.
Would only have taken him back as a last resort & even then we don't need him now as we have Lynch as well
FTOF_PTFC_1
Jul 22 2008, 12:57
QUOTE (thediamonddude @ Jul 22 2008, 13:35)

I think you'll maybe find that Ron's surprise comes from the fact it was suggested he was our best player in that playoff, nothing to do with when it was.
To be honest I didn't highly rate Twigg at the time but he did manage to bag 12 goals in what was a truly awful Airdrie side that season. Keep in mind that we played a 4-5-1 formation most of the season when KB took charge and our 5 man midfield very rarely supported the striker so he did well to get his goals.
Would only have taken him back as a last resort & even then we don't need him now as we have Lynch as well

port-ton
Jul 22 2008, 15:21
QUOTE (CK @ Jul 22 2008, 12:51)

So which team will branch out for him?
if you think its Morton then you're barking up the wrong tree.
Jul 22 2008, 15:29
QUOTE (thediamonddude @ Jul 22 2008, 13:35)

indeed ...he stood out only by his anonomous performances.....maybe worth a punt if he's cheap....pay him by the goal and that might buck his ideas up....he has certainly been around enough clubs to suggest he has something....but he'd better start showing it soon.
I'd give him till christmas to prove himself if anything.
Kevin Mckee is god
Jul 22 2008, 17:01
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 21 2008, 00:33)

Lynch???
Harty???

Twigg???

Jesus how far the mighty Airdire have fallen.
Next you will be telling us Russell was a class act
fatboy_kp
Jul 22 2008, 18:00
QUOTE (Kevin Mckee is god @ Jul 22 2008, 18:01)

Lynch???
Harty???

Twigg???

Jesus how far the mighty Airdire have fallen.
Next you will be telling us Russell was a class act

You can judge Russell for yourself when yous play killie in the SPL whish incidentaly is the forum you should be hanging around.. now f**k off!!
MAC-attack
Jul 22 2008, 21:25
Jason Scotland/ Colin Samuel i find it hard to differentiate between the two.
Dick's Magic Teeth
Jul 22 2008, 22:12
He has signed for Brechin.
http://www.brechincity.com/bcfc/servlet/BC...&category=2I think he is an excellent signing for the second division. He could well be the type of player that we are missing.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.