Full Version: Who Is Gonna Win The First?
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Pages: 1, 2, 3
badgers apprentice
its looking good this year saintees, queens,partick, dundee and dunfermline all challenging for the top spot.
SingaporeSaint
QUOTE (badgers apprentice @ Jul 19 2008, 02:23) *
its looking good this year saintees, queens,partick, dundee and dunfermline all challenging for the top spot.

Partick eh ?
chico
Airdrie Utd. cos Jim Traynor says so in today's daily record pull-out.

maybe he knows about the Perth Fermers serial choking and the uselessness of wannabe teams from fife and tayside.

mon the united!
raith1919
dundee ti win the leauge but st johnstone will come close n as fir dunfemline well yer having a laff they will stay in the 1st then we will dump them next season
Johnstoun
This sort of thing can't be debated effectively in one thread. We will need at least another dozen to fully investigate the possibilities.
Ron_Burgundy
QUOTE (raith1919 @ Jul 19 2008, 06:42) *
dundee ti win the leauge but st johnstone will come close n as fir dunfemline well yer having a laff they will stay in the 1st then we will dump them next season

Ah fink u mite b rite aboot dundee and st johnstone but we'll be better than last year and ah personally can wait 2 meet the rovers nxt yr if they get up and huv mare banter on here and learn hoo no to use english and punctuation an aw that pash
a_mac
I'm still not confident of challenging.
Mr X
QUOTE (Johnstoun @ Jul 19 2008, 08:02) *
This sort of thing can't be debated effectively in one thread. We will need at least another dozen to fully investigate the possibilities.

Indeed. In fact, Im amazed we've gone through almost a whole pre-season without this coming up before.
Dee-funked
QUOTE (Johnstoun @ Jul 19 2008, 07:02) *

Bri RCFC
Steven Craig and Dyron will fire us to Spl glory laugh.gif laugh.gif
Dee4Life1893
QUOTE (a_mac @ Jul 19 2008, 08:12) *
I'm still not confident of challenging.

I strongly agree. biggrin.gif
clyde til we die
Not wanting to sound biased or anything but i think Clyde could be dark horses.
vikingTON
QUOTE (clyde til we die @ Jul 19 2008, 10:18) *
Not wanting to sound biased or anything but i think Clyde could be dark horses.

You're not biased: you're just delusional.
dirty dingus
QUOTE (Johnstoun @ Jul 19 2008, 08:02) *

what about topics such as

Can dundee do it
Are the dens boys ready to step up
Will Alex Rae be too drunk to drive the open top double decker
Have the saintees got the guile for the title
Has St. J got the required backing from god and the bible bashers to lift the crown(of thorns)
Are Savo and Iron chicken going to oil wrestle for the title
Clyde to be the dark horses and the price of frontal lobotomies

etc.etc.etc roll on the new season
Trenchie
I don't think we will win the 1st division.... But i am confident we won't be relegated or in playoffs this year wink.gif
raith1919
QUOTE (Ron_Burgundy @ Jul 19 2008, 08:04) *
Ah fink u mite b rite aboot dundee and st johnstone but we'll be better than last year and ah personally can wait 2 meet the rovers nxt yr if they get up and huv mare banter on here and learn hoo no to use english and punctuation an aw that pash

hopefully we get up an get a proper fife derby on the go biggrin.gif Mon the raith
Kyle
QUOTE (Trenchie @ Jul 19 2008, 10:38) *
I don't think we will win the 1st division.... But i am confident we won't be relegated or in playoffs this year wink.gif

Relegation and the play offs being scrapped this season then, aye? tongue.gif
PTFC27
QUOTE (SingaporeSaint @ Jul 19 2008, 04:03) *
Partick eh ?

Yes that's what he said. Is the any reason why we shouldn't be challenging?
dee4life
QUOTE (PTFC27 @ Jul 19 2008, 12:28) *

No reason why thistle cant challenge but you finished in the bottom half last season a good 30 points behind the winners,I would imagine you would have to improve quite a bit to have a say.
CC 33

Yes, your squad last season wasn't anywhere near good enough and you haven't added anybody to suggest otherwise this season. Infact I think you'll struggle to stay above the likes of Ross County, Livingston and Dunfermline.
Stadio Delle Almondvale
QUOTE (Bri RCFC @ Jul 19 2008, 09:52) *
Steven Craig and Dyron will fire us to Spl glory laugh.gif laugh.gif

Is this a new Steven Craig? The one we let go couldn't fire a water pistol.

Ask yourself if your squad is stronger than last year, then look at last season's league table and you will have answered your own question. tongue.gif
PTFC27
QUOTE (Stadio Delle Almondvale @ Jul 19 2008, 13:08) *
Is this a new Steven Craig? The one we let go couldn't fire a water pistol.

Ask yourself if your squad is stronger than last year, then look at last season's league table and you will have answered your own question. tongue.gif

Yes, much better right back and a good experienced centre-back. We will also be adding at least one new striker in teh next week or two. Also a fit Liam Buchanan will be a new player for us.
Grant228
QUOTE (raith1919 @ Jul 19 2008, 07:42) *

I had a wee laugh when I saw you supported Raith Rovers....i thought it was myth about them having fans....
Szamo's_Ammo
1. St Johnstone
2. Livingston
3. Dundee
4. Dunfermline
5. Ross County

Bump this thread next year if I'm wrong.
The Absolute Game
Dundee wink.gif
St Johnstone
Dunfermline
Livingston
Queen of The South
Greenock Morton biggrin.gif
Partick Thistle
Airdrie Utd dry.gif
Clyde
Who have i missed? ohmy.gif
DAFC
It's between Dundee and Saints atm.
Dark horses are us, Livvy and QOTS.
Wide open league.
Borussia
Queen of the South
Airdrie
Livingston
Dunfermline
Clyde
St Johnstone
Partick
Dundee
Ross County
Morton

nologo.gif

BEEEEEEELCH. Ahm awrite

smile.gif
Bonksy+HisChristianParade
St.Johnstone will win the league as they are a truly wonderful team
The Rabbid dog
QUOTE (Bonksy+HisChristianParade @ Jul 19 2008, 16:25) *
St.Johnstone will win the league as they are a truly wonderful team

Are you on illegal substances, that are giving you halucinations, mate ? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

The gay Perth Farmers, with their knob of a mascot, & rent boy Swankie, will finish no better that 3rd. Dundee, by 7 points, QoS 2nd, Farmers 3rd.
SaintSam
QUOTE (DAFC @ Jul 19 2008, 15:33) *
It's between Dundee and Saints atm.
Dark horses are us, Livvy and QOTS.
Wide open league.

You can't seriously put Queen of the South and Dunfermline together! laugh.gif

Queens are miles better than Dunfermline. I think Queens are potentially better than both ourselves and Dundee although maybe lack the depth to their squad that we have.
G_Man1985
Either Dundee or St.Johnstone.

Ill put me neck on the line and say Dundee
Mr X
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jul 19 2008, 21:03) *
You can't seriously put Queen of the South and Dunfermline together! laugh.gif

Queens are miles better than Dunfermline. I think Queens are potentially better than both ourselves and Dundee although maybe lack the depth to their squad that we have.

Which is why we wont win the league. I'd bet on our 1st 11 against anyone in this league, but even if you could guarantee that they would all stay fit and suspension free and play 90 minutes every week I would still only say that gave us a chance of finishing on top come May.

We have a good side and the squad is getting better, but its nowhere near at title challenging level. Thats why you wont find any Queens fans on here predicting we'll win the league. Shame other teams fans werent so realistic whistling.gif
SaintSam
QUOTE (Billy G. @ Jul 19 2008, 21:22) *
Which is why we wont win the league. I'd bet on our 1st 11 against anyone in this league, but even if you could guarantee that they would all stay fit and suspension free and play 90 minutes every week I would still only say that gave us a chance of finishing on top come May.

We have a good side and the squad is getting better, but its nowhere near at title challenging level. Thats why you wont find any Queens fans on here predicting we'll win the league. Shame other teams fans werent so realistic whistling.gif

Dundee fans, bar a very limited few, are thick as mince though.

Personally, as a Saints fan, we might have a good squad on paper but it's not looking good on the pitch at the moment.
dee4life
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jul 19 2008, 21:46) *

Personally, as a Saints fan, we might have a good squad on paper but it's not looking good on the pitch at the moment.

SaintSam speaks,its the law!!
Tubbs
Dundee may have a problem in that they have undergone a lot of changes in their squad. Clearly that can be a good thing but a gradual progression has been the way a lot of team have won this division.

Dundee fans spent a lot of time telling us about McDonald and so clearly he will be a big miss.

and so will lyle tongue.gif ?
Mr X

But I never mentioned Dundee fans ohmy.gif wink.gif
Tontaster
St johnstone or Dundee to win the league il go for St johnstone
dee4life
QUOTE (Tontaster @ Jul 19 2008, 22:40) *
St johnstone or Dundee to win the league il go for St johnstone

I cant see any other teams getting close to us or st johnstone but I dont suppose many tipped accies to win it last season.
SaintSam
QUOTE (dee4life @ Jul 19 2008, 21:56) *
SaintSam speaks,its the law!!

Yeah. You are dim.
SaintSam
QUOTE (Billy G. @ Jul 19 2008, 22:14) *
But I never mentioned Dundee fans ohmy.gif wink.gif

tongue.gif
Reynard
St.Johnstone, by at least 12 points.
dee4life
QUOTE (SaintSam @ Jul 19 2008, 22:46) *
Yeah. You are dim.

tongue.gif
Radford

Same concerns. That was the third game I've seen and we've not looked impressive in any of them. Knocked the ball about well for spells in all three but not looked particularly dangerous and today the defence was a mess. It was ok against the Third Division sides but we still conceded.

I think when you see Queens looking at Arbuckle, you have to say they are going to need a fair bit of luck with injuries and suspensions, which they got in the second half of last season.

Dundee for me... unfortunately. Disappointing since I don't think they are any stronger than they were last season. We just don't seem to have done enough ourselves.
Reynard
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 19 2008, 22:53) *
Same concerns. That was the third game I've seen and we've not looked impressive in any of them. Knocked the ball about well for spells in all three but not looked particularly dangerous and today the defence was a mess. It was ok against the Third Division sides but we still conceded.

I think when you see Queens looking at Arbuckle, you have to say they are going to need a fair bit of luck with injuries and suspensions, which they got in the second half of last season.

Dundee for me... unfortunately. Disappointing since I don't think they are any stronger than they were last season. We just don't seem to have done enough ourselves.

Folk read too much into pre season games. McPherson rarely plays them at Love Street and has often said he would prefer them to be behind closed doors. They are for managerial fannying around and player fitness. That's all.

I know he slaughters our players in double trianing sessions before any pre season games we play, so generally the players are not in the best shape anyway.

I gave up going to pre season games years ago.

St.Johnstone will be fine once the real stuff starts.

12 points dry.gif
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 19 2008, 22:53) *

Are you not always saying: "don't read anything into pre-season"?

I can't really see three games in pre-season spelling the end of our season.

I feel we will challenge but where it goes from there is anyone's guess. We have seen sides with relatively few star-name players perform amazingly well over the course of the season, sometimes even finishing up the top of the league. We have also seen sides with an abundance of "names" failing to live up to expectations. That is why forming predictions is a game for the foolish.

I will agree we have the names on paper, but that doesn't necessarily translate into us producing a championship winning side.
Radford
The results aren't an issue for me, Reynard, but you still look to see something resembling a performance and there hasn't been much in the way of positives for us. Last week at Montrose we used the excuse it was our first public game but we have an important match in seven days and don't look nearly ready for it. Today wasn't a total lost cause as I suspect he knows a few more of his starting XI but Wednesday night should have been for giving them a game together, as it is it'll be to try and complete the XI.
Radford
QUOTE (SavotheGreat @ Jul 19 2008, 23:01) *
Are you not always saying: "don't read anything into pre-season"?

I still believe that to be the case in terms of results but there are enough indicators in each game to gauge a decent opinion of what sort of shape we're in. Holmes and Savo look like they could do some damage and individually Morris and Hardie look fine, although there wasn't much link up.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 19 2008, 23:06) *
I still believe that to be the case in terms of results but there are enough indicators in each game to gauge a decent opinion of what sort of shape we're in. Holmes and Savo look like they could do some damage and individually Morris and Hardie look fine, although there wasn't much link up.

I wasn't at the game so I can't comment, but I think doomsday is a long way off.

Guess we will see.
SavotheGreat
QUOTE (Reynard @ Jul 19 2008, 22:48) *
St.Johnstone, by at least 12 points.

Do one dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif dry.gif
dee4life
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 19 2008, 23:06) *

St johnstone have a very good squad,I an confident this season but imo so should saints fans be,the only problem could be who plays,I think I know our starting 11(if fit) for dingwall but does McInnes?