Full Version: Dumbarton V Morton
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
son hawk
Will there be a big croud coming through for this meaningless friendly? Will Peter Weatherson be playing? Will he score? Whos going to win?

I'm realy looking forward to this as we havent had a decent "derby" game in a while.
port-ton
Good job on trying to hype up the game, unfortunately after our last two friendlies i've decided never to attend a friendly again unless it's St Mirren. Really couldn't care about tomorrow night, although Weatherson won't score.
ClydeSI
Friendlies are shit generally. I think it's mainly because everyone is so looking forward to the new season, that it gives a sense of false hope - that every pre-season is going to be great, and they always turn out as naff games.

Although, in saying that, I have sometimes felt the same way right up till Christmas.....
irvineTON
QUOTE (son hawk @ Jul 18 2008, 04:51) *
Will there be a big croud coming through for this meaningless friendly? Will Peter Weatherson be playing? Will he score? Whos going to win?

I'm realy looking forward to this as we havent had a decent "derby" game in a while.

I just don't see this game as a derby. Not even when we were in the same division!!
YIBBIDAY YABBA
QUOTE (irvineTON @ Jul 18 2008, 08:16) *
I just don't see this game as a derby. Not even when we were in the same division!!

your the closest we've got.........

AR15firing.gif boldblue.gif

biggrin.gif

dirty dingus
would thistle and St.Mirren not be closer to you, well unless you use a supporters sub, not going either pre-season games are boring and a waste o money.
DomDom
What did the blue guy do to deserve that ?

Anyways, I won't be there. This pre-season has been dire for me, so I'm opting for wrestling in Girvan instead.
AyrshireTon
QUOTE (irvineTON @ Jul 18 2008, 08:16) *

Me neither - Dumbarton just don't register as a derby with me.

I'm with the early 70's SFL, who often gave us Ayr as a Ne'erday derby.
vikingTON
QUOTE (son hawk @ Jul 18 2008, 01:51) *

Not going: meaningless away friendly between two diddy sides.
Nothing to see here.
BluebirdTon

No. No. No. Nobody.
SaltyTON

Sorry but after freezing to death in Tow Law, the idea of freezing to death in Dumbarton doesn't appeal!

Dumbarton isn't a derby for us, so there'll not be that many through (although I believe there's at least one bus going through, to pay the bills for you tongue.gif )

If you want to see a derby save your money and go to Cappielow next Saturday wink.gif

Pete may play as a sub, after raiding your hospitality. He's only started the Durham game at right centre-back, although has appeared as a sub on a few occasions.
garymcc1874
Our defence is injured so either makeshift defender Peter will play at the back, or the backline will be made up entirely of trialists like it was on Tuesday.

I predict a boring game, Masterton to score 1, Dumbarton to score at least 1, with Colin Stewart at fault. dry.gif
SaltyTON
Starting line-up from the SHS.

Stewart, Smith, Trialist, Weatherson, Paartalu, Masterton, Finlayson, McGuffie, Reid, Russell, McAlister
garymcc1874
Peter playing as a striker then!?

Either that or Russell is up on his own... unsure.gif
SaltyTON
QUOTE (garymcc1874 @ Jul 18 2008, 19:40) *
Peter playing as a striker then!?

Either that or Russell is up on his own... unsure.gif

Sounds like he's at the back.
Dunning1874
Good god, tell me Reid isn't playing up front? ohmy.gif

I'm still traumatised by how someone could be so horrifically bad as he was when he was a striker in his first spell with us.
Bryan
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jul 18 2008, 20:09) *
Good god, tell me Reid isn't playing up front? ohmy.gif

I'm still traumatised by how someone could be so horrifically bad as he was when he was a striker in his first spell with us.

it seems the teamsheet maybe wrong wake started
Dunning1874
QUOTE (Bryan @ Jul 18 2008, 20:11) *
it seems the teamsheet maybe wrong wake started

That's a relief.
SaltyTON
Team is actually: Stewart, Meynell, Smith, Weatherson, McAlister, Finlayson, McGuffie, Paartalu, Masterton, Wake, Russell

Alan Reid is on for the second half.
Reynard
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 18 2008, 20:43) *
Team is actually: Stewart, Meynell, Smith, Weatherson, McAlister, Finlayson, McGuffie, Paartalu, Masterton, Wake, Russell

Alan Reid is on for the second half.

Have you signed Reid? On trial?
SaltyTON
QUOTE (Reynard @ Jul 18 2008, 20:47) *
Have you signed Reid? On trial?

On trial, although DI wants to sign him.

1-0 Ryan McGuffie
Reynard
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 18 2008, 20:53) *
On trial, although DI wants to sign him.

1-0 Ryan McGuffie

Reid would be a decent signing. I liked wee Reidy. He was a good squad player for us and he never really let the side down.
Bryan
QUOTE (Dunning1874 @ Jul 18 2008, 20:20) *
That's a relief.

aye everyone was given wrong info from dumbarton
SaltyTON
1-0 FT
castlekeeper
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 18 2008, 21:21) *
1-0 FT

i hope the ton do well this season peter weatherston is some player i wish the sons could have him but we couldnae afford his boot laces . all the best for the season . biggrin.gif
princessTON
meynell wasnt playing, it was stewart, reid, smith, weatherson, paartalu, masterton, finlayson, mcguffie, wake, russell and mcalistair
the snudge
Fucking dire game. I'm not attending another friendly as long as I live. Pish pish and more pish. Dumbarton had one shot on target. Morton slightly shaded it but overall PISH!
The only thing that impressed me was Sons backling in the first half and their ability to mop up loose balls.
A wee bit of diving from the 'ton was disappointing.
Bryan
QUOTE (the snudge @ Jul 18 2008, 22:52) *
A wee bit of diving from the 'ton was disappointing.

russell ph34r.gif
BasraTon
QUOTE (Bryan @ Jul 18 2008, 23:00) *
russell ph34r.gif

Yep

Salty, ffs, before posting, make sure you have all the stats spot on as you sometimes now and again make a right c**t of yourself. Not just on here but the Morton board also dry.gif
BasraTon
The game itself

Erm, 1-0

End of

Fuckall else happened
SaltyTON
QUOTE (BasraTon @ Jul 18 2008, 23:08) *
Yep

Salty, ffs, before posting, make sure you have all the stats spot on as you sometimes now and again make a right c**t of yourself. Not just on here but the Morton board also dry.gif

No. If Andy Morrison says something in commentary it has to be taken as fact as there is no way of knowing whether it's true or not, and I asked Sean who gave me the team, and described the trialist as a white guy. Reid didn't get mentioned in commentary AT ALL in the first half, so was assumed by everyone to have come on at half time.
GoTeamGaz
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 18 2008, 23:14) *
No. If Andy Morrison says something in commentary it has to be taken as fact as there is no way of knowing whether it's true or not, and I asked Sean who gave me the team, and described the trialist as a white guy. Reid didn't get mentioned in commentary AT ALL in the first half, so was assumed by everyone to have come on at half time.

wait ... there was commentary?
Denji
QUOTE (GoTeamGaz @ Jul 19 2008, 02:22) *
wait ... there was commentary?

Unofficial commentary on Paltalk, aye.
Steak & Barley
QUOTE (SaltyTON @ Jul 18 2008, 23:14) *

There clearly was a wee bit of confusion. The team sheet Andy gave me was Stewart, Trialist, Trialist, Weatherson, Paartalu, Masterton, Finlayson, McGuffie, Reid, Russell, McAlistair. It became clear that Wake was on from early in the fist half and as Salty said Reid didn't get a mention.

However we can console ourselves by accepting the reality that irrespective of the personnel they were all pretty shite.
Boghead ranter
QUOTE (AyrshireTon @ Jul 18 2008, 11:04) *
Me neither - Dumbarton just don't register as a derby with me.

I'm with the early 70's SFL, who often gave us Ayr as a Ne'erday derby.

luvvin your avatar - Absolutely has to be one of the funniest shows ever.

Stoneybridge!
Radford
Is Allan McManus injured? I don't think he missed a single game for Saints because of injury in his two years at the club. We were looking, on WAP, at how many games all our centre backs had featured in over the past few years and McManus had played in 88% of those he was available for, a far superior record to the four we retained. The 12% he missed were either because of suspensions or miraculously because another couple were fit!
vikingTON
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 19 2008, 10:03) *
Is Allan McManus injured? I don't think he missed a single game for Saints because of injury in his two years at the club. We were looking, on WAP, at how many games all our centre backs had featured in over the past few years and McManus had played in 88% of those he was available for, a far superior record to the four we retained. The 12% he missed were either because of suspensions or miraculously because another couple were fit!

He went over his ankle last saturday agnst ayr and is being rested as a precaution: we've already lost two centre halves so far.
Hopefully an injury-free season will be the case.