Full Version: Drinking Establishments In Dingwall
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Web
We're getting off the train at 12:46, recommendations please. We are 27 - 30 so a younger atmosphere is preferred.
Allstars #9
The Commercial is a classy establishment with hot barmaids
BigAl024
QUOTE (Allstars #9 @ Jul 17 2008, 10:31) *
The Commercial is a classy establishment with hot barmaids

I smell shyte. rolleyes.gif
Allstars #9
get your nose out your bosses ass then wink.gif
MAC-attack
The Mallard's a cracking boozer in Dingwall. Its at the train station and is no more than a 2minute walk to the ground.
jagstheway
QUOTE (MAC-attack @ Jul 17 2008, 11:02) *
The Mallard's a cracking boozer in Dingwall. Its at the train station and is no more than a 2minute walk to the ground.

biggrin.gif Agreed, but Isn't everything next the to the station in Dingwall?
Ric
The National for me, simply as it's normally got a decent ale on draught.
Dumfries1919
QUOTE (Webby @ Jul 17 2008, 10:30) *
We're getting off the train at 12:46, recommendations please. We are 27 - 30 so a younger atmosphere is preferred.

I highly recommend the Commercial, It's a pub with a pool table, a good selection of tunes on the jukebox, Plasma tv's which will probably being showing football and the totty's excellent, not forgetting a cracking pint of draft kronenberg
thejailender
QUOTE (jagstheway @ Jul 17 2008, 11:30) *
biggrin.gif Agreed, but Isn't everything next the to the station in Dingwall?

Yes but not as close to the station as the Mallard.

The outside tables of the Mallard are on the station platform. So you cna;t get much closer than that.

However I too would also suggest the Commercial - The Juke box is free in there, and you get the house special Tangy Bitter.
O'Rourke
The Commercial is the ONLY show in town!

Watch yourself in Dingly Dell some of the locals are even scarier than your average Dundonian.
Haitch
As you can tell we are not exactly spoilt for choice...
FilthyMack
The Viking
Main attraction: Pool table surrounded by neds.
Typical conversation overheard at the bar: "Aye, 2 months, just got out yesterday."

County Tavern
Main attraction: Impromptu freestyle line dancing started by an old wifey with a cane.
Typical conversation overheard at the bar: "Are these my teeth in this glass?"

Just go to the Comm, far safer.
silvery tay
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Jul 17 2008, 13:43) *
The Viking
Main attraction: Pool table surrounded by neds.
Typical conversation overheard at the bar: "Aye, 2 months, just got out yesterday."

County Tavern
Main attraction: Impromptu freestyle line dancing started by an old wifey with a cane.
Typical conversation overheard at the bar: "Are these my teeth in this glass?"

Just go to the Comm, far safer.

biggrin.gif The county tavern it is then beerchug.gif
HulltoonPehShop
Any pubs up there with sawdust on the floor etc, will be gagging for a pint after three hours on the road. Has decimilisation hit Dingwall yet ? if not I have plenty of old money here. Roll on 11am on Aug 2nd.

"Roll out the barrel"
we'll have a barrel of fun
roll out the barrel
county will be on the run"

Q. Is Dingwall in the Twilight Zone ?
WendyWho?
QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Jul 22 2008, 11:14) *

That's rich. Have you been up Stobie way lately?
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
we've always met lovely folk in Dingwall...warmest welcome in the league by a long way...apart from the mentalist pensioner hooligan Tattie Dougie who abused me outside the train station sad.gif
Allstars #9
I would echo that, the fact we're always p1shed by the time we get there is neither here nor there
Dunning1874
This is all being noted for future reference, I used to live in Dingwall but I've not got a clue about the pubs there, it's the away trip I'm most looking forward to this season! biggrin.gif
Yoss
I like The Mallard, really good food.
FilthyMack
QUOTE (HulltoonPehShop @ Jul 22 2008, 11:14) *

Dingwall is still recovering from the first time Dundee paid a visit, when it appeared as if Jim Henson had built a travelling workshop.
Juan Sara
I think the majority of Dundee fans will be at a pub at the train station from what I've heard.
Loki
QUOTE (Juan Sara @ Jul 22 2008, 18:22) *
I think the majority of Dundee fans will be at a pub at the train station from what I've heard.

New owners have taken over the bar, and as weekends are where they market themsleves for family meals, football colours aren't allowed. You ll have to goto the National.
O'Rourke
QUOTE (Loki @ Jul 22 2008, 18:26) *
New owners have taken over the bar, and as weekends are where they market themsleves for family meals, football colours aren't allowed. You ll have to goto the National.

Brilliant business decision that! Shun the people who make you money. The Mallard will be back on the market next year!
Loki
It only applies to Dundee fans.
_dolphin_
New manager, but even less bar staff than usual!!
It was ridiculous before the game yesterday.

As for the Commercial, sign in the window stating closed due to ill health.
FilthyMack
I noticed yesterday they've moved the pool table in the Viking to the front of the bar. That should save the Dundee fans some time.
longjohn
QUOTE (FilthyMack @ Jul 22 2008, 17:48) *
Dingwall is still recovering from the first time Dundee paid a visit, when it appeared as if Jim Henson had built a travelling workshop.

Telboy
QUOTE (BigAl024 @ Jul 17 2008, 10:36) *
I smell shyte. rolleyes.gif

That might have been from the dog turd in the Commercial.

The first and hopefully last time I have ever walked into a pub and was told to 'mind the dog', which just happened to be in the shitting position beside the bar.

In all seriousness I hope auld Jeannie is alright, not the most up to date boozer I have ever been in, but she was certainly most hospitable when ever I went in.

Loki
QUOTE (_dolphin_ @ Jul 27 2008, 12:39) *
New manager, but even less bar staff than usual!!
It was ridiculous before the game yesterday.

Supposedly that they forgot about the Challenge Cup game. I guess next week will be the real test. I feel sorry for the staff that were actually on they were getting moaned at alot, but all complaints should have been aimed at the management.

QUOTE (Telboy @ Jul 27 2008, 15:19) *
In all seriousness I hope auld Jeannie is alright, not the most up to date boozer I have ever been in, but she was certainly most hospitable when ever I went in.

She gives great head.
Toby
QUOTE (Telboy @ Jul 27 2008, 15:19) *
That might have been from the dog turd in the Commercial.

The first and hopefully last time I have ever walked into a pub and was told to 'mind the dog', which just happened to be in the shitting position beside the bar.

I remember going into the Commercial round about 2001, the last time we shared a division with Ross County and thinking it was a shitehole.

Can't believe it's still open (usually) and thought the dog/old dear behind the bar would have copped off after all these years.
FilthyMack
QUOTE (Toby @ Jul 27 2008, 16:58) *
Can't believe it's still open (usually) and thought the dog/old dear behind the bar would have copped off after all these years.

parslad
Booked into a Hotel for the weekend when Dunfermline are up there in December.Realise Dingwalls a wee place but is it lively at weekends? There's a few of us staying and opinion divided about going to Inverness at night or staying in Dingwall.
middleagedirtbag
QUOTE (_dolphin_ @ Jul 27 2008, 12:39) *

Aw naw!! Just as we are about to visit in 4 weeks time.So looking forward again to visiting "The land that time forgot" after a seasons' hiatus. Hope the "auld yin" recovers soon and The Commercial is back to being the worst ever pub that I have ever had the "pleasure" in visiting! laugh.gif (Cheers, Carlos!! laugh.gif laugh.gif )

P.S.Anyone wanna hear about my first time in "The Comm"??
P.P.S. The dog muck is an urban myth!!
Loki
QUOTE (middleagedirtbag @ Jul 27 2008, 17:23) *
Hope the "auld yin" recovers soon and The Commercial is back to being the worst ever pub that I have ever had the "pleasure" in visiting! laugh.gif (Cheers, Carlos!! laugh.gif laugh.gif )

You're welcome. If it is any consolation, there has been many many football fan pointed in that direction by me.
Perth-Saints
was absolutely gutted to see the commercial was shut sad.gif
_dolphin_
How did the pubs cope yesterday?
Did the Mallard have more than 2 bar staff on before the game?

It seemed to still be in one piece last night apart from a shortage of glasses. they need to use plastic glasses on match-days like this with big away supports and so many people drinking outside on the platform.

The bar at the ground had one behind the bar and a queue of about 20. Not through choice, but the soberest I've been before a game in a long time!

Good atmosphere and enjoyable game, result apart.
EastFootball
QUOTE (Loki @ Jul 22 2008, 18:26) *

QUOTE (Loki @ Jul 22 2008, 22:12) *
It only applies to Dundee fans.

Don't you ever tire of spreading complete and utter bullshit?

I suppose you can be excused, though; it's about the only thing to keep you amused in Dingwall. Well, except for dogs shitting on pub floors.
Loki
QUOTE (_dolphin_ @ Aug 3 2008, 11:17) *
How did the pubs cope yesterday?
Did the Mallard have more than 2 bar staff on before the game?

It seemed to still be in one piece last night apart from a shortage of glasses. they need to use plastic glasses on match-days like this with big away supports and so many people drinking outside on the platform.

The bar at the ground had one behind the bar and a queue of about 20. Not through choice, but the soberest I've been before a game in a long time!

Good atmosphere and enjoyable game, result apart.

The Mallard had extra staff on than last week and it seemed to be easier to get served despite the fact their was twice as many away fans up.

QUOTE (EastFootball @ Aug 3 2008, 11:21) *
Don't you ever tire of spreading complete and utter bullshit?

I suppose you can be excused, though; it's about the only thing to keep you amused in Dingwall. Well, except for dogs shitting on pub floors.

Aww the poor Dundee fan can't take a joke. And I will never tire of it.