Maradona
Jul 16 2008, 23:26
all this talk of embarrasment for your team or its fans is getting a bit old now, we should be talking about the time's when we're proud to support our teams.
I've got rakes of memories when I've been "proud to be a saintee" but the one i'll never forget is when geoff brown was getting interviewed by the bbc on a saturday afternoon (I think it was before the queen of the south away game the day st. mirren won the league) I can remember the full interveiw but I do remember him calling the spl teams that had went into mental debt "cheats" and how they we're competing with money they never had. That may seem like a silly thing to be proud of but I've allways had that same opinion and for the Chairman to basicly rant about it on the telly was amzing to watch.
St. Johnstone Football Club - The Pride Of Perth
Steak & Barley
Jul 16 2008, 23:49
Roll on the season ffs.
19QOS19
Jul 16 2008, 23:55
Last season seeing my team run out in a Scottish Cup Final was a topper and I don't think it will ever be beaten! I was so proud of the spirit that Queens showed in that game that I burst into tears at the final whistle and not because we had got beaten but because we had given around 35000 fans in the ground the fright of their life! That is the kind of thing that makes me Proud to be a Queen of the South fan - When the team plays with a never-say-die attitude!
When we got to the top of the 1st Division after beating ICT in a cracking game I felt proud after that game as well.
I think just now I am proud to be a Queen of the South fan as we have a team that will not lay down to any team and are scared of no team in the country!
ginge123
Jul 17 2008, 00:29
Livi in Europe, seeing Stuart Lovell lift the CIS Cup and other things of that nature.
SampFan101
Jul 17 2008, 02:14
Final whistle at Ibrox after the 1-1 draw for me.
silvery tay
Jul 17 2008, 06:09
QUOTE (Steak & Barley @ Jul 17 2008, 00:49)

Roll on the season ffs.

Signed
jagtastic
Jul 17 2008, 08:26
The fans and club pulling together during Save the Jags and also the support we received from fans of other teams.
sign dave
Jul 17 2008, 09:14
mine has to be seing saints in 3 semi finals in last 2 years plus a challenge cup run,
was proud of my team last game of season at hamilton 2 years ago when we just missed promtion to a team who is no more, we were champs for a whole 4 minutes!
Grant228
Jul 17 2008, 09:25
Watching the team run out at Hampden for a national final 3 times in my lifetime.
Watching us Get to 3 semi Finals in my lifetime.
Watching my team get into europe and score is a topper tho.
Ade Eyemond
Jul 17 2008, 17:54
Every time I see the completely disproportionate amount of outrage / indignation / pious slavering that our wee nonentity of a club manages to provoke amongst the rest of the moral citizens of Scottish football.
In my (37 year) lifetime, Airdrie - both incarnations - Have managed 2 2nd Division wins, 3 (losing) Cup Final appearances, a total of 4 promotions and 1 brief qualification into Europe - I don't count Challenge Cup wins or losing League Cup semifinals as success - Not a bad return, and better than some in the same time, but hardly earth shattering either, yet, the amount of time other fans spend going on about us ?
DundeeDerryBoy
Jul 17 2008, 19:10
The first derby after administration. The mongrels came with their monopoly money expecting a rout as we had lost almost all our best players.
1-0 down at HT to a pen and as I say most of our good plaers had left so it wasn't looking too clever.
Novo (I think) got a scrappy equaliser then not long after the ball fell to Lovell who curled one in the top corner to win it. There was a point mid celebration where I thought The Derry was actually gonna collapse................. All those weeks of seeing players leave, reading that the club may not survive, rattling buckets and seeing pensioners empty their pockets into said buckets to try and save the club................ That goal made it all worthwhile.
Walking down the hilltown that night lighting our cigars with the afforementioned monopoly money was nice :-)
O'Rourke
Jul 17 2008, 19:12
I'm proud that St Johnstone FC is the biggest team on their street.
SeanThePar
Jul 17 2008, 19:18
When Skerla scored against Celtic in the cup final to put us 1-0 up, even if we did get beat.
2nd odd minute of the first leg vs Hacken, when Jim Hamilton scored.
When we were 3-0 up vs Rangers.
When Jim McIntyre scored that cheeky penalty vs Hibs in the Semi-Final.
But the most important one, when Sol signed for us.....
DundeeDerryBoy
Jul 17 2008, 19:25
QUOTE (O'Rourke @ Jul 17 2008, 19:12)

I'm proud that St Johnstone FC is the biggest team on their street.
I'm proud that Dundee FC are the most successful on theirs.
DomDom
Jul 17 2008, 19:42
When we won the second division back in 94/95.
It's the first thing I have had the pleasure of seeing Morton win, and it's a moment that has not been matched as far as pride in the team goes.
dee4life
Jul 17 2008, 19:59
QUOTE (DundeeDerryBoy @ Jul 17 2008, 20:10)

The first derby after administration. The mongrels came with their monopoly money expecting a rout as we had lost almost all our best players.
1-0 down at HT to a pen and as I say most of our good plaers had left so it wasn't looking too clever.
Novo (I think) got a scrappy equaliser then not long after the ball fell to Lovell who curled one in the top corner to win it. There was a point mid celebration where I thought The Derry was actually gonna collapse................. All those weeks of seeing players leave, reading that the club may not survive, rattling buckets and seeing pensioners empty their pockets into said buckets to try and save the club................ That goal made it all worthwhile.
Walking down the hilltown that night lighting our cigars with the afforementioned monopoly money was nice :-)
Agree 100% the fact the fans saved the club made it all the sweeter,every dundee fan on here knows we will not let our club die regardless of what some people on here think.
Juan Sara
Jul 17 2008, 20:05

Aye that was a great day, also the fact Lovell had a tribute to the sacked players.
The first game after we went into admin aswell, the fans packed Dens and got tirght behind the team.
irvineTON
Jul 18 2008, 07:24
When we won the 3rd division at the first attempt after 2 successive relegations. The relief & emotion from Cappielow that day was something I'll probably never experience again. Cauldron of nerves and then euphoria.
Great day even if I did feel like spewing for 90 minutes!
AyrshireTon
Jul 18 2008, 09:08
In the darkest days of Hitler's reign, a Save the Ton day was arranged for a home game v Ross County. This game was called off and the fund raising was carried over to the next home game, against Ayr.
Such was the enthusiasm in the town for it that the Ton fans got the WDE and the Ayr fans were behind the Sinclair street goal.
On the park it was men against boys and Ayr helped themselves to a 6-0 win, five of the goals coming in the first half. We stood and watched dutifully in the pouring rain (what better way to spend Christmas). One guy called the club from his mobile and told them that there was a bomb in the ground and the game would have to be abandoned.
By full time no-one had left and we stood to a man and applauded our well-pumped side off the park, and they all responded likewise.
dundeebarry
Jul 18 2008, 09:49
Well said that man. I remember that game well. Lovell scored a cracker to make it 2-1 and the Dundee support went radio rental. Happy days walking down the Hulltoon bursting with pride afterwards.
The away support we took to Livi on that infamous final day of the season a few years back sticks in my memory. Away end filled to capacity and hundreds on the hill outside peering into the ground with a restricted view, in the rain, as we were relegated. A bad, bad day for the club, but I was proud to be a Dee on the hill at the same time.

Nana Moon
Jul 18 2008, 10:05
"
Big Andy was always full of the verbal - always had a smile on his face, especially when he nutmegged you. I think in fact with the goal he scored in the Scottish Cup, players were always that terrified of Andy nutmegging them that they would shut their legs and he curled it roon them , you know.
He had such a good footballing brain that he sussed things like that. He had scored the one from 50 yards and he was in his own half, nobody near him and he shouted "Big Yin, ye'd better pick me up, I'll probably score from here - your talking 60-70 yards and I was thinking, he's got a point, I better get across. He was the scourge of the Dons in those days." - Alex McLeishAndy Ritchie
Scottish Football Writers' Association Player of the Year
1978/79
bully-wee
Jul 18 2008, 10:29
got to be beating celtic in the cup a few years ago and taking rangers to extra time at ibrox.
also enjoyed the win 2 years ago at firhill, 4-0.
Günther
Jul 18 2008, 11:04
Price FC? Do they play in multi-coloured tops and pink shorts and socks?
thenolly
Jul 18 2008, 11:05
QUOTE (jagtastic @ Jul 17 2008, 10:26)

The fans and club pulling together during Save the Jags and also the support we received from fans of other teams.
Spot on and i'll never forget the speach robert reid gave to the fans at the game when it all kicked off,
EdinburghLivi
Jul 18 2008, 11:09
What were his exact words?
jagtastic
Jul 18 2008, 11:23
QUOTE (EdinburghLivi @ Jul 18 2008, 12:09)

What were his exact words?
If ye hate the f****in Livi clap yer hands!
Sparkly_Diamonds
Jul 18 2008, 11:54
Seeing the Uefa flag fly above Broomfield when we played Sparta in the CWC takes some beating.
QUOTE (Duff Man @ Jul 18 2008, 12:04)

Price FC? Do they play in multi-coloured tops and pink shorts and socks?
You edited that and yet you still got it wrong?!
I'd imagine Price FC play in vertical black and white stripes reminiscent of a barcode. God knows why they would play in multi-coloured tops.
I can't wait to see your reaction when you see the new Thistle away kit, it's bound to be hilarious.
dee4life
Jul 18 2008, 12:37
QUOTE (Nana Moon @ Jul 18 2008, 11:05)

"
Big Andy was always full of the verbal - always had a smile on his face, especially when he nutmegged you. I think in fact with the goal he scored in the Scottish Cup, players were always that terrified of Andy nutmegging them that they would shut their legs and he curled it roon them , you know.
He had such a good footballing brain that he sussed things like that. He had scored the one from 50 yards and he was in his own half, nobody near him and he shouted "Big Yin, ye'd better pick me up, I'll probably score from here - your talking 60-70 yards and I was thinking, he's got a point, I better get across. He was the scourge of the Dons in those days." - Alex McLeishAndy Ritchie
Scottish Football Writers' Association Player of the Year
1978/79
I remember him when I was younger,quality player and a great character.
SQUIDGER
Jul 18 2008, 14:04
had to be monaco away - "your only tax dodging baxxxxs- tax dodging baxxxxs"
dundeebarry
Jul 18 2008, 15:50
QUOTE (SQUIDGER @ Jul 18 2008, 15:04)

had to be monaco away - "your only tax dodging baxxxxs- tax dodging baxxxxs"

Much wittier than the usual "oh we hate dundee..." pish too! Nice one.
Dariusz
Jul 18 2008, 15:57
Any time there are thousands of us going to an away match makes me proud. Also as mentioned, the "administration" matches and the few times during the Bonetti reign that we tore Utd apart and left them looking utterly ridiculous.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.