Full Version: Embarrassed For Your Own Club
The Pie Shop > SPL and SFL Football > 1st Division General Chatter
Nana Moon
After being forced to watch the game from our own main stand last night Im embarrassed that away fans have to fork out to sit in there. My knees are still sore and Im not that tall.

I'll now feel sorry for all you away fans ( except Airdie - Hope it hurts like hell Nazis!! cool.gif )

CK
Anytime the '1, 2, 3' song is played over the PA system.

There was also some half time entertainment a few years ago, I think it was a game against St Johnstone, in an bizarre version of a 10 second challenge shoot out thing, but instead of running from the halfway line, the kids were made to run from the goal line at the other end of the park, drop the ball at the end of the 10 seconds, then shoot. I don't think anyone made it past the halfway line.
The Ghost of Ron Burgundy
QUOTE (Nana Moon @ Jul 16 2008, 15:36) *
After being forced to watch the game from our own main stand last night Im embarrassed that away fans have to fork out to sit in there. My knees are still sore and Im not that tall.

I'll now feel sorry for all you away fans ( except Airdie - Hope it hurts like hell Nazis!! cool.gif )

laugh.gif laugh.gif

thats ok we'll smash it up and make plenty of leg room........
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (Nana Moon @ Jul 16 2008, 15:36) *

We'll be in the WDE, for the first visit anyways.

Nae luck.
cornbeef
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 16 2008, 16:02) *

Nae luck.

One of the few teams that bring enough to 'qualify' for the WDE - that's why we're happy to have you in the Division

oh aye , and the fact that you should provide a wee cushion for us at the arse end of the table rolleyes.gif

and back to the thread - the leg room is shocking in the stand. Used to have a season ticket for there but ended up going back to the shed. Remember one group of away fans referring to our 'subbuteo stand' a few years ago - would be funny if it wasn't true. sad.gif
Nana Moon
QUOTE (wearealldoomed @ Jul 16 2008, 16:02) *

Nae luck.

Plenty of room for you to lay out your lovley flags. wink.gif
PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF
THISTLE DO song, all jags fan will know what i am talking about
Glesga Frm
QUOTE (PTFC-DAZZ-FTOF @ Jul 16 2008, 16:37) *
THISTLE DO song, all jags fan will know what i am talking about

It Rediculious!! biggrin.gif almost as bad as Clydes Shambles of a song when the team comes out biggrin.gif
ClydeNewcomer
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Jul 16 2008, 16:42) *
It Rediculious!! biggrin.gif almost as bad as Clydes Shambles of a song when the team comes out biggrin.gif

Song of the Clyde is superb!!

The one your thinkin about is 123 cheering for the bullywee lol. Good laugh that song
H Wragg
Thistle's sudden 'renaming' of the Main Stand as the 'West (Old) Stand' in the face of some dissenting voices when the board hinted at demolition of it was pretty pathetic.
CK
QUOTE (ClydeNewcomer @ Jul 16 2008, 16:44) *
Song of the Clyde is superb!!

The one your thinkin about is 123 cheering for the bullywee lol. Good laugh that song

The original '1, 2, 3' is not bad, but the new version is just cringeworthy.
wearealldoomed
QUOTE (cornbeef @ Jul 16 2008, 16:15) *
One of the few teams that bring enough to 'qualify' for the WDE - that's why we're happy to have you in the Division

oh aye , and the fact that you should provide a wee cushion for us at the arse end of the table rolleyes.gif

and back to the thread - the leg room is shocking in the stand. Used to have a season ticket for there but ended up going back to the shed. Remember one group of away fans referring to our 'subbuteo stand' a few years ago - would be funny if it wasn't true. sad.gif

Can't disagree with than as things stand. I'm still hopeful of a few more singings, but time is getting tighter by the day.

Our support has fallen a fair bit since our last visit, but I reckong the novelty of visitng an old foe and a decent ground will bring out a faily good crowd for the first game at Cappielow.

QUOTE (Nana Moon @ Jul 16 2008, 16:34) *
Plenty of room for you to lay out your lovley flags. wink.gif

The feckers are pretty heavy when wet. Don't whink I'll bother. I'll give the shed a wee right handed wave though. biggrin.gif

Glesga Frm
Thistle Have Cardboard Boxes for bins, with Bin scribbled on it in black ink marker i guess thats kinda embarrasing that we cant afford real bins laugh.gif
Sir Kevin Of Kilsyth
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Jul 16 2008, 15:42) *

I assume you mean 123 cheerin for the bully wee. That song is an absoloute atmosphere killer and prescisely no one sings along to it so it should be canned.
MTJ
The cocks who went to Broadwood kitted out in PTFC gear for the Clyde ICT match. Shower of knobs.

When Clyde have played the Champion's League music is even worse than that 123 tune.
el bawbag
the entire period in which "that c**t" was running our club
Glesga Frm
QUOTE (MTJ @ Jul 16 2008, 16:51) *
The cocks who went to Broadwood kitted out in PTFC gear for the Clyde ICT match. Shower of knobs.

When Clyde have played the Champion's League music is even worse than that 123 tune.

Yeah Shame on them..............

rolleyes.gif ----- huh.gif ----- rolleyes.gif
Sweet Pete
QUOTE (Glesga Frm @ Jul 16 2008, 16:50) *
Thistle Have Cardboard Boxes for bins, with Bin scribbled on it in black ink marker i guess thats kinda embarrasing that we cant afford real bins laugh.gif

or theirs jonny "different squad number in away games" tuffey

he said in the paper that the club hadn't managed to get his proper squad number on his away jersey but he was hopeful that they'd get it right next season laugh.gif
Juan Sara
Darren Young, I win.
vikingTON
Chairman Rae's infamous pre-match speeches. ph34r.gif
RedV
QUOTE (el bawbag @ Jul 16 2008, 16:52) *
the entire period in which "that c**t" was running our club

Errrr....which one of the c***s who has run Livingston are you referring to specifically?
EdinburghLivi
QUOTE (RedV @ Jul 16 2008, 18:48) *
Errrr....which one of the c***s who has run Livingston are you referring to specifically?

Take your pick. Flynn and Keane both qualify laugh.gif
el bawbag
flynn as he truely is a bad person
Juan Sara
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 21:10) *
The lack of Dundee fans in here is fucking unbelievable..Especially as they are everywhere else....

Your club was badly mismanaged, embraced the dodgiest character ever to be involved in Scottish football (Di Steffano) and ripped off many small businesses by going into administration. ( some of whom were left in dire financial straights as a result)......
....EMBARRASSED for your club!!!!! that's the least you should be......

Who's going to show a shred of decency and be first to confess?????

''Embarrassed For Your Own Club''
poang
I hate the music we play when the teams come out at McDiarmid (o fortuna from the carmina burana) The same music used by about 498432 other football teams, dishwasher adverts, the x factor and probably countless other shitty things that think their so original by playing it.

Its not intimidating, its old, boring, been done to death, and I cringe every time i hear it over the stadiums loudspeakers.
sonofjenova
I'm embarrassed by the aforementioned Champions' League theme, and the 1-2-3 shambles.

QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 22:17) *
At last , a coagie posts, but still fails to be Embarrassed for his own club....

Are you not embarrassed by your repeated botched attempts to win the First Division? wink.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (sonofjenova @ Jul 16 2008, 22:26) *
I'm embarrassed by the aforementioned Champions' League theme, and the 1-2-3 shambles.

Are you not embarrassed by your repeated botched attempts to win the First Division? wink.gif

Finishing in the top two or three is hardly something to be embarrassed about, but if it makes you feel any better, I will be happy to oblige...

YES
Nizzy
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 22:54) *
Still all hiding?????

No surprise. Check the Morris v Cameron thread for further examples.
sonofjenova
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 22:29) *
Finishing in the top two or three is hardly something to be embarrassed about, but if it makes you feel any better, I will be happy to oblige...

YES

For a club of your size, it is.
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (sonofjenova @ Jul 16 2008, 23:26) *
For a club of your size, it is.

I said YES..What more do you want.....YES,YES,YES,YES, and in case you missed it you thick twat.....

YES Very embarrassing.Not quite as embarrassing as having open trials because you've got no players and no cash, but embarrassing all the same
Radford
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 23:31) *
... and in case you missed it you thick twat.....

YES

Ghostie, chill man! Sounds like you need a holiday. Not heard you mention if you are heading off anywhere this summer though?
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 16 2008, 23:34) *
Ghostie, chill man! Sounds like you need a holiday. Not heard you mention if you are heading off anywhere this summer though?

Thailand in the morning Radders.....Shall I bring you back a Ladyboy.The perfect his and hers gift.Doesn,t matter what way you swing. tongue.gif
Radford
QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 23:37) *
Thailand in the morning Radders.....Shall I bring you back a Ladyboy.The perfect gift.Doesn,t matter what way you swing. tongue.gif

As long as it's not your sloppy seconds, sir!
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Radford @ Jul 16 2008, 23:44) *
As long as it's not your sloppy seconds, sir!

I,m going with Mrs. Ghost.I WILL be on my bestest behaviour. I have been warned laugh.gif . Back the day before the Livi game..
sonofjenova
I said YES..What more do you want.....YES,YES,YES,YES, and in case you missed it you thick twat.....

YES Very embarrassing.Not quite as embarrassing as having open trials because you've got no players and no cash, but embarrassing all the same

Aye...it was a complete embarrassment when those "open trial" players beat Celtic...my face was so red I couldn't go out for weeks! wink.gif
19QOS19

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif That brings back a memory. I was sitting near the front of the QoS section when we were away to Clyde. I was two seats away from the Clyde fans and there was this ar£ehole who was giving Thomson pelters. "Whoosh, it's sh*tty Thomson". Eventually I cracked and turned round to this guy and goes, "He might be sh*te but he'd walk into your team nae bother, you lot are that f&cking desperate for players you need tae advertise for them!"
I just shut up after that as the guy had a clan of wee boys with him and I didn't really want to bash their (father?) infront of them. Thomson made a mistake 2 minues later, I turned around to hear what that guy was going say, to my surprise and amusement he had buggered off! laugh.gif
Maradona
Cardboard fans............I'll say no more
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (sonofjenova @ Jul 16 2008, 23:50) *
Aye...it was a complete embarrassment when those "open trial" players beat Celtic...my face was so red I couldn't go out for weeks! wink.gif

If I recall correctly. it was an ex Saintee who won that game for you.Say thanks to us any time you like tongue.gif
The ghost of Jim Morton
QUOTE (Maradona @ Jul 16 2008, 23:55) *
Cardboard fans............I'll say no more

Slight correction...Wooden painted fans....But your right huh.gif
thenolly
Alan Cowan need i say more, complete PR disaster and put club/ fans relations back 10 years
The ghost of Jim Morton
I,ve finally realised..You lot are EMBARRASSED.So embarrassed it,s left you all speechless.Well I'll be damned.The Coagies have got a conscience after all.They know what their club did was wrong.

I am so sorry if I,ve made this worse for you all.I really am.

I have deleted all my previous posts on this subject out of compassion for you all.
Fuctifano
Pretty much all 'official' club songs are honking, especially recorded versions. The Dundee one to the tune of 'We're No Awa Tae Bide Awa' and both the Clyde ones they play fall into this category, as does 'Thistle Are Rising Again' and the recorded version of 'Follow Thistle' (although when sung by fans it's not too bad). I haven't had the pleasure of hearing 'Thistle Do' yet but the lyrics are a total cringe and I'm not holding out much hope for the tune.

The absolute worst though is the Queen of the South one they sometimes play before kick off.' Queen of the South! Queen of the Sou-ou-ou-outh!' It sounds like it was knocked up in 5 minutes by somone who writes local radio jingles in their spare time.

Although, curiously, I like the Hearts one. huh.gif

i've also been embarrassed by a huge amount of stuff that's came out of the PTFC boardroom since 2003- "best run club in Scotland" etc.
SingaporeSaint
Our official opening against Man Utd starting very late because of lighting failure. All going on with the likes of Bobby Charlton watching from the stands. Cringe.
sonofjenova
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 16 2008, 23:54) *
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif That brings back a memory. I was sitting near the front of the QoS section when we were away to Clyde. I was two seats away from the Clyde fans and there was this ar£ehole who was giving Thomson pelters. "Whoosh, it's sh*tty Thomson". Eventually I cracked and turned round to this guy and goes, "He might be sh*te but he'd walk into your team nae bother, you lot are that f&cking desperate for players you need tae advertise for them!"
I just shut up after that as the guy had a clan of wee boys with him and I didn't really want to bash their (father?) infront of them. Thomson made a mistake 2 minues later, I turned around to hear what that guy was going say, to my surprise and amusement he had buggered off! laugh.gif

Jim Thomson? He was a good servant to Clyde, I'm too young to remember him fondly though. I'm glad you put him in his place...though if this was the season we were advertising for players, did we not finish above you? wink.gif

QUOTE (The ghost of Jim Morton @ Jul 16 2008, 23:55) *
If I recall correctly. it was an ex Saintee who won that game for you.Say thanks to us any time you like tongue.gif

I actually will...you took Kevin Fotheringham off our hands in exchange. So thanks biggrin.gif
MAC-attack
Back in September 2003, Giovanni Di Stefano announcing that Dundee were gonna put a bid to Juventus for midfielder Edgar Davids,
I'll never get over the abuse I got from my school pals.
CK
QUOTE (19QOS19 @ Jul 16 2008, 23:54) *

Really? Who would he have replaced in that Clyde team?

As for the trials, they proved to be a big disaster, didn't they?